Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 140 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel but very hot The Hotel is stunning especially the public area's, but being an old building there is no air conditioning. We were there on possibly the hottest weekend we have seen in years and the room was stifling. Although fans were provided, this made little difference and was made worse by not being able to open the windows. To add to our problem, the fridge was not working, so was unable to keep water chilled, but the reception, kindly kept our drinks cool in the kitchen fridge and provided ice buckets each time we took a cold bottle up to the room. There was also cold water provided by the hotel in the reception area which was a nice touch considering the temperature. The staff were very friendly and answered all our questions, and also asked us if we enjoyed our concert that we had been taking part in on the Saturday evening. Overall, the experience was brilliant, it was just the temperature that let it down which the staff did everything they possibly could to make the stay as comfortable as possible. July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Historic hotel sensitively modernised I hadn't appreciated when I booked it but this hotel is a former Great Central Railway Hotel which has been converted into a very comfortable and prestigious Holiday Inn. The interior oozes history yet the standards and service are fully 21st century. I think this is possibly my favourite Holiday Inn and I have stayed in many over the years, either for business or pleasure. Its position is also convenient for the city centre and the railway station but it should not be confused with the adjacent Holiday Inn Express (which I'm sure has equally high standards perhaps without the history). I would not hesitate to stay here again. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel Stayed for 4 nights from 9th July, outer appearance very pleasing with plenty of Disabled parking with lovely seating area around a water feature, steps to front door but easy level wheelchair access at a side door, reception staff very helpful and pleasant, lift to upper floors quite suitable, room was large with two double beds and large bath/shower room with two sinks, beds were very cumfy, large flat screen tv on wall, tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits and small cake bars excellent! We would certainly stay here again, breakfast was very good although we only had cereal and toast but a good selection of hot food if required, thank you to the staff who made us feel very welcome, Well Done. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good old fashioned comfort Excellent room and bathroom most comfortable. Good breakfast selection to set you up for a busy day. Relaxing in the bar in the evening with good selection of bar food. July 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic room Stay at this hotel a lot , staff are very helpful and friendly. Only disappointment is the bar menu!!! July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ball attender Lovely executive room worth the extra money. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely building. July 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Really Enjoyable We splashed out a bit on a suite of rooms. I was concerned it might be a disaster. It was brilliant. We loved it. I had flowers delivered and needed ice buckets in the room (Birthday) spoke to staff on the phone and via email beforehand and they sorted it all out so it was perfect when we got there. Our stay was genuinely fantastic for us. June 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Modern day comforts and service blended with a delightful sense of history Very easy to find and offers great access into the Derbyshire countryside. We stayed on a Sunday night, so nice and quiet. This period built building has many original features, the grand staircase, many Victorian fireplaces, picture rails and many historical photographs (many Victorian railway pictures, being a Hotel that served the Victorian holiday and business people in its day) gives a great sense of history to this delightful hotel. We were greeted by a friendly chap in reception whom explain very clearly the Hotels facilities, where and what direction everything was - Restaurant, Bar, Residents Lounge, Lifts to all the floors and best place to park the car. We had booked an 'Executive Suite' and we were placed on the top floor at the front of the hotel, great views. Our room comprised of a spacious reception entrance with table and chairs, very large bathroom and the master bedroom had two very comfortable double bed's. During our stay we took advantage of their Gym facilities which was very well equipped and had a delightful window seat for breakfast in the rather splendid dining room, which again had may original period features overlooking some of Sheffield's modern designed buildings and lots of walkways around the Canal system which runs through the heart of Sheffield itself. Breakfast was self serve and offered a good selection of hot and cold food. The restaurant staff were helpful and friendly as was the reception staff upon our checkout. June 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Period charm We stayed here for a wedding in Sheffield so weren't looking for more than a bed but got a special view of the grand ballroom as well. Hermann proudly showed us this magnificent Victorian room and chatted with us for ages during a busy (and generous) breakfast service. It was good to see him working hard with his helpful staff during service - no airs and graces for this manager/owner. The welcome and farewell at reception were very cheerful and friendly. Our room was comfortable, and much quieter than I expected from the hotel's position near the ring road and city centre. All very clean and Hermann explained that redecoration etc is an ongoing project. Sky Sports on the TV - a bonus for cricket lovers. We got a two nights for one deal that made it a bargain stay. June 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely and friendy staff We came here to stay for a weekend away whilst visiting family friends. The hotel is decorated beautifully. It has managed to keep the character of the old building whilst having all the modern amenities you require. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I will definitely be coming back to stay here again. June 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Royal Victoria The Hotel is pleasent and staff were very helpful but disapointed as being a Gold member and having to pay to park when this has been wavered at other Holiday Inns I have stopped at and no choice of complimentry Newspaper. June 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value A beautiful, historical hotel. A great place to stay with children. Room was very spacious and evening meal excellent. Would definitely stay again. June 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Family Mini Break This hotel is excellent in terms of facilities,it is superbly decorated and the rooms are spacious and deluxe, my family enjoyed it immeasurably. The beds were easily the most comfortable of any holiday inn we have used and the bathroom was also the best I have seen. Whilst I was 90% satisfied and feel overall a top notch this is not a true holiday inn though, it is run by an independent body and the real problem I found was the 'add on costs' just kept on pouring my way, I booked bed and breakfast but was told my booking didnt include the mail the following morning and was duly charged approximately £25 for the meal, there is a £5 'parking' fee on their own carpark (how anyone would use a hotel without a car in a built up city is beyond me) a movie to view for my kids was £12.50 (!), fish and chips for the family was £40 (!), and even worse was an incident after we left. My little girl left her phone accidentally in the room, we rung the hotel and the receptionist said they would post it back, I thought that was kind, but was promptly asked for £5 to do it. I thought ok, but a few minutes later was rung back saying it would now cost more than £5 recorded (it was actually £3.45) and I needed to pay more and they would tell me how much on monday. When I pointed out a courier could collect it and return it for £3 the amount promptly shrunk to the £5 again. Overall the service was excellent and I felt relaxed at all times I wasnt being tapped for money, and the slight feeling the independent staffing was making this more than necessarily expensive didnt ruin my holiday, it would have been 5 stars if they hadnt doubled my room cost in extra charges. Only other thing i would mention is if you like the breakfast at the holiday inn, make sure in advance that it isnt removed from your room and get down early as they only serve the required amount and first come first served, no eggs left at all when we came down at 9am. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good Experience One of the best Holiday Inn's we have ever stayed in. Excellent service, very pleasant and friendly staff. Hotel itself was lovely, a little cold in the room though with no apparent ability to control the room temperature on view. We requested a 'Quiet' room as we are usually disturbed by noise from other guests, and were given just that, with no noise or disturbance at all. The food, menu and presentation, and service, in the hotel restaurant for dinner and breakfast was excellent. It was also a big plus that we could park the car in the hotel car park as Parking in Sheffield in our experience can be a nightmare and quite expensive. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly be booking to stay again in the future. May 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend Our first experience in this hotel was a Groupon offer and very successful, so a year later we booked again and were not disappointed. However, 2 days after our booking we saw that Groupon had another offer which, as pensioners, we would have found even more attractive. Despite this we enjoyed our stay very much and are very impressed with all the staff at the hotel. We are hoping to return again when we visit family in Sheffield. May 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Interesting old building with excellent facilites Made very wecome, even if only a one night stay. Lovely building; quiet, near the city centre, and really nice bar and restaurant. May 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Character with modern rooms Arrived late evening and the staff were most helpful on arrival. The hotel is full of character and history and yet the rooms are very clean with all modern amenities and yet the decor is smart and in character with the building. Just one very small improvement.... Add smoked salmon to the breakfast buffet please! Everything else was fine, room was nice and quiet despite a University Ball in progress! May 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Improvement We stayed here for one night. The room was clean and everything worked OK, unfortunately the bed was very uncomfortable and there was a loud hum coming from outside which kept us awake all night. It sounded like some sort of extractor or other machinery. At reception we were almost charged for breakfast, which we had already paid for and we found the receptionist to be quite rude. Not once were we asked about our stay or if anything had been OK and no apology for trying to charge us for breakfast twice. We usually love staying at the holiday inn but on this occasion it fell below our expectations, sorry :-( April 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't stay on a weekend unable to use the main bar area due to a wedding taking place, but no other arrangements were made for other guests, a spare bar was opened with no television and only 2 small tables. kept awake till 130am filled by noise of party guest going to bed noisily till around 2am. most of the rooms have very sloping and uneven floors and the Bar meals seem like reheated ready meals, especially the curries. as a result I checked out a day early for the second time in about 12months. I was sent a letter by the manager Catherine Smith a few days later giving a somewhat different version events, and offering me a free night unfortunately it's too little to late, I won't be going back, April 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room but customer service is lacking Lovely room, very clean and comfortable. My car was damaged in the car park though and the reception staff could not have cared less, advising they would check the CCTV and not bothering to get back to me. I probably wouldn't stay there again due to this. April 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Historic and intersting building unlike most other Holiday Inns Having been built by the Victorians to service Sheffield Victoria Station this hotel has many interesting features that you would not find elsewhere. Having said that the service is patchy. Reception is very average, but Breakfast service with white tablecloths (I havn't seen that for years!) was very good with the glaring exception that the fried eggs were so overcooked and rubbery they would have bounced off the floor. April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good location - comfy beds Overall a very good quality hotel , reasonably priced ; nice soft comfy beds , very good restaurant & friendly staffs ; will be staying again once I visit Sheffield again April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One night visit A very enjoyable stay at a well priced hotel with excellent facilities. Congratulations to Mr Beck on his staff, all excellent. I do not generally like staying away from home - but this was the exception. I will happily recommend. March 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Some improvements needed The hotel is really comfortable and spacious. There were two irritating aspects of my stary: 1. There was a constant on/off fairly loud hum from a boiler or some other machine that went on all night 2. The coffee for breakfast was absolutely awful - what a pity to spoil an otherwise good meal March 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location Great Room Hi we stayed over mothers day weekend had a great time Our only disapointment is the Bar area it is gruby and dingy Due i think to the lighting being wrong for the size of the room. Also the bar furniture is a bit of a miss match. It does not induce you to stay in the bar for a few drinks. That said we have stayed here many times and always been well looked after. March 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic room with a sence of grandure I was more than pleasantly suprised at this fantastic building. All so often a hotel is just a practical solution for travelling businessman, but on this occassion I experienced a wow factor. March 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location and service It was the little touches that made this stay relaxing. Decent breakfast, good toiletries, trouser press, scales even! So much better than the well-known 'bargain basement' hotels nearby. Would certainly stay again when planning a weekend of culture in Sheffield. February 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel but needs double-glazing I had no real problems with this hotel except the noise. The side of the hotel looks out over a dual carriageway, and the windows are old fashioned single-glazed sash windows. There is traffic noise all night, so I would take ear plugs with you. The window was stiff, difficult to open and I don't think closed entirely, which may have added to the noise. There was a very sophisticated LG TV, but the menus were so complex I couldn't navigate them, and although it said that pressing "menu" accessed the hotel services, it didn't. The bed was very comfortable, the room facilities and bathroom were good, and the breakfast was fine. It was a nice building, parking was easy and the atmosphere in the bar was congenial. Despite being a little frustrated with the problems above, I'd still stay there again. February 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Was not disappointed To start with the staff were friendly for example we came back late 1 am and we're hungry. The staff member prepared pizza for us and did so with a smile and friendly chat. Yes the building is old but who wants a new build I loved the vintage look and cannot agree with one of the reviews that it was shabby. The rooms were clean bed very comfortable only issue the rooms can become very warm. The room was small for 2 adults and a child but to be honest we hardly stayed in the room so was not an issue for us but next time will go for family room or two adjourning rooms. Whoever complains about the breakfast cannot be justified this was beyond my expectation I even asked for a poached egg and was not disappointed. To modernise this hotel too much would lose it's appeal for me personally. February 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A nice hotel at a good price Much better than the price might suggest, I had a spa bath executive room, which was excellent. The bar makes a pleasant change from the HI standard, by having a couple of local beers (keg versions) on draught as well as the uninspiring normal Boddingtons, Guinness and lager. February 20, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>