• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Golden Gate Park - West
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Moscone Convention Center - South East
Distance From Hotel:1.4MI
Attraction:
Haight/Ashbury - West
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.
Announcements
Opening this summer, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. R-O-H will feature the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine-on-tap from Napa and Sonoma
View More
Announcements
Opening this summer, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. R-O-H will feature the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine-on-tap from Napa and Sonoma and a full selection spirits. Enjoy beer and wine flights paired with small plates designed for sharing. The menu will feature dishes made famous in one of San Francisco’s iconic neighborhoods.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 721 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco Girls Trip Great staff and great location. Room was great. We had a group of 5 women and we all enjoyed our stay. It takes a lot to impress all 5 women. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best service I've ever had! The service was exceptional from the front desk to the concierge to housekeeping. Comfortable bed. Great location. Great room. Breakfast for two was good but pricey ($60); parking fee was excessive ($45) and Internet very slow. The exceptional service and great location overrode that for us. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and nice early check in Our stay was very enjoyable. We appreciated the ability to check in early, since we arrived earlier in the day. The beds were very comfortable and the room very clean. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We would recommend this hotel. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by City sightseeing Despite a computer fault delaying check-in for 2 hours (an unfortunate incident) our stay here was fantastic. The room was larger than average and we could walk to most of Fishermans Wharf in under 10 minutes. It is a pleasant (if not hilly) 25min walk to Union Square and it's shops. The staff were all very friendly with the exception of a rather grumpy bell hop. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend the hotel to others. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by rating Hotel was nice, parking was not. If you are going to charge $40 per day for parking, then you should have ample parking for ALL hotel guests June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location to stay if boarding a cruise The service was nice. The room was clean and comfy. The only thing I would recommend offering free coffee and breakfast in the morning as other hotels offer this. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to public transportation My sister, great nephew, and I stayed six nights in June 2014. We were on the business floor in the main building , so we had a microwave and refrigerator. We did notice some people who stayed in the wharf building had to take their luggage quite a distance to the wharf building We were able to print out our boarding passes on the computers provided on our floor. The bell captain was quite helpful in giving us directions concerning MUNI, the public transportation. Some bus stops were across the street in front of the Marriott, and the bus to the wharves was around the corner and about two blocks down. The room was recently renovated and had numerous outlets for electronic devices. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a humming noise at night that appeared to come from air conditioners I could see on a roof outside the window, but otherwise there was no noise--we heard no noise from other people. Free wifi was provided, but one night I could not get wifi, and another night my sister was unable to get online. The elevators were fast. Altogether, we had a good experience, and I would stay there again. We did not eat in the restaurant because the prices were more than I wanted to pay. On the first night we walked a couple of blocks to Trader Joe's and Safeway to get snacks and breakfast items. We took tours with both Incredible Adventures and Extranomical, and both picked up at the hotel. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel at a cost of about $60 including tip; we took the limosine service that the hotel recommended going back to the airport and were pleased with that, also. The cost was $55 plus tip. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 3 night SF Giant game mini vacation Parking is exspensive & Poor. Got Door dinged on my new truck. I think price is fair compared to rest of SF market ! June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for Downtown but the best We attempted to check-in early to make sure we had a quiet room; the desk said our room was reserved to face away from the traffic but when we finally arrived AFTER a long day where we had to change at a different hotel for an afternoon wedding at Fort Mason we had a street side noisy room. The front desk comp'd our parking fee because I insisted I would have driven back to Burlingame Doubletree had I known we would be in noisy room. If you have to be downtown or want to be next to Fisherman's Wharf you cannot get closer. But we only stayed here for the extra $ because we thought we would be out very late at the nearby wedding. Turns out we did not stay late and may not have needed to spend so much to be in the city. Worked out okay as we were closer to pick up our dog from Barks By the Bay--and Kirk who was dog sitting for us! June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideally placed hotel for a short break to San Francisco This hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Fishermans Wharf and it's not much further to Pier 39 and all the attractions and also all of the tour-bus stops. Rooms are clean and roomy and although the restaurant is a Dennys you get a great breakfast to start your day here. June 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by ggod rooms and good location good value for money in a good location, just out of the heavy tourist area, convenient to tram stop.Laundry facilities are good without excessive delays. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location and easy to get into town Great location. Bit noisy during the night outside as they cleaned the streets every night between 2am and 6am! Close to Fishermans wharf and easy to get into town June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A San Francisco Treat My sister and I stayed twice at the Holiday Inn at Fisherman's Wharf in June. Both times our rooms were immaculate! Service was great - from the front desk to the cleaning crew and the dining staff. This hotel is a wonderful location from which to walk to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. We were within a couple blocks of numerous restaurants, the Hop-On-Hop-Off Bus line and the cable cars. Several times we had breakfast and dinner right in the hotel. Although the selection is small, everything we ordered was delicious. I'd go back there in a minute! June 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very good service, nice room Too expensive, they changed rate half way through stay. June 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good for some purposes The hotel was clean and well maintained on the inside. The staff was friendly. They didn't quite take into consideration that those driving in may not know how their parking works and the parking spaces were not all the same size. I had to drive around and wait for someone to leave because the three spaces left would not fit a minivan. The outside of the hotel wasn't anything special and the patio wasn't in great shape. There are hotels much closer to Fisherman's wharf, including a pretty nice looking Holiday Inn Express that are priced about the same. . June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable stay. Great location, able to walk to a lot of sites. Bathroom vanity could be a lot more accomodating for tolietries and makeup. Overall a great place to stay. June 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy poor value Stayed on the 5th floor and we could make out conversations on the street, the traffic noise is terrible I checked the windows several time thinking they were open. The location is good but not worth the price, the rooms are very dated. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in the heart of fishermans wharf Great hotel in the fisherman's wharf district. Check in was a breeze considering the computers where all down. Rooms where cleaner than some 5star hotels. Wonderful staff who even provided us with a complimentary crib for our baby. Bed was super comfortable, they even use proper inner duvets, not just a thick blankets wrapped in sheets like many of their competitors use. We will defiantly stay here again. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm welcome and a great sleep After a long train trip we were made very welcome. Nice large room, comfy bed and the pillows were so good. You had a choice of two thickness. Soft or firm.we have been staying at a lot of hotels and this is the first time this has been offered. Heaven We didnt have time to eat at the hotel as we were passing thru. Definitely recommend this hotel June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great service, great stay at Holiday Inn San Francisco This was our 2nd stay at the San Francisco-Fisherman's Wharf and I cant wait to go back again. So close to everything you can walk to all the best restaurant's and shopping and then back to the comfy bed at the Holiday Inn. The DeLeon's June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and convience of location Mary, at front desk was most accommodating in finding us adjoining rooms when we checked in early. Two gals left items in the room and lost and found had them both !! Maria (?) was most helpful in finding and returning the items to my home. I wish you had used FedEx GROUND instead of the FedEx saver. The items went to Memphis and then stayed 2 days at a distribution point 30 miles away from my home and my college roommates left before they were delivered to my home which is only 125 miles form San Francisco. It was a shame that they had to sit in Rocklin all that time. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff- great bed Our check-in set a tone of a staff that is well aware, and trained to be devoted to customer service. Front desk and bell staff were excetional. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location My son and I stayed at this location on our very first visit to San Francisco. It is in a wonderful location to Fisherman's Wharf, Golden Gate Bridge, etc. We could walk out of the hotel and hit all kinds of tourist attractions. There was construction right under our window in the alley all day, starting fairly early. But we were too busy enjoying the area to have it bother us very much. The staff was very helpful to direct us to where we needed to go. The underground parking was nice. I would stay here again if in the area. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value and location Love this location close to North Beach, Chinatown, the Wharf and mass transit. The staff is amazing and very customer focused....a great place to stay. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and convenient We would have liked a greater selection of dishes on the restaurant menu, it seemed to be very limited and the usual American unhealthy variety! We ate there once only, preferring to take our evening meal somewhere else. On the positive side, we had transferred from the Holiday Inn Express and were impressed and grateful for our luggage being brought from that location very promptly. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome location Can't beat the location and proximity to the wharf area as well as easy access to Union Square. May 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend with caveat My visit started off on the wrong foot b/c after I made my way all of the way to room 404, then the card didn't work. (I had made a point of holding it in my hand so there was no way my phone caused the problem.) Front desk apologized, but it was an annoyance after a long flight and schlep into town from SFO. Though I was upgraded to the "IHG Rewards" floor, I did not see any advantage to being there. The room was spacious. The bed was a little hard/lumpy. Linens clean and nice. No coffee/tea/water in room which I found unusual, though I rarely use that set-up anyway. TV felt a little small for the size of the room. I appreciated that there were real wooden hangers (5-7) that one could easily remove from the rod. The bathroom was clean, shower was hot and good pressure. Not enough counter space and poorly positioned toilet tissue roll--it got wet with use of the sink. Aside from check-in, I had no interactions with the service staff. Two night stay, so I passed on housekeeping since I wanted to come and go without worrying about having to wait for housekeeping to finish their work. In summary, for the price point, it was an fine/adequate experience. However, I've stayed at other facilities in the immediate area which cost a little more (~$30-$45 more per night), but were a lot nicer. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for conference in San Francisco I have managed conferences for my association for many years. Most times the hotel staff and service is the weak link in executing our conference. The staff here excelled at timely communication, quick response to our onsite needs, setups always on time and as requested, food of good quality and presentation, and without pause adjusted our attendee's room rates if they did not get the group rate. Not once did I hear, "I have to check with my supervisor on this". I cannot think of one thing I would improve upon. May 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent room, hard bed, room service needs work The room was what I expect from Holiday Inn but the bed was harder than normal. The room service was terrible - while it was timely the quality of the food was very poor. May 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to all Fishermans Wharf experiences We chose this hotel because of its location, and it didn't disappoint. However, it is expensive, and being from overseas find the additional taxes that aren't quoted at time of booking frustrating, and lower the value for money rating. May 24, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading