• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Ghirardelli Square - North
Distance From Hotel:0.75MI
Attraction:
Financial District - East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Presidio - North West
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.
Announcements
Opening this summer, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. R-O-H will feature the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine-on-tap from Napa and Sonoma
View More
Announcements
Opening this summer, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. R-O-H will feature the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine-on-tap from Napa and Sonoma and a full selection spirits. Enjoy beer and wine flights paired with small plates designed for sharing. The menu will feature dishes made famous in one of San Francisco’s iconic neighborhoods.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 255 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Convenient for work in the Civic Center. Easy access to BART. Comfortable rooms. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms The staff was wonderful, the inside of the motel was clean and updated, the room was clean but smelled very stale. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Room Staff We have stayed at this facility: Oct 2006, Jun 2010, Nov 2011, and June 2014, staying each time about seven days. Each visit, after Oct 06, we have recognized that the staff during Breakfast were essentially the same individuals, AND they have remembered us each time from our previous visits!! (I do not consider us to be particularly memorable individuals-just ordinary), so we are greatly impressed with the ability and interest your staff has taken to make us, and presumably all other guests, feel welcome. A few of the staff have told us they have worked with Hilton in San Francisco for 20+ years. I greatly commend your management for assembling, and retaining, such a high quality, professional staff. June 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Scary neighborhood, Slow wifi The room was fine, I slept fine, and everything (inside) was nice and clean. The problem is: 1) The wireless internet was rather slow, and there was no wired option. 2) The neighborhood and the signs and warnings in the room made me feel a bit unsafe. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exelente ubicacion y servcio exelente Mi estancia estubo muy bien , buena atención , habitaciones pequeñas pero cómodas , no tienen escritorio ni nevera . La atención de las personas es inmejorable. June 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible beds and smelly rooms The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to BART. This is the ONLY positive about this hotel. The rooms are not as nice as the lobby or restaurant areas, as far as decor is concerned. The beds are terrible (old, hard mattresses!) and I changed rooms 3 times before I found one that didn't smell. Street noise is bad, hence the "complimentary earplugs" provided for your sleeping pleasure. The earplugs do little to combat the road noise or the chronic HVAC humming! The restaurant is a nice feature but service needs improvement from the kitchen and staff. As a frequent traveler, this was the worst hotel experience I've encountered in a long time! June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top Hotel in guter Lage wir waren zu fünft und allen hat es sehr gut gefallen wir sind im Jahr zwei bis dreimal in USA u. werden dieses Hotel in dem wir vorher schon waren wieder buchen June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience! Staff went above and beyond. I had a very busy schedule and they really bent over backwards to accommodate a series of requests for their help with transportation, amenities, food, etc. Facilities are clean and new, and breakfast was solid. Highly recommended! June 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Business trip Hotel was adequate, nothing to write home about. There was no fridge/mini bar in the room. Outside of hotel felt uncomfortable to walk around. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and well connected to places of interest My stay was for busines purpose lasting about 5 nights. There was no noise in the room, lighting was good. Hotel has good breakfast facilities.Staff are courtious and caring.Hotel helped access cabs for local travel and had a small gift shop too. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely friendly and helpful staff at the dining section The best part of the hotel was that the staff of the restaurant/kitchen of the hotel was really helpful, friendly and cheerful. The doorman and other staff available at the door were also helpful and jovial. June 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad neighborhood and unhelpful staff Overcharged for my room; price not as agreed. This hotel takes bus loads of foreign tourists and caters to that trade; does not pay much attention to independent business or tourist guests. Lots of street people; public urination; uncomfortable neighborhood. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Good Visit to SF I have stay at this Holiday Inn location several times and have always enjoyed my stay. My only issue with this recent stay was the Cost of Room Service, which I am pretty sure has changed since my last visit. They now add 19% gratuity plus a $4.00 delivery charge. I can understand a resturant automatically adding a gratuity but this was over the top. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable The hotel is well updated and the beds are clean and comfortable. An airport shuttle is available if booked ahead of time. I wish I had been aware of this. One night we returned from the conference to find the front door closed for cleaning. There was no sign indicating how to enter the hotel. We did not have a car and were not aware of the entrance through the garage. A sign would be appropriate whenever the main entrance is closed. Otherwise, the stay was enjoyable and relaxing. June 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very insincere and unprofessional management Stayed two nights, booked each night separately. The front staff kindly combined them when I checked in, but might forgot canceling the duplication although he promised. So, I was billed both, two nights stay and another one night stay on the same day. I tried to contact this hotel regarding this issue via email since I am based in oversea, but could NOT get responses at all, even though reminded a few times and, also, contacted via IHG Guest Relations. (I have GOLD status though..) Finally, I could be contacted with the hotel management TWO weeks after my first contact by just saying "your refund was processed.." without mentioning any apologies for the delay and wrong billing, even after a few FURTHER inquires to IHG Guest Relations. Very insincere and unprofessional this hotel management looks. Due to construction of hotel building and its location (SF Civic Center), it also makes this hotel's atmosphere and experience worse. Whatever you have higher status, I do not recommend this property if you want to have more than a fair experience of IHG. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Staff and Location The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, great service and location. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staying The staff concierge Jim was very helpful during my stay. May 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Reasonable Dear All, Although I checked out on the 23rd of May, but till now a balance of about $150 is not yet credited to my credit card. I settled my invoice and don't know why is the delay Appreciate your assistance Thanks May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Visit My friends and I had a great time in San Francisco and were pleased with the hotel accomodations. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We were able to grab a taxi outside of the hotel every day and the cleaning staff provided us with great hospitality. I would stay here again. My only complaint would have to be the cost of parking per day. A little steep considering we are paying to stay at the hotel already. My suggestion for the hotel to keep the same income on the parking is to lower the rate for hotel guests and increase the rate for public day users. And a continental breakfast would have been a great addition. May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Noise was the only issue for me Everything was great quality, but the rumors about the noise at night are very true. I got accustomed to the city noise after the first night and then everything was great. It was a great value considering all the other hotels near Moscone were running at least twice the price. May 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice facility and fantastic staff The staff at this facility was more than courteous. The bellman went over the top in finding an Italian restaurant for my wife and I and the restaurant he recommended, Mona Lisa's, was everything he advertised it to be. The wait staff in the restaurant was particularly helpful in facilitating that as a platinum card holder we were afforded the opportunity for discounts on our breakfasts. The room was comfortable and well kept. The security aspects utilized by the hotel provided peace for mind during our stay. May 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service ONE OF YOUR EMPLOYEES HAS BEEN GREAT IN HELPING US MAKE RESERVATION IN THE FUTURE. ALWAYS HAVE A SMILE AND IS EVERY PLEASANT. THAT EMPLOYEE IS STEVE April 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My stay in San Fran Sorry but the air conditioning unit was cutting in and out all the time so sleeping was difficult No tea making facilities and no fridge was very inconvenient Marilyn room cleaner was very nice and helpful Food in restaurant was very average Bed and pillows were very comfortable When you walk out of the hotel there are homeless people everywhere which made me very scared and uneasy Counter Staff and service was very good - it's a shame about its location otherwise good value for money April 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is very nice, but the location is iffy for women on their own This Holiday Inn has been nicely renovated. The lobby is sleekly beautiful. The rooms are well done. If you book breakfast ahead with your stay, the buffet is only $10, and it's the kind of buffet that eliminates the need for lunch! We especially enjoyed the Chinese porridge, which may be a nod to the Asian tour groups that stay here but we thought was delightful, with the self-serve additions of fresh cilantro, peanuts and scallions. When we were booking, this was the lowest priced HI or HI Express for the time period, so we thought it was a good value. If you are in SF for a convention or to see a show at the Orpheum, it's a great location. However, quite a few homeless folks seem to wander the nearby streets, some selling clothes, etc. on the sidewalks, and while they are not overly aggressive panhandlers, single women might find this off-putting. Along the nearby library, sleeping homeless folks lined the sidewalk. Tho we are well-traveled, we have not been in a US city where so many homeless people are so many places, so perhaps it's what you're used to. I'm sure this must be a problem SF is looking to solve (with compassion, we hope). April 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by SF Budget Hotel If you don't mind loud noises, and if you enjoy listening to the conversations in the next room (or if you just like hearing people in the room next to you) then this place is great! If you are looking for a quiet place to get some sleep, then I suggest staying somewhere else. The rooms are clean and decorated nicely, but this but the hotel still shows its age, and the walls are paper thin. The hotel is conveniently near UN plaza and city center (which means that it is not near the most popular tourist spots) which may be great, depending on what you are in town for. The staff is average, and the restraunt / bar are only open during limited hours. April 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SF Rock&Roll Half Marathon Booked room as out of town participant in SF Rock&Roll half marathon. Location was with in short walk for Start shuttles and finish line. Hotel had no minimum night stay which was perfect for a near local. Hotel was under renovation but still near a variety of dining. Hotel provided earplugs for sleeping...it is a downtown location. Felt like I was in a safe location. Did not get to use hotel fitness as I was running a 13 mile race. April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Although the front of the hotel was under construction, the staff immediately pointed out the "detours" and indicated if we needed any help to let them know. They were extremely kind and courteous and provided excellent directions for getting around to the places we needed to be. April 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor food and service but cheap and near to subway I've stayed at this hotel as well as at the Holiday Inn on Van Ness many times. Neither of them delivers the level of comfort and service of other Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn Expresses that I've stayed at around the country. The Civic Center location is conveniently located right near the subway (though this section of Market St. is not known for being the prettiest part of the city#, and I get a pretty good corporate rate, which are the two reasons that I stay here. The rooms do not have refrigerators. The front desk staff is generally pretty friendly, but often quite slow. The food at the restaurant is poor. In the last few months, I've had the pizza, the burger, the sliders, and the steak, and the only item that was even remotely edible is the pizza. During my most recent stay, the usual bartender was not there, and when I asked to order food, the fill-in told me I should go sit in the restaurant instead. I sat alone in the restaurant eating cardboard pizza. There are some good restaurants a short walk away on Folsom like Citizens' Band, Soma Inn Café, and Triptych, but sometimes I'm just looking for the convenience of grabbing a bite to eat on my way back to my room. If you are not looking to be close to the subway, then I would recommend the Van Ness Location over this one. The Van Ness location #I haven't stayed there in about 6 months because of the distance from the subway# has a better restaurant, and the bar has pool tables and televisions too. Also, the rooms have fridges and it's right around the corner from a Whole Foods. That location also has a number of good restaurants and bars nearby on Polk. If you do need to use the subway though, you have to take the 47 bus or the 49, which are two of the most disgusting busses around. Honestly, given the choice between walking #about a 20 min. walk# and taking the 47 or 49, I highly recommend getting some exercise. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great value Hotel at great location - within walking distance to shopping areas like Union Square and Westfield, close to City Hall and Asian Art Museum. Also near the cable car ride at Powell Street, and to take the Big Bus Hop On/Hop Off rides. The BART is also close to hotel and makes rides to other areas or to the airport easily accessible. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service The lobby is very inviting and clean. The seating areas were spacious and conducive to relaxing, waiting for other people, etc. My interaction with the staff were great. They were always pleasant and helpful. When I arrived in the morning, no rooms were available yet as normal check-in is at 3:00 pm. That was the first time I ever had to wait to get a room. However, I was able to leave my bags at the hotel while I tended to the reason for being in town. The elevators require a room key to get to your room. The business center requires you to have a room key. The bathroom in the lobby requires a room key. This is a good thing (in addition to the security guards) considering the number of people in the surrounding area off hotel property who sleep on the sidewalks. I was a bit perturbed because the fitness room was not available 24 hours, but after receiving an explanation from a member of the hotel staff of the reason, I understood and went about my business. However, he did offer an option for me to go to an off-site location with whom they have a business arrangement. The restaurant in the hotel provides a breakfast buffet for about $20 (no pancakes and waffles. I should have inquired) . The price seems high, but it's in a restaurant of a hotel in San Francisco. Should I have expected anything different? I didn't eat dinner because the selections seemed limited. Again, I was in San Francisco where the options of dining seemed limitless. If I didn't want to be out in the town, the restaurant offered the convenience of not having to leave the hotel, not to mention room service. I was surprised that a mini-fridge was absent. Although there was a cabinet for one, it wasn't until I bought ice cream that I realized there's no fridge. I never had trouble getting a parking space. The reason I also selected Amenities as a con is because at check-out, I learned two things. $20 nightly for a mini-fridge and local calls are $1.00 each. March 29, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading