• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PROVIDENCE
  • Distance From Hotel: 25.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals are allowed only.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
NOAA, US EPA
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
URI Bay Campus, Ocean Science & Exploration Center
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
University of Rhode Island (URI)
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Casey Farm
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Large area parking lot to accommodate all size vehicles, buses and trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:107
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:32
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:75
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

South Kingstown Hotel's New England Hospitality Charms

Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn® South Kingstown (Newport Area) hotel. With ideal proximity to the University of Rhode Island and New England's finest beaches, this property is the perfect choice for travelers seeking quality and consistency in South Kingstown, RI.

Major area corporations, such as Schneider Electric, Modine Manufacturing, Hexagon Metrology and Carousel Industries are within eight miles of the
View More

South Kingstown Hotel's New England Hospitality Charms

Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn® South Kingstown (Newport Area) hotel. With ideal proximity to the University of Rhode Island and New England's finest beaches, this property is the perfect choice for travelers seeking quality and consistency in South Kingstown, RI.

Major area corporations, such as Schneider Electric, Modine Manufacturing, Hexagon Metrology and Carousel Industries are within eight miles of the hotel. The University of Rhode Island in Kingston is just three miles from the hotel. Whether coming for a URI Basketball game at the Ryan Center, Kingston, a swim meet, hockey game at the Boss Ice Arena or URI conference, the Holiday Inn is the perfect choice.

In historic Newport, RI, just nine miles from the hotel are the spectacular Newport Mansions, world class dining and shopping options. Come see the Volvo Ocean Race 2015! The beautiful Narragansett beaches, fantastic museums, Nordic Lodge seafood buffet, theatres and many dining options are nearby. Minutes from the Holiday Inn, in Pt Judith you can hop a ferry to Block Island, which the Nature Conservancy calls one of the twelve "Last Great Places" in the Western hemisphere.

Our hotel is near wedding venues such as the Towers, Kinney Bungalow and the Dunes Club in Narragansett, a hotel with a great location and unparalleled guest service. Look no further! "Stay Real" and call us today.

View Less
Features
Pay a visit to the idyllic URI Kingston campus your stay in South Kingstown, RI and take a stroll on the grounds. The hotel is conveniently located just three miles away!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 249 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay... While I was lead to believe there was a possibility of check in early and called every time I was told to regarding that. Even when I got there I was not allowed to check in. We had a 92 yr. old Dad traveling with us who could have used a rest period after traveling, but were unable to do that. Do not believe the hotel was so full as to be unable to accommodate us. The pancake maker was out of order and unable to use both mornings. Very disappointing. September 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff to meet all your needs Spent four night in this hotel in SEPT 2014 and staff really takes pride in keep the place clean and ready. Staff greets you as your walk in everytime and make sure your happy. Look forward to staying here next time I travel to Newport, RI. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall stay I throughly enjoyed my stay,the rooms were clean and comfortable and the service was very good. I enjoyed the full breakfast offered. I would recommend this Holiday Inn Express to anyone. September 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Room and Good Service This hotel was very easy, with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing atmosphere and great location The Holiday Inn Express Middletown/Newport is in a great location to visit almost any point of interest in Rhode Island. It is comfortable and clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, and it is a great value. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All excelent Room was clean, modern and equipped with TV, Fridgerator and Microwave. The size was good. Additionally to that we got a key for free wireless access with good speed. Employees were very friendly. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My trip to Rhode Island I appreciate Holiday Inn's reliability and consistently good hotels. I often travel alone and having a safe place where I feel comfortable -- no matter what city I am in -- is such a blessing. Thank You! September 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superior service It was such a pleasure to stay at this hotel. I was first greeted by my name on a little placard, because I was a platinum elite member. Then I was offered either 500 bonus points or a welcome pack. My room was not a standard room, but had a pull out couch, refrigerator, stovetop, dishwasher, and microwave. When I asked for a late check-out, I was told I had one automatically until 2, because I was a platinum elite member. Molly was often at the desk and she was great! Also when we borrowed a video, the girl at the desk was very nice. The breakfast had a lot of variety! The only thing I think they should improve it communicating to their staff when someone is checking out late. Three people knocked on the door not expecting my husband to still be there and our keys stopped working! September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The service was awesome - we arrived a bit early and found a room to get us settled in early ! The Hotel was very convenient for us, we all had a nice stay and the beds were very comfortable. We would certainly chose this property again the next time we are in the area. September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy and relaxing. The room was clean and comfy. The staff was friendly and helpful. September 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location to sights around the area Didn't stay long, but easy in and out. Staff was pleasant. September 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room good, but noisy The room met my expectations for this hotel brand, however, the rooms are not well insulated for sound and I could clearly hear the footsteps of the people in the room above me and noises in the hall. If I were to stay here again, I would request a room on the top floor. September 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Really friendly staff Stayed here for three nights in August. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, even letting us check in early with no problems. The rooms were comfortable too. Having the breakfast option downstairs was really nice too, especially the hard boiled eggs. One downside, they start clearing up breakfast a few minutes before 11am so get there early! September 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, comfortable bed Have stayed here in the past and it continues to be a great location for us to stay in. Enjoy the quiet, use of the fitness center sometimes, and the availability of a breakfast at the hotel. Lots of variety in the breakfast. Also, the checkout time is not too early, which works for me because I am not an early riser especially when I am on vacation. September 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay not far from mansions The hotel is a bit pricey, but if you find a rate drop they will make the adjustment for you. The hotel is a close drive into town, located near similar hotels and a few strip malls and fast food chains. There is a goat farm close by worth visiting and this hotel is on the way to the mansions. Beds are very comfortable. Because the hotel is close to a Chilis restaurant, you will hear their customers at all hours in the parking lot. Guests can also be heard walking through the halls if they talk loudly. Even so, I had a great night's sleep. They never replaced the towels or even refolded them after a day's use and they only provided one towel per guest, even though on my reservation I asked for extra towels. They didn't wipe around the sink or counter area every day - makeup powder was still there the next day. Breakfasts are full of choices, although the fruit, yogurt, and oatmeal are really the best choices. The kitchen staff worked tirelessly replenishing all the items offered throughout the breakfast hours. September 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Brown water came out of the tap. Hasn't been updated in awhile and didn't get fresh towels? September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel Great hotel very well worth the price! Great beds, food, decor, and food! We will def stay again when in area! August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very accommodating, professional staff We often stay at the middletown, ri property. The management & staff are helpful, try hard to please and professional. I have recommended this property often..,a good value, location and service. It was unfortunate that the air conditioning wasn't working properly this past visit. That said, the staff immediately tried to rectify the situation. They stated they would be installing new units Had it not been for the air conditioning problems, I would have rated them excellent on all line items. The manager runs the property extremely well, hires excellent staff and is very professional and knowledgable I will definitely return!! August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend in Middletown/Newport I thought getting a room in Newport in August would be impossible. Holiday Inn made it work.. The check in was painless. The reception staff were most courteous and friendly and each time you passed the front desk, I was asked if I needed or wanted anything or was everything ok. The room was more of a suite and much larger than expected. Living room and bedroom were furnished very nicely with flat screen tv's in each area and the rooms were very clean. The complimentary breakfast had good variety and the staff took pride in replacing food trays before they were empty and they were very polite to me and other visitors to this property I would try for a room in this property again when heading to the Middletown/Newport area. August 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Completely dissatisfied. One suite as reserved was not what we were provided upon check in. The other suite was filthy, had a foul odor of stale alcohol and dirty human smell. We would not walk without shoes and but for the late hour, would not have stayed. The other suite that I reserved was supposed to have two separate rooms for sleeping and was simply a King with a pull out couch. Further, that couch had torn upholstery with stuffing exposed and within reach of my 10 month old grandson. We were in town for a wedding and changed rooms the following morning. Had to leave the window open for some fresh air to minimize the odor. Staff was extremely disorganized and seemingly not empathetic with our complaints. They could not generate our bill upon check out as the poorly trained front desk employee, who had admittedly been working only for two weeks, did not know how to handle the account. The supervisor that I insisted she call to try and resolve would not be in until later that afternoon, after our departure, failed to call me as I was promises she would, to deal with the inaccurate and then open bill. I have still not heard from the hotel and need to call to inquire if the billing issue has been resolved or if I was charged in excess of my actual bill. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific breakfast, clean room and friendly staff We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while on vacation. The facility is well-located, with free parking and a free breakfast. Everything was clean, and the staff is very friendly. We would stay here again. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Just a nice clean place to stay with excellent staff. August 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Lacks cleanliness and unprofessional staff I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and had a very poor experience. I was part of a wedding that weekend and hoping to do an early check in before the rehearsal. On calling to see if early check in was available I was told it would not be possible after being put on hold for 5 minutes. I arrived with a group from a wedding party around 1:45pm at which time I was told a room would be ready for me in 20 minutes. We left the hotel at 2:45pm and the room was still not ready. On returning from the rehearsal after 4pm (check in was at 3pm) I waited in a 15 minute line only to find out the room still was not ready. Many members of the group were waiting for rooms to be cleaned up until 5pm despite the check in time of 3pm. When I arrived in my room the bathroom had an odor of urine which led me to believe it hadn't been properly cleaned. In addition the next day rather than enter the room to clean the housekeeper asked in the hallway if I needed anything, and when I responded towels said she didn't have any available. I'm not one to normally write a reviewe, but this was such a negative experience I felt the need to share and prevent someone else from experiencing this hotel. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location - very nice accomodations. This was my second stay at this hotel. The location to all of the area attractions is perfect. Not too far from anything and an easy drive to all the Newport RI Mansions, Waterfront, and shopping. When I return to Rhode Island, I would definitely choose this hotel again. The breakfasts are okay, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, bagels....juice, milk, cereal. They pretty much have it covered. If you get the cinnamon buns when they are fresh and warm, they are fantastic. The front desk personnel where very friendly and helpful. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conveniently located in Middletown/Newport, RI For the location, price and comfort - this is a nice option. I'd recommend to friends and associates. August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by trip hotel is nice the prices are not. try to get all discounts possiable August 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Middletown RI Was not very happy with my stay at the Holiday Inn Middletown RI. I traveled with my children and grandchildren. I would have left but could not find any other accommodations. Holiday Inn Middletown RI needs a complete make over. Starting with the parking lot. As you pull up to the front door there is nothing inviting. I must say everyone of the staff was excellent. The elevator broke and they had it fixed within a few hours. The breakfast room was dirty. Food from the day before still found on the floor. Bananas rotting in the fruit bowl. Was not happy with this hotel and will not return. August 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good price but that's it ! Stayed here for our son's wedding in Newport. Waited about 1/2 hour to check in because staff was too busy talking. Had to switch rooms the next day because warm air was blasting from the A/C all night - warm and it would not shut off either. One of the cleaning staff came to check it and said at 4 pm that the 'engineer' had left for the day. They changed our room the next day and someone knocked on the door because they had given him the same room. There are plenty of other hotels in Middletown RI to stay in that are probably better for the same price range. August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location Very pleasant experience. Thank you. Love the area and we were close to everything we wanted to see August 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by falling behind Property is dated more than the eye originally sees. Mattress was saggy. Staff member came to my room knocked once and quickly proceeded to let himself in because someone forgot to check off the room as "in use". A phone call.or longer wait to see if someone answered the door would of been nice. Overall I like the hotel and layout but competition down the street is nicer and more comfortable. August 12, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior The Towers, Narragansett Photo by Seth Jacobsen Photogr Front Desk Hotel pool and patio area Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading