• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
(e.g. Apr-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SYDNEY
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+10:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:01 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:01 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • JCB
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Hindi
  5. Indonesian
  6. Italian
  7. Japanese
  8. Korean
  9. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

With the exception of Guide Dogs, no pets are permitted wihtin the Hotel.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sydney Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Entertainment Quarter
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Darling Harbour: Shopping / Restaurants/ Pubs
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
IMAX Theatre: The World's Largest Indoor 3D Screen
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Limited Valet Parking ($50.00) at the hotel, subject to availability at time of arrival, cannot be guaranteed in advance . Offsite self parking available at One Dixon Car Park ($30.00 per a day, single exit). Car park entrance at 28 Harbour St.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 50.0 AUD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:346
  • Total number of suites:14
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:252
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:45
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:346
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11

Stay at the contemporary Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour hotel in the city's popular entertainment district.

The contemporary, heritage-style Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour is a former 1890s wool store in the heart of Sydney's cosmopolitan Darling Harbour. You'll find us opposite Sydney Entertainment Centre music venue, steps from bustling Chinatown and Cockle Bay Wharf. You can hop on a shuttle service to arrive from Sydney Airport, 8km away.

You can travel around the city
View More

Stay at the contemporary Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour hotel in the city's popular entertainment district.

The contemporary, heritage-style Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour is a former 1890s wool store in the heart of Sydney's cosmopolitan Darling Harbour. You'll find us opposite Sydney Entertainment Centre music venue, steps from bustling Chinatown and Cockle Bay Wharf. You can hop on a shuttle service to arrive from Sydney Airport, 8km away.

You can travel around the city area on the efficient Light Rail from the nearby stop at Paddy's Markets, where you'll bag discount clothing and souvenirs. Marvel at sea life through a glass-bottomed boat at Sydney Aquarium, a 10-minute walk away, and take in the iconic Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House on a harbour cruise.

Our location on the city-side of Darling Harbour means it's a breeze to get to the Central Business District, 500 metres away, and Circular Quay, 1km away. It's less than a 10-minute stroll to meetings at big companies like PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Nestlé, Telstra and the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. Events at the huge Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre are 5 minutes on foot from Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour.

Wash down bar snacks with boutique beers like Pure Blonde in bright JBs Bar at Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour. You can work up an appetite in the MiniGym and sauna on our 3rd floor.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is well located at the southern end of Sydney's premier entertainment precinct. The very best of Sydney's shopping, sightseeing and attractions are all within easy access of the hotel. Getting around town is made easy with the local free shuttle service that operates down George Street regularly throughout the day. Enjoy the very best of Sydney as to offer.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 415 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stopover We stayed at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney for three nights prior to a 2-week cruise, and the location could not have been better. The Rocks is to Sydney as Georgetown is to Washington, DC -- a fun, interesting, exciting place, close to shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is a bit old and frumpy, they really need to replace the sad, tired furniture in the lobby, and the tables and chairs in the breakfast restaurant are like something out of a Dickens novel -- absolutely dreadful. But, we were treated well, the front desk staff were very helpful (thanks for the tip about the Chinese Gardens!) and the hotel is what it is, a Holiday Inn, not a Fairmont. Sydney prices being what they are, this was a good jumping off place for a trip that we knew was going to be expensive. As long as you're not looking for grand style it's fine. February 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful pool view! Absolutely fantastic pool view!!! Great view on Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House!!! Unfortunately we received a bothersome call at 2:20 in the morning, but staff were unable to find out where this call came from... it bothered our week-end unfortunately... However we really enjoyed our stay in this hotel overall! February 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Old Sydney exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival we were greeted by the most helpful reservations clerk who kindly offered us an upgrade at fair rate and an early check-in. Our room had nice views of the Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Location was perfect just a stroll to Circular Quay, walk to the Opera House. Most pleasant stay, comfortable beds, value for money, great views from pool deck area, close proximity to various restaurants, George St shops and access to ferries and buses at your door step. February 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 I AM A PRIORITY MEMBER AND I WILL NOT USE ANYMORE HOLIDAY INN After my experience at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, I will never go again to Holiday Inn. Check out date: 9th February 2014 The Customer Service was very poor. I will always remember it. I write an email with my complaints. Never got any answer. February 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, great location, terrible old rooms The staff are fantastic. The location, perfect. The rooms are very clean, but some are so old and poorly renovated. They're noisy, with bathrooms the size you'd expect on a boat and decades-old air conditioning that's manual, not electronic, meaning you get freezing, or warm... Not very comfortable at all. And most surprising from this hotel is getting room service delivered (cold) in a doggy bag? Not what I've come to expect from Holiday Inn. Again, the staff and service are really great. Just a very old hotel, that hasn't been updated in many, many years. February 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location,location The hotel provided an excellent location for us, we had tickets to a show at the Opera House. The accommodation was very comfortable, with a great view over the Rocks and Circular Quay area. Our two night stay was enjoyable with all leisure activities being a short picturesque walk away. February 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Location good hotel needs upgrade Location great. Hotel in serious need of refurbishment. Lobby furniture old and dirty. Staff very helpful but hotel needs worked on. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, comfortable rooms This is my first choice for accommodation in Sydney. I love the location. The rooms are clean and comfortable. And the breakfasts are great: good value and an impressive array of fresh foods to choose from. I especially enjoy making my own juice from the selection of fruits and veggies on offer. February 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovey stay at the Rocks Great location was nice and comfortable, pool slightly smaller a than the pics, loved walking with a different cruise ship every day outside, Would defiantly recommend staying again. February 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Polite, efficient and helpful staff Fabulous location...great views. We walked around the local markets, shops and galleries. Walked across to Circular Quay and took one of the many ferries to Watsons Bay and walked to SouthHead...what a great morning! Ate at Doyle's fresh seafood restaurant before the trip back. Found the hotel staff very helpful not only did they recommend some good places to see and dine but also provided a map and clear directions. Our room was clean and the bed very-comfortable. The rooms were small and facilities not easy to use. Not enough space In the bathroom for toiletries etc and difficult to use tea and coffee making...no shelf space close to a power point. Having to bend to get the cups etc from a low position was difficult as I have limited movement in my back. However, one doesn't go on holidays to spend hours in a room so overall I think the location and staff attitude win out over facility. February 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect. This has to be the most perfect location in the rocks of Sydney. Absolutely majestic view from the poolside roof. I happened upon a stay and breakfast deal and was absolutely blown away by the quality of the breakfast. Including made to order cooked dishes, freshly prepared juice bar, to accompany all the usual. Staff were terrific.. February 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good hotel in a great location If you are used to the Holiday Inn brand you will immediately feel at home here. Go into the front doors of the hotel, from the old part of Sydney, and you enter a giant atrium - a huge hall from ground floor to the skylights 8 floors up gives a feeling of space and light. The rooms are reasonably sized, with large comfortable beds. Our room looked over to Circular Quay so the view was right for me - ferries coming and going, even an exotic cruise ship. But you don't come to Sydney to sit in your room as the city is built for strolling around and the weather generally facilitates this. The usual facilities a traveller/guest requires are here. There are plenty of toiletries in the bathroom, which has shower and bath (although the bath seemed to be on the short side for anyone over 6' tall). There is a nice sized fridge in the room and for me the good thing was it wasn't filled with overpriced mini bar items, so there was room to put in your own refreshments. Hotel decision makers must be getting the message that for most people a mini bar is not a priority but a fridge most certainly is in a hot place. Staff here are friendly, welcoming and professional - which is as it should be. Breakfast is of the familiar hot buffet style with a chef on hand to sort out eggs for you. Tea/coffee is self service but the machine delivers (nearly) boiling water so you can make a decent pot of tea. The breakfast costs 29 A$ but you can get a small discount if you book the night before. There is a swimming pool on the roof but I've never tried it - much better to catch the ferry to Manley (14.60 A$ return) and show off your swimming costume on the beach. Overall, this is a hotel of a good standard in a great location at a reasonable price. I have stayed in the more luxurious (pricier) hotels in Sydney, but for me this strikes the right balance and I would recommend you to try it. A small niggle to be aware of concerns the shower, which is not thermostatically controlled but adjusted with separate hot and cold taps. This makes it a little difficult to get your personal temperature setting just right but I'm sure this will eventually be upgraded as the management at IHG always strike me as being progressive. February 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great views from rooftop. Had an enjoyable stay, the rooms very clean and spacious and plenty of shampoo/conditioners etc, the beds were lovely and comfortable as too the pillows, however the refrigerator was not working and we lost some yoghurts, drinks and milk overnight. I let reception know the next morning and they got it working whilst we were out and about. (There was no mention to replace sour items or compensate for loss) There were renovations taking place and the noise echoed throughout the room. We had a room with no view and tucked away in the corner the opposite side to the lifts. There was very few sun lounges around the pool and had to wait and wait for others to move on. Some had towels placed on them to save for later and no one returned. The views from the rooftop pool area were amazing. Cheers February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The staff were extremely helpful especially at check in. The room was quiet and comfortable with a good bridge view and the views from the rooftop pool area are fantastic. The hotel is close to many bars and restaurants and a stones throw away from the Harbour Bridge, the Opera House and Circular Quay. January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place for New Year's Eve Fireworks The location of this property puts you in the heart of the Rocks - downtown is steps away. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the rooftop view is great - especially for New Year's Eve fireworks. We could easily see both the Opera House and the Harbour Bridge while avoiding the masses of people on the streets. Plus, they gave up a complimentary bottle of bubbly! A great experience! The rooms are small, but the beds are comfortable. All other facilities are on par with other Holiday Inns. January 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always accommodating We love staying here. So central to everything and staff can't do enough for you. Valet parking great. Beds are very comfy and the breakfast is amazing. We have always been assured of a great experience. Thanks again. January 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant view from roof top pool, great services. Staff were effiiciant and friendly. Room was spotless and well appointed. I liked the choice of pillows eg. hard or soft. The view of the harbour from the rooftop is brilliant. Lots of great restaurants and eateries nearby. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Staff Service Hotel location is just perfect for people who visit Sydney for the first time. The views from the outdoor pool are just an enjoyment, Sydney harbour bridge to the left (about a 10 minute walk) and the Sydney Opera house to the right (about a 20 minute walk) are worth a photo shot. Location to the Circular Quay (also a train station) is about 10 minutes by foot. House staff will try to help with every questions what the best way is to get around and what is worth seeing. Also worth to mention is the breakfast which is resonable priced. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by An excellent family hotel in a great location We were actually contemplating whether to go 5 star with a hotel further along George St. or 4 star Old Sydney Holiday Inn and we are glad we decided to go with Holiday Inn for our maiden trip to Sydney. You couldn't ask for a better location. It's near enough to all the attractions and yet far enough for a relaxing holiday without all the traffic and pollution one would encounter if staying right in the middle of the CBD. There were 4 of us, kids aged 12 and 10, and the double room we booked in was sufficiently sized and had a nice view of the city. The roof top pool has, really, the most awesome views of the opera house and the bridge. Size wise though, it is only to be expected that the pool is tiny, good enough for a dip. True, the hotel badly needs refurbishment but we were out of the hotel the whole day and only went back after dinner. The beds and pillows were really comfortable and room is clean and decent. The buffet breakfast has limited variety but it was sufficient enough for us to have a great breakfast to start the day with. The restaurant staff are truly the best and most helpful. We would def want to come back to this hotel in our future trips. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to relax for 3 nights after 24 hour flight We were not given the type of room we had asked for and paid for back in October but on speaking to the head receptionist she quickly changed it to a front 2 bedded room on the 4th floor with a view of the Bridge so we were well satisfied. A kind young receptionist later fixed up my I pad which I had no idea how to do. Breakfast was good. Easy walk to the harbour Sarah - UK visitor January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service It is a GREAT place to stay. When ever you wanted to speak to the staff they were so helpful and went out of their way to fix it. EXCELLENT KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location My family and I stayed there on Dec 30/31, and would have liked to have stayed on past the New Year to see the fireworks but the hotel was already fully booked out for New Year's Eve. In any case, we really enjoyed the location and ambience being right in the heart of The Rock, within a short stroll to the Harbour Bridge, Circular Quay and the Opera House. The view of the cityscape from the rooftop pool was spectacular, except when a cruise ship was docked in between the hotel and the Opera House for most of the day that I arrived. The room I got was spacious and comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful. While a little pricey for this stay, given it was the day before the NYE fireworks and for it's excellent location, I think it was worth while. January 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for New Year fireworks A great place to see the New Years fireworks from - the hotel rooftop vantage point was kept exclusively for the use of guests staying 3 nights or more and was managed very professionally. A really nice touch was the New Year gift bag of a bottle of bubbly and chocolates. The hotel's location in the Rocks is perfect for sightseeing too. Although the interior is a little tired and painted in a strange depressing colour, the bright and cheerful staff make up for it. The breakfasts were amazing and there was plenty of food and variety to keep even the hungriest teenage boy satisfied. Housekeeping staff were very helpful and never tired of the requests for extra linen and towels, everything being delivered promptly. It was good to have a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. We would definitely stay again when in Sydney. A good tip is to become a Holiday Inn Rewards member and then the wi-fi is free (we only found out on the last day after paying for 3 days!) January 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convient and awesome location Easy access to the Harbour Bridge and Opera house, perfect location for going on a cruise ship about a 2 minute walk. Swimming pool on roof with an amazing view of the harbour, eating area also on the roof room service will take your orders to the roof, which you can order from the roof. Staff were very helpful and willing to give advice and additional assistance without any fuss. The surrounding choice of restaurants was excellent ranging from Sushi, Subway to formal dinning, and all within a five minute walk of the hotel. January 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and service The hotel can rest on the fact that it is superbly sited. The room was fine, the air-conditioning noisy. January 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast and lovely bed Holiday Inn in The Rocks is a great location with everything on your doorstep. If you want to go further afield in the city there is a taxi rank right outside the hotel. It is a pity there is not evening restaurant but you can get room service and the bar area can provide a meal. The bar area is rather small and the staff not as bright and cheerful or as smartly attired as the staff on the reception. However overall this hotel is great value for money and I would stay there again. January 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay We stayed five nights and really enjoyed the experience. The hotel is in a very nice area,, with easy access to downtown on the free 555 bus. The staff were all extremely helpful and obliging. We would strongly recommend the hotel. January 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent helpful staff as usual, staff were excellent and always willing to assist. Building is getting a bit tired (e.g., aircon control held on wall with sticky tape and tap fittings in bath/shower obviously previously repaired), furniture in foyer is showing sign of having been well used. Close to local pubs and inexpensive restaurants. Good place to stay if you want to explore Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and the city. Ferries put you close to famous beaches. Short stay? leave the car at home…transport in Sydney very accessible January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tick it off the bucket list One of the best seats in the house to watch the New Year's Eve fireworks. Great staff, thanks to Penny and Willow. On the rooftop bar, cheers to the lady from Housekeeping (forgot your name), Glen and Jody. Well done! January 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Poor Customer Services We choose to stay at this property as it was our last night in Sydney and we had seen the rooftop pool featured as a great experience. We were very disappointed by the size and overall lack of luster to the rooftop. It consists of a pool barely 3 feet deep and a handful of plastic deck chairs. The hot tub wasn't hot and the view was obstructed by other buildings located between the hotel and the harbor. Clearly the photos advertising it were done up or taken several years ago with a very wide lens. What turned an ok stay into a negative experience was the poor customer service we experienced from the staff. There were little things like a plate and bowl from room service left setting in the middle of the hallway for the entire length of our stay from check-in to check-out. But the biggest thing is that we had been traveling for 3 weeks and had requested a late checkout of 1 extra hour (from 11am-12pm) to make sure we were fully packed and ready for our departure. We were told no, that this was only for reward members. I have traveled professionally for work since 2005 and have membership with every hotel group. I had provided this information at check in, but the woman could not find it. She proceeded to waste 30 minutes of time searching through everyone who had my last name instead of letting me provide me details. When she could not find it she simply created a new, duplicate account for me to simply have a number to put into the system to justify 1 extra hour of time. Overall I would not recommend the property given the customer experience I have received from the last two Holiday Inns that I have stayed at. It is clear that the brand is in decline and truly an economy experience vs. one focusing on the guest. January 6, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior 2
Hotel Exterior 2
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior 2 Front Desk Entrance Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!