• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Hungarian
  5. Polish
  6. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Dogs and small animals allowed. Charge of 10.00 per animal per night. Assistance dogs are accommodated free of charge, Please advise upon booking that you wish to bring an animal with you.
Pet fee amount  10.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Stratford Upon Avon, Shakespeare's Birthplace
Distance From Hotel:25.0MI
Attraction:
Sea Life Birmingham
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Alton Towers & Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:52.0MI
Attraction:
Think Tank
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:164
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel as a large spacious car park, located at the front of the hotel which can accommodate 164 cars. Parking charges apply @ £5.00 per car per night. Space for larger vans and coaches
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 5.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:£ 15.00 15.0  GBP
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:£ 15.00 15.0  GBP

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:31
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Choose the Holiday Inn Solihull hotel for its picturesque location just 5 miles from Birmingham NEC.

Centred around a pretty lake and fountain in leafy gardens in the heart of Solihull town centre. Our red-brick hotel is just a short drive from concerts and exhibitions at Birmingham NEC and LG Arena. Relax with a drink on our terrace and unwind in Holiday Inn Solihull's Fitness Centre with facilities including a gym, sauna and heated indoor
View More

Choose the Holiday Inn Solihull hotel for its picturesque location just 5 miles from Birmingham NEC.

Centred around a pretty lake and fountain in leafy gardens in the heart of Solihull town centre. Our red-brick hotel is just a short drive from concerts and exhibitions at Birmingham NEC and LG Arena. Relax with a drink on our terrace and unwind in Holiday Inn Solihull's Fitness Centre with facilities including a gym, sauna and heated indoor pool.

Prepare your presentation with wireless Internet, available throughout Holiday Inn Solihull, and welcome colleagues to an event in one of our 12 modern meeting rooms. We offer ample parking for your delegates and are just 10 minutes' drive from Birmingham International Airport.

Visit the National Sea Life Centre, where a million-litre tank with giant sea turtles and reef sharks brings the oceans to life. Chocoholics should head for Cadbury World, 8 miles away, to see how the famous chocolate is made and visit the world's biggest chocolate shop. Browse high-street fashions in Touchwood Shopping Centre opposite the hotel.

After a day's business or sightseeing, unwind in our steam room and indulge in a beauty treatment in Holiday Inn Solihull's extensive Fitness Centre. Brookes Restaurant serves an international menu for lunch and dinner, and you can mingle till late in our sociable lounge bar overlooking the lake.

View Less
Features
Pre-book our Cadbury Experience Package to enjoy discounted entry to nearby Cadbury World. Dinner and breakfast at Holiday Inn Solihull is included when you choose this good-value package.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 339 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A disappointing nights sleep I stayed at the hotel as I was working at the NEC and the location was convenient. First impressions were that the hotel had all the facilities required and rooms were incredibly well turned out and clean. I had a number of issues when checking in as the first two rooms I tried to get into were already occupied. I had a very disturbed nights sleep as the air conditioning unit in both rooms I stayed in during the week were very loud. I did complain on check out and the staff were very attentive and willing to make up for the problems I had incurred however as I was only staying in the hotel to get a good nights sleep it was a case of too little too late. April 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant enough stay Have stayed here before & a very similar experience again. Pleasant staff, food is good & walking distance to the NEC is a bonus. Considering the high room rate & cost of eating here I think the internet charge is very steep & should be reduced or at least free for a few hours each day. The noisy air con unit does disturb your sleep, I recommend ear plugs! However I find the rooms very comfortable & clean. The hotel needs to indicate where the coffee & tea facilities are & the hair dryer, they are all hidden very well! All this to one side I would stay here again. April 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, shame about the food If you're visiting the NEC or LG Arena, this hotel is in a perfect location. A short (4-5 mins) walk around a lovely lake will deliver you to either location. It's under 10 minutes walk from the railway station (through the NEC, well signposted), and I'd guess at well under 15 mins from the airport. Timed right, you can probably make Birmingham New Street in about 20 minutes by walk+train, if you really wanted to! Hotel wise, it's a nice hotel, everything you'd hope for in a new-ish Crowne Plaza. Much as you'd expect, it has decent sized rooms, good furnishings, large + comfy beds, well layed out rooms, nice bathrooms, small but effective gym, all generally well done. Staff here are excellent, very friendly and helpful. We had one minor little problem, and they were amazing at getting it all sorted + going out of their way to offer an alternative. Couldn't have asked for more from them. The main problem with the hotel is with food + drink. Neither are cheap here, but for a nice Crowne Plaza that's nothing unusual. The problem is that they don't hold up. Both are decidely average, and hence bad value. This is not a Crowne Plaza trying for excellent food and drink offerings (as many out there do, Lille or Kowloon East being two which spring to mind). It seems to be somewhere assuming it has a captive market (which it doesn't really - there's several options in the NEC a 5 min walk away, or there's a Hilton sub 10 mins walk), and overcharging. If the cost had been half, and I'd been at a Holiday Inn or similar, I'd have been perfectly happy. In a CP, with those prices, I was miffed. It's not actually a rip off, just bad value, and a shame given how well the rest of the hotel works. If you're in the area, the hotel is good, especially if you can get a decent rate on a weekend. Just skip the food and drink offerings here, and take a nice walk round the lake to get something either better or cheaper, whichever you fancy! April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel for NEC events The hotel is in a great location with easy access to the NEC, the rooms were spotless, well equipped, very comfortable and quiet. The bars and restaurants were welcoming and good value, but what made our stay was the warm welcome and excellent service from all the staff we encountered, truly nothing was too much trouble. Excellent service can't praise the staff highly enough. April 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by How To Lose A Customer Firstly, I must say that in terms of facilities. cleanliness and service this hotel is perfectly acceptable and that even the food in the restaurant was pleasant. The problem with my stay was quite fundamental and ruined an otherwise pleasant experience. I was staying in a suite and after a very late night was looking forward to a good nights sleep, intending to leave the hotel around noon. As I have a loyalty membership level that allows me to check out late, in some instances as late a 4pm, I did not consider leaving just before noon, a fairly normal check out time, to be a problem. Unfortunately at 11am a member of staff burst into the room whilst my wife and I were still asleep and all but threw us out. They demanded we pack up and leave. To say I was shocked is an understatement. In over 30 years I have never experienced such treatment and I really feel unable to recommend a hotel that is prepared to treat guests in an expensive room in such a manner. If it really had been essential to ask a loyal guest to leave surely a simple phone call to the room as a reminder would have been sufficient. March 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access, great staff For ease of access from M5 and very attentive staff our stay was first rate - but please put earl grey tea bags on the room tray! March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service & Facilities, Let down by Internet A colleague and I stayed at the Crown Plaza for three nights while exhibiting at an exhibition at the NEC. The hotel is conveniently located in close proximity to the airport and was about a 15 minute walk from our location at the exhibition so we didn't need to rent a car while attending this exhibition which was a plus. Staff were superb throughout the hotel and the quality of the rooms, facilities, food and so forth all exceeded my expectations. The only negative point I can make about the hotel is the quality of the internet. As a IHG gold member I was provided with free internet access whereas my colleague, on the same booking under my company account, had to pay to access their network. On each day, it took me several attempts to access the network and when I did the speed was extremely slow - frustrating when you're trying to work. There is also a limit of 2 devices you can have accessing the network at once; again frustrating when you have a laptop, work cell phone, personal cell phone and kindle that all require access to the network. My stay at this hotel was exceptional in every other way, so the hotel's policy on charging for high-speed internet and limiting access was very disappointing. I would stay here again when exhibiting or attending conferences at the NEC but only because the NEC itself has far superior internet, if I was relying on hotel internet to access internet for work purposes I would not be staying at this hotel again. March 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by disabled access having a daughter in a wheelchair for the first time at this hotel makes you understand how impossible it was to access the hotel. Having disabled room is no good if you cannot get a wheelchair out of the hotel. Coming back from Crufts at night she was unable to get into the hotel for 1/2 an hour until some staff and a member of the public lifted her chair across the grass access. It is to hope they change as the hotel complies with the disability act in name only. Its a shame i have been staying here for years and i do hope they get it right March 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and relaxed atmosphere I have stayed in several hotels on and around the NEC over the years that I have been visiting Crufts Dog Show. This is by far the most superior hotel of them all in my experience. The staff are always polite and professional and should be commended for their welcoming manner. The hotel is always spotlessly clean which I haven't found with others I have stayed in. The only reason that I didn't award an "excellent" this time is that for some reason on this occasion, the room was not to the usual standard. It was very clean as usual, but on the first day, the morning paper did not arrive and there were no bath robes in the room. However following my reporting this, both things were quickly rectified. The fridge in the room was out of order, but apparently there was a problem with the fridges in all the rooms and use of the hotel fridge was offered to me as an alternative. On my final day, toiletries had not been replenished, including shower gel and toilet tissue which were obviously needed. On mentioning this when I was asked on checking out, the staff were very quick to waive the parking charge as an apology and I cannot praise them highly enough for their customer service. It is evident that staff are chosen carefully and/or are well trained. Anyone can make mistakes, but the key issue is how they are dealt with. I will definitely be staying again. March 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location, great service and overall ambiance Crowne Plaza experience in NEC is perfect - perfect location when visiting NEC, clean and comfortable with friendly staff and especially good breakfeast, room well equipped with hint of luxury (only missed hair dryer). I recommend the hotel to everyone. March 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor communication I stopped at the crown plaza while attending a show at the NEC. It is not a place i would recomend because they have a problem with the NEC security wiping the room keys and the staff neglect to tell you this. This meant that during my time there i spent more time in the lift then in any other part of the hotel. I also found it extremely unusual that they expect you to look through all the cupboards to find the tea making facilities because the staff do not tell you and there is no information in the room to make you aware either. I and my colleagues who attended felt that the hotel was over priced and is more interested in making more money while your there than wether you enjoy your stay. I was flabbergasted to find out they charge for parking your car and for wifi access. I stay in a lot of hotels and i have nether had to pay for either of these, they are included in the room price. On checking out i was offered a phone call form their service manager in regards to my stay but even though over 12 days have gone by i have still not received that call. My overall service level rating is the lowest i could go but in reality it should be in the minus. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent two night stay had nice two night stay for NEC photo show, hotel, staff and food especially breakfast buffet were excellent. Steak at the restaurant was superb. Two nights great sleep, wont hesitate to book for next year... only downside was building site next door, but no noise was heard as we were on other side of hotel so did not directly affect us at all. complimentary parking for house guests would have been nice. March 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Just a number Hassel booking in - total confusion Fridge in room was noisy and when I complained nothing was done about it. Reception staff were dismissive, like somhow the delays were my fault Resturant staff were actually very good and most helpfull My colleague had black mould in his room and asked to be moved. Checking out was a nightmare - again confusion reigned. Hotel is in a prime location for the NEC but I feel it takes advantage of that fact as the alternatives are limited. March 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Very conveniently situated close to the NEC halls. Stayed here a number of times since it opened. Great atmosphere. Food and drinks on the high side, but to be expected with such hotel quality and location. Staff very helpful and friendly. Only downside was a noisy air con unit in the room which did disturb our sleep. Would stay again. March 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurant The hotel reception and maid service staff were exceptional and very friendly . The bar was a typical hotel bar and the bar food was adequate . The whole hotel experience was let down by the evening restaraunt staff and food . The food was poor quality , to the extent that one of the steaks was almost inedible . In short I would think twice about another stay as alternative evening eating places are not local . February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience Very happy with the service and stay. Good hotel and location February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed service and room maintenance issues I stayed here for a conference and reception seemed understaffed for check-in with many staff busy on computers and not engaging with customers leading to a long wait and some confusion. The bar and restaurant service was excellent and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Food also excellent. The room was generous and comfortable, and very clean and well kept. This was however let down by the main ceiling light not working leaving me fumbling in the dark to find the secondary lighting. The desk lamp was also not working - note to staff please check and replace room lights! Generally though really enjoyed my stay and would recommend. February 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SPRING FAIR WE ARRIVED TO A BUSY MAN ON THE DESK,WE WERE NOT SURE WHAT HE WAS UP TO ,IF HE WAS CHECKING US IN OR NOT! HE WAS AND HANDED ME THE FORM BEFORE LETTING ME CHECK AND SIGN ,IN WITH YOUR CARD ,PIN NUMBER . WHEN READING THE FORM IT WASN'T ME , O DEAR, AGAIN NOT SURE WHAT HE WAS UP TO,WE GOT THERE IN THE END,BAD START. THERE ON, FAB,UNTIL LAST NIGHT 5/2/14 AND 6/2/14 IT WAS IF SPRING FAIR OVER ...............................PHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEW. February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by pleasurable expierience my friend and i stayed overnight at the hotel.we were attending a concert at the lg arena just next door we were able to walk there in a matter of mins.we called the hotel shuttle bus from the airport and the driver picked us up.tommy i think his name was ,so friendly and helpful.the room was lovely clean and comfortable.the staff were very professional but happy and relaxed.the breakfast was amazing! a very enjoyable experience.thankyou. February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel but the fitness room needs updating To start this review I have to say that this is a great hotel. I have stayed here several times for business and leisure. The location is perfect for the NEC, Birmingham Airport and The National Motorcycle Museum. This hotel has stood up well considering how long it has been open but now a few cracks are starting to appear. The most obvious and important to point out is the age and poor state of the equipment in the fitness room. I took the time last week to have a run and use the stationary bike but found both very slow to respond to inputs and the bike was exceptionally unstable, nearly falling over as I ran a simple interval style program. Whilst this does not detract from the overall experience of this stay I do feel that when I reported it to the reception staff after my time in the gym, and then again at checkout, it was not taken seriously. Let's see if anything changes before my next visit in May. Jamie February 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for LG Arena - but otherwise very average Stayed one night on rewards whilst attending a concert at the LG Arena. Very slow check-in due to being understaffed at reception. Finally got to room but Key Card system was not working so had to return to reception and be escorted to room with master key. Room adequate. Overlooked building site. Bathroom smelt damp. Returned to bar after concert - they had run out of crisps and nuts! Not enough seats for the number of visitors. Decided to find Breakfast elsewhere in the morning. Served our purpose - but have had much better IHG experiences. February 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room but complained about noise , nothing done till I complained again. Continuous noise in room, only sorted after 2nd complaint. Two opened soaps and shower gel in bathroom when I got there. Dusty surfaces in room. January 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top quality as always I am a regular visitor to Crowne Plaza NEC Birmingham and always find it quite comfortable and relaxing. Staff is top notch and rooms are really nice and comfortable. I love the extras they include with every room things: Bath robe, chocolates, free water, Sleep well air freshners and comforters etc. Also comes with Sky Sports. The only blemish is break fast which can be improved. January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Travel made enjoyable When you arrive at a hotel after a long day of work, and before you settle in to that food and drink you crave, the welcome to a hotel can transform a stressful day into a pleasant experience. On arrival I was greeted by Joanna, a trainee at the hotel.... professionalism and friendliness in abundance, I felt so welcome and even shared a laugh that took away a lot of the stress I had built up during the day. As an all week business traveller with IHG, this kind of experience gives you the home from home feeling And that is half the battle won :) January 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Autosport stayi not to happy booking months in advance to find on arrival that the 2 double beds we had booked was not available due to a computer glitch. If I had wanted a double bed and a sofa bed I would have booked it. January 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service - needs a little attention Rooms are not as clean as should be for CP - dust under desk on cables etc. Whilst room had a Bose sound system, it was fixed so close to the TV, it made it impractical to use. One bug bear I raised at check out was the issue of tips. I added a tip to my restaurant bill. t This appeared on by bill BUT 20% vat was applied to it!!! When I challenged this I did not get a satisfactory response. So when rewarding staff for good service, give cash. It seems if you add it to your bill the exchequer adds 20% to this! First time I have encountered this - surely an accounting problem with the CP system? Front desk said the duty manager will investigate. The manager never got back to me - poor show. :( January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great Hotel Booked this hotel online with late rooms then read the reviews and i dont know what people are talking about. Very clean hotel freindly helpfull staff who gave the impression that nothing was to much trouble room was spotless with nice bedding and furnishing. Easy parking and location to NEC and the best full english breakfast iv had in a hotel for a long time highly recommended. January 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and just a short walk to the LG arena I booked a queen bed room for June, however had to cancel that due to concert date change. I changed the date of the booking to Januarywith ease, however the hotel rates had increased and had to pay the difference. The room was lovely, spacious and inviting. The bathroom was very modern and clean with a large mirror. The concert venue (LG arena) was a short walk, maybe about 5 minutes and was the reason for booking the hotel in the first place. Unfortunately we had to pay for parking (£10) in the hotel carpark which I've never had to do before. Other hotels have provided car passes but I guess every hotel is different, I just thought the price was rather steep. The bed was very comfortable and big. The hair dryer did not work. There were no plugs close to the bed which was annoying for when I needed to charge my phone but have it close for business calls. Also the air conditioning was noisy and would keep stopping and restarting which was annoying. The bar and reception staff were friendly. Overall it was a nice stay, would reccomend to anyone who is travelling to Birmingham to see a concert at the LG arena. January 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by General Experience Registration at reception was Ok, but I would suggest that customers should be able to log their details on line prior to arriving at the hotel to save time, queuing, looking for glasses, and trying to remember car registration plate numbers. There were lifts to the room but I would also like the option to use the stairs but I couldn't find them? The room was very nice, standard for this type of hotel. However the room was unbearably hot when I arrived. Buffet breakfast was ok but I couldn't initially find where all the different types of food were located, signs on or above the counter would help. Food was good. Generally I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for standard 4* accommodation. January 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice modern rooms but poor service I suppose it lives up to the name of crown plaza when the room comfort and general decor is concerned. Generally clean but a close inspection prevents an excellent rating, still good. Location is not best as there is nothing around, unless it's for NEC centre. So not for a leisure type stay. Reception and checkout was trouble free and is not a reflection of poor service. It's the breakfast which killed it. The choice of continental stuff was poorer than a holiday inn Express and the idea of hot food on order failed it miserably. The waiting time for a humble egg, beans with hash brown was an hour. It wasn't crowded at all... Empty chairs all around still we got our chairs after 15 minutes wait. I think there was a lack of staff and poor state of service. I am glad we didn't opt for dinner the previous night. We were able to order hot food 30 minutes wait and calling for the staff on duty a few times. It only arrived after another 40 minutes wait. So all in all the biggest disappointment of our stay. I suppose for the price of room it was extremely cheap for a crown plaza.... So if you can opt for breakfast elsewhere it may be better. However as I said nothing in vicinity so be prepared to drive away or stay at the one in the city. January 1, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Solihull
Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Solihull
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Solihull Front Desk Lobby Lounge Holiday Inn Solihull Lobby Lounge Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Entrance Holiday Inn Solihull View from Hotel of Fountain & Lake Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Exterior With Fountain & Lake Holiday Inn Solihull
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading