• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ST. PAUL
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide dogs and service dogs are welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Xcel Energy Center
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
St Paul RiverCentre Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Science Museum of Minnesota
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Ordway Center for the Performing Arts
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:180
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking fee is $15.07 per car, per day . No campers, trailers, or oversized vehicles permitted.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 15.07  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:195
  • Total number of suites:1
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:75
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:119
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:194
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8
  • FEMA Property Number:MN0536

Our Hotel in St. Paul Boasts an Excellent Location

Business & leisure travelers are sure to appreciate our Holiday Inn® St. Paul Downtown hotel, which places you just minutes from the area's local corporations & best attractions.

Major businesses like Traveler's Insurance, Ecolab & Infor are located just a few blocks from our downtown St. Paul hotel's facility. If you need to host a meeting while in town, be sure to take advantage of our three boardrooms & meeting
View More

Our Hotel in St. Paul Boasts an Excellent Location

Business & leisure travelers are sure to appreciate our Holiday Inn® St. Paul Downtown hotel, which places you just minutes from the area's local corporations & best attractions.

Major businesses like Traveler's Insurance, Ecolab & Infor are located just a few blocks from our downtown St. Paul hotel's facility. If you need to host a meeting while in town, be sure to take advantage of our three boardrooms & meeting room.

Some of Minnesota's best attractions are near our hotel. St. Paul is home to the Xcel Energy Center, which hosts great concerts & is the home of the Minnesota Wild hockey team & it’s across the street. Be sure to visit the Minnesota Children's Museum, Ordway Center for Performing Arts & the Minnesota History Center. The Science Museum of Minnesota promises an exciting day for the family.

While staying in downtown St. Paul, visit our hotel's one-of-a-kind restaurant, The Liffey. This authentic Irish pub transports you back to the old country while you enjoy a fabulous dinner. Our facilities also include an indoor pool, whirlpool & a Fitness Center for your convenience. Free high-speed Internet access is provided throughout the hotel. While exploring the area, take advantage of our complimentary shuttle, which runs within a three-mile radius, during the hours of 7am-11pm based on availability.

View Less
Features
Unlike other downtown St. Paul hotels, our hotel is home to The Liffey, a one-of-a-kind, authentic Irish pub. Enjoy Old World charm, a cozy Irish atmosphere and delicious cuisine while dining here.
Announcements
Our onsite parking ramp offers hourly rates, or the option of a daily parking fee of $14 + tax, which includes in/out privileges for our guests.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 520 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Stay was 10-15 thru 10-18 The hotel staff was wonderful. They helped us in every way possible. From suggesting where to eat, to helping us with wedding plans, everyone was so helpful. Mike was extremely nice. With the expense of a wedding at Harriett Island, it was really kind of you to upgrade our room to something bigger, so we could entertain more than 2 people. Room 423 was so very comfortable for our 3 night stay. It was beautiful. I hope to come visit again, when we are not the Parents of the Bride. There was just alot to do... Thanks again to all. You all do a great job at making people feel welcome. The only thing that maybe was an inconvenience, is the elevators were very slow. Sometimes it was 20 minute wait. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very pleasant experience I found my week long stay flawless, friendly and attentive. I really enjoyed my room, the quietness, the view of the Mississippi, and the various amenities. The food service was excellent for both the conference and the meals I had on my own. Staff members were very friendly and helpful. It made my visit to the Twin Cities memorable. October 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All good except the bill Excellent central location, services, and cleanliness. One room traditional style and not new, other very modern in mostly black and a bit underlighted, both rooms very comfortable. Final bill overcharged both rooms by $20 per night, check out clerk corrected it promptly after he was shown the reservation on my cellphone. I would definitely stay here again, but watch final bill closely. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by vacation excellence this was our second stay at the riverfront Crowne Plaza and it was even better than the first ,mostly due to our longer stay. couldn't ask for the staff to have treated us any better or had better dining anywhere. mostly ate at the hotel because the food was so wonderful. the staff was very accommodating for our every need. very clean and well presented. the remodeling taking place was of no consequence on our stay. did not affect of at all and we wouldn't change a thing about our trip or the accomodations October 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Customer Service I've Ever Received We chose the Crowne Plaza in downtown St. Paul to spend our wedding night. We had arranged early check in for a standard room with a king bed, but because of all the things we needed to get done during the day, sent my sister in law to check us in. We were told our room would be available at noon, but when she arrived to check us in the room was not ready. The staff was not helpful, trying to put us instead in a room with two doubles (on our wedding night?!?). When my sister in law insisted that we get the room we were supposed to have, explaining we wouldn't be in the room until after midnight, but just needed the keys and parking, they put us in a suite without informing her of the price increase. We saw the bill the next morning, and went to ask why we weren't charged the rate for our room block, which we had agreed upon while making the reservation. The woman at the front desk gave us a ton of excuses, including "your sister was very rude, we were just trying to get her to go". I don't know how Crowne Plaza teaches customer service, but to blame the customer instead of finding a solution to their problem is not customer service in any way, shape, or form. We'll be sure to tell friends and family not to stay with them in the future. October 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Everything but food is good. You're on the river, not the coast I recently stayed at this location for a conference. I stayed in a recently renovated room with great style and lots of outlets. The staff was very friendly and accommodating when we asked for weird things (we were a conference sponsor and needed some random stuff for setup and teardown of displays) and the event space was also very nice. They need to put a password on their wifi, makes me feel uncomfortable doing work on an insecure connection. My one complaint was the food. They seemed to feature a lot of seafood and it was all gross. It's like they think because they are on the water they need to serve seafood or something. The crab cakes, sushi, salmon dinner, all of it, gross. I ordered a burger to my room at one point and it was a 6 out of 10, but not as bad as the seafood that was served both as a part of the conference and also just as a large part of their regular menu. I have stayed at other Crowne Plazas where the food was quite good, which is why I thought I should point out how bad it was at this place. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view and location The hotel has a great view of the river and is located near several shops and restaurants in downtown St. Paul. I would highly recommend this location for people on business as well as for leisure. October 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good and Bad Positives - the view from the room was great, it overlooked the river and was especially beautiful to see early morning and at night - location of hotel was good - plenty of places to see/eat/shop - the staff was very friendly and helpful Negatives - the shower did not drain the water very well - the toilet handle leaked water - night stand table was broken - which could have been easily fixed - remote was taped together. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, great location I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I've loved the Asian Crowne Plazas, but found the US sites to be a bit uneven in quality. But this hotel was very nice. Lovely lobby, very small but clean, modern comfortable room with a large and very comfortable bed. I had a great view of the river and watched the sun rise in the morning. The bathroom was large and very clean and modern with a nice shower and great water pressure. I was greeted in the late evening by a friendly, enthusiastic concierge, altho the front desk did not have my IHG status, despite having made my reservation thru the site. Lots of breakfast options in the restaurant with a really friendly and accommodating staff. If you have business at the federal courthouse, this location is great, just a few blocks away. I would definitely use this hotel again. I didn't have a lot of time to explore the amenities, but was happy that I was able to get in and out quickly, have a great sleep and good meal and get to my destination quickly. October 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to par Thursday night I was kept up by a party happening 3 stories up from my room. I called and the front desk staff told me that they would be done at midnight and I needed to wait. I had a conference to attend there at the hotel the next day at 7am. I called yet again and asked if anyone else complained and he said yes all the way down to the 16th floor. So I asked why are they still going he stated yet again that they had reservations until 12am. I also spoke to the front desk in person the next day and he stated he was sorry but nothing could be done. The room I stayed in was barely enough to walk in and out of the bathroom and I had to close the bathroom door to get to the closet in the hallway. When I checked in Thursday I had asked if there was a fitness center and he stated yes. I went to check it out after I was checked in and my key did not work, so I went back to the front desk and he had to make me a 3rd key to get into the fitness center. Why did he not do that when I checked in? October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff, Lovely Clean Hotel Small but very clean room with large clean, modern bathroom. Excellent breakfast selection with a friendly restaurant staff. Very helpful concierge. I had a beautiful view of the river and was able to watch the sun come up in the morning. Great downtown location, particularly if you have business at the federal court. October 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Too Much Going On, Check In Policy Was Strange There was a loud bash one night while we were there. You could hear the music several levels down. Also, renovations done to only half the rooms on our floor. Booked a room for 3 nights, had to check out and back in each morning to make sure we could stay in the same room. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful view and service. Beautiful river view from room. Staff helped us navigate eating establishments within walking distance. We enjoyed our visit to St. Paul to attend a wedding. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great location at a hotel in positive transition The St. Paul - Riverfront hotel is located across the street from the Mississippi River, what an excellent location in the great city of St Paul, particularly if you have a river view, which I did have during my recent visit. The hotel is under renovation with the remodeled rooms tastefully upgraded, very comfortable, with excellent amenities. The hotel service was outstanding and appreciate the support of the front desk, the concierge, housekeeping and everyone I encountered at the hotel. Great people, great service and look forward to my next visit. October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Eating Facilities I was at the Minnesota AFL-CIO Convention. The Convention commenced at 3:00 PM on a Sunday, September 21, 2014. The main restaurant on the lobby floor was closed in the evening and there were over 1000 people in attendance with not much open in downtown St Paul. I can understand the retaurant not being open when there is no convention or conference in the hotel but you would think with a crowd that large the restaurant woukld be open. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Place to Stay We enjoyed our stay tremendously from the friendly staff to the beautiful room Everything was clean and up to date. We had a tremendous view from our room which was decorated with a nice falir. The hotel is close to restaurants and other attractions in St. Paul. A great stay at a great hotel! October 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Kat The renovated rooms were very nice. The problem we encountered were the housekeeping answering our requests for cleaning the room and brining towels and washcloths. One day they left three washcloths and the next day only one!! Called the front desk several times to rectify this problem as there was no housekeeping number to contact. It seemed that the hotel was understaffed. The food in the hotel and for our event there was only average at the best. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel in St. Paul Area The Crowne Plaza is a great hotel if you find yourself in the St. Paul area. The location is quiet and there's not too much around (except a couple decent bars), but the hotel itself is great. Great atmosphere and amenities. Plus a great guest room. Highly recommended. October 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beware toilets partially hidden under the sink This is a fine hotel, yet I'll never stay there again because of the toilet under the sink configuration in Room 904. The hotel has fine conference facilities, so I might attend a conference there by stay somewhere else. October 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza Riverfront in Saint Paul Overall great stay - have stayed there in the past, and would do so again. Staff is very friendly. September 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The corner room was excellent I would stay here again; great location, the staff was attentive to our needs and the room was excellent. We were able to relax and unwind, just what we were looking for. September 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and view We arrived much earlier than check in time. The Front Desk easily accommodated our luggage until we could check in. Basically they kept stringing us along; come back in two hours (10AM), then come back in an hour (11AM), then another hour (12 noon), then another hour (1PM), and another hour (2PM). We finally checked in after 2 PM. Normal check in time is 3PM. We would have appreciated being told from the beginning that we would not have been checked in until 3PM. We were led to believe they would try and expedite an earlier check in. As a result, we felt tethered to the hotel and unable to do any real sightseeing. September 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location, nice staff Experiences varied wildly within our group, but I found this hotel to be clean, friendly, and very conveniently located. September 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible bed, just ok service I talked with someone 3 different times about being able to check in early, as I was part of a wedding party and wanted to check in before we needed to go to the church. I kept getting told different things, and was directed to different people. They did finally let me check in early, around 9:30, which I guess was one of the only nice things about the place. The service was nothing spectacular, one of the bellmen was very friendly and one valet guy as well. There were only 3 elevators for 22 floors, so majority of the time it took forever to get an elevator. The beds were awful, I think they were supposed to be sleep number beds - if so mine must've been broken, because it was hard no matter what setting I had it on. It was also higher in the middle, so I felt like I was going to roll out of bed all night. When I think of a downtown Crowne Plaza, I picture a nice hotel with great service and comfortable rooms - I was highly disappointed. It was definitely not worth the price I paid for room and parking, and I don't think I'll be staying there again. September 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A pretty good hotel We found the hotel to be very convenient to all our excursions around St. Paul, from the river tours to the Fitzgerald Theater, and overall the staff were as welcoming and helpful as anyone could wish. However, there were times when the service was below par, as in the restaurant during a not-too-busy breakfast time, when we had to wait quite a while for a server to offer us juice and fresh coffee. Also, the housekeepers forgot our bath towels one day (leaving us with none) and seemed slow to provide replacement toiletries. While the general condition of the hotel seemed fine, the carpet in our room was rippled and soiled, and the carpet was much worse in the elevators. Still, our room's climate control worked well, it was quiet, and the rate was good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is not inordinately picky, as a good value. September 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by What happened to the pool? The hotel was nice and my stay very good. Staff was excellent, and room comfortable, except for way too soft pillows. The clock in the room was WAY too bright, and not the right time. But there was a great view. It seems they took out the pool earlier in the year, yet the guest info book in room still said their was one. The word pool was partially scratched out in the elevators, but whether or not there was one was unclear. Removal of the pool was a disappointment. An elevator broke down but was fixed by next day. Overall, it was a nice hotel. September 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms need update and upkeep I checked into a room and there were holes in the carpet, stains on the carpet, the wall paper was peeling and the furniture was chipped. There was also a bit of a smell. Not good. I was switched to another room which was less damaged, but not really any nicer. Housekeeping never came the first day - when I inquired at 6:30pm, they offered to send someone over - One of conference rooms had a leak during the convention and water poured into the room. the other parts of the hotel where good. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great front desk service/ and maid service I stayed here for a wedding the evening of 9/12/14. From the moment we tried to get early check in, to the time we checked out the front desk team was the best I have been to, very accommodating, our original room was not ready, so they let us look at 3 different rooms to see if it fit our needs (we were bridesmaids looking to get ready in a spacious room) we finally settled in on one room. The only negative thing I have to say about the room was our heat was stuck on in the bridal suite, and after we realized it was not cooling down they had a maintenance team come up and fix it ASAP. After the wedding I had 2 others incapable of driving home that night and I asked if I could fit two cots in my room and they had them in the room with in a matter of 5 minutes and I got my friends safely to sleep. The night we spent there was amazing and I recommend this to anyone planning a wedding event! September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and great features The Crowne Plaza St. Paul Riverfront provided a good night's sleep in very comfortable beds. The rooms have great features like built in USB chargers and outlets into the headboards and excellant lighting in the bathroom. The only drawback I found was that iHome alarm clock was off by 20 minutes and the only way to get the time set correctly was to sync with an iPhone 5 or newer device. September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Parking Not too desireable for those that are handicapped. Limited parking and seems to be used by those that are not handicapped or do not display their permits and or license plates for that purpose. September 22, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Minnesota State Capital Hotel Lobby- connecting you right to our onsite restaurant and pub Xcel Energy Center Ordway Center for the Performing Arts Minnesota History Center Science Museum of Minnesota Hotel Exterior Welcome to the Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown! Minnesota Childrens Museum
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading