• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: RICHMOND
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals and guide dogs are the only animals permitted with verification.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:160
  • Car Parking Available
  • Plenty of parking around entire hotel, as well as, a large area for over- sized parking in rear.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:143
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:95
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:49
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:138
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6

Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Richmond Airport Hotel.

Conveniently located only a mile from the Richmond Intl. Airport (RIC), this Holiday Inn hotel is close to all of Richmond's finest attractions & businesses. Our Sandston hotel's central location provides easy access to interstates 64 & 295.

Nearby attractions include races at the Richmond International Raceway & Colonial Downs, to events at the Richmond Convention Center, the Coliseum, & VCU's Siegel Center. Dorey Park,
View More

Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Richmond Airport Hotel.

Conveniently located only a mile from the Richmond Intl. Airport (RIC), this Holiday Inn hotel is close to all of Richmond's finest attractions & businesses. Our Sandston hotel's central location provides easy access to interstates 64 & 295.

Nearby attractions include races at the Richmond International Raceway & Colonial Downs, to events at the Richmond Convention Center, the Coliseum, & VCU's Siegel Center. Dorey Park, located only 5 miles from our hotel, hosts many youth sporting events every year. You can explore history & fine living at Mankin Mansion, the New Kent Winery, & the waterfront district of Rocketts Landing, or take the family for a day of fun & education at any of the numerous history museums.

Business travelers appreciate our Richmond hotel's proximity to businesses such as Dominion Resources, Hewlett Packard, Million Air, Philip Morris Research Center, Bizerba, CSX, Rock Tenn & Smurfit-Stone. You can utilize our business center, five meeting rooms, free Internet access to meet your business needs. This new hotel offers much more than other Richmond hotels, as we feature an indoor pool & a 24-hour fitness center.

You can satisfy your hunger without breaking your budget at the 1607 Bistro & Bar, our on-site restaurant & lounge where kids can eat for free. Book with us today to reserve your Sandston, VA hotel room near Richmond's culture, history

View Less
Features
Our new Richmond Airport hotel is ideally located for your travel destinations. We're halfway between Washington, D.C. & Virginia Beach, halfway between Boston and Orlando and in the heart of Virginia.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 264 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service with friendly, helpful staff Was very pleasant at check in. Answered all questions with a smile. Stayed 3 night with a group of high school students with many other student were staying there as well and they were still very pleasant July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and comfortable bed Hotel staff were great to work with and very pleasant. Breakfast buffet was excellent with helpful staff. Parking was sufficient, but automatic gate needs refining. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent place to stay My husband, 2 year old son and I stayed here for 3 nights for a wedding. The check in process took a bit longer than it should have, but the people helping us were very nice and accommodating. The hotel lobby looks very nice and the conference/ballrooms are pretty, but the hotel rooms themselves are a bit run down. They seem clean for the most part, but you can definitely tell it's an older building. The housekeeping staff were very nice and helpful. There doesn't seem to be too much going on downtown, but if you need to be in the vicinity this is a decent place to stay. Overall we had a good stay and I have no reason to not recommend this hotel. June 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't ever stay here! The first night we were placed in a room directly across from the elevator, and next to the cleaning staff closet. The door to our room was extremely poorly sealed (you could see light all the way around), making the room extremely noisy. You could hear every ding of the elevator and the rustling of cleaning supplies. We asked to be moved, and were told it would not be possible. On top of that, the room smelled of mildew. The pillows on the bed were far too stuffed, making sleeping quite uncomfortable. I ended up sleeping for most of the night with my head directly on the mattress. The morning after our first night, the toilet clogged and overflowed everywhere, a likely source of the mildew smell. Only after that did they reluctantly agree to move us to another room. This room was better, but did not make up for our terrible first night. I was also told by friends staying in another room that their toilet clogged as well, and their air conditioner was set on a motion detector for some reason, making it very hot at night. Overall, the hotel was dingy and outdated, particularly considering the high cost. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, and will make sure to share my experience with others online so they can know to avoid this hotel. June 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room but terrible service The room was wonderful, but the service staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good experience Overall, the room was very nice. Everything set up perfectly for a two night stay. The bathroom was a little awkward with the toilet almost right up against the wall. The staff was friendly. It was nice chatting a little bit with the woman at the front desk. However, the waitress in the restaurant did misunderstand and pretty much pressured me into ordered the buffet instead of a la carte. Access to parking was great. Central location. I would certainly stay again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful facility The rooms are ALWAYS very clean! They have Internet access hard line and Wi-Fi. I had more than enough towels. Just a short walk to Main St... and covered parking!... The staff isALWAYS very courteous and fun to work with!. My most recent trip, When I got home, I realized I was charged for the parking (it was supposed to be complimentary)... small error... One phone call took care of it and the problem was solved. :+) Oh... must have been an oversight... and I didn't think to ask... I didn't get anything "extra" like I usually do, for being a Priority Club member!... oops June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely friendly staff The Crowne Plaza in downtown Richmond was the nicest hotel my wife and I have ever visited. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean, with fresh, white towels and lots of very hot water. The desk and wifi came in handy. The buffet-style breakfast was terrific. In the future, we would likely use the shuttle service, especially if the weather was poor. The drivers were always there ready to go. We had two minor issues, which were handled immediately. Especially noteworthy was the friendliness and respect from the staff. Definitely the best I have experienced at a hotel. It made us feel very important as guests! We would highly recommend this hotel and, yes, this is a real, live guest typing this review! June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellence and convenience in downtown Richmond I thoroughly enjoyed everything about my experience at this hotel. I was only in town for one night, and arrived too late to take advantage of some of the amenities (like the fitness center), but for my purposes the Crowne Plaza was an excellent choice. The room was clean and up-to-date, the front desk staff was friendly, and it was super-convenient to my business destination. I would definitely recommend this hotel. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Outstanding service. Enjoyed or stay very much. Hotel is close by to the concert venue we came for and the place we wanted to visit for dinner. The staff was very helpful and friendly. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location for tourists and business people alike! Located on the James River it is a great location and rooms have very nice views of the river and surrounding downtown area. The staff is friendly and always happy to handle any questions. Gemma, who served in the 2nfloor café was very efficient and always smiling. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and nice hotel I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The check-in staff was very helpful and went out of their way to accommodate our family. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped but the shower curtain is too short in width. The shower water came out onto the floor and we had to put towels to soak up the water so we didn't slip. This was the same in the other two rooms our family had for our stay. The breakfast staff was slow to wait on us and we had to get our own water and juice for an ordered breakfast and not the buffet. I would stay here again as it is close to the areas we were visiting. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Great Hotel all around, clean and well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful, highly recommend this hotel June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It was good It was good. I was there four nights, I can't recall anything that wasn't as expected. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Return Trip Have stayed here before and will again, the Hotel Staff is wonderful and as an IHG Gold member they go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The Rooms are Nice and the lounge is a nice place to relax after a day of meetings June 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Executive floor We stayed on the executive floor but the concierge room was never open as advertised. Also the walls were too thin and we could hear our neighbor's tv June 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Expected more from a Crowne Plaza First impression is a nice hotel with excellent front office staff - they did not disappoint at checkin. Things went downhill after leaving the front office - although I did not notice the worst thing until the next morning. While getting out of the shower after my only night staying at the hotel, I looked up and found two body hairs (i.e. short and possibly from private areas) on the ceiling. Looking more closely, they appear to have been painted or glued onto the ceiling. How does this happen? Additionally the pool was COLD and not at all what was advertised. However, the most frustrating thing for me what the shuttle service. Most times it worked as advertised but on my last day I followed the hotels instruction to call for pickup. I was told that a shuttle had just left and would be stopping at my area shortly. Since it is only a 5 minute drive to the convention center and that is where the shuttle was heading, I figured that I would have a short wait. 45 minutes and 3 phone calls later I was finally picked up by a very kind gentleman who apologized profusely. When I returned to the hotel I stopped at the front desk and, as timing would have it, was greeted by the same front desk person but with much less satisfying results. When I stopped to to check out I mentioned the same issues that were mentioned above. The first thing that I was told was that shuttles were first come, first served. Fine, but when I call and you tell me that you have someone on their way THREE times, I expect to be picked up. Then I was told that there really couldn't be any hair on the ceiling but someone would look into it later and, as far as the pool, oh well, sorry about that. Generally I am a patient and understanding person, overlooking problems and making the most of things. This reaction though frustrated me beyond belief. Apparently the front desk person recognized my frustration because I was offered free parking (a $12 value), no charge on the bowl of cereal I got from the shop (a $2 value), some additional points on my card, and two small bottles of wine. Understand, I did not stop to mention these things in order to get something, I even made that clear. However, to treat me in such a way as to offer some trinkets and minimize the treatment that I received was incredible. I travel around the country on business and for fun and have NEVER had an experience such as this. My plan is to travel back to Richmond annually for the same conference and to arrange a group of people. Will I book at the Crowne? I don't see how I could when I see how the treat their customers. June 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixture While staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel room was a disappointment. Odd decor and positioning of furniture. No exhaust fan in bathroom. Confusing set up for getting from garage to hotel, not explained at check-in. Food in restaurant not bad but service lacking. Nothing awful about the hotel but would try somewhere else next trip. June 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Prepare to be underwhelmed My experience here was terrible. I paid for an upgraded room and concierge level access and was not given either. Upon arrival in room 507, I was greeted by a sharp ammonia like smell. I figured it was probably from lack of use and turned on the AC to circulate the air. The antiquated system got the room to a lukewarm 74 degrees and no cooler. The smell dissipated or I became used to it, so I kicked back in an armchair that may have been picked up at the local thrift shop. It was springy and uncomfortable, so I decided to watch TV in the bed. The bed was concave in the middle, so I had to shim my torso to a comfortable position with the cheap poly fill pillows the hotel provided. I engineered myself into a TV viewing position and watched some of the selection of non HD channels provided at no extra charge. Writing off being comfortable in my room, I decided to go up to the concierge level since I paid more for that access. I found that I wasn't given that access, so I inquired and was told I didn't get executive level status because I was only Silver with IHG. I told the woman I understood that, but I paid extra for it, and she said I didn't. I am not an arguer, so I went to a local restaurant to relax. After a restless night in the worn out bed, I went to take a shower. There were two black curly hairs in the tub. I grabbed a towel and wiped them away since I was in a hurry. I quickly took a shower, dried off with a towel, which left me wondering about the wisdom in using anything provided by this hotel. I travel 150-200 nights per year, and admittedly use other brands most of the time. I have stayed in dumpy motels out of necessity in remote and rural towns periodically, but this was a roadside motel experience masked as a mid to high level business brand. This place is an embarrassment to IHG and the Crowne Plaza brand name. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good night's stay The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. The room was comfortable and my staff was enjoyable. June 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor experience, not coming back. The staff was nice and greeted us when we arrived. Changed or room to have a better view on the 14th floor, which was very nice, so we though. They told us about the complimentary shuttle service, which we could call down and reserve. Mistake #1, it's not reservable. We had to come down and see if he was available to take us. He took us to the Restaurant and gave us late night options if we wanted to go out after dinner. We came back around midnight to the hotel. Around 2am, it was so loud, people were knocking on our door, yelling down the hallways, and it went on for quite some time. We didn't call to complain, hoping it would just end. Bad idea. In the morning, we called the front about the breakfast buffet which was included in the fare price, they had no idea when it stopped serving. At check in we were told 11am. Then Someone told us 12noon the first time we called. I called again, and they said 11. We rushed down at 10:50 to get it, and was told a different story once we got down there. The food itself was good, but the service and information given by the staff was horrible. We stopped by the front desk after breakfast to express our disappointed experience. They were apologetic, and asked us if we would like to extend our stay. Personally, why would I want to stay here another night with such loud noise and inexperienced staff? June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Best sleep I've had in weeks. May have been the wonderful relaxation kit that was in the room. Breakfast was delicious. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by MY Favorite Richmond hotel Lovely hotel, fantastic staff, personable & friendly management, delicious breakfast, and a wonderful location are my top reasons for repeat visits! This is definitely my favorite hotel in Richmond. June 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I will NOT stay here again by choice I must say that I have never stayed at a hotel where the restaurant closed at 9 pm. My room was not cleaned or serviced the first day and I had to grab someone from house keeping to clean it on the second day. They took all the towels and did not replace them. I then had to call for towels. The front desk staff was rude. I had to stay here due to a volleyball block that was required of our team. I would never stay here by choice again. The shuttle was a good experience if something good must be said about it. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay as usual! We have the opportunity to stay at this Crowne Plaza fairly often for business reasons. We always find a pleasant, helpful staff and immaculate rooms. We also enjoy the breakfast and evening receptions for IHG members in the concierge lounge during the week. We have met some wonderful people there and it's a great way to relax! May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by the good and the bad we requested an extra blanket twice and never recieved it. once i made this request to the front desk and the second time i called down to the front desk but it never arrived. when we checked in at 4:00pm, our room was not ready, however our breakfast was comped the next morning so that was ok. the staff was very friendly and overall our experience was above average. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable Helpful front desk willing to accommodate our needs. Extremely pleased--the kids LOVED it! Great view from room and slept well. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not the quality hotel I was expecting For the price of the room, I expected much better service and food quality at the restaurants. The food was mediocre at best. When I called for extra towels or blankets, the phone rang for at least 2 minutes. Once I received a person to speak with, they were not pleasant and informed me that there was a limit on the linens each room could receive. Both times I valeted the car, I had to wait outside for 5-10 minutes for someone to receive the vehicle and take the keys. No valet staff was posted outside to receive cars as they arrived. Finally I had to go inside the hotel and let them know I needed someone to valet the car and then go back outside to wait on them. The only true complement I can give is regarding the shuttle service provided. Those staff members were extremely courteous and helpful. They were very responsive and timely, especially Train. May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Good Stay Overall we had a very good stay. We were greeted and recognized as a Priority Club member. The breakfast buffet was well maintained with a very friendly and attentive staff. One drawback was the pool area changing rooms not being maintained (wet towels on floor and large puddle areas). There wasn't a clearly defined area for clean towels, we found a couple unfolded ones on the backs of a couple of chairs. Positive: Later in the evening, clean towels were brought in. Recommendation: a table by the door for clean towels. The other issue was the refrigerator in our room did not work. It appeared to have just recently happened as there was a puddle where the freezer section had melted. However, wouldn't I failed to report it completely as a "Con" as I forgot to mention it to give an opportunity to resolve it. May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleasant Had a great weekend stay. Great location in downtown Richmond. May 29, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn at the Richmond International Airport
Welcome to the Holiday Inn at the Richmond International Airport
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn at the Richmond International Airport Welcome to the Holiday Inn at the Richmond International Airport Hotel Exterior Night View Holiday Inn Night View at Richmond Airport Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge Banquet Reception Our Front Desk staff is always ready to assist our guests Sit back and relax with friends in our lobby Our lobby is always open to the guests for their use Enjoy our comfortable lobby Black History Museum (c) Jeff-Greenberg Bike Racing Historic District Of Richmond Virginia Museum of Fine Arts2 (c) Bilyana Dimitrova Richmond Skyline (c) Jeff Greenberg Lewis Ginter Botantical Garden Colonila Downs Virginia Derby The Science Museum of Virginia Richmond Skyline (c) Jay-Adams2 Richmond Slave Trail (c) Jeff Saxman Arthur Ashe Monument Stonewall Jackson Monument Reconciliation Statue Richmond Folk Festival2 VCU Basketball Robert E Lee Monument Virginia Commonwealth UIniversity James River Canoeing The Childrens Museum Virginia Museum of Fine Arts4 (c) Bilyana Dimitrova Kings Dominion Elegba Folklore Society University of Richmond G Force Karts American Civil War & Emancipation Day Lewis Ginter Botantical Gardens Kings Dominion Gaines Mill National Battlefield Park2 Kings Dominion The Carpenter Center The Richmond International Airport 2nd Street Festival (c) Tom Kojcsich Richmond Area Attractions James River (c) Jerry Dickerson Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden Conservatory Tha Landmark Theatre Abraham Lincoln Skyline Civil War & Emancipation Day2 Japanese Gardens in Maymont Park Short Pump Towne Center Carytown The Richmond Coliseum Legendary Santa (c) Tom Kojcsich Kings Dominion Water Ride Drewrys bluff battlefield gun Richmond Folk Festival3 Short Pump Towne Center Richmond International Raceway Track Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden GardenFest of Lights Maze James River Whitewater (c) Al Wekelo
Select to close.
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading