• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Golden Gate Park - West
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Moscone Convention Center - South East
Distance From Hotel:1.4MI
Attraction:
Haight/Ashbury - West
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.
Announcements
Opening this summer, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. R-O-H will feature the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine-on-tap from Napa and Sonoma
View More
Announcements
Opening this summer, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. R-O-H will feature the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine-on-tap from Napa and Sonoma and a full selection spirits. Enjoy beer and wine flights paired with small plates designed for sharing. The menu will feature dishes made famous in one of San Francisco’s iconic neighborhoods.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 159 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by guest If you're in the Mill Valley area this is a great place to stay. Comfortable beds with friendly staff and close to the city. December 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Booking and Billing Issues I stayed at this hotel over the Thanksgiving weekend and did not check in until Thursday. The hotel is a typical and comfortable Holiday Inn Express. The bed, bathroom amenities and decor are all nice and make for a comfortable stay. My reservation was made with 4 others at the same time; I did not have any issues checking in. In fact, they let me change the number of beds in my room so a friend would be able to spend a night. However, other people had issues with the rate they were supposed to receive. When all 5 rooms checked out, we all had a no show charge on our bill for a night before we were supposed to check in. The GM, who took all 5 reservations, made a mistake and scheduled them for the wrong day. The form we signed when checking in showed the correct date; imagine our surprise when the bill was slid under our door. The front desk agents when checking out did not have the capabilities to reverse the 'no show' charge and we had to wait until the GM returned. Still waiting to find out if the charges will be reversed. December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mill Valley Great location, great room - very comfortable and clean. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view from second floor The view was very nice, the breakfast had healthy options that were very good such as granola soy milk and banana nut muffins - something that I haven't found at other HI Express hotels. The outdoor firepit was a nice touch, but I spent so much time touring San Francisco, I didn't get a chance to sit around it and enjoy it. I would definitely saty here again. November 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by HIE Mill Valley terrible place to stay wood floors squeak constantly on both side of our room doors slamming all night loud talking in rooms and cigarette smoke entered room from outside room facing pool area a joke because there was a wooden 6 foot fence between our room and the pool housekeeping carts left in hall way all night tacky the one vending machine for soda put in a dollar received 4 quarters put in a five dollar bill received nothing but did get the bill back tried ones and additional 5s nothing. sent email to staff asking to check in early because my son had surgery still no answer if you want to relax or sleep or have a soda stya away from this property November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by extraordinary good service Besides a very comfortable and relaxing stay, I would like to make a great compliment to their housekeeping. On my departure I forgot to take my e-reader which I left in my room. That evening I called from a different location and to my releave the e-reader was found, safe and sound. Housekeeping put it on fedex service towards a next location (I was on a road trip) where I retreaved it soon. A great compliment, I think it an extraordinary good service. November 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor experience During our recent trip to California we stayed at six Holiday Inn Express hotels and have stayed at many more elsewhere. The front staff at this hotel were the worse we have experienced. Not accommodating, charged inflated prices with one explanation that there is no charge for parking as there is in San Francisco hotels. This was incredulous as the staff need to appreciate YOUR HOTEL ISN'T IN SAN FRANCISCO. The room was old but spacious and had an odor. The breakfast area is small with poor selections. Very disappointed November 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by POOR room Servicing Poor responsiveness to room servicing request. When I left the room in the AM, I specifically asked both the maid directly across the way AND the room supervisor to kindly make up the room during the next hour and a half as I had to be back there to rest in late morning. They promised to do so but when I returned an hour and a half later, the room was not made up and I had no chance for a clean room, soap, shampoo, etc that day. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Stinson Beach Hiking Trails Less than 30 minute drive to Hiking trailheads at Stinson Beach. Great scenery and we lucked out with great weather first weekend in November! Missed evening smores served in lobby by fire but was late to breakfast and was pleasantly surprised to see food still out for those straggles like myself! November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time Had a three night stay very relaxing. It was nice to go have a great breakfast in the inn. Caring staff clean clean clean it was awesome. November 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front Staff Unhelpful Stayed at the hotel for a local wedding. Front desk did not make any effort to find a decent room near my family despite requests. Staff said they couldn't find any "notes" in their computer. November 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible bed but location and service were great Great location and the lobby with adjacent firepit was nice. The customer service rep that helped me with check in was delightful. The hallways and stairwells to the rooms seemed worn out and could use some updating. The room itself appeared to have been updated with a nice flat screen and entertainment center/dresser/fridge storage as well as other features. It was clean too. So at first glance I thought it was a decent room. The bed, unfortunately, was horrible. A very hard,springy mattress and the slightest movement produced a very loud creak from the bed frame. Every time I turned over, I woke up due to the sound. Felt bad for the people in the next room...it was THAT loud. I stayed at a different HI Express the day before and the day after this stay...both were MUCH better on the hotel room front for the value and were more in line with what I have come to expect from the brand. This one just needs a little more care on the remodel side. As stated, the location was great as was the service...the room just fell short. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place close to San Francisco This is a great location if you want to stay outside of the city. Our whole experience was wonderful. Nick at the front desk, s'mores by the fire pit after a day of touring and a great breakfast. Highly recommend! October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delightfully dog friendly My compliments to the General Manager and the entire staff for a job well done. Daisy loved it too. October 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not So Great The exterior door near our room had no snubber, so it banged all night. A request that it be fixed was met with a smile, but nothing was ever done during the time we were there. The motel layout is a maze and the signage is poor - trying to find one's way to the office of the restaurant (which is absolutely excellent) is extremely difficult. No excuse for such poor signage. Otherwise, the motel was average and overpriced. October 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy, old, and expensive This former Howard Johnson's motel sits in a lovely location next to a very good restaurant, but that's about all it has going for it. We live locally and chose to stay at this hotel because it was convenient and dog friendly. With the $75 pet fee, our two night stay was over $600 for a room with a king bed. Perhaps the noisiest room I've stayed in in decades. We were moved to a quieter room the second night, with "quiet" defined as facing the freeway -- noisy but not as annoying as the machine and human noises we suffered through the first night. In-room coffee filter packets were made for a different machine and barely made colored water in our coffeemaker -- we went out and bought coffee and filters of our own -- breakfast is like Hampton Inns and others -- mass produced, but O.K. Plumbing was old and drain plugs did not work. Staff were very nice. We will not return to this facility, nor recommend it to anyone. October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for a small group reunion We had a great experience at the Holiday Express by staging a class reunion of 13 people there. The accommodations are very good, the pool is great, the warm breakfast delicious. We were able to hold a welcoming party in the public area and had a good dinner at the Frantonio Restaurant next door. The location is very propitious as it is close to the Marin Airporter for folks flying in and to the bus to Muir Woods. It took us 10 minutes to drive to the Ferry that goes from Sausalito to San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf and it took us only 45 minutes to drive to the wineries in Sonoma. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Incredible staff and location - definitely a repeat! I was impressed from the moment I checked in. The front desk staff went way beyond the "normal" check-in procedures to make sure I had accommodations that met all my needs. I soon discovered that the entire staff goes the extra mile to make sure your stay is perfect. Great team work and leadership here. The place is super clean. The rooms are spacious and have all the right amenities. The location is fantastic - beautiful scenery and easy to go anywhere from here. They even provide free bicycles to enjoy the surrounding trails and nature. About an hour after I had checked out, I discovered that I had left 2 rings in the room. I called the manager, and he immediately checked on it. I thought I had probably lost these rings forever, but they were returned to me and I am so grateful! Stay here - you won't regret it! October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great amenities, but staff could use additional training This property had a lot of amenities to offer including bicycles for use. However, we only learned of them from another guest on our last day at the hotel. We had not been told about them upon our check in. Also, two clothing items came up missing while we were there and the management although initially seeming to want to help, never responded to the issue or offered any explanation or apology. Some service excellence training for this staff would go a long way to offer the best possible experience to the guests. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mill Valley Holiday Inn Always enjoy my stay and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Only issue is water pressure in the bathroom sinks. October 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by overall value Our family has stayed at your hotel for almost 15 years when we visit the Bay Area. During this most recent stay, the room rates were the highest ever and we found the most ongoing problems with a number of services. As examples, the room refrigerator was set high enough to freeze fresh berries; the sliding door was very difficult to secure; the cable feed was unavailable off and on; and so on. The staff was very understanding and accommodating, trying to fix the problems. It seems to me, tho', that these are ongoing maintenance type problems that should be taken care of before a guest checks in. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay This was a great place to stay while we visited Muir Woods and Sonoma. The heated pool was nice since it was a little cool. You can check out bikes for the bike path and the smores at night was an extra treat. September 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Older motel with outdated decor. Clean for the most part but older decorations. Good location if you want to stay outside of San Francisco and commute into the city. Breakfast was not very tasty but average for this level of motel. September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great amenities and location The location is great for someone who likes to hike or bike. They loaned us bicycles and gave us s'more kits at night for the fire. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and really nice. It's right by where Marin air porter picks up and drops off for the airport. The staff is helpful and friendly. The beds were so comfy and it was quiet. The breakfast had a wide variety and was good. The only bad thing is how the room smelled. It smelled like old stale cigarettes and mildew. It did not air out. It is such a nice place and location but that does distract from all the rest that's good. I will stay there again but hope they can remedy the smell. They had a frig and a great TV. The bathroom fan was really loud also. September 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and great service. We were very pleased with everything ! Very comfortable beds and loved the choice of firm or soft pillows. The breakfast was more than adequate and they made sure everything was filled and tables were cleaned off as soon as people left the table. Would highly recommend. September 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay once again I stay every Labor Day weekend for the Sausalito Art Festival. I always have a pleasant stay. The front desk staff is always very helpful and upbeat! Best thing tough, this year I left my jewelry and several items in the dresser drawer. Everything was so hectic that I did not realize it until the following Tuesday! And lo and behold the wonderful housekeeping staff had my jewelry and other items waiting for me! THANK YOU so much your place is #1 on my list. Love the heated pool and the outdoor fireplace too! Thanks again! September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 I have a complaint ... I have a complaint... Your hotel has become the new GOLDEN standard! The rooms are wonderful, the area Gorgeous and an amazing staff always willing to go the extra mile for the guest. This hotel is incredible! Thank you especially to Joanne, she has been an huge help. -Josh September 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay Loved the whole experience. Checked in, relaxed in the patio, took a bike ride, took a swim in the heated pool, hot tub, had a wonderful dinner at Frantoio's next door, had s'mores for dessert. Slept in and had a nice breakfast the next morning and another swim before checking out. September 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff, Great Stay Staff so friendly and helpful. They all get along well and seem so happy with their jobs as well, which is a good sign, and bodes well for customer service. Joanne was particularly helpful linking my reservations and making sure my mobility needs were met. Very comfortable beds, and I love the duvets, as opposed to the old-style plastic blankets. The pool is just lovely; such comfortable furniture and very clean. Nice firepit area as well. Great breakfast; love that about all Holiday Inn Expresses. Will always stay here while visiting family in Mill Valley. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay-Great Staff What a great find. Love the staff--Joanne especially went out of her way to accommodate my limited mobility access needs. Sunny and bright; the pool has been renovated and is as nice as any we have visited at resorts. Love the breakfasts. Staff very accommodating to our business needs. Comfortable beds, modern duvets to keep you cozy and warm. Home away from home. September 3, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading