• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SYDNEY
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.5KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+10:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • JCB
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. French
  3. Hindi
  4. Indonesian
  5. Punjabi
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Art Gallery of NSW
Distance From Hotel:1.2KM
Attraction:
AMP Tower/Centrepoint - Sydney's tallest building
Distance From Hotel:2.0KM
Attraction:
Sydney Opera House - Tour & Performances
Distance From Hotel:2.5KM
Attraction:
Captain Cook Cruises
Distance From Hotel:2.5KM

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel car park has approximately 120 car spaces available. It is an undercover security car park, with access by ticketing machine. The car park has direct lift access to the foyer.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 27.50  AUD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:288
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:218
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:62
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:288
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Surrounded by popular street cafes and bars, Holiday Inn Potts Point is where you want to be when you next visit Sydney.

One stop on the adjacent underground train takes you right into the city centre. You can bypass city traffic and arrive in Darling Harbour's entertainment precinct in just 5 minutes via the cross city tunnel, or gain fast, easy access to the Harbour Bridge and tunnel, taking you north. Enjoy a 15 minute drive from the hotel to famous Bondi Beach. Soak up the sights of
View More

Surrounded by popular street cafes and bars, Holiday Inn Potts Point is where you want to be when you next visit Sydney.

One stop on the adjacent underground train takes you right into the city centre. You can bypass city traffic and arrive in Darling Harbour's entertainment precinct in just 5 minutes via the cross city tunnel, or gain fast, easy access to the Harbour Bridge and tunnel, taking you north. Enjoy a 15 minute drive from the hotel to famous Bondi Beach. Soak up the sights of Sydney from one of our Harbour View rooms.

Host your function in one of our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms and make use of the 24-hour Business Centre to prepare your presentation. Stay in touch with high-speed Internet in your comfortable guest room. The hotel is a 25 minute taxi or train ride from Sydney Airport, and there's secure parking if you're arriving by car.

Sample lively local nightlife or head down to the harbour and take a stroll around the iconic Sydney Opera House and Royal Botanic Gardens. If you need inspiration, ask our helpful staff to recommend their favourite local attractions. Our Kids Stay and Eat Free program makes Holiday Inn Potts Point Sydney a good value choice for family breaks.

Enjoy a workout away from home in our in-house gym, which offers a variety of cardio and weights equipment. Mingle with friends in Sirocco Bar and indulge in modern Mediterranean cuisine in the restaurant.

View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Potts Point boasts stunning harbour views and features contemporary rooms in a friendly and casual atmosphere. What makes us unique is our location - right in the hub of Sydney’s cafe and dining precinct and only five minutes from the heart of the city, this area has it all. Holiday Inn Potts Point offers you everything you are looking for in Sydney, only footsteps away.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 596 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location. Great views from the pool. We live in Sydney but decided to use our priority club points and have a "Staycation". The hotel is in such a great spot, not just for tourists, but for locals too. Plenty of interesting things to do within walking distance, including some of the oldest and best pubs in Australia (Lord Nelson & Hero of Waterloo for starters). I recommend a walk around the Opera house, botanical gardens to Lady Macquaire's Chair and back. Beautiful. The rooms are the usual standard for a holiday in and the beds comfortable etc. The rooftop pool is small and there arent many sun beds, but the view from up there is great, although once a cruise ship comes in, you cant see the opera house. Highly recommend. February 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in fantastic location We chose this hotel as it is located in the Rocks by Sydney Harbour. We upgraded to a room overlooking Sydney opera house and Sydney Harbour bridge and the extra cost was worth it - what a wonderful view! We arrived early morning from the UK and although check-in time was 2pm we were pleasantly surprised that our room was available (we'd put in a special request). All the staff were helpful and friendly, there was plenty of choice for breakfast and everything was very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel. February 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We stayed at three Holiday Inn hotels during our stay in Australia. The first was the Darling Harbor hotel. We wanted to get a different perspective of the city from different areas. Darling Harbor upgraded my room being a platinum priority club member and also gave us free wi-fi, which was HUGE! Old Sydney upgraded my room as well, but did not offer the free wi-fi...even shared that the other hotel had. Saw other reviews about road noise from the streets, but we really didnt have a problem with this and we were only on the third floor facing the main road. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly, even helping me get some flowers ordered for Valentines Day. Only had one employee who was a little less than friendly and helpful, but he was the exception. Breakfast was way too expensive, so we ate at the Bakehouse down the street for much less. The location is fantastic, right by Circular Quay with easy access to public transportation. Nice rooftop pool and hot tub, but didnt get to use them. February 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location some small irritations A hotel in a wonderful location. Pity a few of the staff not well versed in customer relations and responded poorly to requests. Website misleading with booking. Requesting "senior discount" in our case meant that you ended up paying more for room and breakfast than the "best available price" which included breakfast. February 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay - friendly front desk staff & gorgeous pool view Treated myself & family to a nite's stay at the Old Sydney on Valentine's Day during our 4nite holiday in SYDNEY. The front desk staff who attended to us that morning ( Asian gentleman and two lovely ladies - Catherine was one of them# was warm and friendly. Offering to store our bags till room was ready. Just as we were walking off for our day tour, she informed us that a room had just became available and she could give us the room key. Agree with other reviewers that the room has a weird smell , I suspect from rooms not being aired as all windows are nailed shut. Bring your own air freshener if you are sensative to weird smells. Ventilation inadequate and in the morning's you can smell the toast from the breakfast buffet on 2nd floor. I had room 402 which overlooked the ROCKS buildings. So views was a non event and you can hear the traffic below. The rooftop pool view is spectacular #what made me book in the 1st place# . Day and evening views are very different so make it a point to go us early evening 6-ish for photos. Pool is very very small # 1 eighth of an olympic size pool) Convenient stores at hotel and nearby charge very high prices, so buy other parts of town or bring your own! $5 for cup noodles! ScREAM! Otherwise lovely property to stay at. Will definitely come back ! February 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor value for the money In general, Sydney is extremely costly to visit. Room realistically had little to offer, other than location. We are spoiled in the US, with a similar hotel (HIExpress) on the beach in Redondo Beach, CA costing much less in points or $$ and free parking/breakfast included. Parking at $39/night and Internet at $21, which I was asked to pay but didn't use, is way too high. Perhaps this is the going price you must pay in Sydney and not a negative to be held against the hotel, but it was disappointing Also, the priority platinum recognition was limited to an upgrade to a king sized bed. Not a lot. February 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location An amazing place to stay in The Rocks so easy for the ferries. Plenty of bars and eating places around. Rooms typical Holiday Inn but what more do you need! Choice of pillows appreciated and bed very good. February 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location small room but great location. Close to most of main place. My family love this place. Nice view in the top. Friendly staff. February 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for business or pleasure The holiday inn the rocks provides a relaxed environment just away from the CBD hustle n bustle yet is still on the doorstep of everything good ion Sydney. Staff were great and parking affordable - bedroom comfortable even if bathroom a little tired. Food at the lobby bar was great and service professional. It is still frustrating that you pay almost $300 for a room yet the only free wifi is 15 mins and you don't even get a free bottle of drinking water in the room. It just makes you appreciate what you get in Asia for the half the price. February 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed experiences Positive: Very friendly staff, good attitude Negative: 1.Poor visibility through windows (dirty) 2. Breakfast selection limited 3. Poor noise insulation of door / walls 4. "Used look" of the room, flooring carpet, door painting 5. The guest floor aisle is used as storage room for utensils (e.g at room 929) February 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location! Cannot beat the location. Lots of eateries and pubs close by. Loved the little Italian restaurant across the way.Rooms not overly huge but more than comfortable.Bed and pillows excellent.Only little disappointment was no acrylic ware was available from the bar (as advertised poolside-no glass policy) and had to drink our wine from takeaway cups. February 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, good stay The hotel was right near the harbour bridge with views of the opera house. The room was great, all we needed and the location was easy for transport and food. The staff were helpful. We were only there 2 days. We sould have liked to stay longer. Thank you for a great time. February 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best for BridgeClimbers! I chose this hotel because it is very close to the BridgeClimb starting point. In summer, the dawn climb for magnificent sunrise views requires a 4am start. This was a birthday present for my 80-year old mother (same age as the bridge), and we enjoyed a twin room. The proximity of the hotel, and the wakeup call, allowed us to get maximum sleep before our wonderful climb, and we could enjoy a shower and breakfast before we had to checkout. Clean, quiet, suitable temperature, choice of pillows - these all helped ensure a restful night. Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. February 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Pleased The hotel is right in the Rocks area and is in an old building updated with great view out the front. (usually) The international port is across from the hotel and when the cruise ships come in you lose your view of the Opera House and Circular Quay. Service at the hotel was great, front desk folks are very helpful There is a nice bar in the lobby for late night drinks if you chose or early morning coffee. Down the street is a nice little sandwich shop for breakfast and lunch as well. We did take away breakfast sandwiches and coffee most mornings for $16 for both of us. Great rooftop deck as well with pool and hot tub. Would recommend this hotel for any stay and if we are in Sydney again would stay here. February 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great rooftop pool overlooking the Opera House and Harbor Bridge! This was a great hotel for our short stopover in Sydney on our way to New Zealand. Took a train right to Circular Quay from the airport -20min- and walked about 8 min to the hotel. Fantastic location ,right in the middle of old Sydney with a great view of the harbor and Opera House from the rooftop pool! Great little restaurants around the hotel and on the water. The hotel booked us a cocktail cruise -5 min walk to the wharf- and we sailed around the harbor in an hour and a half...and it was fantastic! Would stay again. Only negative was no free wifi in the room and only 30 min /24 hours in the lobby- which should have come with the room for as much as we paid for it! Thought it could have been a little lower in price, but we still loved it there! February 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by allround great hotel our room was ready for us early on a public holiday - awesome !!!. the staff were absolutely brilliant *reception staff were very efficient and cheerful *breakfast staff were fabulous and friendly * housekeeping did an amazing job, the room was very clean and well maintained. will definately stay again. thankyou all. February 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel We stayed at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney after our wonderful cruise. You can walk from Circular Quay Cruise terminal to the hotel. It's situated in the Rocks, the oldest part of Sydney and a fabulous location. The room we had was very spacious and had all you required. We highly recommend this hotel, especially for people who are going for a cruise. February 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great location This hotel is in the perfect spot to enjoy Sydney harbor and the area known as the "rocks". January 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, friendly staff, terrific breakfast One night stopover from Perth on way to Central Coast for family wedding. Caught up with old friend who also stayed the night. Hotel fantastic location, close to pubs, restaurants, Circular Quay, everything in walking distance and taxis readily available out front next morning. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room fairly basic but had everything. Was entitled to room upgrade due to Platinum Priority, but as we wanted twin beds, unfortunately there were no better rooms....shame, maybe complimentary breakfast could have been offered instead, but no big deal. Little bar in foyer was great place for a nightcap. Breakfast next morning was sensational. Coming to Sydney again in March so will stay here again. January 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great views Comfy bed great views frm roof top enjoyed very much thank you January 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and very good location. Arrived in nearby Circular Quay Harbor by cruise liner, and we were able to walk to this hotel without the complication of waiting in taxi lines when our cruise ended.. Very good location in trendy Rocks area with great shops and resturants. Also could walk to most major city attractions or catch the ferry at terminal 2 blocks away. January 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excelent spot , top breakfeast Room was clean & tidy , ready early . Great possition for exploring the rocks & breakfeast was great & the staff great , yummy egg station too . Would recomend for anyone not want to spend a lot . January 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! My husband and I stayed here for five nights. We loved that it was located right in the Rocks area, and that it was within walking distance of so many things (Bridge, Opera House). Room service (we ordered twice) was surprisingly good, and you seemed to get alot for the money you spent. Whenever we needed anything, they were very prompt. Loved the rooftop pool! The only negative was that they never seemed to be enough people working the registration desk. Every time we needed to talk to someone, we needed to wait 10-15 minutes. January 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Crazy good views from the roof Booked 2 executive king rooms. Check-in was prompt and friendly. There was a small bit of confusion about my second room, but it turned out that they'd already checked me into one of the rooms because I was a priority member. Bit of a heart starter for a moment :-) Decent views from the rooms - partial view of the opera house from one (when the BIG cruise ships weren't docked), partial view of the bridge from the other. Stunning views of the bridge and opera house from the rooftop pool though. Very good location, only a 10 minute walk to circular quay ferries and trains, 20 minute walk to the opera house. The double decker sightseeing bus stops right out the front and there's a taxi rank out the front too. Heaps of restaurants within a 10 minute radius - try the Pork Knuckle from Lowenbrau! Breakfast was awesome. This was my kids first experience of a big hotel buffet breakfast and Holiday Inn did not disappoint here. If you like to have a beer or two after the kids have retired for the evening, make sure you visit a local bottle shop, the mini bar is empty and there's no alcohol delivery to the room after 11pm. I was surprised at the empty mini bar, but this is my first Holiday Inn stay, I guess that's what they do. Checkout was smooth and hassle free, they were able to keep our suitcases in a room until we picked them up later on in the afternoon. All in all, I enjoyed my stay and would visit Holiday Inn Old Sydney again. January 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I nighter excellent property fantastic pool and room Stayed 1 night before cruise 200m walk to OS passenger terminal. January 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Good Experience We stayed here for one night in-between a returning Cruise and a long-haul flight. Just what we needed to get ourselves together before the next leg of the journey home. Sydney is a very expensive city, particularly with respect to hotel rates. The rates here were reasonable and 'middle of the road' at the time of our visit in January 2013. Very calm atmosphere and very helpful reception staff. The location was superb, being in 'The Rocks' and with the added bonus of market weekend. The place was buzzing but the hotel was an oasis of calm. The hotel was typical Holiday Inn both in standard and facilities - we have used these hotels throughout Europe and never been disappointed. This hotel was no exception and we would thoroughly recommend. January 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Optimal location, average room facilities The location of the hotel is really optimal. We also had a partly harbor view. This was fantastic. However, the bed mattress was too soft and actually a bit small for two persons. I think the bathroom should be renovated to look handsome again. For a hotel in such wonderful location is a concierge a must. People were blocking the reception longly with their concierge-like questions. The color of the wall in the entrance hall is kind of a dark yellow. I think it would look much better if it were a bright and vivid yellow. These all are things one can overlook easily and focus on enjoying Sydney. However, there was one thing though which irritated me. The reception borrowed the luggage scale to a guest without asking his/her room number. We had to wait on the scale nearly a full day. Anyway, this all couldn't diminish the enthusiasm being at the Sydney Rocks :) January 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Old and New It was a wonderful location, with all the pleasure of the old secrets of Sydney and the comfort of the new world. Definately recommend visiting a few of the pubs near by, and appreciating the roof top pool/views. January 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service!! Friendly staff!! My Husband and I have just returned from Sydney yesterday. We were visiting our daughter. We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights, including New Year's Eve. The fireworks display from the roof top was such an amazing experience. Our stay here was wonderful, rooms clean. Roof top pool area is small but we really didn't spend much time as busy sightseeing. The staff was very helpful and upon asking for our daughter, for a upgrade we were very pleased that we were upgraded. Thank you very much for a fantastic 7 night stay in Old Sydney. Debbie January 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay. Enjoyed our stay.Great location,all amenities comfortable. So easy to leave car for staff to park for you and know it is safe. Highly recommended. January 14, 2013
<<prev 15 16 17 18 19 ... 21 next>>
Enjoy spectacular views of Sydney harbour & easy access to the CBD
Enjoy spectacular views of Sydney harbour & easy access to the CBD
Select to close.
Enjoy spectacular views of Sydney harbour & easy access to the CBD Reception Front Desk Enjoy panoramic views of Sydney Harbour from our Harbour View Room Spectacular Sydney city and harbour views from the hotel Unwind with friends after a long day at Sirocco Restaurant & Bar Stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point and enjoy our exceptional service. Stay relaxed at Holiday Inn Potts Point.
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading