• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese
  4. Korean
  5. Tagalog
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in Standard guests rooms only; there is a weight limit of 35 lbs. A nonrefundable pet fee of 75.00 per stay will be charged. No kennels are available. Other restrictions may apply; please contact hotel if you have any questions.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
California Cable Car line
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Ghirardelli Square - North
Distance From Hotel:0.75MI
Attraction:
Coit Tower - North East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Union Square/Chinatown/Financial Center - East
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:300
  • Car Parking Available
  • On site parking, currently $40.00 plus tax. Height restriction for garage is 5'11".
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 40.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:496
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:267
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:232
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:499
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:26
  • FEMA Property Number:CA1449

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business
View More

Enjoy Staying at San Francisco Hotel's Ideal Location

Holiday Inn® Golden Gateway is a full-service conference hotel in downtown San Francisco centered between Nob Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge and Pacific Heights, an oasis for corporate and leisure travelers offering the "True San Francisco Experience."

Rising 26 stories with 496 guestrooms starting on the 6th floor, each offers outstanding city or bay views.

On-site heated outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and fitness center, guest laundry, dry-cleaning services, R-O-H Bar and Restaurant including room service starting at 5pm. Over 100 restaurants within walking distance as well.

Historic cable cars are located on California Street, just steps from the hotel, providing easy access to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial District and Chinatown.

Attractions minutes from the hotel include Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, beautiful Golden Gate Park, Moscone Convention Center and Yerba Buena Gardens. Depending on the season, you can also plan to take in a 49ers or Giants game at AT&T park.

Our conference hotel features more than 18,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space including our two Ballrooms. We can accommodate groups and meetings from 10 to 450 people for business or social events. On-site audio/visual and conference services are available.

View Less
Features
With unobstructed views of the city skyline or San Francisco Bay, the views are certainly something to boast about. Our downtown San Francisco hotel's guest rooms are a match for the stunning views.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 863 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Away, underpay what you deserve customer service - staff at counter named Andre was arrogant and refuse to provide any bottle water to 4 of us room guests middle of the night. Our flight experienced a huge delay due to weather and we weren't able to check in until 3 AM in the next morning....all shops were closed and he just stood there and keep saying I can give you free water just because. I told him I was IHG member and he doesn't case. Quite an arrogant customer service you have there. Parking issue - Same guy Andre from front desk told us we could go ahead to head in garage then we got bounced back because it did require a access card. When asked he refused to admit he ever gave that instruction to us and we stood there as if we are 4 stupid Asian idiots. Very personal and his attitude was just rude and improper. Room - very noisy because we are assigned next to bunch of dumpsters outside on the street, we got woke up every morning around 5 AM with NO EXCEPTION! July 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Parking and staff knowledge Paid for parking for 2 days had trouble finding spots when I told front desk comment was no guarantee and that spots would open when hotel staff changed shifts. Told him that maybe they should only charge if a spot is available or not have staff park at hotel. When asked questions on how to get a location they were unsure. I took a cab but could have walked the 3 blocks when asked if there was place to buy something was told fisherman's wharf after looking around lobby found gift shop July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Wharf for Three Nights We had an excellent experience staying at Fisherman's Wharf HI. The front desk associates were polite and inviting. The only change would be the small bathroom because little vanity space was available. Also most HI offer complimentary coffee; this was not available. The shuttle service personnel was not very polite...a little testy. Overall, the HI was a wonderful hotel for three nights at the Wharf. We stayed there 20 years ago! July 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 房间太小,装修陈旧,设施一般,整洁一般。 房间太小,装修陈旧,设施一般,整洁一般。安全情况一般,没有保安,前台服务缓慢,没有优悦会礼遇。毛巾清洁程度糟糕。 July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and safe facility. Our experience overall was excellent. The only criticism I have is that we were told that breakfast would cost approximately $12-$15 dollars by a representative when making our reservation (not at this specific location); however, breakfast was $23, which was quite a disparity. We ate the first morning, as we weren't familiar with the neighborhood, but found something cheaper for the next day. The food was very good, and the service by all staff was very friendly. Would definately stay at this location again. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Very friendly service. Good experience Came from Okinawa and enjoyed the stay. Will stay again on return trip. July 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive staff but WAY overpriced Staff was helpful in checking us in early and cleaning staff attentive. Bathroom clean but room was so old school and outdated. I was on the first floor and felt like I was in someone's basement. The air conditioner was loud and couldn't keep up and the street outside was loud in the morning with trash removal. Vending machines were not filled and for around $275 a night you would think you might get breakfast! July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable bed Delightful experience and location great to our family Wedding Without any question, would stay again. July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 OK but not great The property is older and not updated. The popcorn ceilings may give you an indication. The reservation was made by my ex and she did not have my IHG number so I asked the desk to add it. I provided the information and was assured it would be done but the number was not added. I asked the staff for a recommendation for a restaurant and was directed to a restaurant that had closed. The location is excellent. Parking is expensive at $40 per day. June 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by room smelled one out of the two rooms that I booked had an a/c unit that was leaking water inside the room and it smelled like mildew I called the front desk they sent a maintenance guy to are room which I thought he was going to fix but he brought up a heater gave it to us and said enjoy your stay I would at least thought that he would set it up for us but no just walked out of the room very disappointed with my stay. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bathroom everything was fine except: there was a ring around the tub on inside and the vent by the shower head was very dusty. The cleanliness of the bathroom is the element I care about the most. If the bathroom is spotless, it is a great room. June 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Hotel is better than expected an is in a good location on fisherman a wharf. All the hotels are really close so one is no better than another in this regard. Holiday inn was the best bargain and I am glad we did not spend more only to wind up next door. The bed was soft and hurt my back and no fridge in room. Also in room coffee service was poor. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. June 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Overall great location, there was a few hair in the shower which was kind of gross. But overall a great hotel. Breakfast is ridiculously overpriced in the hotel, but there are a lot of options nearby, so if you want to save money venture outside the hotel. June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff but disapointment in the room The staff was pleasant and cheerful. When we needed to cancel our stay early because of a death in the family they were understanding and check us out without charging us for the full stay. The only disappointment from our short stay was the room and the extra charges for breakfast and parking. For the priced we paid there was a lot of room but, no mini fridge, no view and no continental breakfast. We also had to pay for parking which was just as expensive as parking in a garage in the city. I have previously visited San Francisco many times but, this was the first time I was bringing my family and the first time staying with Holiday Inn. I know there are many other hotels just as nice that, for the same price or cheaper, would include all the extras I mentioned, at no additional charge or at least an agreeable price. Therefore, I have to say that we will not be staying with Holiday Inn on our next visit. June 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Must be the poorest experience I have had with the IHG system The only redeeming feature I find with this hotel is the location. Staff are in desperate need of training in being courteous and polite, especially one particular bellman who responded with a wave of hands and comment "I'm done" when approached with a question. Apparently it was the end of his shift. It should be the end of his employment at this hotel. I did file a complaint regarding poor staff attitude and received a response with appology and was told that the management would contact me. Never heard from the management. That is an indication of where the problem starts. The room had no refrigerator. When we questioned this, hotel staff replied that one could be provided for a fee of $50 per day. We had to search ice machines on 3 floors to find one that had ice. What a joke. Parking is at $40 per night. Rediculous. Lobby seating is at minimum and not comfortable. We had a family gathering and there was little to no room to sit and chat. Overall, not recommended. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great nights rest We work for national prisoner transport company and us officer's stay here often. It's always a great stay. June 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by more expensive The hotel services are very expensive and its services are average June 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Variable We stayed here only three weeks ago and it was almost perfect. This time however, it was not. When we arrived, the concierge watched us as we struggled with all of our bags and cases. The wifi was totally unusable, despite spending over 30 minutes on the telephone to the outsourced company who were supposed to fix these issues. It wasn't the agent's fault, there was simply too much distance between the router and our room (number 566). This needs to be addressed as I ended up doing some important work emails sat in the corridor and being unable to Skype confidentially when I needed to. I feel we paid for a service we didn't receive here. The attitude of the lady on the front desk was dismissive. On the positive side, location is very good, our late check out was arranged with no fuss at all and the housekeeping staff are wonderful, friendly people. Disappointing after our last stay and with another visit coming up with a team of around 7-10 colleagues, we will consider carefully whether we stay here or not. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location on the Wharf Great Location on the Wharf. Many things to do within walking distance. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente ubicacion Cuartos comodos, excelente ubicacion, el unico problema es el cobro extra por el uso del estacionamiento. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Love the people and the hotel great location. only thing im not fond of is the charge for parking June 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Managment The management at this hotel is in serious need of education on customer care. I have tried to contact the manager on duty 3 times in a 4 day period with no return call. For being an Elite member with IHG, I would expect more courtesy. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Francisco Girls Trip Great staff and great location. Room was great. We had a group of 5 women and we all enjoyed our stay. It takes a lot to impress all 5 women. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best service I've ever had! The service was exceptional from the front desk to the concierge to housekeeping. Comfortable bed. Great location. Great room. Breakfast for two was good but pricey ($60); parking fee was excessive ($45) and Internet very slow. The exceptional service and great location overrode that for us. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and nice early check in Our stay was very enjoyable. We appreciated the ability to check in early, since we arrived earlier in the day. The beds were very comfortable and the room very clean. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We would recommend this hotel. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by City sightseeing Despite a computer fault delaying check-in for 2 hours (an unfortunate incident) our stay here was fantastic. The room was larger than average and we could walk to most of Fishermans Wharf in under 10 minutes. It is a pleasant (if not hilly) 25min walk to Union Square and it's shops. The staff were all very friendly with the exception of a rather grumpy bell hop. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend the hotel to others. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by rating Hotel was nice, parking was not. If you are going to charge $40 per day for parking, then you should have ample parking for ALL hotel guests June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location to stay if boarding a cruise The service was nice. The room was clean and comfy. The only thing I would recommend offering free coffee and breakfast in the morning as other hotels offer this. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to public transportation My sister, great nephew, and I stayed six nights in June 2014. We were on the business floor in the main building , so we had a microwave and refrigerator. We did notice some people who stayed in the wharf building had to take their luggage quite a distance to the wharf building We were able to print out our boarding passes on the computers provided on our floor. The bell captain was quite helpful in giving us directions concerning MUNI, the public transportation. Some bus stops were across the street in front of the Marriott, and the bus to the wharves was around the corner and about two blocks down. The room was recently renovated and had numerous outlets for electronic devices. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a humming noise at night that appeared to come from air conditioners I could see on a roof outside the window, but otherwise there was no noise--we heard no noise from other people. Free wifi was provided, but one night I could not get wifi, and another night my sister was unable to get online. The elevators were fast. Altogether, we had a good experience, and I would stay there again. We did not eat in the restaurant because the prices were more than I wanted to pay. On the first night we walked a couple of blocks to Trader Joe's and Safeway to get snacks and breakfast items. We took tours with both Incredible Adventures and Extranomical, and both picked up at the hotel. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel at a cost of about $60 including tip; we took the limosine service that the hotel recommended going back to the airport and were pleased with that, also. The cost was $55 plus tip. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 3 night SF Giant game mini vacation Parking is exspensive & Poor. Got Door dinged on my new truck. I think price is fair compared to rest of SF market ! June 16, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 30 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior San Francisco City and Bay View from Hotel Guestroom San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge near hotel San Francisco Bay Alcatraz Island Famous San Francisco Cable Car next to hotel
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading