• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SYDNEY
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+10:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • JCB
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Hindi
  5. Indonesian
  6. Italian
  7. Japanese
  8. Korean
  9. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

With the exception of Guide Dogs, no pets are permitted wihtin the Hotel.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sydney Chinatown and Paddy's Market
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Queen Victoria Building
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Taronga Zoo
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Sydney Town Hall
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • There is no onsite care parking at the Hotel. The Hotel has an agreement with Number 1 Dixon Car Park (500 mtrs from the Hotel) for self parking. Charge is $30.00 per 24 hours (single entry).
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 30.00  AUD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:346
  • Total number of suites:14
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:252
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:45
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:346
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11

Stay at the contemporary Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour hotel in the city's popular entertainment district.

The contemporary, heritage-style Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour is a former 1890s wool store in the heart of Sydney's cosmopolitan Darling Harbour. You'll find us opposite Sydney Entertainment Centre music venue, steps from bustling Chinatown and Cockle Bay Wharf. You can hop on a shuttle service to arrive from Sydney Airport, 8km away.

You can travel around the city
View More

Stay at the contemporary Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour hotel in the city's popular entertainment district.

The contemporary, heritage-style Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour is a former 1890s wool store in the heart of Sydney's cosmopolitan Darling Harbour. You'll find us opposite Sydney Entertainment Centre music venue, steps from bustling Chinatown and Cockle Bay Wharf. You can hop on a shuttle service to arrive from Sydney Airport, 8km away.

You can travel around the city area on the efficient Light Rail from the nearby stop at Paddy's Markets, where you'll bag discount clothing and souvenirs. Marvel at sea life through a glass-bottomed boat at Sydney Aquarium, a 10-minute walk away, and take in the iconic Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House on a harbour cruise.

Our location on the city-side of Darling Harbour means it's a breeze to get to the Central Business District, 500 metres away, and Circular Quay, 1km away. It's less than a 10-minute stroll to meetings at big companies like PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Nestlé, Telstra and the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. Events at the huge Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre are 5 minutes on foot from Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour.

Wash down bar snacks with boutique beers like Pure Blonde in bright JBs Bar at Holiday Inn Sydney Darling Harbour. You can work up an appetite in the MiniGym and sauna on our 3rd floor.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is well located at the southern end of Sydney's premier entertainment precinct. The very best of Sydney's shopping, sightseeing and attractions are all within easy access of the hotel. Getting around town is made easy with the local free shuttle service that operates down George Street regularly throughout the day. Enjoy the very best of Sydney as to offer.
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is constantly seeking new ways to improve our offerings to our valued guests. From September 2014 we will be converting our small car park area into 24 new hotel
View More
Announcements
The Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is constantly seeking new ways to improve our offerings to our valued guests. From September 2014 we will be converting our small car park area into 24 new hotel rooms & family suites. We expect minimal disruption to hotel services and operations. Works will be confined to the ground floor and levels 1 & 2. Please contact us directly for further details if required.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 617 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Overnight Experience Stayed overnight prior to boarding cruise ship. Location is perfect, in The Rocks,only one street away from Cruise Terminal. We found staff to be warm friendly and helpful, the room was great, price very reasonable and in the in room dining worked extremely well for us. Will gladly recommend and stay again when visit Sydney. August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! This hotel is well situated. It is located in a very nice area from which you can easily walk to many of Sydney's attractions (Sydney Opera House and botanical gardens). You get an excellent view of the harbour from the roof top of the hotel. Our overall stay of 2 nights was very good. The room was clean and very comfortable. We thought the food was good but expensive and we were disappointed that they made us pay for take away coffee even when we ate breakfast there our first day. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Staff were very helpful and friendly, hotel met all our needs pre cruise, however would have been nice to be able to go to rooftop and take photos of ship arriving, perhaps it could be opened up early for cruise transit guests. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Top place to stay in sydney. Very freindley staff Great breakfast Hard to fault. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location in The Rocks We had a great weekend celebrating our wedding anniversary. The hotel is in the Rocks, so handy for visiting the Rocks Markets on the weekends. A good selection of restaurants are close-by. Public transport is close-by also, with the ferries being a short walk around to Circular Quay. August 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Small Bathroom The hotel is generally good but the bathroom was incredibly small, not what I expect from the Holiday Inn chain. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great pillows Wonderful position and superb view of the Opera House. On the older side but a lovely comfortable hotel. Kathryn August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best choice in Sydney Wonderfull location The best breakfast Nice atmosphere August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service had a great stay would stay here again very helpful and pleasant August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location and great staff I had a wonderful experience staying in this hotel. It was an excellent location to avail of both the nightlife, restaurants and all amenities around the sydney harbour bridge and opera house. The room and facilities were clean, comfortable and relaxing. It was also nice to have room heating available since my stay was during the winter period and I don't like to feel cold. The staff were so friendly and obliging. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for them. I was staying on my own for this visit and did not in the slightest bit feel uncomfortable about this because of the warm friendly hospitality. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Sydney and totally recommend it as excellent value for money. Thank you to all the staff for making my experience such an enjoyable and pleasant one. August 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 excellent locatioon prime position in the Rocks area Sydney. close to transport and shops/restaurants in the area. we were there during the Aroma festival so it was good to be able to duck back to the hotel for a break from the crowd. August 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location While the room was small and we had issues with the heating not working, this was a great place to stay. Friendly and generally helpful staff. Join up for the free awards program so you can have Wi-Fi access for free. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Old Sydney Thoroughly recommend this hotel. A great location at a great price August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent location Good value hotel at a Fabulous location. Excellent views from the pool area. Good room. Friendly staff Valet parking very handy, July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but tatty around the edges I couldn't fault the freindliness of the staff and how helpful they were. Of particular mention is Jay, who was in the bar each night of our stay and who provided exceptional service. We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last 20 years because of it's location. this time however, we did notice that it's getting rather "Tatty" around the edges and in particular the bathroom. The bathrooms could do with an upgrade to get rid of the bath and have a walkin shower and have the vanity units and taps upgraded. The room could do with a central light rather than smaller lights around the edge of the room. Now having said all of that i guess with the location we did get a very good deal. July 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms dated and small, but great location We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel. Initial room noisy due to aircon on roof, but staff very attentive and organised another room swiftly. Rooms in general dated and bathrooms small, minibar empty and hotel charges surcharge on certain credit cards like AMEX. But location is great and staff very friendly. July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel in fantastic location The OLD HOLIDAY INN at THE ROCKS area of Sydney is in an ideal historic area of Sydney, It is the 3rd time my family and I have stayed at this hotel " not 5 star " if your looking for something flash, This is just a clean,bright,friendly hotel with so much to offer right on its doorstep, The fabulous harbor,the harbor bridge, The Opera House, many restaurants,trains,buses,and harbor ferries, and so much to see on foot, I will keep coming back to this hotel every time I visit this wonderful exciting city, July 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Getting to sleep The noise from the pub next door was tolerable until the early hours of the morning. The thump of drums keepng me awake at two am on Sunday morning was no joke. It eventually finished around two fifteen am by which time I'd given up on sleep. If it was'nt for that I'd recomment this hotel. By the way, this was the second time I'd stayed there, and the same thing happened the first time. I had had no feedback from my first complaints. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by July 2014 stay Great location for anything you want to do in the city or the rocks area. Markets and heaps of good eateries around to savor. Great staff and the reception was first class. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by often stay We have stayed at Holiday Inn at The Rocks many times. Always have a comfortable stay with the convenience of being near Circular Quay, Rocks Market, and a nice walk to the Opera House to see a show. You have to go to the roof.The view from the rooftop pool is hard to beat even for a local. We have a favourite place to eat up the street and breakfast at the hotel is fantastic. I would expect to be back soon. July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Box of Chocolates We use the Old Sydney whenever we stay in Sydney - because it's convenient. We are there 2-3 times every 2 months. Lately the service at the front desk has been frustrating - friendly but incompetent, and on one occasion recently argumentative. I actually had a front desk clerk call after me to have the last word and I had walked some yards away from the reception . It's all well and good to be greeted as an Elite Platinum member and all that - but that's where it ends. There is no valet parking as such. Getting into the hotel from George St is a nightmare - never anybody at the front of the hotel to take the car, help with bags or get the taxis out of your way at the door step ! Nowhere to offload your gear. Two visits ago I had a debate - no argument - with the desk clerk about what constitutes a Harbour view room. Circular Quay is NOT Sydney Harbour - and certainly no harbour view when there is a massive cruise liner in the window from the 4th floor. On last weekends visit we were checked in at first under another persons name with a very similar spelling. We were told there was no valet parking available and we would have to park elsewhere - we had to find that parking - and that we had booked and paid for 2 nights (actually buy one get one free - huh ?) - when we had booked one night. Fortunately, I had my reservation with me and we sorted out the problem and were offered parking after all - the desk clerk pulled up the wrong booking. This after waiting on a Saturday afternoon queue - no line for regular corporate customers. The package that we took included wine and chocloates on arrival - we didnt ask for that, it was just part of the package left - but they arrived well after we had booked in, gone for a walk, got a coffee, and returned to the room. To add insult to injury they charged us $45 for the parking when our IHG reservation clearly says $39 - only $6 but where's the attention to detail ? It's still a very convenient location and a reasonable hotel, but there's a difference between a genuine interest in your guests, and just speaking platitudes from a corporate script that lacks warmth and sincereity - and not everyone wants their surname being announced to all and sundry in the check-in queue behind you. Old Sydney Holiday Inn is like Forrest Gump's box of chocolates lately - you never know what you will get from the front desk. Rest of the hotel is fine, Breakfast buffet is comprehensive, good quality, fresh and something for everybody. The location in Sydney is as good as it gets. One more thing - when we had the debacle at the check-in, the clerk told me that we had booked the "buy one, get one free offer". Having been an IHG member for many years I have never seen nor been offered a buy one, get one free offer. As for upgrades for Platinum Elite - you get what you book. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay in old Sydney After an 8 hour flight delay, my family of four finally began our Australia vacation in Sydney at this property. Grant, the manager at the front desk, handled a room mix-up that was partially my fault beautifully. The location was wonderful, with great views of the iconic Sydney Bridge and Opera House, a Saturday market right outside the door, and good restaurants nearby. My daughters now want a juice machine; you could make your own juice at the breakfast buffet. I highly recommend this hotel, mostly because of the location in Sydney and the staff that bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable. Thank you again, Grant. July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location location location For a short stay I found the holiday inn to be perfect to visit all the tourist spots and good restarants and bars in the rocks region.i stayed for two nights with my daughter and since we only came back to sleep we found it adequate.the bathroom was quite aged and looked like it needed a good makeover but overall we were quite satisfied with the overall accomodation. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home in the Rocks This was the second time we stayed at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney, this time for 8 nights. We love it. It's like our home in the rocks. The rooms have a classic old school feel to them while being clean and well maintained. They really suit the feel of the building and the surrounding area. The breakfast is excellent and the bar has a good selection of food and drink options for the nights we didn't want to venture out to the nearby restaurants. The staff are genuinely friendly and react quickly to your needs. We loved coming back to this hotel in the evening as it felt just like coming home. Even little things like being able to use the guest laundry all add to the experience. We will definitely be back. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal position and great service I would highly recommend a stay at the Holiday Inn in the Rocks, Sydney. Position is so central to everything you would want to do. View from rooftop is superb of harbour bridge and opera house. Staff were most obliging. July 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good bed. Rooms and decor rather tired compared to many other holiday in. Hotels in the UK. No air con. Just a cool or warm airflow. Had to have my room keys cut three times in a four day stay. Need to sort that out. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service is amazing. Love staying here, nothing is ever a problem for these lovely people it's a pleasure to stay here. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location Nice and close to tourist attractions and harbor. Within walking distance to many sites. Breakfast was very good, but a bit expensive. Internet worked great. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel! Beautiful hotel in Old Downtown Sydney, or known as The Rocks. View was amazing and within walking distance of The Opera House, wharf, and lots of restaurants, pubs, and cafés. The staff helped us get our satellite phone left at a previous hotel earlier that morning. They also helped us book extra activities. Beds are always good at the Holiday Inn. The street did get a little lively on the weekend and if your room is on the street, you can hear it during the night. But not the fault of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again! July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to everything at an affordable cost I enjoyed my stay (wish it had been longer) on Friday night. Sat in the cosy & comfortable lounge area with friends. Motel was clean & comfortable & staff were loverly. July 15, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>
Hotel Exterior 2
Hotel Exterior 2
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior 2 Entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading