• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SYDNEY
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.5KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+10:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • JCB
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. French
  3. Hindi
  4. Indonesian
  5. Punjabi
  6. Tagalog
  7. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Art Gallery of NSW
Distance From Hotel:1.2KM
Attraction:
AMP Tower/Centrepoint - Sydney's tallest building
Distance From Hotel:2.0KM
Attraction:
Sydney Opera House - Tour & Performances
Distance From Hotel:2.5KM
Attraction:
Captain Cook Cruises
Distance From Hotel:2.5KM

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel car park has approximately 120 car spaces available. It is an undercover security car park, with access by ticketing machine. The car park has direct lift access to the foyer.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 27.50  AUD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:288
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:218
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:62
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:288
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Surrounded by popular street cafes and bars, Holiday Inn Potts Point is where you want to be when you next visit Sydney.

One stop on the adjacent underground train takes you right into the city centre. You can bypass city traffic and arrive in Darling Harbour's entertainment precinct in just 5 minutes via the cross city tunnel, or gain fast, easy access to the Harbour Bridge and tunnel, taking you north. Enjoy a 15 minute drive from the hotel to famous Bondi Beach. Soak up the sights of
View More

Surrounded by popular street cafes and bars, Holiday Inn Potts Point is where you want to be when you next visit Sydney.

One stop on the adjacent underground train takes you right into the city centre. You can bypass city traffic and arrive in Darling Harbour's entertainment precinct in just 5 minutes via the cross city tunnel, or gain fast, easy access to the Harbour Bridge and tunnel, taking you north. Enjoy a 15 minute drive from the hotel to famous Bondi Beach. Soak up the sights of Sydney from one of our Harbour View rooms.

Host your function in one of our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms and make use of the 24-hour Business Centre to prepare your presentation. Stay in touch with high-speed Internet in your comfortable guest room. The hotel is a 25 minute taxi or train ride from Sydney Airport, and there's secure parking if you're arriving by car.

Sample lively local nightlife or head down to the harbour and take a stroll around the iconic Sydney Opera House and Royal Botanic Gardens. If you need inspiration, ask our helpful staff to recommend their favourite local attractions. Our Kids Stay and Eat Free program makes Holiday Inn Potts Point Sydney a good value choice for family breaks.

Enjoy a workout away from home in our in-house gym, which offers a variety of cardio and weights equipment. Mingle with friends in Sirocco Bar and indulge in modern Mediterranean cuisine in the restaurant.

View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Potts Point boasts stunning harbour views and features contemporary rooms in a friendly and casual atmosphere. What makes us unique is our location - right in the hub of Sydney’s cafe and dining precinct and only five minutes from the heart of the city, this area has it all. Holiday Inn Potts Point offers you everything you are looking for in Sydney, only footsteps away.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 581 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great pillows Wonderful position and superb view of the Opera House. On the older side but a lovely comfortable hotel. Kathryn August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best choice in Sydney Wonderfull location The best breakfast Nice atmosphere August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service had a great stay would stay here again very helpful and pleasant August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location and great staff I had a wonderful experience staying in this hotel. It was an excellent location to avail of both the nightlife, restaurants and all amenities around the sydney harbour bridge and opera house. The room and facilities were clean, comfortable and relaxing. It was also nice to have room heating available since my stay was during the winter period and I don't like to feel cold. The staff were so friendly and obliging. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for them. I was staying on my own for this visit and did not in the slightest bit feel uncomfortable about this because of the warm friendly hospitality. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Sydney and totally recommend it as excellent value for money. Thank you to all the staff for making my experience such an enjoyable and pleasant one. August 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 excellent locatioon prime position in the Rocks area Sydney. close to transport and shops/restaurants in the area. we were there during the Aroma festival so it was good to be able to duck back to the hotel for a break from the crowd. August 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location While the room was small and we had issues with the heating not working, this was a great place to stay. Friendly and generally helpful staff. Join up for the free awards program so you can have Wi-Fi access for free. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Old Sydney Thoroughly recommend this hotel. A great location at a great price August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent location Good value hotel at a Fabulous location. Excellent views from the pool area. Good room. Friendly staff Valet parking very handy, July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but tatty around the edges I couldn't fault the freindliness of the staff and how helpful they were. Of particular mention is Jay, who was in the bar each night of our stay and who provided exceptional service. We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last 20 years because of it's location. this time however, we did notice that it's getting rather "Tatty" around the edges and in particular the bathroom. The bathrooms could do with an upgrade to get rid of the bath and have a walkin shower and have the vanity units and taps upgraded. The room could do with a central light rather than smaller lights around the edge of the room. Now having said all of that i guess with the location we did get a very good deal. July 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms dated and small, but great location We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel. Initial room noisy due to aircon on roof, but staff very attentive and organised another room swiftly. Rooms in general dated and bathrooms small, minibar empty and hotel charges surcharge on certain credit cards like AMEX. But location is great and staff very friendly. July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel in fantastic location The OLD HOLIDAY INN at THE ROCKS area of Sydney is in an ideal historic area of Sydney, It is the 3rd time my family and I have stayed at this hotel " not 5 star " if your looking for something flash, This is just a clean,bright,friendly hotel with so much to offer right on its doorstep, The fabulous harbor,the harbor bridge, The Opera House, many restaurants,trains,buses,and harbor ferries, and so much to see on foot, I will keep coming back to this hotel every time I visit this wonderful exciting city, July 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Getting to sleep The noise from the pub next door was tolerable until the early hours of the morning. The thump of drums keepng me awake at two am on Sunday morning was no joke. It eventually finished around two fifteen am by which time I'd given up on sleep. If it was'nt for that I'd recomment this hotel. By the way, this was the second time I'd stayed there, and the same thing happened the first time. I had had no feedback from my first complaints. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by July 2014 stay Great location for anything you want to do in the city or the rocks area. Markets and heaps of good eateries around to savor. Great staff and the reception was first class. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by often stay We have stayed at Holiday Inn at The Rocks many times. Always have a comfortable stay with the convenience of being near Circular Quay, Rocks Market, and a nice walk to the Opera House to see a show. You have to go to the roof.The view from the rooftop pool is hard to beat even for a local. We have a favourite place to eat up the street and breakfast at the hotel is fantastic. I would expect to be back soon. July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Box of Chocolates We use the Old Sydney whenever we stay in Sydney - because it's convenient. We are there 2-3 times every 2 months. Lately the service at the front desk has been frustrating - friendly but incompetent, and on one occasion recently argumentative. I actually had a front desk clerk call after me to have the last word and I had walked some yards away from the reception . It's all well and good to be greeted as an Elite Platinum member and all that - but that's where it ends. There is no valet parking as such. Getting into the hotel from George St is a nightmare - never anybody at the front of the hotel to take the car, help with bags or get the taxis out of your way at the door step ! Nowhere to offload your gear. Two visits ago I had a debate - no argument - with the desk clerk about what constitutes a Harbour view room. Circular Quay is NOT Sydney Harbour - and certainly no harbour view when there is a massive cruise liner in the window from the 4th floor. On last weekends visit we were checked in at first under another persons name with a very similar spelling. We were told there was no valet parking available and we would have to park elsewhere - we had to find that parking - and that we had booked and paid for 2 nights (actually buy one get one free - huh ?) - when we had booked one night. Fortunately, I had my reservation with me and we sorted out the problem and were offered parking after all - the desk clerk pulled up the wrong booking. This after waiting on a Saturday afternoon queue - no line for regular corporate customers. The package that we took included wine and chocloates on arrival - we didnt ask for that, it was just part of the package left - but they arrived well after we had booked in, gone for a walk, got a coffee, and returned to the room. To add insult to injury they charged us $45 for the parking when our IHG reservation clearly says $39 - only $6 but where's the attention to detail ? It's still a very convenient location and a reasonable hotel, but there's a difference between a genuine interest in your guests, and just speaking platitudes from a corporate script that lacks warmth and sincereity - and not everyone wants their surname being announced to all and sundry in the check-in queue behind you. Old Sydney Holiday Inn is like Forrest Gump's box of chocolates lately - you never know what you will get from the front desk. Rest of the hotel is fine, Breakfast buffet is comprehensive, good quality, fresh and something for everybody. The location in Sydney is as good as it gets. One more thing - when we had the debacle at the check-in, the clerk told me that we had booked the "buy one, get one free offer". Having been an IHG member for many years I have never seen nor been offered a buy one, get one free offer. As for upgrades for Platinum Elite - you get what you book. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay in old Sydney After an 8 hour flight delay, my family of four finally began our Australia vacation in Sydney at this property. Grant, the manager at the front desk, handled a room mix-up that was partially my fault beautifully. The location was wonderful, with great views of the iconic Sydney Bridge and Opera House, a Saturday market right outside the door, and good restaurants nearby. My daughters now want a juice machine; you could make your own juice at the breakfast buffet. I highly recommend this hotel, mostly because of the location in Sydney and the staff that bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable. Thank you again, Grant. July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location location location For a short stay I found the holiday inn to be perfect to visit all the tourist spots and good restarants and bars in the rocks region.i stayed for two nights with my daughter and since we only came back to sleep we found it adequate.the bathroom was quite aged and looked like it needed a good makeover but overall we were quite satisfied with the overall accomodation. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home in the Rocks This was the second time we stayed at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney, this time for 8 nights. We love it. It's like our home in the rocks. The rooms have a classic old school feel to them while being clean and well maintained. They really suit the feel of the building and the surrounding area. The breakfast is excellent and the bar has a good selection of food and drink options for the nights we didn't want to venture out to the nearby restaurants. The staff are genuinely friendly and react quickly to your needs. We loved coming back to this hotel in the evening as it felt just like coming home. Even little things like being able to use the guest laundry all add to the experience. We will definitely be back. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal position and great service I would highly recommend a stay at the Holiday Inn in the Rocks, Sydney. Position is so central to everything you would want to do. View from rooftop is superb of harbour bridge and opera house. Staff were most obliging. July 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good bed. Rooms and decor rather tired compared to many other holiday in. Hotels in the UK. No air con. Just a cool or warm airflow. Had to have my room keys cut three times in a four day stay. Need to sort that out. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service is amazing. Love staying here, nothing is ever a problem for these lovely people it's a pleasure to stay here. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location Nice and close to tourist attractions and harbor. Within walking distance to many sites. Breakfast was very good, but a bit expensive. Internet worked great. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel! Beautiful hotel in Old Downtown Sydney, or known as The Rocks. View was amazing and within walking distance of The Opera House, wharf, and lots of restaurants, pubs, and cafés. The staff helped us get our satellite phone left at a previous hotel earlier that morning. They also helped us book extra activities. Beds are always good at the Holiday Inn. The street did get a little lively on the weekend and if your room is on the street, you can hear it during the night. But not the fault of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again! July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to everything at an affordable cost I enjoyed my stay (wish it had been longer) on Friday night. Sat in the cosy & comfortable lounge area with friends. Motel was clean & comfortable & staff were loverly. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FANTASTIC LOCATION Stayed for 3 nights excellent location so close to everything we needed to do in Sydney 5min walk to circular quay so easy Buffet breakie was great kids eat free was great lots of eating places close by which made it so easy to. All staff were helpful nice and friendly Bed was comfy can't wait to go back July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Rocks Great location I think you have to remember this is an Old Hotel so the rooms are a good size but it is not modern and new, the bathrooms are clean but a little dated. So if you are looking for a clean tidy comfortable hotel I would recommend but to me it is probably a 3.5 Star not a 4 Star but this is mainly due to the age of the building July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for your $ Fantastic staff made the stay an enjoyable experience considering I had children to entertain by myself. The location was great and the kids were in awe of George St and its rich history. Convenience to the ferries and trains was paramount in our decision to stay in your hotel. I will visit again for our next holiday in Sydney and hopefully the bathroom renovations are completed in all rooms by then. I will have no reservations to recommend to our friends as the hospitality and courtesy shown by the staff was excellent. A+ guys July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Last minute break My wife and I decided on a Tuesday that it would be nice to take a short break in Sydney. Not expecting to find much available we started our research. We could hardly believe it when we found the Holiday Inn Old Sydney has rooms available. We booked on line at the IHG website and arrived the following evening after a very long drive from Brisbane, for a three night break. Check in was a breeze with the friendly and efficient reception staff. After a short break in our more than comfortable hotel room we headed out to the surrounding area for an explore. The restaurant is bang in the middle of the historic rocks area close to numerous well known tourist hotspots such as The Harbour Bridge, The Opera House and Circular Quay. Additionally there are numerous pubs and quality restaurants nearby, We had three nights of very comfortable sleep and enjoyed breakfast in the hotel restaurant on one morning and ate from the bar menu on one evening. All the food was very good although the evening bar menu was a little limited. Ideal hotel if you are taking a cruise from the International Cruise terminal, which is just across George Street. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by THE STAFF HERE ARE GREAT!!! I stay at this hotel often and this time I found the staff great as usual. The hotel is starting to renew all it's furniture and it is starting to look less tired as per my other reviews. The location is great and close to everything. We will be staying here again. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Helpful staff. Great location. Room was always professionally cleaned. Good accommodations (you can see the Opera House from the rooftop pool). My wife left her phone by accident after checkout in the room. The staff kept the phone until we returned 3 days later. July 13, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>
Enjoy spectacular views of Sydney harbour & easy access to the CBD
Enjoy spectacular views of Sydney harbour & easy access to the CBD
Select to close.
Enjoy spectacular views of Sydney harbour & easy access to the CBD Reception Front Desk Enjoy panoramic views of Sydney Harbour from our Harbour View Room Spectacular Sydney city and harbour views from the hotel Unwind with friends after a long day at Sirocco Restaurant & Bar Stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point and enjoy our exceptional service. Stay relaxed at Holiday Inn Potts Point.
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading