• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN JOSE
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Diners Club
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:16
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only trained dogs for disabled people.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Plaza Tempo
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Multiplaza Escazu
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Sabana Metropolitan Park & National Stadium
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI
Attraction:
Costa Rican Art Museum
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:54
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free Parking for guests and visitors, 10 spaces for physically disable people. Parking is not supervised .

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:160
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:94
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:66
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:160
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:16
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6

The new Holiday Inn San Jose Escazu is strategically located in Escazú, the most upscale business and commercial zone of San José, next to Cima Hospital, in Plaza Tempo, a multi-purpose development that includes 8 restaurants, extensive commercial outlets and a business center, only 30 minutes away from Juan Santamaría Airport. From the hotel, you have access to the main corporate centers where many Fortune 500 companies in the country have their headquarters, and various
View More

The new Holiday Inn San Jose Escazu is strategically located in Escazú, the most upscale business and commercial zone of San José, next to Cima Hospital, in Plaza Tempo, a multi-purpose development that includes 8 restaurants, extensive commercial outlets and a business center, only 30 minutes away from Juan Santamaría Airport. From the hotel, you have access to the main corporate centers where many Fortune 500 companies in the country have their headquarters, and various commercial malls offering the best dining and shopping options in the capital.

.

Escazu offers the greatest variety of quality entertainment in San Jose. Just minutes from the hotel, is located Multiplaza, Central America’s largest shopping center with 350 retail shops. The area also offers 12 movie theaters, first-class restaurants, family entertainment, lounge-bars and discos.

Next to the Prospero Fernandez Highway, guests can easily reach the beautiful beaches of the Pacific or the rain forest attractions in less than one hour. Our privileged location makes Holiday Inn San Jose Escazu the ideal choice for the business traveler, medical or leisure tourist.

Costa Rica with its high orientation to the environment’s protection, so it created a Certification of Sustainable Tourism CST and Holiday Inn San Jose Escazu obtained the highest CST level (5 Leaves), which is very important for all of the guests to know and apply during their trips.

View Less
Features
Great location in Plaza Tempo, a modern complex in Escazu, is close to business districts and entertainment. Our hotel features spacious, comfortable rooms and covered parking within walking distance of restaurants and shopping.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 92 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 muy contento la verdad me quede muy triste por tener que salir del holiday in san jose, porque tube muchas amistad con los empleados deste hotel soy un cliente que siempre busco me hospedar na rede ihg siempre fui bien atendido pero el holiday inn de aurola fue una excelente experiencia por la atencion el carino del todos los empleados del hotel gracias saludos a todo de este hotel July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by estancia adecuada mi estancia ha sido muy buena. he sido atendido de manera adecuada y podría recomndar el uso del mismo a mi familia y amigos. El sitio en el que se encuentra ubicado es adecuado para quienes nos gusta recorrer los sitios coloniales. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The friendlest people in Costa Rica! I stay in a hotel every week of the year for business or pleasure. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. I was especially pleased with the staff. Two of the Valets (tony and Dennis) went out of their way to be sure I had correct directions when I left the hotel and offered suggestions of where to go and what to see. The wait staff had no equals! Tatiana and Rudolpho catered to my every need and offered my 82 year old mother language lessons and tastes of the local cuisine. Luz in housekeeping was as gracious - providing my aged mother with as many towels as she thought she needed in addition to language lessons. We actually were there for the FIFA World Cup games. The entire country was in a joyous uproar complete with jumping up and down in excitement with American fans! The hotel is a bit older but the cleanliness factor was high and the food was very good. Try the Sea Bass with Mango Salsa - excellent! July 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by stay in Please fix internet, It is very important for turist and business people too June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comida y televisor/AC Televisor con muy mala señal en ciertos canales bastante mala, urge cambio en televisores. Desayuno bastante flojo, la comida estaba un poco fria y poco variada. Aire acondicionado hace mucho ruido cuando se enciende. June 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful Staff - Nice Holiday Inn A very pleasant Holiday Inn. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Nice entrance. Room tip: the corner rooms at the ends of the hallways on higher floors (isuch as room 1517) have wonderful views of the city, but lousy internet connections June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed, great rooms and very good service. I came to spend my birthday with my two adult sons. We had a great time. The rooms were wonderful with great views. Food was very good, and the staff were great to us. I have been to this hotel many times before and will continue to come in the future. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location,Location This is the second time that I have stayed at the Holiday Inn - Aurola, San Jose and I believe that it is the best hotel located in downtown San Jose. Anyone interested in being close to everything that San Jose has to offer should checkout the holiday Inn. This five star property offers convenience to shopping, the zoo, the museum and the local theatre . And the beauty is that all of these are within walking distance. The rooms are clean, well maintained and the beds offer you a comfortable night's rest. The staff is very friendly and almost greet you daily with a good morning, good afternoon or a good evening -- something unheard of if you happen to live in New York City. I highly recommend the Holiday Inn - Aurola if your plans include being in the heart of a throbbing metropolis. After all is said and done, nothing beats location, location, location. May 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good i like the holiday inn in usa because you always get breakfast even when you use your points.this is a nice room but need to update tv and need to center tv in the middle of the room April 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by ROOM NICE ROOM BUT NO BREAKFAST ONLY IN THE USA DO YOU GET BREAKFAST USING POINTS April 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good bed, very bad breakfast... I like hotels with good and clean rooms and good breaksfast, this hotel only has good rooms April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GRACIOUS STAFF This was our first trip to Costa Rica. It was a combination medical / vacation . Upon returning to our room after surgery late one evening, I needed some bandages that seemed to be unavailable at that time of evening. I mentioned this to the bellhop named Tony and within 15 minutes, received a knock on the door with Tony bringing the bandages that I needed. Although we do not usually frequent the bar, after surgery we met a friend in the lounge. I had order something light for dinner. Alejandro the bar tender went the extra mile to make sure I had something to eat and take my medication with. Vivian was great about making sure our room needs were taken care of. We stayed for 8 nights and when we left we felt like we were leaving family. The food was good that was ordered from the lounge but the first night we arrived it was kind of late so we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant on the top floor. The food in this restaurant could use some help although the food in the downstairs was good. We ate breakfast there. To the staff - keep up the good work and hopefully we will see you in June. March 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Great location in downtown, comfortable and excellent service March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend! We stayed at this hotel for three nights at the end of our vacation and I have to say I was very impressed with the hotel accomodations and very friendly staff. Holiday Inn in the USA is not particularly extravagant, however, the Holiday Inn Aurola in San Jose, Costa Rica was a 5 star experience. Now if they can correct my rewards account and credit me for the 10k+ points I earned from bonus reservations, I would be even happier. As a tip, book online and you'll save money as opposed to just showing up. March 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exactly as sayed, comfortable rooms and very good and attentive service. I stayed longer than I planned at the Hotel, because in San José city center, it mayed me feel save. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is also very good. What could be improved is the TV sets and the cable service. The rooms could have a little renoval, but maintainig the essence of the big rooms, the confort. February 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Business travelers…DONT STAY HERE If you need the internet to do your work, this is not the place for you. It works sometimes and when it does it's to slow to download anything. I complained to the woman at the from desk, and her response was that they know about the problem, but have no pans to fix it… February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff Stayed for one night before a day of golf and a trip to Quepos. The bed was super comfortable, the staff very helpful, and the bar tender was great. Highly recommended. The morning breakfast buffet is just so so, for the $. February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Viajero de negocios Los servicios que el hotel ofrece son adecuados para el viajero de negocios que busca funcionalidad más que lujos. La calidad de instalaciones y servicios son un excelente referente para una clasificación de 4 estrellas. Una buena opción en el centro de la ciudad si acostumbras salir muy temprano al trabajo y estar la mayor parte del día fuera. Por las noches es mejor tener un poco de cautela al aventurarse a caminar por las inmediaciones. El Holiday Inn Aurola te permite ocuparte de tu trabajo sin preocuparte del alojamiento. February 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Updating The hotel is dated, needs to make some improvements. The TV, light switches and furniture are probably from the 1990's. 21" TV's. January 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Hotel is good location, close to center, easy to walk to restaurant, shopping area, and supermarket. January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The bed was very comfortable and had great linens. The only complaint I had was the service in the dining room. It was extremely slow and not very attentive to the customers. The hotel was very nice, clean and very comfortable. I really appreciated the wi-fi. January 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Wasted view At the end of an excellent 2 week stay in Costa Rica our group of 6 used the HI as our final hotel prior to departure. The hotel was excellent, rooms very comfortable and clean. unfortunately the staff were a let down and the view from one of the tallest buildings in the centre of San Jose was wasted. We were checked in and out by the same person and it looked like she'd done a plus 12 hour shift - I didn't see anyone else behind the desk even when 2 other groups behind us were trying to check in. As the Gold IHG rewards club member, card presented on arrival, she managed to give the better room and restaurant discount voucher to another couple our group, just sloppy. The room itself was exactly what you expect, clean and with everything you'd want. Next we ventured upstairs to see the view other reviewers had mentioned. One bar was shut for a "business function" that wasn't happening and the waiter at the restaurant refused to speak any English, arrogant to expect everyone to speak English maybe, but having travelled is some pretty rural areas and found English spoken everywhere I would have thought there would have been someone who could have spoken to us. As we weren't eating we were not allowed in to see the view - or so we gathered in basic Spanish and hand signals. So we went to the bar in the lobby area and at last found the level of service expected. The barman was excellent, polite, gave really good advice about where to go, which restaurants to go to, how to get to them and basic tourist safety in the city. Suggest rest of staff watch him to see how it was done. Price wise it was expensive considering what we'd paid in the rest of CR and no breakfast included was a bit of a surprise. Especially as we'd paid less for a 5 star over Christmas. All in all, hotel served its purpose effectively however not the experience it could and should have been. As for having earned IHG rewards points, I didn't see any benefits this time. January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel staff is wonderful The hotel was clean, convenient and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is central to everything and walking distance to plenty of places to eat. The neighborhood seemed safe to us, we went out almost every night to shop or eat and we walked everywhere without any problems. I will stay at this hotel again. The only problem was that the doors to the rooms closed very loudly as if they were being slammed when anyone came in or out. Unfortunately not everyone is considerate and they would come and go slamming the doors which would keep waking us up. Also they play loud music at the hotel so if you're trying to sleep ask for a quiet room. The last night we were there was Christmas Eve and they put a family taking up 4-5 rooms next to us. The family was having a big party and kept us awake until 2am. I called downstairs but it didn't seem to help they just kept partying and opening and slamming the doors. December 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very old room. TV from museum.. The room was in a very bad shape. Furniture, TV, hairdryer need to be updated. I stay a lot in holiday Inn hotels but this hotel is far the worst hotel of the group. December 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Stay on executive floor This stay was excellent. Best of all was the food excellent restaurant on the 17th floor. It is the best I've had in all the hotels I have visited. I recommend it stays that way. The waitress who took on the night November 29 was excellent and was always aware of our service. The detail of the bottle of wine was excellent too. The breakfast was also great. The bad: Aurola offered me to go to the room, I was informed by email. I answered the email saying that if I wanted to go. Lasted days and did not answer my email. For that reason I had to call customer service in Mexico (call: 0800052 November 00) they solved my problem. Overall I liked everything. Thank you. December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value You get alot for what you pay here! Also excellent location in Downtown San Jose across from a beautiful park. Special thanks to Tony the doorman from Brooklyn! November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff All staff are very courteous and make the stay very pleasant. The hotel seems to need a renovation. November 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay in downtown San Jose This hotel is probably the oldest IHG property in town but it offers a nice luxurious feel. This property offers a very comfortable stay although some of the room amenities like the tvs are very out of date. Otherwise it's an all around good match of price and amenities. The staff is friendly and very eager to help. Going to the airport from this hotel on a weekday can be a traffic nightmare make sure to leave early. November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in the heart of the city. I was not expecting this hotel to be so nice for the price I paid for. It was great! The location was great, the people were great and the room was very nice. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Excelent for business and one night stays. Its closed to EVERYTING. I will be back! November 4, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Quality : Excellence

Hotel Quality: Excellent  


These hotels have received our highest level of guest endorsement, based on scores from our guest satisfaction surveys. Guests evaluate hotels based on the quality of the product, return value and quality of service experienced during their stay.

Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading