• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Ghirardelli Square - North
Distance From Hotel:0.75MI
Attraction:
Financial District - East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Presidio - North West
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 277 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by size of beds Full size beds need to be upgraded to queens!! 4 adults and 2 full size beds is too tight! August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value and Great Location The service, location, cleanliness and value of this hotel exceeded my expectations. The front desk staff and concierge were extremely helpful. Housekeeping was excellent too. For the value, I would highly recommend staying here. August 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service steve at the counter to check in was super great person. he always is a great help when we need it August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by As usual, pleasant experience I usually stay at the Holiday Inn Civic Center whenever in San Francisco. The lobby is very welcoming and attractive, as well as the receiving staff. I am usually recognized by name even though I only go there twice a year. Benny at the reception desk is especially pleasant. My husband died since my last visit, and he expressed his sympathy. I always feel welcome, safe and well taken care of at this location. They have a comfortable undercover, safe, well lit and pleasant area to smoke, which is well received. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great service from the bell desk! Room service and front desk service was so-so with the front desk constantly pointing me in the direction of the gift shop for anything and everything but the bell desk guys were definitely a great help. Wouldn't count on their laundry room since the door got stuck on my friend. Parking was pricey otherwise everything else was good! July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by reward pts stay Have stayed here several times and keep coming back. It is exactly what I need for when I visit San Francisco. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place to stay The front desk was very helpful when we had no place to stay late at night. July 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor neighbourhood, homeless around I do remember exaclty that I made a reservation with breakfast included. It appeared that there was no breakfast for me. Block charge for my room still exist on my bank account event though I stayed there as reward nights. Staff at restaurant vary poor. Do not recommend it. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Zimmer Sauber; baulicher Zustand der Fenster schlecht; guter Komfort July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 vacacione todo bien, muy complacidos con el viaje y la estancia en su hotel July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE! Went to San Francisco for my girlfriend's birthday. We were more than pleased with the hotel and great service. The only con in my humble opinion is- the room lacked a mini fridge to keep our leftovers in. July 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and convenient, but lacking good food and poor gym. The room was clean and comfortable. However the food left much to be desired and the gym didn't have any weights. Cardio only without room to even stretch. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good experience This hotel is situated in downtown area and near to several attractions. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Internet service is excellent. Bar and Restaurant service is good. The staff members are courteous and friendly. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. One observation: the room was without refrigerator! The hotel should provide refrigerator in all rooms!! July 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty Hotel Stayed with my family for the Holiday. First room was disgustingly dirty. Front desk gave me keys to 5 other rooms, one out the five was OK. It's hard to understand as you can clearly see that it was a hotel newly renovated. Pool was cold and dilapidated. Room was noisy but they do provide ear plugs in the room. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and July 4th Fireworks from the balcony a bonus The is our third time staying at the hotel and the second time was a five years ago when we were getting the kids passports of which we renewed last month and we stayed at another location in the city. This time, my family and I came to San Francisco to drop off our Au Pair the next day at the airport so we thought that we would stay downtown and then go to Pier 39 to watch the fireworks display. Much to our delight we ordered last minute room service at 9:55 pm and it arrived promptly 10:07 pm which was the end of the shift on a holiday night. We appreciated the staff looking after us as we travelled from your location in Albany, OR so we had a long day of driving. The bonus of our stay was the view from the 10th floor balcony where got to see all the firework displays off on the horizon for about 3.5 hours and we did not have to make the long trek down to the waterfront. Congrats to the staff on a great stay. My only suggestion is that I know the hotel did a renovation about 5 years ago and the rooms are in need of a few touches of urban modernization. Bravo team!! July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Front desk was very helpful in securing low fare cab and providing general information about restaurants and different areas of the city... July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Parking You should post on your website that the parking garage is limited to vehicles smaller than 6'6". We drive a full sized Dodge Ram 1500 and had no choice but to park in your garage since we had prepaid the 40-some-odd-dollars for parking (due to booking requirements) and were not about to drive around the city looking for overnight parking. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lost Diamond Ring We stayed the weekend of Pride and we were in the middle of everything the hotel was great . Another thing I left my diamond ring on the bed and forgot to put it away before I went to sleep woke up next morning got ready and left. Forgot all about it until the next day called the hotel and talked to house keeping but they didn't see it talked to the front desk and asked if they rented the room out that day they said no told her what happen and she said she could send someone up to check got back on the phone and asked me what kind of ring was it I told her it was a gold nugget with diamonds and she said they found it .That just shows you that there is still good and honest people out there I want to thank again Livia and David you guys are great July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great customer service and location Thank you holiday inn for such a good experience . Great customer service, Steve was great front desk. Maybe a full bar fully prepare will be nice and some cleaning at their balconies will be the cherry on top of cake! ;) thank you again for a great stay! July 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Shower Drain/ $$$$ Shower drain didn't work and it was expensive (paid an arm and a leg for room and parking, 3 days over a $1000 bucks, reservation was made in advance). Yeah it is in a great location but, it's noisy and seems too pricey for what you are actually getting. July 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unorganized Place When I first checked in service was great. Staff was very friendly. They ended up getting rooms mixed up and gave me a room key to someone else's room which was already occupied by a shirtless man asking me what the I was doing in his room!!! Very horrible embarrasing moment. They then said they upgraded me rooms because of this incident but It looked like the same room to me. The bed had black streaks on it looked like someones make-up. The door handle in the bathroom was broken and I let the front desk know and I demanded to speak to the manager who wouldn't come out and he finally did and then accused me of breaking the door handle and said I was lying about the sheets being dirty. I was insulated. I asked for a discount and he said No then he said oh I can give you free parking that really solved the issue NOT!!! I wont be staying here again. July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reasonable Holiday Inn Clean, comfortable but in a rather down at heel end of market street. Reasonable service and good room/hotel cleanliness. Rooms could do with a refresh but serviceable and bathrooms very clean July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Convenient for work in the Civic Center. Easy access to BART. Comfortable rooms. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms The staff was wonderful, the inside of the motel was clean and updated, the room was clean but smelled very stale. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Room Staff We have stayed at this facility: Oct 2006, Jun 2010, Nov 2011, and June 2014, staying each time about seven days. Each visit, after Oct 06, we have recognized that the staff during Breakfast were essentially the same individuals, AND they have remembered us each time from our previous visits!! (I do not consider us to be particularly memorable individuals-just ordinary), so we are greatly impressed with the ability and interest your staff has taken to make us, and presumably all other guests, feel welcome. A few of the staff have told us they have worked with Hilton in San Francisco for 20+ years. I greatly commend your management for assembling, and retaining, such a high quality, professional staff. June 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Scary neighborhood, Slow wifi The room was fine, I slept fine, and everything (inside) was nice and clean. The problem is: 1) The wireless internet was rather slow, and there was no wired option. 2) The neighborhood and the signs and warnings in the room made me feel a bit unsafe. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exelente ubicacion y servcio exelente Mi estancia estubo muy bien , buena atención , habitaciones pequeñas pero cómodas , no tienen escritorio ni nevera . La atención de las personas es inmejorable. June 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible beds and smelly rooms The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to BART. This is the ONLY positive about this hotel. The rooms are not as nice as the lobby or restaurant areas, as far as decor is concerned. The beds are terrible (old, hard mattresses!) and I changed rooms 3 times before I found one that didn't smell. Street noise is bad, hence the "complimentary earplugs" provided for your sleeping pleasure. The earplugs do little to combat the road noise or the chronic HVAC humming! The restaurant is a nice feature but service needs improvement from the kitchen and staff. As a frequent traveler, this was the worst hotel experience I've encountered in a long time! June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top Hotel in guter Lage wir waren zu fünft und allen hat es sehr gut gefallen wir sind im Jahr zwei bis dreimal in USA u. werden dieses Hotel in dem wir vorher schon waren wieder buchen June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience! Staff went above and beyond. I had a very busy schedule and they really bent over backwards to accommodate a series of requests for their help with transportation, amenities, food, etc. Facilities are clean and new, and breakfast was solid. Highly recommended! June 20, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading