Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-09-2014)
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 105 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, noisy rooms Pros:near highway, excellent fitness facilities, pool, great bathroom design, comfy bed, VERY clean hotel Cons: no vegan options other than bagels on breakfast buffet (common with Holiday Inn Express), fuzzy TV reception, VERY noisy rooms situated on the front of the hotel near the highway. Ask for a room near back of hotel away from highway. May 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor and bad attitude staff very bad attitude at front desk, who does not want to help priority point rewards. I never and ever back this hotel again!! April 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I Loved This Hotel We stayed at the Holiday Inn in San Mateo and absolutely loved it. I have seen it just off the freeway in San Mateo, but because it is in more of a residential area thought it might not be so convenient. I was wrong! It has everything you might want, a restaurant, business center and gym. It doesn't have a pool, but to be honest, I rarely use one. I especially loved that the whole property, not just the rooms are spotlessly clean and fresh! The staff is very professional, warm, welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are huge, beds comfortable and bathrooms very clean. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast and it was tasty, fresh and well-priced. I wouldn't think twice in recommending the hotel to even my most hard to please friends. April 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by absolutely love our stay here I absolutely love our stay here. The suite was perfect for me and my daughter. The Hotel was very nice and quiet week. We went to San Francisco during the day and came back every early evening for a nice quiet evening. The team was the best; the restaurant was a very nice setting and the food was very good. My daughter had her own room and I had my own room. The kitchenette was perfect for us, as well. April 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Rooms, Good Location to Coyote Point Park This hotel was comfortable and convenient to my location (San Mateo Convention Center) and was close by to Coyote Point Park (which is awesome). However, the restaurant was not good which meant I had to go out for all my meals. I used the 10% off coupon for dinner and it was okay except the french fries rank among the worst ever. Tried the restaurant again for breakfast and the staff could not make an English muffin and food cold. Being that breakfast is not included and was not cheap, I did not go to the restaurant again. I also noticed that there seemed to be a shortage of restaurant staff - they tried but did not seem to be trained well, Room was clean and beds comfortable. When I stayed, there was a problem with TV reception-it was not mentioned until I called down to ask what was going on. The TV reception was not good all 3 days I stayed there. I am not sure if I would recommend this property or not.. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel and service this is 2nd time we have stayed at the hotel and had great value and service and we will return again for sure April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home This is the most wonderful, comfortable and welcoming hotel I have ever stayed in. My husband and I moved to the bay area on sabbatical and needed a place to stay before moving into our new temporary home. We were able to stay at the Holiday Inn San Mateo for 2 weeks during our wait. I can't say enough positive about this hotel! The hotel is exceptionally well-managed, clean, comfortable and friendly. The location is excellent and accessibly located right next to 101. It is also very near Coyote Point, which is a wonderful walking area on the bay and close to the downtown shopping area of San Mateo. The conveniences at this hotel were exceptional. The little restaurant has great food and the people were gracious and hospitable. Our room was cleaned thoroughly and carefully every day. We had access to laundry and a great business center. The success of this hotel is due to the great management and people who work there. They represent the best of the hospitality industry! I am a priority club member and usually try to stay at Holiday Inns but this experience was so great I will always go to a Holiday Inn first. Thanks to Chris and all the staff for providing us with a welcoming home during our first few weeks by the bay. April 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff It's great to be appreciated the staff made a gold member wanting to come back. April 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Hotel This was the worst sat y i have ever had. The only good thing about this hotel was the kind staff. Its extremely overpriced! Noisy! The room didn't have a mini refrigerator or a microwave and on top of that we had to walk 8 min to get to our room And expensive restaurant, They need a continental breakfast! Just wanted a comfy night and a bagel and OJ then off on my way. Not worth the money DO NOT STAY HERE March 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service Most of the good channels in both the TVs I had in my suite did NOT work. When asked for shower caps, they didn't have any or even tried. BAD location for quite night's rest. March 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Initial Ambiance Excellent The appearance of the room was very nice. Modern & Clean. However, the noise level was extreme. Every time someone flushed a toilet or turned on a faucet it sounded like there was a machine in the room with us on full throttle. Also, we would have appreciated being told that the local channels were not available. We went to dinner and rushed back to watch Survivor and American Idol only to discover that those channels were not available. This is the second time that we have had this happen at a Holiday Inn. They said it was Comcasts fault...I didn't care about hearing that. I wanted to watch our shows! Just as a side note: The faucet in our room was placed just far enough back from the sink so that every time you used it the water went all over the granite counter-top! Bad planning. March 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank You HI San Mateo - Matthew and Ana were great! Thank you to Matthew and Ana for going "above and beyond" to help me with a reservation issue at another hotel. Those two were very professional! My room was clean and spacious. The restaurant food was very tasty, prices reasonable, and the service was great. I would recommend this location for anyone that wants to stay a short distance from downtown San Francisco without the SF prices. I will definitely make this a "Favorite" on my GPS. March 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by WHO CARES? NOT THE STAFF Where do I start? I arrived a bit early and my room wasn't ready so I waited in the lobby. The front desk person said at one point it would be ready in about 5 minutes. 35 minutes later she looked out at me and said "Sir, your room was ready a long time ago, I told you it would be ready in 5 minutes", like I was supposed to know when it was done. Very rude and kept me waiting far too long. Got to the room unloaded all my stuff and finally connected to the internet and it was completely unusable. I had a lot of work to do and the wireless signal was soo poor it wouldn't even stay connected. I called the front desk and told them I needed to be moved to a room where the signal was better. She said, after some argument and in a very disgusted voice " oh I'll move you to a room where it better". Again, about a half hour passed and I called back down to see how it was going, she said well your key is ready come and get it. I told her I didn't think I should be the one to be hauling my stuff all over coming to get a new key etc. Again she got very snippy and said fine I'll send someone up with the key. Someone brought the key up and didn't offer to help me with my things, so I hauled all my stuff again and found she had put me as far from my current location as possible, which is a very long way. Obviously she did this on purpose to get back at me. I unloaded all my stuff again and once again tried to connect to the wireless and found it to be the same, unusable. I called again and she told me well its not very good but they are trying to make it better over time. I told he I needed to get some work done and may have to move to another hotel, she just said that's fine. The signal was so bad I couldn't even use my computer to look for another hotel so I had to use my phone. In the mean time I called the computer support number found in the room, just to see if they had any ideas, about a half hour later they called back and told me exactly where to look under the desk, was hidden a wired connection, I plugged that in and it worked very well. So I ended up staying, but to NO help of the staff there. At the very least they should have know that there was a wired connection hidden under the desktop, who knows maybe my first room had one? The staff at this hotel wanted to make ME do all of the running around due to the poor wireless connection there and didn't care AT ALL about my inconvenience. I will NEVER go back there. March 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed in a very clean room We were amazed that everywhere in the room was clean, we could hardly see even a piece of hair on the floor. The room size was just right to make ourselves comfortable - not too small, not too big. We were attended by a couple of the staffs and all of them were really polite and helpful. Moreover, their attitude was positive, which made us feel welcomed. Also, another thing we liked in particular was amenity. The amenity made ready for guests was minimum, and there was a note indicating that if they need anything else, they could just ask concierge for it. That helps reduce waste. February 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice people, shame about the overall delivery The hotel is nice. The staff are friendly and polite. It would seem that the management therefore are lacking, given that a number of menu items in the restaurant from the Holiday Inn homogenised menu cannot de delivered, "we don't do that," "we've never done that" being common answers. This seems to run to other areas of the hotel too. It's not a bad place, just that the overall experience is diminished by the ability of the staff to deliver, which seemed to be a management issue, as there seemed to be no lack of willingness, just restrictions in their way. February 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Still one of my favorite hotels! This is the third time I stay at this hotel. The customer service is great! And the hotel is always very clean! They even have a laundry room in case anyone needs to wash some clothes. The price per night is not bad at all, and they even offer free parking. February 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The WiFi is Free, Then Again it was not working for my 1 nite stay The good: Easy to get to, within minutes of SFO, just off the 101. The restaurant is a hidden gem - full bar, nice range of dinner choices, good service. My room was huge. The SFO airport shuttle is dependable and easy. The bad: Free WiFi is advertised. For my entire 1 night stay from my room, in the lobby, in the restaurant, I tried connecting on my laptop, smartphone, and an iPad - the signal was weak and or at capacity. I never got on the Internet. The ugly: Hotel staff are well aware of the problem and are instructed to record your room number. Why I asked, thinking the rate would be comped. "No, it's just to provide the WiFi people with rooms/areas hard to connect." I said isn't this a little crazy - you can't connect anywhere, you're full tonight, We could solve the problem with a high capacity wifi router. Response from staff: "yes, we know." February 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by helpful Unfortunately i had to leave early but everyone was helpful January 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed great workout room & business center If you ever stay here for the purpose of resting make sure no one is above you as you can hear most movements from above - there is no complimentry breakfast like most other locations so this isnt a family friendly hotel January 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our pleasant stay @ Holiday Inn Suites in San Mateo, California Upon arrival we were greeted by the front desk represented with a smile and asked if we needed assistance with our luggage I was surprise since we were staying at Holiday Day Inn I did not expect any assistance with luggage. The gentlemen that assisted us with our baggage was just as friendly smile and all. After placing our items in the room we went to dinner where we arrived before it closed and the waitress had that same smile and was just as friendly. The dinner was excellent served hot and seasoned well. We slept in a room that was quite and the bed was very comfortable. All staff was very eager to assist us with all request. Anyway, our overall stay was very enjoyable January 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic rooms with great service I stayed in this hotel during Xmas holidays with my family for 3 days. The room was very spacious and confortable. very friendly staff. It is easily accessible from the SFO airport and right on the 101 Hway. I recommed this hotel becuase of it's accessiblity, pricing and the ambience. January 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value The stay at San Mateo Holiday Inn and Suites for my Redwood city trip was convenient. The hotel is a short drive from Belmont, and Redwood City. The hotel decor is contemprary and lively. Matress is firm and comfortable, and the room is fairly quiet for me to relax and fall asleep. Supermarkets are also conveninetly close by. December 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and perfect location Our room was excellent. The location was just right as to location. We were far enough away from downtown San Francisco to not feel all the "crush" of people but close enough to quickly get to all the sites we wanted to see. December 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convient, Comfortable, Excellent Value On our way home from Australia, we learned that we were going to be stranded in San Francisco for at least four days due to Hurricane Sandy decimating the east coast, I made a reservation on-line at this property not really knowing what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised at the convenience of the location relative to the airport and major highways. The property is beautifly appointed both inside and out, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the service was excellent, the staff was knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. In-house restaurant was affordable and food was good. I would definitely stay here again, and will recommend it to all of my clients. December 3, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice building, mediocre customer service Nice building, comfortable beds, mediocre customer service. We stayed to catch an early flight the next morning. We were on the hotel's schedule the whole time, not ours. I expect better. I made arrangements at the front desk to drop a rental car off at the airport upon our arrival. I spoke to the shuttle driver while on the tram going from the rental car area to the main terminal. The shuttle driver told me to call him when we were at the hotel shuttle pick-up area. We called him and then had to wait over 10 mins for him to come pick us up. This was after midnight, so I doubt he was swamped with other things. We asked about the morning shuttle and were told that it runs every 30 minutes. Our names were taken for the 6:30 a.m. shuttle. Our experience at breakfast was the same, they weren't ready to serve customers when they opened at 6:00 a.m.. It was open, but no one was in the restaurant. When someone showed up, it was after 6:10 a.m by the time our food and coffee orders was taken, our food arrived after 6:20 a.m. We rushed to eat to make the 6:30 a.m. shuttle. The only one we found who seemed to be there for the customer was the morning shuttle driver. He told us to take our time to get our luggage from our room and was curteous and professional. We were the only ones on the shuttle, which proved that the shuttle could have been on our schedule instead of the hotels. Maybe we could have had time to enjoy our breakfast if we weren't rushed to make the 6:30 shuttle. We've stayed elsewhere in this area and had far superior service. December 1, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by attention : WIFI is not working! Ok, the rooms are nice big and clean, but that is it. As my company got a big contract in San Mateo I went to try this hotel, cheking if it would be possible to send all our employees as of January 2012. I spent 2 nights there. I have chosen this hotel as they bragged about their "free high speed wifi in room". As I was there to work, wifi is very important to me. I specified in my booking that i needed a room with a good wifi connection, which was ignored. Once in the room the wifi was not working. When I finally found some wifi, it took about 10 minutes to get connected and stayed connected never more than 30 seconds! Then all the process had to be started from the beginning! I went to the reception to tell I had issues with my wifi. Nobody seemed concerned about it. They told me the wifi is better near the front desk but was not possible to change the room as I had showered already in my room. I insisted to try anyway telling my request in the booking was ignored. I could try a room next to the reception but the wifi was not working either. So I stayed in my room having to connect on the 3G network, which lead me to get horrendous bills after my return in Europe! The girl at the front desk told me she will inform the manager about the wifi problem, adding that they have a lot of wifi problems for a long time already. So if you have problems why don't you fix it ???? Buy a better rooter/antenna. Or at least stop advertise yourself with free high speed wifi. I will not go back to this hotel and they have lost our business. I might reconsider it if I can read reviews that the problem has been fixed. I was also not recognised as a priority Club Member November 16, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Business I normally stay in this hotel when I'm in town but this stay was especially nice because of the type of room I was put in, it was like a mini apartment and that made the stay even better. October 20, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by avoid key did not work; wifi did not work - had to be moved - even then wifi pretty well useless; evening restaurant staff attitude was awful/uncomfortable; fish of fish and chips was undercooked and oozing oil; lift rumbled like it was about to break down; toilet blocked and flooded bathroom; never again ! ! ! October 20, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, great value, great services. A great choice for anyone visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the internet connection didn't work in my room. Other than than, this is one of the best hotels I have ever been to. October 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable with great service. The room was quiet clean and comfortable and the shuttle service to and from the airport was very prompt! September 24, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>