• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-09-2014)
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: GENT
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+02:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:1
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Spanish
  5. French
  6. Italian
  7. Dutch
  8. Portuguese
  9. Turkish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Small pets are sincerely welcome in the special guestroom 15 euro per night except in the bar, restaurant and fitness area. Small pets can be easily walked around outside the hotel.
Pet fee amount  15.00  EUR  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
IKEA Gent mega living store - just next door!
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Municipal Museum for Contemporary Arts - SMAK
Distance From Hotel:5.0KM
Attraction:
Historic Centre of Gent
Distance From Hotel:5.0KM
Attraction:
The trendy Patershol (medieval restaurant quarter)
Distance From Hotel:5.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:220
  • Car Parking Available
  • Daily car parking charge of €10 for hotel residents. Other parking charges apply for non-resident guests. Water and electricity can be made available for coaches upon request.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  EUR)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members: 7.50 7.5  EUR
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:169
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:92
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:50
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:162
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:1
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Book the convenient Holiday Inn Gent Expo hotel for its meeting rooms and easy access to Gent city centre.

Located next to the E40(Brussels-Ostend) and E17(Amsterdam-Paris) motorways, the modern Holiday Inn Gent Expo is 15 minutes by car from Gent city centre. We have ample parking and are 64km from international flights at Brussels Airport. Receive a friendly welcome in our glassed atrium, where you can mingle with colleagues over chilled Belgian beers in the
View More

Book the convenient Holiday Inn Gent Expo hotel for its meeting rooms and easy access to Gent city centre.

Located next to the E40(Brussels-Ostend) and E17(Amsterdam-Paris) motorways, the modern Holiday Inn Gent Expo is 15 minutes by car from Gent city centre. We have ample parking and are 64km from international flights at Brussels Airport. Receive a friendly welcome in our glassed atrium, where you can mingle with colleagues over chilled Belgian beers in the bar.

Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout Holiday Inn Gent Expo's public areas. Businesses like Alpro and Bayer are a short drive away, and you can work with colleagues in our 9 smart meeting rooms. Your events at The Loop business park and Flanders Expo are adjacent to the hotel.

Hop on the tram, 100 metres from Holiday Inn Gent Expo, for a 20-minute ride into historic Gent with its wealth of museums, medieval streets and 12th-century architecture. You can book a boat trip on the canal and sample locally brewed beer, or take a 30-minute drive to visit the cities of Brussels and Bruges.

Help yourself to a hot buffet breakfast in the Atrium restaurant, where Belgian and international dishes are served for lunch and dinner. You can order snacks in the Atrium bar, or relax with Room Service meals. Under-12s stay and eat free when sharing a room with their parents.

View Less
Features
The cycle-friendly Holiday Inn Gent Expo has bicycle storage space and maintenance kits. Bring your bike or hire one from us (during the season) and explore the local canalways and pretty medieval streets of Gent city centre.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 66 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful staff. Great for families. We stayed with our 1 and 3 year olds and found staff friendly and helpful. Sofa bed was perfect for our 3 year old. Room was a great size. Buffet breakfast was really good. April 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and convienient This is our second stay and it was just as good the free will go is great. Buffett evening meal good value and excellent food and choice, the fish was excellent. We will be booking again soon. Thank you. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location and very welcoming We have been using this hotel as a stop over for a few years and each time it is very good. Easy to find directly off motorway and just about tfe right distance from Calais to give a good head start into the next day. Rooms are spacious, the bar is nice to relax in with children welcome and breakfast is as you would expect. As IHG Reward members we got faster internet access which was good, but I did miss the complimentary beer this time around. April 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Staff but Uncomfortable Bed Service was great and the facilities were nice except for one of the worst beds I have ever tried to sleep on. Another annoyance was when a window washing man showed up outside my window unannounced to clean the window .I was glad I was dressed. It would have been nice if the guests were notified to give them a chance to close their curtains before he showed up. Twenty minutes later there is a knock at my door even though I put the do not disturb placard on the door. It was the window washing man asking to come in my room to clean the window inside my room. He pleaded to come in because he said he only comes twice a year to clean all the windows. Needless to say I told him he could come back after I checked out. There has got to be a better protocol to follow for having the windows washed. March 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Greatroom, wonderful bed The room was of a good size, clean and well presented. The only down side is the location of the soft drink dispensing machine right outside the room door (avoid room x19 on each floor!) which gave some noise during the night and when people used the machine (drink cans make a lot of noise at 03h00 when dropping into the depensing tray!). Otherwise great stay, would recommend greatly. March 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by DE PASO EN GENT SE CUMPLIERON MIS EXPECTATIVAS DE LO QUE CABE ESPERAR DE UN HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS, AUSTERO PERO CON TODO LO NECESARIO, LIMPIO, Y PRECIO ACORDE A LA HABITACIÓN Y SERVICIOS. February 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good value, good location booked two rooms for a visit to Gent. had a great time visiting the Belfort and the Sint baafs cathedral. the hotel has a nice pub, good location as well, easy to reacht by bus 63 from gent sint pieters will definitely stay here again in the future, they did not acknowledge my gold status at the ceck in though kind service overall, recommendable January 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Perfectly acceptable Good hotel. Location average as still 4km from the centre of Ghent. Toaster for some reason was removed at 9.15am when the french bread ran out...not sure why as plenty of other bread available! Important that front staff personal appearance has more attention paid to. Parking expensive when it's far away from the centre. Otherwise good value for money January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay in Gent Having stayed here in January, I can highly recommend this hotel. We arrived late in the evening, but nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was good the next morning, before we left for Germany. January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amenities Staff we're very helpful. Room was very comfortable, breakfast was excellent. January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel with friendly staff I had a wonderful 6 day stay and this hotel and I have no complaints whatsoever.Very close to public transport,quiet and very friendly and helpful staff. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good experience Good breakfast, good beds, far from middtown but very good price/quality relationship. Totally recommedable, specially for families with kids. November 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Recent Experience!!! A lovely place to be and relax, nice room for family with children but the breakfast needs a bit of variety. The longer you stay, the more the breakfast becomes boring. However, a first-time visitor would love the hotel. The staff are friendly with smile and without smile on their faces. Guess they have different mood! November 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Quite a walk from the old city centre if you are sightseeing. Spacious rooms, good breakfast. October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by quiet, clean room Perfectly clean room. Very large choice for breakfast. Nice staff. Car park a bit expansive : actually one can not reach the hotel without a car and there is no free parking nearby. October 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff directions to and from downtown is great Great breakfast, room, and beds. Highly recommended, not close to downtown but easy bus and tram ride. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fab return visit Stayed here as a 2+2 family on a European trip between Brussels & Lille. Reception staff were amazing & found us a room despite our early arrival. Room was a decent size even with the sofa bed in use. When we booked for dinner we were given a 10% discount voucher - which was cool. The restaurant is just brilliant with a top choice of food in a buffet layout & top service. A taxi into Lille was around €15.00, reception were happy to book this for us, & we thought this was far easier than driving in or using the buses. The only issues we had were: * The lack of air-con; it was really hot at night which made sleep uncomfortable & with the window open the road noise was pretty loud. * The €10.00 per day parking charge seemed a bit of a cheek; but the car park seemed pretty secure. Would definitely return if it was a bit cooler. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Very good hotel. Reception staff were amazing and helped us with all our questions. Room was very big and clean. We had dinner and the restaurant and we had a great meal. Also the staff in bar and restaurant were very helpfull. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An excellent choice!! From Reservation to check out, everything went great. Very good service, great staff!! September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and modern facilities We stayed for just 1 night, but were very impressed with the staff (the badges they wore with flags for langauges they spoke helped) they were very knowledgeable about the area...where to catch bus into town etc and other information for car parks etc. The buffet breakfast was well presented with a wide choice of cold items, (only let down by not having cooked option). Car parking on site was good, although having to pay for 24hrs parking at an out of town hotel isn't good! If you are planning to go into Gent for evening you need to take car as last bus back out to hotel is 21.15....but it's a relatively easy 15 min drive to centre and parking in city is around 1,50euro per hour. The hotel is modern, clean and smart and good value (provided you book in advance at a discounted rate!) Would recommend to anyone visiting Gent...if you don't want to stay in the centre of the city. There was a restaurant at the hotel, which we didn't use, but very little else in the area. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Rooms were comfortable and clean with excellent maid service. The hotel offered an very good mix of breakfast items, which were available between reasonable hours, (6.30 - 10.00am) Hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel also offered a very nice Restaurant and Bar. This hotel is also ideally situated for ease of access to the motorway network. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good price I liked the hotel very much, the rooms were clean and big and I liked the bathroom. The only thing that wasn't very good, was that the sink was too small and there was nog room for personal belongings. even the towels were in the toilet, not a nice place to put them. Breakfast was fine, just that there were many people and we had to wait for a table. And what really bothered me was the fact that we had to pay 10 euro's a day for a parking place, ridiculous. For the rest very good, also the only 10 min drive to Gent centre. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Consistent standard You always know that you are going to get a clean, comfortable room with Holiday Inn Express. The standard and format of the rooms are totally consistent. On this visit, it was a pity that there was no extractor fan in the bathroom and that the shower soap was not replaced. But otherwise, everything was really good. August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely and Friendly Staff ... I was here with the family for 5 days and it was fun. I met new friends at the hotel.The 10 Euro charge for parking is what I do not like...why charge that? That's all I have to say. August 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mostly good A clean and relatively comfortable room. Unfortunately for us it was a hot couple of nights and the air conditioning just wasn't sufficient to keep us cool and the very small opening in such a large window was never going to allow any air into the room. The reception staff were helpful, polite and friendly as was the young man at the bar. The waiting staff on the evening were keen to help and ensure we enjoyed our meal. Breakfast was another matter!! Ignoring the pushing and barging from the other guests from other parts of europe who took so much food and mostly wasted it or, like the other half, made themselves snacks for the day and basically emptied the shelves of food so we had to keep waiting for stuff, there was a reasonable selection of items to choose from. The serving staff were rude! They too barged there way around. One lady in particular, short cropped blond hair and the largest rear end, was particularly rude! We even had to deal with her on our second evening in the restaurant and decided to eat elsewhere! Only one thing really irked us and that was the car park fee. Should have been free for guests but instead cost us 20euros for the two nights. Add that to the Belgium "city tax" at 2euro50 per adult per night and the hidden charges soon mount up. All in all the Hotel is what it is and was sufficient for our stop over. Somewhere to lay our heads. Belgium is another matter and I for one would not rush back, despite the people being really pleasant. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent, but no air-con Stayed here as a 2+2 family on a European trip between Brussels & Lille. Reception staff were amazing & found us a room despite our early arrival. Room was a decent size even with the sofa bed in use. When we booked for dinner we were given a 10% discount voucher - which was cool. The restaurant is just brilliant with a top choice of food in a buffet layout & top service. A taxi into Lille was around €15.00, reception were happy to book this for us, & we thought this was far easier than driving in or using the buses. The only issues we had were: * The lack of air-con; it was really hot at night which made sleep uncomfortable & with the window open the road noise was pretty loud. * The €10.00 per day parking charge seemed a bit of a cheek; but the car park seemed pretty secure. Would definitely return if it was a bit cooler. August 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK property , pity about the staff with one exception. The experience of a Platimum Club Member who stays in IHG hotels 100 nights per year. Day 1 Great reception from the gentlemen on desk and very helpful. That man needs rewarding. Evening meal in restaurant was not great choice either a meat or fish dish. Air conditionning was actually pushing warm air into room so no sleep as a result. A request for a fan was rejected by reception in favour of us playing around with the control near the window as we had no other choice. Day 2 Breakfast was a joke. The queue was ridiculous, no tables, coffee machine broke down, staff very unhelpful and off hand. There was a lot of pushing as the serving area was to small for the volume of traffic. We retired to our room to make some tea. Asked at reception for some milk to make tea and was advised coffee creamer was available, milk would have to be purchased from the bar. This was delivered in a non caring abrupt and almost offensive manner - the impression I got was the hotel would operate much better if it was not for the intrusion of paying clients -you will note I have never used the word guest. After protest our helpfull man on reception offered us some milk from the fidge, much to the disgust of his lady colleague. Restaurant in the evening was terrible. The pompous lady "manager" was surly, rude and abrupt . I was told to sit here not offered a choice of table, when this was questioned the rude treatment rose to a new level. I stated clearly that I was not prepared to put up with her attitude which was deeply upsetting my wife. Throughout the meal she continued to discuss this which meant that, all we wanted to do was to get out of the place. In the end she apologised and charged us 50%. However, from my side of this I had paid for an awful experience. I was told on two occasions that the restaurant was either not managed or controlled by the hotel. What that means I do not know. The air conditioning was not fixed resulting in another restless night. Day 3 Breakfast was better as we ate at 7am the queue was shorter - choice was not good . Our Evening meal was wonderful as we ate in the neighbouring hotel . The thirty Euro charge for parking is proposterous - (I did not pay this thankfully- as the machine was broken) . Would I go go back there - if I had the need to be abused it would be my first port of call. Did I waste my points - yes I did. Recognition Of Rewards Club ended with a envelope at check- in . This does not reflect IHG in good light August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, great service This is one hotel I will certainly use next time. The breakfast was really good and the room was very relaxing. August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by despite reservations quiet convenient location enjoyed staying in Gent it is a very beautiful place. it was a pleasure to leave the car at the hotel & use the very efficient public transport system. August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Accessible Room We were very comfortable at this hotel for three nights as we explored the surrounding areas during a road trip across northwest Europe. We used the hotel as a base to explore Calais, France, Brugge, Brussels, and Gent. While you have to drive a bit to each of these places, it is better than checking in and out. The free parking near the door for cars with handicapped placards is very thoughtful. The convenience and features of the handicapped accessible room was a plus for us. The restaurant food was some of the best we had on our trip, especially the dessert buffet. This hotel is apparently well-managed because we have nothing but praises for the place. If ever in this part of the world again, we would stay there. August 10, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Hotel exterior
Hotel exterior
Select to close.
Hotel exterior Reception Exterior Feature Exterior Feature Atrium Entrance Scenery / Landscape with the hotel and Flanders Expo Flanders Expo is right next to Holiday Inn Gent Expo! A real Berlin wall piece can be discovered right next to the hotel Explore medieval Gent! Antwerp Zoo (44 min. by car) Museum Huis van Alijn in Gent Blaarmeersen Park (4 min. by car)) Largest IKEA of Belgium is just opposite the hotel! Discover Gent by bike - Rent one at the hotel! Design museum in Gent Graslei in Gent Royal Latem Golf Club (6km away) MIAT Museum Gent Antwerpen (40 min. by car) Bellewaerde (49 min. by car) Brussels Atomium & Mini-Europe (30 min. by car) 'T Kuipke Stadium Gent Bloso Sports Centre in Gent Brussels Expo and Heysel (30 min. by car) Famous S.M.A.K. Museum Gent Plopsaland De Panne (50 min. by car) Famous S.M.A.K. Museum Gent Bruges or Brugge (35 min. by car) Dislillery Filliers in Deinze (15 min. by car) Enjoy a canal cruise in Gent! Museum Huis van Alijn in Gent Plopsaland De Panne (50 min. by car) Blaarmeersen Sports Park (only 4 min. by car) Blaarmeersen Park (only 4 min. by car) The trainstop to the city centre is just next to this hotel Explore the beauty of Gent! Gent by night Amusement Park Bellewaerde Ieper Enjoy a carriage tour in Gent A visit to the French city of Lille (50 min. by car) also possible Amusement Park Bellewaerde Ieper Castle 'Gravensteen' Gent ST. Bavo's Cathedral Gent Ice skating Rink Kristallijn Gent Famous S.M.A.K. Museum Gent A famous event in Gent 'Gentse Feesten'! Graslei in gent Castle of the Counts Gent Bloso Sports Centre in Gent Visit the beach of Ostend by car (35 min. by car) Graslei in Gent during summer time MSK Museum Gent Amazing Gent by Night Blaarmeersen Park (4 min. by car) Kortrijk XPO (25 min. by car) Hotel exterior Lobby with free internet access Hotel entrance Hotel lobby with free internet access MUSEUM DR GUISLAIN GENT
Select to close.
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-09-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Availability
Loading