Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 98 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place Nice place to stay for business. Close to many restaurants. March 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Shuttle System Reform Desperately Needed!! Otherwise, Quite Nice Please note, "staff" and "service" shouldn't be lumped together in this survey. because in this case, presumably, it's not all the staff's fault but the shuttle "service" is grossly inadequate.. Having a shuttle bus with just 4 seats combined with a hotel that is probably one of the most distant, "airport hotels' is definitely a losing combination. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- First off, my caveat is, if it hadn't been for the shuttle situation, I would have given this hotel a 3 or 4 rating. But the shuttle situation marred the entire experience in the worst way. So if you are thinking of staying here, if you don't have to take the shuttle, I actually recommend it! If you do need to rely on the abhorrent shuttle situation, STAY FAR AWAY. Therefore, I have very mixed feelings about sharing this review. The front desk staff at check-in was great. Being a Platinum member of the Priority Club program, I was given a fantastic suite. The hotel clearly has been around for a while and it shows. But it also has a bit of old school charm. There's an odd assortment of old, unused appliances of some sort in a stairwell, which is strange. But overall, the property seemed quite well-maintained for its age. So, as I checked in, I asked about the shuttle schedule. The person at the front desk said the shuttle runs every hour on the hour. I asked if it's the same when you are at the airport, explaining that I needed to go to return my rental car and wanted to take the shuttle back. She said, in that case it's on demand. So call when I'm there and she'll send the shuttle "right out" to pick me up. "Great,” I said! Famous last words! I returned the car and got dropped off at the North Terminal at DTW. I immediately called. The person asked me what terminal I was in and then said that the driver had was just returning to the hotel with a load but he should be back out in 25-30 minutes. I said that since it's so cold outside, I would go upstairs where it's warm and come down in 20 minutes in plenty of time for his return. She, in turn, very nicely promised to call me back if he returned early. Excellent plan! Exactly 20 minutes later I was back downstairs shivering outside at the bus stand waiting....and waiting, and waiting. A half hour later I called back. It was a different person (shift change at 11pm presumably) who seemed to know nothing about the original plan but said that the driver had been to the airport and returned, and talked about how when the 4 seats fill up he goes. I explained that I never even saw him and she kept referring to Delta and I kept saying I'm not at the Delta terminal. I'm at the Northern Terminal. I explained that it was extremely cold and rainy. And, even if I waited inside the door, not only is it still very cold (because there wasn't any heat inside the door and the doors were constantly open with a steady stream of folks going in and out), plus the windows were frosted and I couldn't see the buses properly when standing inside. So I asked if she could let me know when the driver will be back approximately, so I could come down and be outside waiting. She said 15 minutes and she would call me back if that changes. Well, a half hour later, still no shuttle and no call. Then, when i called back again she said she was having a hard time reaching the driver and asked if I had a cab voucher from Delta. I said, "I know you all have a lot going on, but again, for what must be the 7th time, I'm not flying with Delta. I'm not flying at all. I went to return a rental car. I'm not at the Delta Terminal. I'm at the North Terminal in the hotel shuttle waiting area." While i waited she was finally able to reach him and she said he would be there in 10 minutes maximum because he was close. Twenty-five minutes later I called back. She got him on the phone while was holding said he was waiting in the pick-up area and I wasn't there. I said that I was standing with all of the other hotel shuttles are. Then there was an exchange and she came back and said he was at "The South Terminal" and he would be right over. Maurice finally came (He was VERY nice and professional). However, all of this made me wonder if the shuttle had ever come to the North Terminal at all, or if it was just going back and forth to the McNamara Terminal while I froze and struggled to stay awake WAITING FOR TWO HOURS AND FIFTEEN MINUTES after a long day in Lansing and a white-knuckled drive in the snow and freezing rain to get back to Detroit. To bring this long story to an end, the folks on the van also had their own stories of woe re trying to contact the hotel and get the shuttle. After this ordeal, we got to the hotel at 1:20am!! If all of this wasn't horrific enough, to add insult to absolutely egregious injury, I called down to the front desk to sign up for the 6am shuttle in the morning. I was informed that every shuttle from 5am to 8am was fully booked. She asked (same person I had been speaking to all night) if I had been given a cab voucher from Delta. (grrrrrrr) When I explained, yet again, that I wasn’t with Delta she was apologetic saying that almost everyone in the hotel was a distressed traveler stranded with Delta. She then informed me that the only thing I could do is book a cab and pay for it. I had 3.5 hours of sleep! When I got to the airport I paid a whopping $36 DOLLARS for the cab ride ($30 flat fee plus tip). I spent the day on three flights to Los Angeles staggering around airports and nodding off on planes all day, thanks to the situation and the resulting extreme sleep deprivation. PLUS, I was $36 poorer for the experience. (hence the poor "sleep quality" rating above.....) Holiday Inn Southgate has the distinction of providing one of the most horrible hotel experiences in my lengthy and extensive history of travel. Extremely disappointing. February 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business trip in Detroit Service was Outstanding Here! Excellent Staff, they make you feel as if your are family. Food was extremely good both a breakfast and dinner. Great location for easy access to the freeway and most locations. Very Clean and Safe Location. February 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room very clean The buffet was good but not real warm. I do realize that it is difficult to keep buffet food warm because no matter where you go it is never hot Google February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Customer Service Around I enjoyed my stay here at the Holiday Inn Southgate. Samantha at the front desk was welcoming with a warm smile and gave spot on directions and recommendations of local venues. For an older establishment its the people employed there that makes the difference. January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Experience Our stay was Xmas eve and everyone made us feel like we were part of their family. The facility was well cared for and focus on details were very evident! Thank you staff. Keep up the winning formula. I stay at lot of motels and this is an excellent choice for others. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great over Christmas! Hello, I stayed at the Holiday Inn Southgate from Christmas eve until the 26th of December. I wasn't sure what it would be like being in a hotel over the holiday, however the staff did a great job and we felt like we at home. When I checked in a lady named Katie was very helpful and her service on the holiday should be noted as extremely exceptional! (Who really wants to work on a holiday? She did with a smile!) I would also like to recognize Cindy from Charlies. On the 26th she was very polite and courteous which was a great wrap up to a great stay! Thank you very much! Looking forward to our next stay! December 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Separate Sink/Toilet Older hotel with shabby decor and carpet. Separate toilet with shower/tub from sink/vanity made for an awkward experience. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Book a Jacuzzi room! Booked a Jacuzzi room for my girlfriend and I! We had a blast!! The room was very clean and cozy! The entire hotel was beautiful! We went to the hotel bar and watched a live band, had a few drinks! The atmosphere was lively and laid back! There was a large fridge in the room to keep plenty of drinks! I put champagne, strawberries, chilled glasses, six pack, mixers, and a pint in there, leftovers from dinner, and still had plenty of room for more! Breakfast was amazing, and we didn't have to wake up early, it's served from 7 till 1pm. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to everyone, and be booking there again! November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place all around............. This Holiday Inn is very clean, awesome heated pool, hot tub, really friendly and accommodating staff. We had breakfast that was out of this world, had a large variety to eat. Beds were great, we woke up well rested. We will definitely stay here again. November 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness good n room but! Liked the room n the quality of cleanliness was great but to small of a toilet. Also was looking forward to getting in a work out in the fitness rooms(two fitness rooms), but all machines were not working. Needs better quality of fitness machines. They were out of order the whole seven days I was there. Other than that it was ok. November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay with excellent statt Stayed here for a conference and took my husband. Staff was excellent and met my every request. Eager to make sure that our stay was perfect. Linens, bed and pillows extremely comfortable, room was clean, but could have used a bit of scrubbing on the walls in the bathroom and the carpet in the room a bit worn... this is nitpicking. Linens were superb, quiet nights, with membership, we had free hot breakfasts; at the end of the meal the waitresses offered us coffee cups to go. We also were allowed privileges at the very good YMCA next door. Just don't use the Y's track. I am a walker and hurt my feet; my husband is a runner and was in extreme pain after using it. The machines and pool are excellent. November 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor accomodations I was not happy with the fact that I had to pay an extra $69 to have a late checkout of 4pm. My flight leaving detroit did not leave until 7:30pm, so I could not leave by 2 pm. The food at the restaurant, Charlie's Chophouse, was fair. They could definitely improve their quality. October 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love remodeled rooms and new pillows Grace at front desk extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with. Sheila a very good bartender and a great food promoter for your kitchen. Thanks for the joy you bring guys who are away from home. Great job October 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dissapointed overall but a good bed to lay my head for the night Fair to average for this location. Disappointed that Rewards Club Members do not get extra treatment such as. I had no newspaper nor was I given a welcome bag upson arrival. Rates for this unit were more than I usually pay in the south. and this is a very old hotel that has been updated a couple of times. October 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by TIRED The staff was very pleasant. The breakfast was good too. However, the hallways and room were "tired." Also, more electrical outlets near the bed are needed. October 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service Left several message for management to contact me with no response. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Company Luau Our stay was AWESOME! Room was ready upon arrival and staff was very helpful. The Company event was great and everything was perfect right down to the Staff, food and room that was set up for Company Event was fablous. We will recommend this hotel to all friends and family. Thanks for a wonderful stay! September 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected The lobby of this hotel is beautiful. The breakfast was great. The bedroom horrible. The air conditioner didn't work properly, the bed was uncomfortable and the room was very outdated in appearance. Never will go to this one again. I wasn't greeted as an IHG member either. September 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by safe & comfortable I was very pleased with my stay. I felt comfortable & safe the entire time. The staff was very good to deal with. The breakfast food & staff was excellent. Thank-You August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff I stay at Holiday Inn Southgate monthly. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. They remember my preferences and always make me feel welcome. Thanks Holiday Inn Southgate :) August 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This hotel is a winner Look no more. This hotel is fabulous! My son, new bride to be, wedding party, family and friends stayed here to attend the wedding in Wyandotte, 15 minutes away. The hotel is clean, updated and the rooms are cozy. The staff was super helpful, courteous and gracious when I requested another room at the very last minute. The bar stayed open to accommodate the guests late night from the reception and the room came with a full breakfast that was fresh and tasty. The hotel supplied a free shuttle to the wedding location and back until 1 am. AND the friendly driver traveled back and forth all night to accommodate the guests. The customer service at this hotel is stellar! I give them all 5's for perfection! August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Staff My friend and I were staying there for my birthday so that we didn't have to drink and drive. The front desk dropped us off at our first destination and even offered to pick us up if it was early enough. July 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff!!! I stay here for business about once a month for the last two years. During that time they have upgraded the rooms and facilities and everything is to modern Holiday Inn standards. The design of the building is not the newest, but everything else has been updated. Also, the thing that makes this hotel great is the staff, who are always friendly and professional! The breakfast buffet is really good too! July 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unforgettble stay Leaking roofs, rooms were not vacuumed, bathtub was extremely dirty. Front desk personnel failed to communicate well when I requested things. The manager was not made aware of some grievances I had about my stay because it took close to 3 days for the manager to contact me after the spoke to the front desk. My room got flooded from a leaking ceiling. I was not informed about this prior to the stay. I was not even helped to relocate to a new room. Poor service. July 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Points My only issue with our stay is that when I made the reservations I specified that I wanted to use my points. When I checked out I learned that it was not booked using my points and I ended up paying out of pocket. July 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service - old building Helpful staff but an old building that needs repairs June 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing stay Disappointed in my stay here. The hotel room was in need of remodelling. Wallpaper was, in some places, unstuck from wall. Pulling drapes had marks on them which looked like dried blood. Bathroom was dirty and needed an update. Breakfast was good and staff courteous June 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A+ Southgate Great Staff, Clean facilities, Updated rooms. Everyone I came in contact with was very friendly. From check-in to restraunt/bar to workers in the halls one of the best staffs ever, and I have been to alot of these over the years. June 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and delicious breakfast I was in town for a wedding, and I was thoroughly impressed by the overall look and feel of the hotel. The lobby and rooms were well-furnished and clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. In the morning, their inclusive breakfast buffet was amazing, one of the best that I've had while staying at a hotel. June 7, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>