Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 241 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel First time stay here and found the hotel was excellent. Good service at reception although service in the bar was very slow and disorganised. Room was very comfortable and quiet. Proximity to the airport and train into London/Southend is a great advantage. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Away Staying before a next day flight, experience extended the break and made it even more enjoyable. The restaurant was really good, fantastic staff and very good food and decent food and wine selection. Good views, not a plane spotter but as flying the next day the view of planes as we ate seemed to extend the break, a constant holiday feeling. Reception staff were also really helpful, most pleasant and professional. A Platinum Elite member so a regular IHG customer and this hotel represents the group very well. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by lovely hotel we had a great experience here we stayed twice in one week,flying out to spain and coming back,the staff were great from a friendly welcome on the front desk,to the great bar staff,the hotel still smelt new ,and if you need to travel from southend you can walk to the airport,how good is that..we will be back thankyou holiday inn for another great stay. May 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Having stayed here often, I can say that the Staff are helpful, the food is lovely. And the rooms are always clean. I will always stay here when I'm in Southend. May 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Handy for work and Airport...but no room upgrade this time:-D The Aircon and restaurant service issues seem to have improved since my stays here in 2013. It's a shame the Sky Sports TV package has been revoked as a number of non-residents were willing to make an evening of bar food and drinks in the 1935 5th floor location and sadly that custom has gone and the atmosphere can be lacking when the restaurant is quiet. It certainly feels better when it is busy with corporate clients. Hence the atmosphere is a pro and a con:-D The staff still make up for the cons with good entertainment value May 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Normally very good , but his time ..... I was informed that as a gold card holder I would be getting a free room upgrade to an Executive room, this turned out not to be the case. As I was staying only one night it was no big deal but if it were a longer stay it would have been another matter. After paying approximately £10.50 per head for breakfast I was surprised to have been informed that if I wanted a "cup" of coffee from one of the machines there would be an extra charge, but not if I had a "pot" of coffee. Please put a stop to this nonsense. The breakfast buffet unfortunately was cold which is a real shame because it looked as if it had been cooked perfectly. The apparatus used in keeping the food warm is obviously not working properly. May 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Dinner was very good with adequate staffing. Breakfast was OK it would be helpful if more staff were available to clear tables of cereal bowls. I saw an elderly couple really struggling on their table, they had to get up, then put their used plates on the next table. I know this sounds extreme but they were really old and even getting up was difficult for them. I only saw fried eggs on the hot plate there was no one to ask what other choice there was. I think a lot could be learnt from the HI Cambridge as we were blown away with their breakfast offering and attentive breakfast service. The room was very nice and the bed was really cozy. I felt sorry for the receptionist as to the amount of information they had to impart to a new guest.! Whilst this is OK it would be far easier to tell the guests the important points and put the rest within the key card folder or in the room. I did not like the £5 Parking charge and think this should be free. April 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Facility - not so useful staff Stayed here with work. The facility is amazing, good views from the rooms, and just all round good hotel. HOWEVER...... As a business account holder, I checked in, had to ask if I was entitled to free drink on arrival due to gold status, and was advised yes and that room is all pre-paid for. All my other trips to ihg hotels have resulted in the room being left open for food and drink charges or asking if I'd like it left open.... No sign of either here.. I only found this out however when I went to order food at the bar and was told it was not possible as the room didn't have a card against it?? What's the point of having a business card you can charge these too if you can't can't them too? I was pretty quickly advised that only reception can sort it and it wasn't a bar issue. I paid on my normal card and just got my dinner as I was hungry. If I'm honest the staff seemed to care more about the customers in suits and we're incredibly rude. I enquirer on reception upon check on whether this was normal practice to shut the room charge facility off when someone checks in and was advised that I should've been asked, and further more whether it was the Spanish looking one who had served me at the bar?? What sort of question is that. I would recommend if the staff were sorted out in service. April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mice Place to stay Stayed 2 nights, enjoyed it a lot. Nice location. even though close to the airport there was little noise! Nice, friendly staff and dogs admitted (although at a charge). Was a little disappointed that we were not allowed to bring our dog into the bar but we didn't expect to take her into the restaurant. Like all Holiday Inns the breakfast was way too expensive and the first morning we dined in McDonalds (just over the road) - won't make that mistake again!!!!! Recommended. April 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly team, great stay I don't think I have ever received a friendlier welcome to a hotel before. The team at reception took care of everything for us. The room was clean and comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. We also enjoyed the bar at the top of the hotel with a view over the airport. We would definitely stay here again. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service The reservation staff were excellent in helping me book my stay for a personal celebration. The front desk staff were professional,welcoming and made me feel a valued returning customer. Restaurant staff at breakfast were attentive. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A short break in Southend on Sea We had a great stay from check-in onwards. Our room was clean and modern with a neat bathroom. I didn't like the soap dispensers on the wall however and one didn't work. The beds were soft enough to provide a sound sleep. Plenty storage space. The cups were dirty around the mouth but not a big problem. The bar is spectacular with views over the busy airport so we enjoyed our drinks. Breakfast was as good as it gets. Check out was slow but that is expected when everybody has to leave at the same time. Plenty of parking too. We would visit again... April 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Too many untrained staff This stay left a lot to be desired. On checking in reception did not know the reservation was pre booked and I was nearly charged for the room again. Tired from a long flight, we then had to traipse back to reception as the person who had checked us in did not know how to validate the room keys and we could not get in to our room. There was no one else around to help her. We then discovered there were only enough towels for one guest and had to request another set. We went up to the bar for a drink and had the drinks virtually thrown at us as the staff were more interested in having a conversation amongst themselves. My drink was not poured our for me, while my husband received half a pint of froth overflowing all over the bar with no apology or interest in cleaning up. We had to request a beer mat. The worst issue for me was that I was made to pay £5 for internet use (no receipt given). I was not informed of the complimentary half hour. We had stayed here the previous week having booked EXACTLY the same conditions. Then I received free internet for two devices. When I queried the charge, the staff member was quite rude and could not explain the difference from one week to the next except `company policy`.. The £5 is not the issue, it is the principle and he was obviously could not be bothered to try to find out why the discrepancy occurred. Good point - excellent breakfast, but again new staff were receiving some very basic training (like how to lay a table) during the breakfast hours. This did not appear very professional . April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing place to stay Could not fault this hotel, comfortable bed, spacious room, had everything we needed. Breakfast was lovely. Staff were helpful and attentive. Would definitely stay again. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable hotel, excellent food. Great quiet room overlooking the airport, well-soundproofed and not affected by aircraft noise. Room modern, clean, and comfortable. Bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in in a long time. Restaurant food was very good - excellent menu choice and value for money. March 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thoroughly enjoyable stay. I stayed at the holiday inn for 2 nights for my sisters wedding. The decoration throughout the hotel is modern and classy. My room was fantastic, the bed was an excellent size and very comfortable. The shower was good and I loved the green lighting in the bathroom. Wardrobe provided coat hangers and an iron which was handy. The breakfast each morning was brilliant. So much selection! I couldn't fault my stay and if I was in the area again I would definitely consider returning. March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Stay As always a very pleasurable experience. Staff very friendly and helpful March 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Jolly nice I liked it here, it was very handy for my weekend trip to a wedding nearby. Bed is scrumily comfortably, big bathroom also lush. Only weeny gripes stop it being 5 stars - hair dryer is one of those where you have to constantly hold the button down to work it - its just really awkward and unnecessary for such a basic piece of kit. And the kettle wouldn't sit comfortably on its pod so that needed holding down as well to reach a full boil. But if you're bald and don't bother with a hot drink then its quite fabulous!! February 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Liked the Service Liked the service but it could be better. The offer of a glass of wine on arrival was a truly unique experience and much appreciated after the grueling journey down from North Norfolk. The room was great and the restaurant better than most at similar hotels. My gripe is that it is not user friendly for handicapped people. There were only 2 reserved parking spots for the disabled and no assistance to get from the hotel to departures at the Airport. As a disabled person the necessity to walk to departures on a cold, blustery, wet morning was NOT appreciated. Some form of transport would have improved your service rating no end. Apart from this I was well satisfied February 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by I expected it to be better The location is perfect but the hotel needs a manager that will kick it into gear! February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing and Quiet Stay Hotel is quiet even though near to the airport. The hotel has a problem with their shower shields in the bathrooms.They are not leak proof. Bathroom floor often covered in water after taking a shower. Had to change rooms but the problem lloks as if it is general. Not comfortable. Our first room was not cleaned properly on arrival (aeration valve in the bathrrom black with dust, mirrors not cleaned, not enough towels in the room) Food is good. Staff helpful and hotel overall is clean. Business centre only one computer in operation. February 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed feelings The room was spacious and clean, however the mattress was too worn in the middle and as a result I woke in the morning with a bad back. The restaurant provided great food, but with only average service. Checking out in the morning took far too long as the staff failed to cope with the queues and didn't make the effort to ask how my stay was. February 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Nice hotel, shame about the aircon. I moved rooms because the aircon was continuously making noises, even when turned off - actually it was worse when it was off than when it was on. The second room turned out to be exactly the same so possibly common to all rooms. Hardly slept at all so, given that sleeping is the primary purpose of an hotel, have to give it one star only. Checking other reviews I see I'm not the only person to make this complaint and not in the same rooms I tried (306 and 308) so if you want a quiet night, suggest you go elsewhere. Oh yes, and the check-out girl never bothered to ask me how my stay was. Probably lucky for her that she didn't. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Luxury !!!! Great room with amazing view of the airport. Comfortable, warm and clean. Bathroom had everything you could want and more. February 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy air-conditioning Not the most comfortable bed. Room sparse. Air-conditioning was noisy, and at night, when switched off, continued to produce a lot of noise through the ducting. Disappointing for such a new hotel. Staff are reception and in the restaurant were excellent. February 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very clean very comfortable had a one night stay in an executive room and have to say our stay was superb staff on front desk very welcoming the room was spotless and very large as was the bed . food in the 1935 restaurant was amazing will be staying here again February 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable bed and resonably priced, close to required location Stayed here fore 2 nights for business, hotel is ideally located, spacious, clean rooms and friendly staff. Had a lovely view of the airport from my room and the restaurant view is not too bad either. January 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I stay here most weekends due to work, A great place to stay January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Another great stay at this hotel, staff were good enough to allow us in for breakfast early as we had an early flight. January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Holiday Inn - Southend On Sea A great stay, a 3 minute walk from the airport. Beds so comfy like sleeping on a cloud. Really modern clean design and friendly, proactive staff. A recommend :) January 4, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>