• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PROVIDENCE
  • Distance From Hotel: 25.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals are allowed only.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
NOAA, US EPA
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
URI Bay Campus, Ocean Science & Exploration Center
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
University of Rhode Island (URI)
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Casey Farm
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Large area parking lot to accommodate all size vehicles, buses and trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:107
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:32
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:75
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

South Kingstown Hotel's New England Hospitality Charms

Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn® South Kingstown (Newport Area) hotel. With ideal proximity to area businesses, the University of Rhode Island and New England's finest beaches, this property is the perfect choice for travelers seeking quality and consistency in South Kingstown, RI.

Major area corporations, such as Schneider Electric, Modine Manufacturing and Carousel Industries are just around the corner.
View More

South Kingstown Hotel's New England Hospitality Charms

Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn® South Kingstown (Newport Area) hotel. With ideal proximity to area businesses, the University of Rhode Island and New England's finest beaches, this property is the perfect choice for travelers seeking quality and consistency in South Kingstown, RI.

Major area corporations, such as Schneider Electric, Modine Manufacturing and Carousel Industries are just around the corner. The University of Rhode Island Kingston campus is minutes away. .

Vacationers will find many attractions nearby. In historic Newport, RI, just over the Newport Bridge are the spectacular Newport Mansions, world class dining and shopping options. Within minutes of the hotel are the beautiful Narragansett beaches, shows at the Ryan Center, fantastic fishing, kayaking, bird watching, antique shops, farmer's markets, museums, theatres and many dining options. Charter fishing, whale watching, golfing, lighthouse cruises are all nearby favorite activities. Minutes from the Holiday Inn, in Pt Judith you can hop a ferry to Block Island, which the Nature Conservancy calls one of the twelve "Last Great Places" in the Western hemisphere.

If you're searching for hotels near wedding venues such as the Towers, Kinney Bungalow or those in the Newport, RI area, a hotel with a great location and unparalleled guest service look no further! "Stay Real" and call us today.

View Less
Features
Pay a visit to the idyllic URI Kingston campus your stay in South Kingstown, RI and take a stroll on the grounds. The hotel is conveniently located just three miles away!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 226 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall hotel experience We enjoyed our stay and would return if we return to the area. October 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Atmosphere and Service The stay was made pleasant by the staff. It was a busy weekend but they never appeared to busy to assist. Only complaint is the loss of WiFi service for the weekend. October 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel. Great hotel in close proximity to downtown Newport, Newport Grand Casino, and beaches. Quiet location with large comfortable rooms. September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Very Relaxing and comfortable stay after attending a very hectic wedding in Newport and reception. September 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, clean Nice and clean hotel. Breakfast was much better that expected. Very nice staff. September 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay mostly The room was quite pleasant and included a couch which was convenient for watching TV or using the Internet. The room also included a frig and microwave oven. Personally, I would have preferred firmer pillows but the bedding was comfortable and warm. The bathroom was well stocked with clean towels and quality personal cleansing products. The tub slip resistant surface was old, discolored and was a bit unpleasant. It was also a bit inconvenient to keep having to log into the Wi-Fi and it was a little slow but allowed us to plan local excursions. Breakfast was fine but I felt could have been better. There was plenty of variety but the hot food seemed precooked and just heated. The staff was well knowledged about the hotel and the area. They were very helpful even with minor issues like a lost parking permit. September 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Only minutes from Newport,great place to stay Our room was spacious and clean. Unfortunately the location of our room provided no wireless internet access which the front desk said they were addressing. The wireless internet was occasionally accessible in the breakfast room but was very slow. The TV would come and go at times but overall was a great place to stay for probably half the price as those right on the waterfront. I would definitely return here. Is close to grocery shopping, car wash, restaurants. September 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay... While I was lead to believe there was a possibility of check in early and called every time I was told to regarding that. Even when I got there I was not allowed to check in. We had a 92 yr. old Dad traveling with us who could have used a rest period after traveling, but were unable to do that. Do not believe the hotel was so full as to be unable to accommodate us. The pancake maker was out of order and unable to use both mornings. Very disappointing. September 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff to meet all your needs Spent four night in this hotel in SEPT 2014 and staff really takes pride in keep the place clean and ready. Staff greets you as your walk in everytime and make sure your happy. Look forward to staying here next time I travel to Newport, RI. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall stay I throughly enjoyed my stay,the rooms were clean and comfortable and the service was very good. I enjoyed the full breakfast offered. I would recommend this Holiday Inn Express to anyone. September 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Room and Good Service This hotel was very easy, with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing atmosphere and great location The Holiday Inn Express Middletown/Newport is in a great location to visit almost any point of interest in Rhode Island. It is comfortable and clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, and it is a great value. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All excelent Room was clean, modern and equipped with TV, Fridgerator and Microwave. The size was good. Additionally to that we got a key for free wireless access with good speed. Employees were very friendly. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My trip to Rhode Island I appreciate Holiday Inn's reliability and consistently good hotels. I often travel alone and having a safe place where I feel comfortable -- no matter what city I am in -- is such a blessing. Thank You! September 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superior service It was such a pleasure to stay at this hotel. I was first greeted by my name on a little placard, because I was a platinum elite member. Then I was offered either 500 bonus points or a welcome pack. My room was not a standard room, but had a pull out couch, refrigerator, stovetop, dishwasher, and microwave. When I asked for a late check-out, I was told I had one automatically until 2, because I was a platinum elite member. Molly was often at the desk and she was great! Also when we borrowed a video, the girl at the desk was very nice. The breakfast had a lot of variety! The only thing I think they should improve it communicating to their staff when someone is checking out late. Three people knocked on the door not expecting my husband to still be there and our keys stopped working! September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The service was awesome - we arrived a bit early and found a room to get us settled in early ! The Hotel was very convenient for us, we all had a nice stay and the beds were very comfortable. We would certainly chose this property again the next time we are in the area. September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy and relaxing. The room was clean and comfy. The staff was friendly and helpful. September 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location to sights around the area Didn't stay long, but easy in and out. Staff was pleasant. September 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room good, but noisy The room met my expectations for this hotel brand, however, the rooms are not well insulated for sound and I could clearly hear the footsteps of the people in the room above me and noises in the hall. If I were to stay here again, I would request a room on the top floor. September 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Really friendly staff Stayed here for three nights in August. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, even letting us check in early with no problems. The rooms were comfortable too. Having the breakfast option downstairs was really nice too, especially the hard boiled eggs. One downside, they start clearing up breakfast a few minutes before 11am so get there early! September 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, comfortable bed Have stayed here in the past and it continues to be a great location for us to stay in. Enjoy the quiet, use of the fitness center sometimes, and the availability of a breakfast at the hotel. Lots of variety in the breakfast. Also, the checkout time is not too early, which works for me because I am not an early riser especially when I am on vacation. September 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay not far from mansions The hotel is a bit pricey, but if you find a rate drop they will make the adjustment for you. The hotel is a close drive into town, located near similar hotels and a few strip malls and fast food chains. There is a goat farm close by worth visiting and this hotel is on the way to the mansions. Beds are very comfortable. Because the hotel is close to a Chilis restaurant, you will hear their customers at all hours in the parking lot. Guests can also be heard walking through the halls if they talk loudly. Even so, I had a great night's sleep. They never replaced the towels or even refolded them after a day's use and they only provided one towel per guest, even though on my reservation I asked for extra towels. They didn't wipe around the sink or counter area every day - makeup powder was still there the next day. Breakfasts are full of choices, although the fruit, yogurt, and oatmeal are really the best choices. The kitchen staff worked tirelessly replenishing all the items offered throughout the breakfast hours. September 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Brown water came out of the tap. Hasn't been updated in awhile and didn't get fresh towels? September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel Great hotel very well worth the price! Great beds, food, decor, and food! We will def stay again when in area! August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very accommodating, professional staff We often stay at the middletown, ri property. The management & staff are helpful, try hard to please and professional. I have recommended this property often..,a good value, location and service. It was unfortunate that the air conditioning wasn't working properly this past visit. That said, the staff immediately tried to rectify the situation. They stated they would be installing new units Had it not been for the air conditioning problems, I would have rated them excellent on all line items. The manager runs the property extremely well, hires excellent staff and is very professional and knowledgable I will definitely return!! August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend in Middletown/Newport I thought getting a room in Newport in August would be impossible. Holiday Inn made it work.. The check in was painless. The reception staff were most courteous and friendly and each time you passed the front desk, I was asked if I needed or wanted anything or was everything ok. The room was more of a suite and much larger than expected. Living room and bedroom were furnished very nicely with flat screen tv's in each area and the rooms were very clean. The complimentary breakfast had good variety and the staff took pride in replacing food trays before they were empty and they were very polite to me and other visitors to this property I would try for a room in this property again when heading to the Middletown/Newport area. August 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Completely dissatisfied. One suite as reserved was not what we were provided upon check in. The other suite was filthy, had a foul odor of stale alcohol and dirty human smell. We would not walk without shoes and but for the late hour, would not have stayed. The other suite that I reserved was supposed to have two separate rooms for sleeping and was simply a King with a pull out couch. Further, that couch had torn upholstery with stuffing exposed and within reach of my 10 month old grandson. We were in town for a wedding and changed rooms the following morning. Had to leave the window open for some fresh air to minimize the odor. Staff was extremely disorganized and seemingly not empathetic with our complaints. They could not generate our bill upon check out as the poorly trained front desk employee, who had admittedly been working only for two weeks, did not know how to handle the account. The supervisor that I insisted she call to try and resolve would not be in until later that afternoon, after our departure, failed to call me as I was promises she would, to deal with the inaccurate and then open bill. I have still not heard from the hotel and need to call to inquire if the billing issue has been resolved or if I was charged in excess of my actual bill. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific breakfast, clean room and friendly staff We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while on vacation. The facility is well-located, with free parking and a free breakfast. Everything was clean, and the staff is very friendly. We would stay here again. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Just a nice clean place to stay with excellent staff. August 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Lacks cleanliness and unprofessional staff I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and had a very poor experience. I was part of a wedding that weekend and hoping to do an early check in before the rehearsal. On calling to see if early check in was available I was told it would not be possible after being put on hold for 5 minutes. I arrived with a group from a wedding party around 1:45pm at which time I was told a room would be ready for me in 20 minutes. We left the hotel at 2:45pm and the room was still not ready. On returning from the rehearsal after 4pm (check in was at 3pm) I waited in a 15 minute line only to find out the room still was not ready. Many members of the group were waiting for rooms to be cleaned up until 5pm despite the check in time of 3pm. When I arrived in my room the bathroom had an odor of urine which led me to believe it hadn't been properly cleaned. In addition the next day rather than enter the room to clean the housekeeper asked in the hallway if I needed anything, and when I responded towels said she didn't have any available. I'm not one to normally write a reviewe, but this was such a negative experience I felt the need to share and prevent someone else from experiencing this hotel. August 19, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior The Towers, Narragansett Photo by Seth Jacobsen Photogr Front Desk Hotel pool and patio area Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading