• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-14-2014)
(e.g. Sep-15-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Ghirardelli Square - North
Distance From Hotel:0.75MI
Attraction:
Financial District - East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Presidio - North West
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 268 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unhappy Hello, I must say as having the status i have this was one of the worst stays i have ever had with HI. No up grade, toilet ran all the time. The handle for the tub drain was broke, dust was ALL over. Could tell not one had stayed there for several days. first 2 days paper was not delivered. No Refrig. in room. Missed a wake up call one day. Did not receive my room statement under the door. Noise, up and down hall way kids, for 2 nights, called and nothing happened.... Ron August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best kept secret in SF. This perfectly located hotel in downtown SF is a great place to stay. Comfortable rooms. Incredible staff whether Lily in th restaurant or any other staff member. They make one feel like one of th family. Yes it's a Holiday Inn, but it's one of my favorite stays. I highly recommend it to any traveler for any type of trip. Kudos! August 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay in downtown San Francisco Room/hotel very clean-was impressed. Felt very safe in motel even though not in best neighborhood. Only issue I had was that people would go out on adjoining balcony to smoke and I could smell it in our room. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent (From Travel agent and Flight attendant) I had amazing time. yes area can get sketchy but its SF thats normal.! Amazing front desk service! Location is very central!!! Love it Internet works good! even got free 2 bottles water and 2 comp drinks! AWESOME! July 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and excellent housekeeping We stayed at the hotel for seven nights. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. It was good to have wifi access in the room. We also enjoyed using the leisure facilities. The only downside was the noise from the next door building site which started early in the morning. July 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Consider this hotel if you need a smoking room Convinent location with smoking room. However, the wall is too thin and you can hear voices from next room. The WIFI connection was really bad. I read a lot of complaints about the WIFI by other guests before my stay and wonder why nothing is done? July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay in San Francisco Great room, great staff and a great location. I loved the view and its so easy to get around SF using public transit from there. I'll be back. July 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Be aware of the neighborhood Stayed 4 nights. Hotel is very convenient to the trolly, MUNI trains and BART along Market. I found the hotel comfortable and safe. My only concern would be the neighborhood. The restaurant was good, but somewhat pricey. July 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, lots of street noise, lack of nearby dining. Stayed at this hotel due to proximity to business site. Room was comfortable and clean, but door to balcony was not well insulated - draft and lots of outside noise. No breakfast included with room price - just the basic continental breakfast in the hotel restaurant was as expensive as the dinner entree I bought one night! Also if you want a mini-fridge in your room, you have to rent one on a first-come, first-served basis for a fee. Poor value, in my opinion. Also, there is not much to eat around the hotel other than fast food. If you need to be near the Civic Center and don't mind the lack of dining options it's a decent place, but otherwise I would probably look for a different location. July 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just average The hotel and rooms were average. The bed was confomratble and the room size was adequate. I was in an upgraded room and was surprosed there was not a refridgerator in the room...and was told no rooms had one, but I could rent one. Also, the location is in a bad part of town. July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco Vacation We had never visited Northern California and wanted to make San Francisco a part of our trip. The Civic center was centrally located and turned out to be better than expected. The only downer was the parking fee, but that's life in the big city, right? Big thanks to the staff at this hotel, particularly Bennie the concierge, who gave us several insightful tips as to navigating the city, food, restaurants and must see places. All of his recommendations were wonderful and much appreciated. We enjoyed the Wharf, a cruise, a wonderful Chinatown meal and several touristy things. Bennie even gave us useful information about places to see North of the city such as Muir Woods and Napa. We stayed at two more Holiday Inns at those locations. Great trip - great hotel. Thanks for a memorable stay. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, ready for occupancy. Our staying at holyday inn Civic Center in San Francisco was a good experience, we had our room which had previously been reserved in advance, ready for occupancy at the time we were told it would be ready. At check out, before noon, we were told we could still have access to the room until 4 pm. which gave us additional time to shop and visit the San Francisco financial district and Bay area. Thanks Holiday Inn. July 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location, high price The hotel location is good, pretty close to the main street, but the price is high for the service. July 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reception desk not well infomed about transportation to SFO Employees at the reception desk should know about ALL types of transportation to the airport and give gests options. The person at the front desk said there were no buses to SFO and the only way to get there was in a taxi. Guess what? There' an express bus KX that stops at Mission & 7th. July 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and place to stay! I have stayed here a few times now. This is the only place I will stay in San Francisco! July 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Arrogant staff in an average hotel It's rare to experience check-in people who ignore you, who are unwilling to help with check-in/out, with received packages. The room is noisy, I guess receiving a set of ear-plugs with the check in tells a story. Food is bad and expensive. The area in town is full of beggars and thieves. All in all: not a recommended place. July 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by SF Holiday Inn Arrival - No place to park to check in. No one to ask for help to get into parking. After some confusion a janitor helped. No one to help with luggage. No sign in garage. Check in - told on phone that breakfast was comped. Not so. Desk clerk no help at all. Garage - tried to leave, key for gate would not work. Went to desk for help, clerk more interested in woman behind desk than helping me. Told them 8 to 10 cars lined up behind me to get out finally got their attention. Spent at least 15 minutes trying to get out. Have stayed here previously. This was worst experience by far. Probably will take business elsewhere. June 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff I was there for SF marathon. When I checked in, Benny, front desk staff is very patient to introduce the fitness facilities in and outside of the hotel. The room is clean and comfortable, yet it's not 5 stars hotel, but definitely a great value. As the hotel is next to Bart station in downtown SF. Overall staff in the hotel are very nice and friendly. June 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff! The staff at this hotel is very helpful and courteous. From check-in to check-out and help in between. June 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Civic Center Stay I used this property for a business stay. I expected worse so was pleasantly surprised that the hotel was clean, staff was friendly and it was a good value for SF. Of course, there is the issue of the Tenderloin nearby and safety. It is not the prettiest of areas in SF but for business, it was fine. Plenty of modes of transportation all around. Not far from the Westfield Shopping Center that I had to walk to so I could get on the bus to the train. Overall, I would recommend. Just take dinner with you or eat at the hotel. Or have a lot of company if you go out at night. It wasn't too bad, I didn't feel like I was in a war zone or ghetto. But I got to my room about 7:30 pm and stayed. Didn't go out because I was too tired. June 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Can you see, Ice Bucket The Maid was happy for the tip, showing it my writing thanks on the note I put by my tips so they know it for them and not just left there. I actually had a maid once not take the tip so now I alway leave a not. Even though she left a note, the room was never quite completely cleaned. I would get ice each night. The ice bucket was never cleaned and I was there for six straight nights. June 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds but construction annoying I have been staying here quite frequently. I am thinking about relocating to another location on my trips to a Doctor at UCSF. I had to have surgery in March and had a reservation and despite my alliegence to this property and the number of stays, they would not work with me at all on cancelling the room. I relented and decided to use this facility again and it was a big dissappointment. No upgrade for my Priority Club Membership or any other kind of acknowledgement. I will be curious to see if I get paid my Points. Very dissappointed all in all, and I will be returning to SF the first week of October and am very possibly going to look into staying at another property. June 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Two Aussies Loved This Accommodation The staff were all friendly and helpful. I specifically wanted accommodation with Wi-fi, pool and parking, and this venue had it. Walking distance to the Cablecars which enabled us to leave the car behind and experience San Fran with the locals. The biggest surprise was the most comfortable bed and pillows. Will definitely recommend to friends. Thank you for a great stay. June 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Renovations Needed I stayed on the top floor had a draft coming through the sliding door. It looked like there was an attempt to patch the draft with some tape, but obviously repairs were needed. Otherwise, had no major issues with the stay. June 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff - great stay! The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. Also, each morning we ate a delicious breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The staff there was also friendly and gave us information about places to see and things to do. We had a wonderful stay and highly recommend this hotel! June 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Experiance at Holiday Inn Civic Center I have been staying here for two or three nights every two week or so for the past two months. My experiences there have been about the same every time. I am greeted in a friendly manner by the Doorman (usually Tyrone - super nice guy and very helpful) and at the Front Desk, I get checked in quickly and efficiently. I am one of those horrible smokers and they make sure I get a smoking room. I seem to deal with Mark at the Front Desk and he really is a great example of what customer service should be. The rooms I've had have all been well maintained. In the restaurant, the choices are a bit limited, but SF has so many places to eat it is hard to compete. The service has always been friendly and the food is well prepared and tasty, I will be staying there again. May 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday visit This hotel is situated well for a visit to all of San Francisco's sights. The hotel rooms are very clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly. Although there is construction work across the road which does cause noise, which is something the hotel cannot be held responsible for. I had a very enjoyable stay here. May 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We'll come back soon We enjoyed the hotel in every aspect. The only thing we didn't like were the homeless around the neighborhoud. May 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not the greatest Restaurant and lounge were rarely opened. (I never did see it open). Room layout is awkward if there is more than one person. Staff weren't very knowledgeable. Couldn't provide me a receipt upon checkout, unable to answer questions about nearby attractions, couldn't book us a shuttle to the airport............ May 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Avoid!! Staff are rude, hotel is noisy (building being demolished across the street, construction starts very early). Wifi does not work, hotel staff say that is fine because it is "free"- would rather have the option to pay for working internet then to be left without anything. May 4, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-14-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-15-2014)
Check Availability
Loading