• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PROVIDENCE
  • Distance From Hotel: 25.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals are allowed only.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
NOAA, US EPA
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
URI Bay Campus, Ocean Science & Exploration Center
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
University of Rhode Island (URI)
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Casey Farm
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Large area parking lot to accommodate all size vehicles, buses and trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:107
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:32
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:75
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

South Kingstown Hotel's New England Hospitality Charms

Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn® South Kingstown (Newport Area) hotel. With ideal proximity to the University of Rhode Island and New England's finest beaches, this property is the perfect choice for travelers seeking quality and consistency in South Kingstown, RI.

Major area corporations, such as Schneider Electric, Modine Manufacturing, Hexagon Metrology and Carousel Industries are within eight miles of the
View More

South Kingstown Hotel's New England Hospitality Charms

Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn® South Kingstown (Newport Area) hotel. With ideal proximity to the University of Rhode Island and New England's finest beaches, this property is the perfect choice for travelers seeking quality and consistency in South Kingstown, RI.

Major area corporations, such as Schneider Electric, Modine Manufacturing, Hexagon Metrology and Carousel Industries are within eight miles of the hotel. If you need a hotel near the University of Rhode Island look no further. Whether coming for a URI Basketball game at the Ryan Center in Kingston, a swim meet, hockey game or URI conference, the Holiday Inn is the perfect choice.

In historic Newport, RI, just over the Newport Bridge are the spectacular Newport Mansions, world class dining and shopping options. The beautiful Narragansett beaches, games at the Ryan Center, fantastic museums, Nordic Lodge seafood buffet, theatres and many dining options are all nearby. Minutes from the Holiday Inn, in Pt Judith you can hop a ferry to Block Island, which the Nature Conservancy calls one of the twelve "Last Great Places" in the Western hemisphere.

If you're searching for hotels near wedding venues such as the Towers, Kinney Bungalow or those in the Newport, RI area, a hotel with a great location and unparalleled guest service look no further! "Stay Real" and call us today.

View Less
Features
Pay a visit to the idyllic URI Kingston campus your stay in South Kingstown, RI and take a stroll on the grounds. The hotel is conveniently located just three miles away!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 242 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay It was a good stay. If possible ask for a room on the upper floors. I've stayed at this hotel twice and the second time I was on the first level and it was much more noisy. March 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by dont go for the pool Pool is cold. Hot tub too hot and too much chlorine. enough to choke you. service is very good here but we came for the pool. next time I'll just pay $15 and take my kids to the uri pool. Rooms not the cleanest but ok. Hairs on bed. coffee and breakfast not good at all. March 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Felt like a night at the Bates Motel Thermostat not working, Exceptionaly HOT room, Pool had so many chemicals in it my eyes and skin were burning and DVD Player in the room wouldn't work because we had the wrong remote. Afternoon Front desk staff was disinterested unwilling to give us a new room despite it appearing there was nowhere near a full house. Very disappointed.. would not stay here again ! March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Middletown, RI I will by far recommend this Hotel. It was very clean, the location was great, just far enough away from the main road. The staff was friendly. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value The cost of the room was a great deal and the hotel was very nice February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, loud This property was clean and comfortable - immaculate in fact. But there was little sound-proofing and it was very loud. Great location to URI, to Newport sight-seeing, to the beach! February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and dependable This is off the beach and that is just fine. Clean rooms, dependable conditions. Good location. Quiet. February 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Impressed I expect more from a Holiday Inn. The overall condition of the rooms were poor, not clean and items in three rooms were not working properly. February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice but has limitations This hotel is very convenient for business travelers to NUWC Newport and the price is below per deim. However, there are some limitations. The mattress in my room was worn out on one side and that was surprising since all rooms were renovated within the past two years (I stay here often). Also, I was unable to regulate the heat in my room, the first 2 days of my stay was in an 80 degree room and then the next 2 days hovered around 65-70. No matter what I did, I just could not get the temperature to a comfortable 72-76 degree range. Lastly, some of the food at the breakfast bar should not really be classified as "food". The powdered eggs are tasteless no matter what form they are served in, the sausage is horrible. I do like the pancakes but there is always a line of people waiting to make them. Would also like to see more fresh fruit and other healthy options available. February 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for Aquidneck Island We stayed for three nights, and were very pleased with the room and especially the comp breakfast. The choices for breakfast were very diverse and the food was nice and warm. February 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place for vacations. My wife and my kids were extremely happy since day one. The place was amazing. We spent the most beautiful weekend here. our rooms were amazing. The next morning we ate breakfast and the food was delicious. We made our own hotcakes and my family were so happy. I want to come back soon. Thank you for the Service. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and comfort! I was blown away by the value and amenities, especially at the price we paid. This is the sort of experience I would have expected had I paid DOUBLE. The facilities. were new, in excellent repair, clean and VERY comfortable: The room had BOTH a microwave AND a mini-fridge, Iron, safe, large LCD TV with a generous cable offering. AND THERE'S AN INDOOR POOL/HOT TUB (maybe my favorite experience). It ALSO had a small exercise room with good equipment. Breakfast was WAY BEYOND my expectations: lots of juices, a pancake machine! - cinnamon buns, cereal, bread, bagels, butter, cream cheese, coffee, tea, oatmeal, eggs (though I think the "instant" variety and bacon. It was a truly amazing value. They also had a small "business center" with two thin clients running Windows 7 and a laserjet printer. There were some MINOR issues with the browser and I had a MINOR problem in trying to print which I did NOT follow up with the staff. Internet (wireless) in the room was great. ALL the staff were professional and courteous and even provided a toothbrush that I had neglected to pack. I will DEFINITELY come again and can't recommend this highly enough. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by night in Newport Hotel looked great when we drove up. It was clean and well lit. plenty of parking and well lit. Front desk clerk was pleasant but somewhat confused. Could not find my reservation at first but then found it and it was already to go. room clean and comfortable. breakfast bar well stocked (love those danish) eggs were poor quilty and someone else mentioned flavored coffee not available. January 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed Great hotel overall, good location, very accessible, reasonably priced. I didnt get the IHG rewards welcome though and also the front desk person when we checked out her uniform needed to be cleaned it looked really dirty that didnt leave a good impression on me as a guest. My husband thought of her handling the food if possible she handled the food and we wondered if she even washed her hands at all. If you could please have the stuff especially front desk be clean that would be awesome really. First impressions last a lifetime. I like the Holiday Inn but that sort of left a bad taste in my mouth. Thank you January 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Senior getaway Was looking for some peace and quiet and found it there. January 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and quiet Nice and quiet. Business trip so needed to be in bed and back up early. Hot tub was in good condition. Would like to see more healthy choices for breakfast. Possibly more fresh fruit. But overall a good business trip and good hotel experience. January 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by everything was good good everything was aspromised parking was good pool was good breakfast was good January 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access to Newport, but quieter area We had a pleasant stay. Staff was really outstanding. Beds were confortable. The hotel was convenient to Newport, but not in the hustle and bustle of the city. January 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room Bed was confortable, heat was fine; however, the unit was a bit noisy. January 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not happy with the staff.. I complained to the staff on 3pm to 11pm, regarding the brown water coming from my sink on the first day. Her response was, it's normal for the discoloration. Thank God, I had a case of bottled water in my trunk. Also, I complained to the overnight staff, regarding the people in a room above my room. The noise was out of control at 2am. The staff response was, she would call the room. The noise never stopped. It would continue for two more nights. The overnight staff was very rude when I complained the second night. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking to get a goodnight sleep. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was great!!! Everything was great regarding our stay!!! The room was clean, the staff was attentive and we were able to relax and enjoyed our stay very much. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bedding and relaxing My boyfriend and I stayed here for new years eve and we weren't expecting the hotel to be as nice as it was because how cheap we paid for the night. When we walked up to the front desk however two girls were talking to one another and didn't acknowledge us until they finished speaking-which I thought was a little rude.. however we were quickly situated in the room and it was such a great layout. there were 2 mirrors outside the bathroom plus the one within the bathroom which is great so we were both able to get ready at once....the bed was absolutely comfortable as well as the pillows, and you can adjust the heating and cooling from a temperature gage on the wall. I had to go to the front desk around 11pm because i needed a bandaid and no one was at the desk so i rang a bell they had...no one came--i rang it 2 more times over the course of 10 min and the desk phone even rang and still no one came!!! finally after 15 min a girl showed up and assisted me.. I was very annoyed though. So basically other than the front desk crew the stay was great... January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by food the eggs were cold and the pancakes were not available. The coffee was good and the selection of muffins and bagels was good. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm I was very impressed with the Holiday Express facilities. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean and I could not hear any noise in the hall ways or from next door rooms. Always hot water, never ran out. I will stay at this Holiday Inn the next time I am in Middletown/Newport. January 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Recent Stay for Holiday Break Ask hotel before making reservations if they are going to be hosting any large groups for sporting events, tournaments, etc. involving children. The hotel appears that they may not be staffed properly to take care of such large groups, especially when children are involved. My stay involved children running rampant everywhere. Stayed on the 2nd floor and could not sleep with the noise from above. The breakfast buffet also suffered from the toll of the kids fingering all of the food...yuk. The common areas were not kept up with all of the Cheerios and M January 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms are nice... but not much more I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Express 3 times in 4 months. Each stay was a week long. The rooms are ok and the beds are comfortable. Apparently the thermostat is set on a motion detector, so my last stay, I'd get back to my room at night to a very chilly 66 degrees. (Also the heater in my room for that stay was VERY noisy). They do have a "business" area, but I could not get their computer to read my usb stick (I needed to print a document). The staff is very nice and helpful. December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value, but Different from Previous Stays WHAT I LIKED BEST ABOUT THIS FACILITY WAS THE CHOICE OF TEAS, HOT COCOA, & INSTANT OATMEAL AVAILABLE 24/7. THANK YOU!!! I go to Newport several times a year, and have stayed here before. I was a little surprised when the check in clerk did not acknowledge my Platinum priority status. When I mentioned it, she told me I was a Gold Member. Wrong! I think she was looking at a record from a previous time. We were there on Thanksgiving Eve for only one night. Not sure there were even 10 other guests, but that was fine with me as I have been there when kids were running all over. Newport was also pleasantly quiet. But that is no excuse for not telling me ahead of time that the pool was not open or that there would not be any hot egg items for breakfast. Good thing none of my grandchildren were with us! Looking at other reviews throughout the Fall of 2013, I wonder what is going on with the pool? I can use a pool at my timeshare, but need to get a pass ahead of arrival. If I had been notified of inoperable pool, I could have done that. Our room on the 2nd floor was in EXCELLENT condition, obviously redone since previous stays. Computer in business center worked fine. Exercise equipment fine. The staff was pleasant as always. December 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not as good as other Holiday Inn Express Hotels I have stayed here several times, but this was the worst. They upgraded me to a great 2 room suite. It was absolutely freezing inside the room. The two heaters were turned OFF. The Wall thermostat did not work in the living room area. The vent in the bathroom area had 1/4 inch of dirt and grime on it. The pool was closed for renovation, but the hotel did not tell me when I made the reservation directly with the front desk the day earlier. Finally, the breakfast...there was no hot food. the Desk said that they needed a part to fix their oven, and it was ordered days ago. why did they not tell me there would be no hot breakfast when I made the reservation. Does that explain why the juice was just water and the pancake machine did not work either? Rather poor for what is normally a first class operation. They did not even note I am Platinum when I checked in. November 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by clean comfortable and a minor disappointment I was visiting Newport with my sister picked this hotel because it had a pool and hot tub. My sister has a bad leg and we thought it would be great after doing the tourist thing all day to relax. We checked in and the pool is out of service. In this time of constant e-mails and confirmations WHY weren't we notified??? I just find it annoying! Other than that our visit was fine. November 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice room and very friendly staff The accommodations were very good.....very friendly staff.....it's a good location, easy to reach with ample parking.....only 3 miles from downtown Newport....we had no problem at all with a late checkout......would definitely recommend it. November 4, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior The Towers, Narragansett Photo by Seth Jacobsen Photogr Front Desk Hotel pool and patio area Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading