• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SYDNEY
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+10:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:01 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:01 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • JCB
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Hindi
  5. Indonesian
  6. Italian
  7. Japanese
  8. Korean
  9. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

With the exception of Guide Dogs, no pets are permitted wihtin the Hotel.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sydney Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Entertainment Quarter
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Darling Harbour: Shopping / Restaurants/ Pubs
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
IMAX Theatre: The World's Largest Indoor 3D Screen
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:346
  • Total number of suites:14
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:252
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:45
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:346
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11

Stay at the contemporary Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour hotel in the city's popular entertainment district.

The contemporary, heritage-style Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour is a former 1890s wool store in the heart of Sydney's cosmopolitan Darling Harbour. You'll find us opposite Sydney Entertainment Centre music venue, steps from bustling Chinatown and Cockle Bay Wharf. You can hop on a shuttle service to arrive from Sydney Airport, 8km away.

You can travel around the city
View More

Stay at the contemporary Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour hotel in the city's popular entertainment district.

The contemporary, heritage-style Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour is a former 1890s wool store in the heart of Sydney's cosmopolitan Darling Harbour. You'll find us opposite Sydney Entertainment Centre music venue, steps from bustling Chinatown and Cockle Bay Wharf. You can hop on a shuttle service to arrive from Sydney Airport, 8km away.

You can travel around the city area on the efficient Light Rail from the nearby stop at Paddy's Markets, where you'll bag discount clothing and souvenirs. Marvel at sea life through a glass-bottomed boat at Sydney Aquarium, a 10-minute walk away, and take in the iconic Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House on a harbour cruise.

Our location on the city-side of Darling Harbour means it's a breeze to get to the Central Business District, 500 metres away, and Circular Quay, 1km away. It's less than a 10-minute stroll to meetings at big companies like PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Nestlé, Telstra and the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. Events at the huge Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre are 5 minutes on foot from Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour.

Wash down bar snacks with boutique beers like Pure Blonde in bright JBs Bar at Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour. You can work up an appetite in the MiniGym and sauna on our 3rd floor.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is well located at the southern end of Sydney's premier entertainment precinct. The very best of Sydney's shopping, sightseeing and attractions are all within easy access of the hotel. Getting around town is made easy with the local free shuttle service that operates down George Street regularly throughout the day. Enjoy the very best of Sydney as to offer.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 537 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel in Old Sydney Thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Holiday Inn Old Sydney. Easy walking access to local attractions such as Opera House, Circular Quay, ferries to Manly Beach and Bondi Beach. Staff were very helpful in setting up day tours to Blue Mountains and Hunter Valley. Would definitely stay here again. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Friendly staff, very handy location right at The Rocks area in Sydney with lots to do in the area. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, comfy bed, spacious room With a view of the Sydney bridge and deep in the historic Rocks area this hotel had a lot to offer. The pillows and bedding were very comfy and the front staff was especially helpful polite and friendly. The room was spacious and quiet as it was toward the back corner of the hotel. Just a short walk to the Opera house, ferries and other areas of interest. A convenient laundry room was appreciated for my 12 days here. Really enjoyed my stay here. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cosy Room I had a very pleasant couple of days and the staff were lovely. August 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by steps to go to the room hi was disappointed that the staff never mention you need to climb 7 step with our bags to reach the room and need to climb 7 step 2 times a days even I go up and down August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 2 night stopover This is classic Holiday Inn style. Although the room was clean and tidy, the bathroom needed an update. Breakfast was good and staff were helpful. August 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect loacation to stay in Sydney The moment I arrived at The Holiday Inn my positive experience began. Although my daughter and I only stayed for 2 nights it was fantastic. The staff at the desk were welcoming, efficient and helpful. We found our room to be a generous size, clean and comfortable. The position of Holiday Inn is brilliant. Just a few minutes walk to Circular Quay where you can either catch a Ferry or Train. and probably a bus. This made it extremely easy to get around Sydney. It was lovely to just walk down the road and sit and take in the magnificent view of Sydney Harbour, The Opera House and the Harbour Bridge. The buffet breakfast that was included in the cost of the room per night was very good. Lots to choose from and I especially loved the juicer which allowed you to make your own healthy juice to have with your breakfast. I was impressed that when we checked out that we could leave our luggage (at no cost) and return and pick it up when we were ready to go to the airport. The foyer was very inviting with a fire place that made it a lovely place to sit and relax when you came in from the cold. I would highly recommend The Holiday Inn Old Sydney to stay in, if we are lucky enough to go back there some day, I would certainly stay there again. By the way if you happen to be there on a weekend The Rocks Markets are amazing and right on the doorstep. Great because whatever you buy you can take it back to your room rather than lug it around all day. Great place to stay. Julie PERTH WA August 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by noisy room the room we had was on the side next door to pub heard everybody leave and the music playing couldnt get back to sleep have stayed there before wouldnt get that side again August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location!! The rooms are o.k. (not very big and a small bathroom) but the location in the Rocks and the view from the rooftop are incredible! Everything is in walking distance. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT LOCATION Although this hotel is a little on the old side (in need of some maintenance - windows, carpets, paint), the rooms and bathrooms were clean and the breakfasts were excellent. The location of this hotel is exellent since it is close to the piers for water tours, the bus stops for bus tours, the Sydney Bridge, the Sydney Opera House, lots of fun shopping and unique restaurants. The staff was also extremely helpful. I was there for 2 different stays during a 3 week vacationn in Australia for a total of 6 nights. Would definitely recommend this hotel for staying in The Rocks area of Sydney! August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great King Bed & lovely buffet breakfast!! Overall we love staying at the Old Sydney it is right in the heart of everything we enjoy at the Rocks, see you soon!! August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service Overall service was fantastic. Reception was great and check-in and check-out was smooth and excellent. Only bummer was the breakfast. I like a sunny-side up nicely done. However, it was never really done right. Small issue, though. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic location Only stayed one night as a stopover but wished we had stayed here on our earlier visit! Location is fantastic for the main tourist areas and the view from the rooftop pool is amazing! August 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Problems easily Rectified We love the location of this hotel and were impressed the previous time we stayed here. We were disappointed for several reasons this time 1. Power at desk in room goes off when you turn light off so Iphone, I pad etc does not chaerge overnight. 2. Back corner room is noisey when markets are being set up on Friday night in back lane. 3. Garbage collection is also noisey in this room. 4. Heating was hard to regulate and we nearly froze the first night as not told about a seond switch near the bed for the fan for the air con. 5. WE think the lack of free wifi is a disappointment when you can attend coffee shops etc and this is available. We travel extensively overseas and wifi is available in most hotels free. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and friendly staff Excellent location. Walking distance to nearly all points of interest. Highly recomendable hotel. Would not hesitate to come back August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and position This is an older hotel but it is well managed with outstanding service. The location in the Rocks area of downtown Sydney is excellent for the holiday traveller. The rooms are clean and in good condition given the age. The beds are very comfortable with options for your pillow selection. The one issue is the small size of the bathrooms which are very much a "one person at a time" experience. Having said that they are functional, extremley clean, with good water presssure and all the usual condiments. The service is the highlight. The staff appear to be young, happy, and well presented and trained. I could not fault them in this aspect of my stay. August 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy location and only fair service On our first visit we found the twin room was much too small for a family of four including two teenagers. On our return we got a bigger room but the service in respect of making the sofa bed was poor. The plus side was that we got into a room early. Unfortunately the room bordered an extremely noisy area which, on a Saturday night, made sleeping difficult. Bathrooms are old and small. August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, terrible noise We received a good welcome from reception and we were allocated room 201, which as it turned out was a nice room with a good view towards the harbour, however it was on one of the noisiest rooms ever, and it didn't slow down. All night, buses, road sweepers and general traffic, also we were directly behind a street lamp standard so our room was illuminated brilliantly. As we were trying to overcome jet lag, trying to sleep with the black out curtains pulled back big mistake. Mentioned it to We didn't eat at the hotel as there were many cafés and eateries locally and cheaper. Very handy for the ferries, bridge and opera house, Sunday fabulous street market. All in good stay. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Kind and smiling staff. Great position. Kind and smiling staff. Great position. Reception always open and staff ready and helpfull. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Fantastic hotel and location - great place. Great place for a visit to Sydney. July 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convienient Location Whilst the décor was a little tired and the bathroom a little cramped. The location was extremely convenient to Circular Quay and all the Sydney tourist sights. The markets just outside the door on a weekend were great and lots of places to eat nearby. We had a lower floor room and it was very noisy on the Saturday night as they were setting up for a festival. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a gem! From the minute we arrived we were welcomed and felt relaxed and cared for, staff were delightful, room lovely, roof top view awesome. Close to everything in the city. Breakfast was wonderful, best we've had, especially the chef waiting to cook your personal breakfast order! Overall, excellent stay, highly recommended. July 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired room which needs upgrading Unfortunately the lovely old building and very pleasant reception staff cannot make up for tired old rooms where the air conditioning is either off or on cold front from antarctica. My toilet had a problem with the flush and broke down three times. On each occasion staff looked and gave it the quick fix and nothing more was done despite the fact that obviously a part was warn and needed replacing. The breakfast again showcased the contrasting good and bad. I lovely the juicer and fresh produce that could be used to make my own juice and enjoyed fresh juice each morning of my stay. Unfortunately the coffee on offer was THE WORST of anywhere in Sydney I have found for years. Why is there no offer of professionally made coffee or in the very least some brewed coffee. The coffee machine coffee was extremely poor and I heard many complaints among customers during my stay. I even heard one customer advise another to go next door as it's much better quality and value. I found my stay a little disappointing. The lovely old building needs some TLC and the general level of service needs to be lifted. It could be a wonderful place to stay especially given the location but I would not recommend it as it is. July 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Location Stayed for 2 nights and usual service and cleanliness was great and you cant beat the location. Have stayed several times and always good. July 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, comfortable room and wonderful atmosphere Great location in the heart of the city / circular quay; thought it was expensive though for what was on offer July 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location is perfect Everything I could want for a city centre break in Sydney. Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and a great shower. Can be noisy on the lower levels so try to get a high floor if you do not want to be disturbed by revellers outside. Perfect location for circle quay, the rocks,bridge and opera house. Nice spot on the roof for photos, a dip and to eat lunch with view of the harour , bridg and opera house. . July 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This hotel is in a great location in The Rocks. The room was comfortable if somewhat dated. The only real criticism of the room is that the bedside lights do not operate independently of the main room light. If you turn the main light off, the bedside lights go out as well - a bit annoying if you want to read in bed. The buffet breakfast is good but a little expensive at $27 per head. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. July 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by History combined with comfort The building is an imaginative blend of modern rooms around a wonderful atrium married to interesting rooms in a wing that was once a warehouse. The location is perfect, steps from the waterfront; close to shops, theatres and a wide choice of dining options. There is bus up town outside the door and a short walk to trains and ferries. We had a spacious room with a wonderful view of the Opera House and the staff is friendly and helpful. Do go up to the roof top pool - the best outlook in Sydney! This is our preferred accommodation in the Rocks July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfy rooms, awesome views, close to everything! We stayed at this hotel twice within two weeks...two days at the beginning of our trip, and the last two days of our trip. We were very impressed both times. The rooms were very comfortable and had everything we needed. On our second stay we upgraded for $40 more and got room 604 with an AMAZING view of Sydney Harbour. You are close to the Bridge, Opera House, Circular Quay, it's a perfect location and was very affordable! Great staff at the front desk as well! July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, great location. Great location for tourist attractions, fantastic restaurants and café's. Easy walk into CBD. Loved the buffet breakfast each morning. July 9, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 19 next>>
Hotel Exterior 2
Hotel Exterior 2
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior 2 Front Desk Entrance Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Availability
Loading