• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Ghirardelli Square - North
Distance From Hotel:0.75MI
Attraction:
Coit Tower - North East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Union Square/Chinatown/Financial Center - East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 606 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Our stay here was nice... They have clean rooms... Breakfast is pretty decent... No problems with connecting to the wifi. Location is the best because its near to everything.. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday 2014 This is a great hotel, as an IHG customer you get what's expected. We only used it for a B&B and it satisfied our requirements. Transportation either along the front or town down was very easy from here. Getting to this hotel from the airport also very easy. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic service, great accomodations and great location This is a great facility, with a great staff in an excellent location to experience the Wharf area. Highly recommend staying here if you are coming to the area to relax, enjoy and have easy access to many local attractions. September 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Comfortable, clean, very good location, great internet access, staff was very nice and helpful. Dinning area could be larger, was not large enough to accommodate all the guests. September 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by very expensive small room with excellent breakfast The smallest most expensive room ever. Our door opened out into the hallway making the chain useless. The staff repeatedly did not give us a new liner for the ice-bucket. However, the breakfast was excellent. Would not return to this property. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Excellent hotel, centrally located and access to all local amenities and transport. August 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Can't beat the location, nice staff and clean rooms The most important thing for me when booking a hotel is a.) CLEAN rooms and b.) good location. This place definitely hit a home run on both. It's a bit pricey as are all of the hotels in Fishermans Wharf but good value for the money. The breakfast was very good. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Both check in and check out. I liked how the rooms were non-smoking and the king bed was very comfortable and nice. If I'm ever back in San Francisco I would definitely look into staying at this property again. Location is excellent. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by polite staff I do recommend staying at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman´s Wharf - it´s a great hotel, near many attractions, restaurants and shops - walking distance to the cable car terminal - hotel is great, modern, clean, comfortable and great breakfast and staff . August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Last minute stay at Fisherman's Whart We decided at the last minute to stay a night in SF. We checked out this property and were pleasantly surprised. Ardy, the front desk clerk was FANTASTIC - so friendly and helpful. Upon asking if there was a AAA discount, she promptly gave me the number to call to secure that discount. Very pleased with the location, cleanliness and attentive staff at this hotel! August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to get car in and out This is a great location and easy to access all major bridges with ease. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visit San Francisco First time in San Francisco, staff gave me information on sightseeing, very helpful. Enjoyed my trip. August 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reserved family room not available... Excellent location, very clean rooms and a good breakfast. The only disappointment was the family sized room (which I had booked months in advance) was not available when we arrived. I chose this hotel because it could accommodate a family of five. Instead, the hotel gave us two side by side rooms which worked out... but it was definitely not the same as being together in one room. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service. This is in a great location in the Fisherman's Wharf. We were here to bring our daughter to SFAI which is very close by. Good shopping and restaurants nearby. Very good breakfast, included, along with free WiFi was a winning combination for us. The room was attractively furnished and the bath was roomy and clean and very functional. It was a great home base. Overall, I loved staying here! Thanks HIEFW!! August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location We were able to check in early, lovely big room for family of 4. Great location for sightseeing. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean, updated hotel with great location We found the hotel to be very conveniently located, very clean and updated. The room was very large to accommodate our family of 5. The breakfast was adequate and the lobby was nice and comfortable. The only complaint we had during our stay was that the air conditioner in the room would not go down below 72. We didn't mention it to the staff til the last day we were there and wile they said they would send someone up to take a look at it, we never heard anything back from them and the temperature still didn't change after that. Other than that, we really had no complaints about this hotel and would recommend it highly. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, nice clean rooms, breakfast included Good value for location, no frills but clean modern rooms, convenience of free daily breakfast and decent coffee. Friendly and professional staff. Excellent location in Fisherman's Wharf. Within walking distance to Little Italy, China Town, and other North Beach restaurants, Embarcadero, Pier 39, Ferry Building, etc.. and numerous attractions. Various transportation options from trolley, cable car, ferry/boat, bus, cab, bike rentals... August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fisherman's Wharf stay I only had one night in San Francisco and I chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express at Fisherman's Wharf. The location is great...I was able to walk and visit all of my favorite places. The hotel is clean, quiet, up to date, comfortable and met all of my needs. I will stay here when I return to San Francisco. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location Great location can walk to everything in the area. Parking is expensive but the overall value is good August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, great location, clean room, comfortable bed. Would recommend, We had a nice stay, with really no complaints other than the view from our room. Then again it is an express inn. Value, cleanliness and free breakfast were very good. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, towels new and fresh, bathroom clean, lounge area nice, great location. Within walking distance to wharf, pier 39, Alcatraz cruises and Gharadelli square, no need for a rental car. Well worth the money. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff are excellent Close to the wharf and transportation, this hotel offers everything you could want while visiting San Francisco - clean rooms, efficient and friendly staff, good access, lots of choices for breakfast. The only negative is that you have to pay extra for parking. Considering the price of parking elsewhere or risking street parking, I really didn't think too hard about paying the extra fee. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay As IHG member, I have stay in many Holiday Inn Express in different city. This location is near Fisherman Wharf, San Francisco within walking distance, great location. Room is comfortable. Breakfast is typical Holiday Inn standard, same as all other Holiday Inn. However, I do like their recyclable tray and environmental friendly serveware. WiFi is fast and many free TV channel such as HBO. A lots information are available on the display for tourist. However, elevator is a bit confusing with two opening buttons. I have observed many people holding the wrong button trying to hold the door open but fail. That makes interaction between tenants very awkward. It was great stay for overall experiences. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful location, excellent service, very comfortable The location could not have been more convenient for our visit. Having an excellent breakfast provided by the hotel was a super bonus. The room was a bit smaller than other locations, however, we were out and about so much, we didn't really notice. Loved this stay! August 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Gets the job done It's a Holiday Inn Express. Nothing special about it, however I did enjoy the in room televisions and channel options. The breakfast was great too, but the crowd at breakfast gets large. August 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I have mixed feelings about this visit. The hotel is extremely expensive and I used all of my points plus cash to stay… so my expectations were high. The room was great and very clean. My disappointments were (1) the entrance- we arrived and dropped the car off at the valet… There were at least four employees standing outside (I believe valet workers that were currently free) all were smoking cigarettes right outside the entrance. We could not avoid the cloud of smoke and had to stand in it while we removed our belongings from the vehicle. It also entered the car and caused the rental company to question if we had smoked in there. I am extremely adverse to smoke and we were forced to immediately shower and change to get the smell off. (2) The website states this is a non-pet hotel… one morning at breakfast two individuals were standing in the food area with a large pit-bull who was not overly friendly…. And obviously not a service dog. At this point we decided not even to enter the food area. The two individuals packed up bags of food in their book bags and left leading us to believe they were not even staying in the hotel. It is astonishing to me that not one employee of the hotel is designated to watch over the breakfast area and prevent these occurrences. There were several children and this could have been a dangerous situation. August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very convenient in the downtown SF area easy in and out, no hassles overall. good location for our purposes of relaxing and walking the streets to great restaurants. clean and safe feeling. we will use this again as we did last year at Christmas time for a play in downtown SF. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by August 14, 2014 Stay for Seminar very nice comfortable, clean, nice breakfast, loved it! August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Fransisco Excellent location and staff. Hotel was quiet in the evening. Staff was very attentive and informative. Monica was exceptionally helpful in making reservations and making suggestions on local events / tours. Could not have asked for a better stay than what the Holiday Inn Express team provided for this trip. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Girls trip to San Francisco Clean, friendly, safe, excellent location, wonderful breakfast selections. Immediate access to cable cars, trolleys, wharf. Easy walk to North Beach....SUPER LOCATION! August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome location- walking distance to attractions HIE have become my choice of hotels. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and the staff are great. You are within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf which houses the Aquarium by the Bay, Pier 39 and there is my favorite Ghiardelli Square. You can easily walk to the trolley turn around. My only 2 "negatives" would be there is no frig & microwave as in other HIE's and the parking is $45/night. With that said, ALL parking is expensive in San Fran so we just bit the bullet and dealt with it. I am a member so I received an early check in and a late check out which was really handy. If you are not a member, they will "hold your luggage" if you want to start your vacation. The breakfast area is a great size and lots of choices. My son LOVED the pancake machine :) A fresh fruit salad would be a great item, but we had apples and bananas. We printed our boarding passes at the provided computers, free of charge. The in room free wi-fi seemed fast (not here on business so we did not upload/download any files). Completely recommend this hotel. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location On our way to college visits, Berkley and Stanford. With 2 August 14, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 21 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading