• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SYDNEY
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+11:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • JCB
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Hindi
  5. Indonesian
  6. Italian
  7. Japanese
  8. Korean
  9. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

With the exception of Guide Dogs, no pets are permitted wihtin the Hotel.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Shopping / Restaurants / Pubs
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Entertainment Quarter
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Sydney Tower (Best viewing point of city)
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Star City Casino
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • The Hotel does not have onsite car parking available for guests. The Hotel has an agreement with Number 1 Dixon Car Park (500 mtrs from the Hotel) for Off Site Self Parking. Charge is $30.00 per 24 hours (single entry).
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 30.00  AUD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:346
  • Total number of suites:14
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:252
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:45
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:346
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
Stay at the contemporary Holiday Inn Darling Harbour located in the Sydney's popular entertainment district. The contemporary, heritage-style Holiday Inn is a former 1890s wool store in the heart of Sydney's cosmopolitan Darling Harbour. You'll find us opposite the Qatas Credit Union Arena music venue, steps from bustling Chinatown, Latin Quarter and Cockle Bay Wharf. You can travel around the city area on the local free buss or the efficient Light Rail from the nearby stop at Paddy's Markets, where
View More
Stay at the contemporary Holiday Inn Darling Harbour located in the Sydney's popular entertainment district. The contemporary, heritage-style Holiday Inn is a former 1890s wool store in the heart of Sydney's cosmopolitan Darling Harbour. You'll find us opposite the Qatas Credit Union Arena music venue, steps from bustling Chinatown, Latin Quarter and Cockle Bay Wharf. You can travel around the city area on the local free buss or the efficient Light Rail from the nearby stop at Paddy's Markets, where you'll bag discount clothing and souvenirs. Marvel at sea life through a glass-bottomed boat at Sydney Aquarium, a 10-minute walk away, and take in the iconic Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House on a harbour cruise. Our location on the city-side of Darling Harbour means it's a breeze to get to the Central Business District, 500 metres away, and Circular Quay, 1km away. It's less than a 10-minute stroll to meetings at big companies like PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Nestlé, Telstra and the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. Events at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre are 5 minutes on foot. When it comes to dining you will be spoilt for choice. Shipley's Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday to Saturday evenings and features some of the country's best local produce and wines. For something more casual JBs Bar is open from 11.00am daily and offers a great casual and relaxed menu.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is well located at the southern end of Sydney's premier entertainment precinct. The very best of Sydney's shopping, sightseeing and attractions are all within easy access of the hotel. Getting around town is made easy with the local free shuttle service that operates down George Street regularly throughout the day. Enjoy the very best of Sydney as to offer.
Announcements
The Holiday Inn is constantly seeking new ways to improve our offerings to our valued guests. From 17 November to 20 December to we will be converting our small car park area into 24 new hotel rooms
View More
Announcements
The Holiday Inn is constantly seeking new ways to improve our offerings to our valued guests. From 17 November to 20 December to we will be converting our small car park area into 24 new hotel rooms & family suites. We expect minimal disruption to hotel services and operations. Works will be confined to the ground floor and levels 1 & 2. Please contact us directly for further details if required.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 710 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just a little attention needed Fantastic location in the Rocks area of Sydney. The staff are excellent and we had a great stay. One small gripe though, we had room 722 at the back and the hotel only had secondary double glazing so sound proofing wasn't great! However the main annoyance was that the outer sash window rattled whenever there was any wind. The windows badly need replacing but of course that means serious money so I'm sure in time things will be better. November 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Our Sydney Getawy The hotel is in a great location. We didn't like there being no restaurant for evening meal at the hotel. Also we felt that the furniture in our room was very tired and shabby. All other ratings we have given still stands. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WEEKEND IN THE CITY Fantastic hotel, great location, friendly staff, clean and good sized rooms. November 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location Great location and great service and attention to detail by staff. Room sizes are generous and the beds make for a restful night after a busy day in the city. Loved being able to walk to everywhere I needed to be. November 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Our room was on the 8th floor which suited us as on the whole it was quiet. Though there was sometimes noise when the rooftop pool was being cleaned. On the whole we didn't let this bother us. The room was quite spacious but tired in decor. It also seemed dark with little natural light. We couldn't open the (grimy mildew coated) windows so my wife suffered a headache each morning. Appreciated the pillow choice. Bathroom was adequate with generous supply of toiletries. Did not like over bath shower due to knee problems. Work top around sink was grubby. My wife used a wet wipe to clean surface - evidence of dirt was clear to see so she did a more thorough clean up. The beds were very comfortable. Very mean supply of tea/coffee/milk and min get with one biscuit between two! Some days none at all. Could see part of Harbour Bridge from our room through murky windows but would have preferred harbour view as on our previous visit to Sydney. Rooftop view was amazing. Felt on top of the world up there Breakfast each morning very good and staff helpful in replenishing supplies. Only one disappointment when I ordered pancakes, which were advertised as available freshly prepared. Two dry cold pancakes were eventually brought to me. They were certainly not freshly prepared. Breakfast area was very busy at times and therefore , due to it's restricted size, felt very cramped. Late check out was very useful especially as we were about to fly long haul to UK. Hotel is in a great location in The Rocks area with restaurants nearby. Short walk to Circular Quay, Opera House, Botanic Gardens. We walked a lot, Hyde Park, Darling Harbour, The Strand shopping arcade to name a few places of interest but such interesting sights we didn't tire. Not far from and to station for access to airport though it seemed a long way with heavy suitcases! We have a big celebration in a couple of years time. Would love to bring the family. Maybe Hotel will be tidied up by then. As IHG members we enjoyed free internet access. No trouble getting online. November 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old Hotel in need of a face lift When you walk into the the Holiday Inn Old Sydney the foyer gives a feeling of a nice hotel. The staff at the front desk provide a friendly service, however it is very relaxed and at times seemed disorganised and chaotic. When I went to my room it could only be described as basic. The bathroom had black marks around the grouting in the bath and although it looked like it had been cleaned it was very old and years of generaly marking showed. I had the club sandwich for room service and I not recommend it. The take away room service could be a cute touch if it did not seem like a way for the hotel to save costs. The following night I had a burger that was edable and much preffered to the previous nights meal. Upon checking out the staff could not process any credit cards. It took approximatley 25 mins to check out, without any recepit and a copy of my credit card number being taken. The staff were clearly flustered and had no processes to cope with the situation. Overal for the price this hotel needs to work on customer service and improving the quality of the rooms as it does not meet the standard and value of other hotels in the area. November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and very comfy hotel The hotel is in a great location and we have stayed here five times. Each time we have had a great view. Our room had two double beds but still plenty of room to move around. Bathroom amenities were normal Hol Inn standard. Shower head was not the best and water was a bit all over the place. Restaurant was not open of a night time but lobby bar provided a good choice of meals and has a happy hour for cheap drinks. We will be back. November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My 5 days stay This is my 2nd. stay in 3 years, and the high standard has been maintained. All the staff were very friendly and inviting. I believe it is good value for money i.e. stay 5 nights pay only 4 nights. A very good buffet breakfast . This hotel is in a great location within easy access of shops& food outlets, and of course the harbor trips & tours. Any future holiday's would put this hotel high on my choices J.L. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Hotel experience The hotel is situated in a great location close to The Rocks and the City. October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great central location, friendly staff. As a first time visitor to Sydney I loved staying right in the heart of the central tourist district, everything is within walking distance of the hotel and the hotel itself is a nice refuge from the busy streets when it's time to rest. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location Had a great stay, great location only issue noise from out side a bit loud but the rest was brilliant. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very efficient service Even though we only stayed barely 24 hours that time was spent very well. The atmosphere is peaceful and being so close to so many restaurants and amenities was just wonderful. This was our third stay and we will stay again. What an amazing sight to look out the window and see a huge cruiser docked, towering over the buildings opposite. A bonus!! October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room in the Rocks Love the old worldly charm of the Rocks in Sydney, where Restaurants and Public Transportation are within a short walking distance, not to mention Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House (especially important when travelling with an elderly Mum of 77 years of age). The Holiday Inn Old Sydney is well located and well priced for the this area. The view from the pool deck/roof top is great. Room/beds were very comfortable, bathroom a bit old, but clean, mirror could be better lit to apply make-up. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All round Excellence - Will return. With not knowing Sydney at all, we were impressed with the location and the closeness to the major attractions, ferries etc. If we return to Sydney would def rebook - 10 out 10.. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great service Great location and comfortable room / suite for our family of three. Staff were very helpful throughout our stay and were fantastic helping out when my son fell ill and we had to visit the Children's hospital. All turned out well. Would be happy to return any time and will do so in future. October 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great front of house staff and service Staff were friendly - front of house and also the room attendants whom I passed daily in the corridors. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by visit before seeing family very comfortable spotless hotel, great breakfast and exceptional staff, fab location and views from rooftop pool area, would certainly stay again October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beyond expectations This was our first trip to Australia, so unsure what to expect from the country and accommodation. Arriving at the hotel around 8am on a Monday morning following a long flight from England, we were delighted to be met by very helpful and smiling receptionists, nothing was a problem. The location of the hotel was excellent, right in the heart of The Rocks, not far from the Opera House, Botanic Gardens and main shopping area. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to ship Could not have picked better for a quick access to our cruise ship. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful place to stay Comfortable rooms, clean and tidy, lovely food. Staff were wonderful. Would high recommend. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Greg Though the room wasn't the cleanest it should be we both enjoyed the stayed greatly October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Wonderful central location in Sydney. Nice clean room, and facility, good value. Can walk from cruise ships. Near Sydney bridge and ferries. October 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value CBD property Stayed a few nights at HI Old Sydney while in Sydney for business and found the staff to be very friendly and the property in an excellent location. Awesome rooftop pool with views of Sydney Harbour, the Opera House and harbour bridge. Would stay again. Minor quibbles: my room felt a little tired and there were stains on the carpet and the property is probably due a minor refresh; the daily newspaper wasn't sent to my room. So, small details need to be addressed. October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant hotel all round A very welcoming ambience friendly helpful staff who take an interest in their guests even though they have a lot. They make you feel like your stay matters and treat you like an individual. The room I had was spacious and clean and the bed very comfortable. I had a great view of Sydney harbour bridge from my bedroom window. Room service was prompt and the food hot and tasty. Overall a lovely hotel in a good location right near Sydney harbour and Circular Quay. October 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The Rocks area is the only place to be in Sydney. Lively close to everthing, lots of fun October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant location and great staff We stayed at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney on the last leg of our four week Australian holiday. The location of this hotel, near to the Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Sydney Opera House is fantastic. Room was small but very comfortable. The service provided by the staff ranging from the extremely helpful staff on the reception desk who took time to give advice on sights not to miss and best direction to take, to providing a late night supper that we requested just five minutes before the chef was due to leave, was second to none. The management of this hotel is to be congratulated on the efforts of their staff to provide an excellent experience to guests. October 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel for sight seeing The hotel has a swimming pool and hot tub on the top floor. As well as providing an excellent way to relax it also provides stunning views of the surrounding district. For its position on the Rocks alone, I would recommend this hotel. The rooms are typical of this type of hotel and are comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful. I had a problem with my spectacles and the staff went out of their way to help me. A very good place to stay when visiting Sydney. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dr. Wafik Amin from Egypt Fantastic stay. The staff, the hotel style and location were more than excellent. The room and the room services were excellent. The atmosphere was very comfortable. We were very lucky to chose that stay. October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and easy acces tourist sites Loved being close to the bridge and opera house which we had outstanding views of from the pool area at top of the building. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Booked last minute and needed a nice place to stay in Sydney convenient to train and Sydney harbor attractions. This was it! The ideal location, great staff and nice price. October 10, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>
Hotel Exterior 2
Hotel Exterior 2
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior 2 Entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading