• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Golden Gate Park - West
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Moscone Convention Center - South East
Distance From Hotel:1.4MI
Attraction:
Haight/Ashbury - West
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.
Announcements
Opening this summer, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. R-O-H will feature the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine-on-tap from Napa and Sonoma
View More
Announcements
Opening this summer, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. R-O-H will feature the best local and international craft draft beer, cutting edge wine-on-tap from Napa and Sonoma and a full selection spirits. Enjoy beer and wine flights paired with small plates designed for sharing. The menu will feature dishes made famous in one of San Francisco’s iconic neighborhoods.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 229 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service! Being located in San Francisco, one would think staying at a hotel is complicated. Not for this hotel! I drove to San Francisco and found this hotel easily with my GPS (can't live without it in San Francisco). Parking was very easy since they had their own garage and they even provide you a parking pass for in & out priviledges. The hotel lobby is beautiful with modern decor and they also have a restaurant/bar for you to relax near the lobby. The rooms were super clean and the beds were very comfortable. But besides that, the most important factor was the hotel staff. Ana, David, and Mark were very accommodating and friendly. Ana went above & beyond in service as she offered coupons and was very hospitable. Because of their service, I will stay at this property! September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! Great location! We enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn. It was very comfortable and a great location for getting around San Francisco with out a car! Our room was very modern and clean and we had a great view of the city from our room. The Bart and Muni station is right next door and it was very easy to get to this hotel via Bart from SFO airport. A great place to stay! September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel experience I can remember. From the check in to the check out and every single hotel staff member encountered, this was the best hotel experience I've had in a long time. At check in I was given an additional discount I qualified for but hadn't been given as part of my reservation. Room was simple, clean and roomy with comfortable beds. View was decent for the city. Housekeeping was very friendly. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant after waiting an hour to get into a place down the street the day before and the food was good, not great, but the service was unbelievable. We ate there the next day just because we were so amazed with the service and the kids loved it so much. Even the doormen were super friendly and helpful. I do a fair amount of traveling, but this was a notable hotel experience and I highly recommend staying here with family or without. It's a fairly easy walk to the ballpark, even carrying a 4 year old, but it's so close to Muni and BART also. September 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco Holiday Inn While this was convenient for our conference that we were attending the prices of the food and a beer were ridiculous. $7 a beer, $21 for a buffet breakfast, $16 for a continnental breakfast...that's just crazy. They didn't have the correct room I booked when I got there and the room they put me in had huge stains onthe carpet and was just ok. They moved me to a king on Monday which was much better. I would stay here again but would not eat breakfast and would probably buy a beer somewhere else. The other prices for food at the restaurant were much better but breakfast was way overpriced. September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by SF Giants Getaway This is our second stay at this hotel. Both times it has been to see the Giants play at AT&T Park. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and very helpful in assisting the navigation of the SF minibus system-which is just down the street from the hotel. The hotel is conveniently located and everything is "minutes away". When we came back to the hotel - the restaurant was closed and the Bartender was helpful in providing us a menu from a local Italian restaurant that delivered directly to the room. Prices for the food were very reasonable! Speaking of prices, this is the only drawback in staying at this hotel-the cost. On top of the pricey room for the night, you also get nailed for an additional 42.00 for parking fees! Nice place! August 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, bad Location I stayed here for 2 nights while on a business trip to the Bay area. I wanted to use it as a base to explore the city. This worked out fine during the day, but I did not feel safe in the area after dark. August 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Dog Friendly One would have expectations that a hotel that offers dog friendly rooms would have a place for the dogs to relieve themselves. NOT SO. The relief area is a concrete area on the 4th floor near the swimming pool. I would not recommend if ease of care for the dogs. August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff! We stayed here for 1 night primarily because the Fisherman's Wharf location wanted $499 for the night. We arrived late and the gentleman who checked us in was more than pleasant and helpful. Our room was nice and even had a pretty decent view of the city. August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good choice if you need to be in the SoMa area I think I was quite fortunate that my stay was mainly over a weekend. I wondered why they gave me ear plugs on my bedside table and Monday morning (the day I was checking out) I finally understood. There is some construction going on in the area which could potentially be loud and annoying. Other than that, I was pleasantly surprised that there were so many options for public transportation just within a block's walk of the hotel. That was really perfect. If the theater had any shows playing during my stay, that would have been incredibly convenient. The bed and pillows were super comfy. I do wish the bathroom was a little more updated, but it wasn't bad by any means. Any staff persons I interacted with were very pleasant. If I stay at this Holiday Inn again, I would try to ask for a room ending in an odd number so I can get a view of the north side of SF rather than the south facing room I had. All in all a very good stay which suited my needs at the time. August 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, bad location First time in San Fran and was not aware of best location to stay. This hotel was NOT the location we wanted to be. We were a family here to site see and it was in a "seedy" part of town. We walked out the first day and used the car the rest of the trip. (Better to stay at either of the Holiday Inns near the wharf). I will say the staff was so friendly and did everything they could to make us comfortable from extra pillows to discounted parking (very expensive) and even moved us to another room the second day because our original room was not updated and looked very worn. Again maybe Ok for a business person because it is close to city hall but if you are with kids site seeing this is not the place. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay Had another amazing stay at Holiday Inn. Had a great experience checking in Benny is GREAT! August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Secure...but WHERE AM I? Stayed here during our first trip to SF for a music festival when most of the hotels in town were booked. A stone's throw from the Civic Center BART station, which was wonderful especially coming from the airport, but the hotel is in a questionable part of town. When we asked at the front desk "um...is this a bad part of town?", the nice young man behind the counter replied with "no, no, no. The bad part of town is over there." ...and pointed across the street. Yikes. All in all, a decent experience: - - Insanely expensive for a Holiday Inn, likely related to the festival going on that weekend. Questionable neighborhood. Housekeeping SO LOUD in the halls in the morning. Came into our room three times the morning of check-out until we wised up and put a Do Not Disturb on the door until we left at 12:30. + + Proximity to the BART, Starbucks, Bus Stops, etc. - so convenient! Bar and restaurant in the lobby of the hotel. Extremely helpful doorman for directions, hailing cabs, etc. Very secure, with room card access at every entrance and elevator. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Good hotel staff very friendly. Good location cn walk to every thing with in 15-20 min trams at corner Bart also nice pool area comfortable. Just the room interior very dated for a holiday inn hotel August 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Bad Holiday Inn I had stayed at Holiday Inn all over California. And by far this is the worste Holiday Inn I had stayed Inn. Room is old, noisy and lack of amenity. Wifi doesn't work. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and great service A well hotel but the place is a few dangerous, a lot of homeless August 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid if Seeking the Likes of Union Square of the Pier This hotel is located in the heart of the city but if you are seeking tourism you will need to take a cab or bring your walking shoes. The hotel is clean, the rooms have decent beds are are too clean, but our bathtub filled with water during our showers. Up to my calves! We tell the front desk and they can say is "oh we're sorry". There was also a soiled washcloth that looked like a mechanics cloth in the bathroom. Bleach anyone. To this they also did not care. The outside of the hotel has a several bums sleeping right outside. I am fairly tolerant but I feel aweful about almost stumbling over someone sleeping on the sidewalk when stepping down from the entrance steps. The nearby restaurants are average to excellent. I personally feel they charge way too much for this hotel given it is not in Union Square or a more desirable part of the city. August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place, but a little disappointed The hotel was nice and modern. Free wifi was a definite plus. The area is not the greatest- we got hassled by a homeless woman as we were walking in to the hotel. My only real disappontment was that I booked a block of rooms for a bridal party, and I asked the front desk to do something nice for the bride and groom. I was told that they would block a room for them and bring a bottle of champagne up to them after they checked in. Instead, their room wasn't ready until 5:30, and they never got any champagne. They were given drink vouchers, which is something, but it was still a little frustrating to be told one thing and then receive another. Not the end of the world, though, and I would definitely stay here again. August 9, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room doesn't look like the online pictures Would never stay here again. Lobby nice but room 925 not so great. No room, worn, dirty furniture in our room. Bath tub drain didn't work. Thought we were getting larger room since it had a pullout sofa, but it was just stuffed into the corner of room which made it very tight. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean efficient hotel well placed for our needs. Great that we could all share one room and the location was good for us as we wanted to see the sights of San Francisco. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just the ticket Working in San Francisco, the location, friendly welcome and cleanliness of the hotel were all very welcome. I will be staying here on my next visit! See you soon August 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and presentation Had a very pleasant three-night stay recently at Holiday Inn Civic Center. From check-in until check-out everyone on staff was really friendly - personal yet professional. The rooms are presented really nicely - the Exec-level room was more spacious than I was expecting which was a nice surprise. The breakfast offering was a little disappointing - the quality wasn't quite there for the $25 pricetag and the staff in the restaurant seemed rushed and a little surly (this was the only exception to my previous comment). Overall though - a great stay. Thanks! August 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unhappy Hello, I must say as having the status i have this was one of the worst stays i have ever had with HI. No up grade, toilet ran all the time. The handle for the tub drain was broke, dust was ALL over. Could tell not one had stayed there for several days. first 2 days paper was not delivered. No Refrig. in room. Missed a wake up call one day. Did not receive my room statement under the door. Noise, up and down hall way kids, for 2 nights, called and nothing happened.... Ron August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best kept secret in SF. This perfectly located hotel in downtown SF is a great place to stay. Comfortable rooms. Incredible staff whether Lily in th restaurant or any other staff member. They make one feel like one of th family. Yes it's a Holiday Inn, but it's one of my favorite stays. I highly recommend it to any traveler for any type of trip. Kudos! August 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay in downtown San Francisco Room/hotel very clean-was impressed. Felt very safe in motel even though not in best neighborhood. Only issue I had was that people would go out on adjoining balcony to smoke and I could smell it in our room. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent (From Travel agent and Flight attendant) I had amazing time. yes area can get sketchy but its SF thats normal.! Amazing front desk service! Location is very central!!! Love it Internet works good! even got free 2 bottles water and 2 comp drinks! AWESOME! July 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and excellent housekeeping We stayed at the hotel for seven nights. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. It was good to have wifi access in the room. We also enjoyed using the leisure facilities. The only downside was the noise from the next door building site which started early in the morning. July 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Consider this hotel if you need a smoking room Convinent location with smoking room. However, the wall is too thin and you can hear voices from next room. The WIFI connection was really bad. I read a lot of complaints about the WIFI by other guests before my stay and wonder why nothing is done? July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay in San Francisco Great room, great staff and a great location. I loved the view and its so easy to get around SF using public transit from there. I'll be back. July 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Be aware of the neighborhood Stayed 4 nights. Hotel is very convenient to the trolly, MUNI trains and BART along Market. I found the hotel comfortable and safe. My only concern would be the neighborhood. The restaurant was good, but somewhat pricey. July 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, lots of street noise, lack of nearby dining. Stayed at this hotel due to proximity to business site. Room was comfortable and clean, but door to balcony was not well insulated - draft and lots of outside noise. No breakfast included with room price - just the basic continental breakfast in the hotel restaurant was as expensive as the dinner entree I bought one night! Also if you want a mini-fridge in your room, you have to rent one on a first-come, first-served basis for a fee. Poor value, in my opinion. Also, there is not much to eat around the hotel other than fast food. If you need to be near the Civic Center and don't mind the lack of dining options it's a decent place, but otherwise I would probably look for a different location. July 22, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading