• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Ghirardelli Square - North
Distance From Hotel:0.75MI
Attraction:
Financial District - East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Presidio - North West
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449
Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 278 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Secure...but WHERE AM I? Stayed here during our first trip to SF for a music festival when most of the hotels in town were booked. A stone's throw from the Civic Center BART station, which was wonderful especially coming from the airport, but the hotel is in a questionable part of town. When we asked at the front desk "um...is this a bad part of town?", the nice young man behind the counter replied with "no, no, no. The bad part of town is over there." ...and pointed across the street. Yikes. All in all, a decent experience: - - Insanely expensive for a Holiday Inn, likely related to the festival going on that weekend. Questionable neighborhood. Housekeeping SO LOUD in the halls in the morning. Came into our room three times the morning of check-out until we wised up and put a Do Not Disturb on the door until we left at 12:30. + + Proximity to the BART, Starbucks, Bus Stops, etc. - so convenient! Bar and restaurant in the lobby of the hotel. Extremely helpful doorman for directions, hailing cabs, etc. Very secure, with room card access at every entrance and elevator. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Good hotel staff very friendly. Good location cn walk to every thing with in 15-20 min trams at corner Bart also nice pool area comfortable. Just the room interior very dated for a holiday inn hotel August 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Bad Holiday Inn I had stayed at Holiday Inn all over California. And by far this is the worste Holiday Inn I had stayed Inn. Room is old, noisy and lack of amenity. Wifi doesn't work. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and great service A well hotel but the place is a few dangerous, a lot of homeless August 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid if Seeking the Likes of Union Square of the Pier This hotel is located in the heart of the city but if you are seeking tourism you will need to take a cab or bring your walking shoes. The hotel is clean, the rooms have decent beds are are too clean, but our bathtub filled with water during our showers. Up to my calves! We tell the front desk and they can say is "oh we're sorry". There was also a soiled washcloth that looked like a mechanics cloth in the bathroom. Bleach anyone. To this they also did not care. The outside of the hotel has a several bums sleeping right outside. I am fairly tolerant but I feel aweful about almost stumbling over someone sleeping on the sidewalk when stepping down from the entrance steps. The nearby restaurants are average to excellent. I personally feel they charge way too much for this hotel given it is not in Union Square or a more desirable part of the city. August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place, but a little disappointed The hotel was nice and modern. Free wifi was a definite plus. The area is not the greatest- we got hassled by a homeless woman as we were walking in to the hotel. My only real disappontment was that I booked a block of rooms for a bridal party, and I asked the front desk to do something nice for the bride and groom. I was told that they would block a room for them and bring a bottle of champagne up to them after they checked in. Instead, their room wasn't ready until 5:30, and they never got any champagne. They were given drink vouchers, which is something, but it was still a little frustrating to be told one thing and then receive another. Not the end of the world, though, and I would definitely stay here again. August 9, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room doesn't look like the online pictures Would never stay here again. Lobby nice but room 925 not so great. No room, worn, dirty furniture in our room. Bath tub drain didn't work. Thought we were getting larger room since it had a pullout sofa, but it was just stuffed into the corner of room which made it very tight. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean efficient hotel well placed for our needs. Great that we could all share one room and the location was good for us as we wanted to see the sights of San Francisco. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just the ticket Working in San Francisco, the location, friendly welcome and cleanliness of the hotel were all very welcome. I will be staying here on my next visit! See you soon August 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and presentation Had a very pleasant three-night stay recently at Holiday Inn Civic Center. From check-in until check-out everyone on staff was really friendly - personal yet professional. The rooms are presented really nicely - the Exec-level room was more spacious than I was expecting which was a nice surprise. The breakfast offering was a little disappointing - the quality wasn't quite there for the $25 pricetag and the staff in the restaurant seemed rushed and a little surly (this was the only exception to my previous comment). Overall though - a great stay. Thanks! August 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unhappy Hello, I must say as having the status i have this was one of the worst stays i have ever had with HI. No up grade, toilet ran all the time. The handle for the tub drain was broke, dust was ALL over. Could tell not one had stayed there for several days. first 2 days paper was not delivered. No Refrig. in room. Missed a wake up call one day. Did not receive my room statement under the door. Noise, up and down hall way kids, for 2 nights, called and nothing happened.... Ron August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best kept secret in SF. This perfectly located hotel in downtown SF is a great place to stay. Comfortable rooms. Incredible staff whether Lily in th restaurant or any other staff member. They make one feel like one of th family. Yes it's a Holiday Inn, but it's one of my favorite stays. I highly recommend it to any traveler for any type of trip. Kudos! August 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay in downtown San Francisco Room/hotel very clean-was impressed. Felt very safe in motel even though not in best neighborhood. Only issue I had was that people would go out on adjoining balcony to smoke and I could smell it in our room. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent (From Travel agent and Flight attendant) I had amazing time. yes area can get sketchy but its SF thats normal.! Amazing front desk service! Location is very central!!! Love it Internet works good! even got free 2 bottles water and 2 comp drinks! AWESOME! July 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and excellent housekeeping We stayed at the hotel for seven nights. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. It was good to have wifi access in the room. We also enjoyed using the leisure facilities. The only downside was the noise from the next door building site which started early in the morning. July 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Consider this hotel if you need a smoking room Convinent location with smoking room. However, the wall is too thin and you can hear voices from next room. The WIFI connection was really bad. I read a lot of complaints about the WIFI by other guests before my stay and wonder why nothing is done? July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay in San Francisco Great room, great staff and a great location. I loved the view and its so easy to get around SF using public transit from there. I'll be back. July 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Be aware of the neighborhood Stayed 4 nights. Hotel is very convenient to the trolly, MUNI trains and BART along Market. I found the hotel comfortable and safe. My only concern would be the neighborhood. The restaurant was good, but somewhat pricey. July 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, lots of street noise, lack of nearby dining. Stayed at this hotel due to proximity to business site. Room was comfortable and clean, but door to balcony was not well insulated - draft and lots of outside noise. No breakfast included with room price - just the basic continental breakfast in the hotel restaurant was as expensive as the dinner entree I bought one night! Also if you want a mini-fridge in your room, you have to rent one on a first-come, first-served basis for a fee. Poor value, in my opinion. Also, there is not much to eat around the hotel other than fast food. If you need to be near the Civic Center and don't mind the lack of dining options it's a decent place, but otherwise I would probably look for a different location. July 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just average The hotel and rooms were average. The bed was confomratble and the room size was adequate. I was in an upgraded room and was surprosed there was not a refridgerator in the room...and was told no rooms had one, but I could rent one. Also, the location is in a bad part of town. July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco Vacation We had never visited Northern California and wanted to make San Francisco a part of our trip. The Civic center was centrally located and turned out to be better than expected. The only downer was the parking fee, but that's life in the big city, right? Big thanks to the staff at this hotel, particularly Bennie the concierge, who gave us several insightful tips as to navigating the city, food, restaurants and must see places. All of his recommendations were wonderful and much appreciated. We enjoyed the Wharf, a cruise, a wonderful Chinatown meal and several touristy things. Bennie even gave us useful information about places to see North of the city such as Muir Woods and Napa. We stayed at two more Holiday Inns at those locations. Great trip - great hotel. Thanks for a memorable stay. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, ready for occupancy. Our staying at holyday inn Civic Center in San Francisco was a good experience, we had our room which had previously been reserved in advance, ready for occupancy at the time we were told it would be ready. At check out, before noon, we were told we could still have access to the room until 4 pm. which gave us additional time to shop and visit the San Francisco financial district and Bay area. Thanks Holiday Inn. July 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location, high price The hotel location is good, pretty close to the main street, but the price is high for the service. July 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reception desk not well infomed about transportation to SFO Employees at the reception desk should know about ALL types of transportation to the airport and give gests options. The person at the front desk said there were no buses to SFO and the only way to get there was in a taxi. Guess what? There' an express bus KX that stops at Mission & 7th. July 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and place to stay! I have stayed here a few times now. This is the only place I will stay in San Francisco! July 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Arrogant staff in an average hotel It's rare to experience check-in people who ignore you, who are unwilling to help with check-in/out, with received packages. The room is noisy, I guess receiving a set of ear-plugs with the check in tells a story. Food is bad and expensive. The area in town is full of beggars and thieves. All in all: not a recommended place. July 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by SF Holiday Inn Arrival - No place to park to check in. No one to ask for help to get into parking. After some confusion a janitor helped. No one to help with luggage. No sign in garage. Check in - told on phone that breakfast was comped. Not so. Desk clerk no help at all. Garage - tried to leave, key for gate would not work. Went to desk for help, clerk more interested in woman behind desk than helping me. Told them 8 to 10 cars lined up behind me to get out finally got their attention. Spent at least 15 minutes trying to get out. Have stayed here previously. This was worst experience by far. Probably will take business elsewhere. June 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff I was there for SF marathon. When I checked in, Benny, front desk staff is very patient to introduce the fitness facilities in and outside of the hotel. The room is clean and comfortable, yet it's not 5 stars hotel, but definitely a great value. As the hotel is next to Bart station in downtown SF. Overall staff in the hotel are very nice and friendly. June 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff! The staff at this hotel is very helpful and courteous. From check-in to check-out and help in between. June 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Civic Center Stay I used this property for a business stay. I expected worse so was pleasantly surprised that the hotel was clean, staff was friendly and it was a good value for SF. Of course, there is the issue of the Tenderloin nearby and safety. It is not the prettiest of areas in SF but for business, it was fine. Plenty of modes of transportation all around. Not far from the Westfield Shopping Center that I had to walk to so I could get on the bus to the train. Overall, I would recommend. Just take dinner with you or eat at the hotel. Or have a lot of company if you go out at night. It wasn't too bad, I didn't feel like I was in a war zone or ghetto. But I got to my room about 7:30 pm and stayed. Didn't go out because I was too tired. June 10, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading