• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SYDNEY
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+11:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • JCB
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Hindi
  5. Indonesian
  6. Italian
  7. Japanese
  8. Korean
  9. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

With the exception of Guide Dogs, no pets are permitted wihtin the Hotel.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Shopping / Restaurants / Pubs
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Entertainment Quarter
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Sydney Tower (Best viewing point of city)
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Star City Casino
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • The Hotel does not have onsite car parking available for guests. The Hotel has an agreement with Number 1 Dixon Car Park (500 mtrs from the Hotel) for Off Site Self Parking. Charge is $30.00 per 24 hours (single entry).
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 30.00  AUD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:$ 19.00 19.0  AUD

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:346
  • Total number of suites:14
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:252
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:45
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:346
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:11
Stay at the contemporary Holiday Inn Darling Harbour located in the Sydney's popular entertainment district. The contemporary, heritage-style Holiday Inn is a former 1890s wool store in the heart of Sydney's cosmopolitan Darling Harbour. You'll find us opposite the Qatas Credit Union Arena music venue, steps from bustling Chinatown, Latin Quarter and Cockle Bay Wharf. You can travel around the city area on the local free buss or the efficient Light Rail from the nearby stop at Paddy's Markets, where
View More
Stay at the contemporary Holiday Inn Darling Harbour located in the Sydney's popular entertainment district. The contemporary, heritage-style Holiday Inn is a former 1890s wool store in the heart of Sydney's cosmopolitan Darling Harbour. You'll find us opposite the Qatas Credit Union Arena music venue, steps from bustling Chinatown, Latin Quarter and Cockle Bay Wharf. You can travel around the city area on the local free buss or the efficient Light Rail from the nearby stop at Paddy's Markets, where you'll bag discount clothing and souvenirs. Marvel at sea life through a glass-bottomed boat at Sydney Aquarium, a 10-minute walk away, and take in the iconic Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House on a harbour cruise. Our location on the city-side of Darling Harbour means it's a breeze to get to the Central Business District, 500 metres away, and Circular Quay, 1km away. It's less than a 10-minute stroll to meetings at big companies like PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Nestlé, Telstra and the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. Events at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre are 5 minutes on foot. When it comes to dining you will be spoilt for choice. Shipley's Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday to Saturday evenings and features some of the country's best local produce and wines. For something more casual JBs Bar is open from 11.00am daily and offers a great casual and relaxed menu.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is well located at the southern end of Sydney's premier entertainment precinct. The very best of Sydney's shopping, sightseeing and attractions are all within easy access of the hotel. Getting around town is made easy with the local free shuttle service that operates down George Street regularly throughout the day. Enjoy the very best of Sydney as to offer.
Announcements
The Holiday Inn is constantly seeking new ways to improve our offerings to our valued guests. From 17 November to 20 December to we will be converting our small car park area into 24 new hotel rooms
View More
Announcements
The Holiday Inn is constantly seeking new ways to improve our offerings to our valued guests. From 17 November to 20 December to we will be converting our small car park area into 24 new hotel rooms & family suites. We expect minimal disruption to hotel services and operations. Works will be confined to the ground floor and levels 1 & 2. Please contact us directly for further details if required.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 687 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Box of Chocolates We use the Old Sydney whenever we stay in Sydney - because it's convenient. We are there 2-3 times every 2 months. Lately the service at the front desk has been frustrating - friendly but incompetent, and on one occasion recently argumentative. I actually had a front desk clerk call after me to have the last word and I had walked some yards away from the reception . It's all well and good to be greeted as an Elite Platinum member and all that - but that's where it ends. There is no valet parking as such. Getting into the hotel from George St is a nightmare - never anybody at the front of the hotel to take the car, help with bags or get the taxis out of your way at the door step ! Nowhere to offload your gear. Two visits ago I had a debate - no argument - with the desk clerk about what constitutes a Harbour view room. Circular Quay is NOT Sydney Harbour - and certainly no harbour view when there is a massive cruise liner in the window from the 4th floor. On last weekends visit we were checked in at first under another persons name with a very similar spelling. We were told there was no valet parking available and we would have to park elsewhere - we had to find that parking - and that we had booked and paid for 2 nights (actually buy one get one free - huh ?) - when we had booked one night. Fortunately, I had my reservation with me and we sorted out the problem and were offered parking after all - the desk clerk pulled up the wrong booking. This after waiting on a Saturday afternoon queue - no line for regular corporate customers. The package that we took included wine and chocloates on arrival - we didnt ask for that, it was just part of the package left - but they arrived well after we had booked in, gone for a walk, got a coffee, and returned to the room. To add insult to injury they charged us $45 for the parking when our IHG reservation clearly says $39 - only $6 but where's the attention to detail ? It's still a very convenient location and a reasonable hotel, but there's a difference between a genuine interest in your guests, and just speaking platitudes from a corporate script that lacks warmth and sincereity - and not everyone wants their surname being announced to all and sundry in the check-in queue behind you. Old Sydney Holiday Inn is like Forrest Gump's box of chocolates lately - you never know what you will get from the front desk. Rest of the hotel is fine, Breakfast buffet is comprehensive, good quality, fresh and something for everybody. The location in Sydney is as good as it gets. One more thing - when we had the debacle at the check-in, the clerk told me that we had booked the "buy one, get one free offer". Having been an IHG member for many years I have never seen nor been offered a buy one, get one free offer. As for upgrades for Platinum Elite - you get what you book. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay in old Sydney After an 8 hour flight delay, my family of four finally began our Australia vacation in Sydney at this property. Grant, the manager at the front desk, handled a room mix-up that was partially my fault beautifully. The location was wonderful, with great views of the iconic Sydney Bridge and Opera House, a Saturday market right outside the door, and good restaurants nearby. My daughters now want a juice machine; you could make your own juice at the breakfast buffet. I highly recommend this hotel, mostly because of the location in Sydney and the staff that bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable. Thank you again, Grant. July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location location location For a short stay I found the holiday inn to be perfect to visit all the tourist spots and good restarants and bars in the rocks region.i stayed for two nights with my daughter and since we only came back to sleep we found it adequate.the bathroom was quite aged and looked like it needed a good makeover but overall we were quite satisfied with the overall accomodation. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home in the Rocks This was the second time we stayed at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney, this time for 8 nights. We love it. It's like our home in the rocks. The rooms have a classic old school feel to them while being clean and well maintained. They really suit the feel of the building and the surrounding area. The breakfast is excellent and the bar has a good selection of food and drink options for the nights we didn't want to venture out to the nearby restaurants. The staff are genuinely friendly and react quickly to your needs. We loved coming back to this hotel in the evening as it felt just like coming home. Even little things like being able to use the guest laundry all add to the experience. We will definitely be back. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal position and great service I would highly recommend a stay at the Holiday Inn in the Rocks, Sydney. Position is so central to everything you would want to do. View from rooftop is superb of harbour bridge and opera house. Staff were most obliging. July 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good bed. Rooms and decor rather tired compared to many other holiday in. Hotels in the UK. No air con. Just a cool or warm airflow. Had to have my room keys cut three times in a four day stay. Need to sort that out. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service is amazing. Love staying here, nothing is ever a problem for these lovely people it's a pleasure to stay here. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location Nice and close to tourist attractions and harbor. Within walking distance to many sites. Breakfast was very good, but a bit expensive. Internet worked great. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel! Beautiful hotel in Old Downtown Sydney, or known as The Rocks. View was amazing and within walking distance of The Opera House, wharf, and lots of restaurants, pubs, and cafés. The staff helped us get our satellite phone left at a previous hotel earlier that morning. They also helped us book extra activities. Beds are always good at the Holiday Inn. The street did get a little lively on the weekend and if your room is on the street, you can hear it during the night. But not the fault of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again! July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to everything at an affordable cost I enjoyed my stay (wish it had been longer) on Friday night. Sat in the cosy & comfortable lounge area with friends. Motel was clean & comfortable & staff were loverly. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FANTASTIC LOCATION Stayed for 3 nights excellent location so close to everything we needed to do in Sydney 5min walk to circular quay so easy Buffet breakie was great kids eat free was great lots of eating places close by which made it so easy to. All staff were helpful nice and friendly Bed was comfy can't wait to go back July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Rocks Great location I think you have to remember this is an Old Hotel so the rooms are a good size but it is not modern and new, the bathrooms are clean but a little dated. So if you are looking for a clean tidy comfortable hotel I would recommend but to me it is probably a 3.5 Star not a 4 Star but this is mainly due to the age of the building July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for your $ Fantastic staff made the stay an enjoyable experience considering I had children to entertain by myself. The location was great and the kids were in awe of George St and its rich history. Convenience to the ferries and trains was paramount in our decision to stay in your hotel. I will visit again for our next holiday in Sydney and hopefully the bathroom renovations are completed in all rooms by then. I will have no reservations to recommend to our friends as the hospitality and courtesy shown by the staff was excellent. A+ guys July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Last minute break My wife and I decided on a Tuesday that it would be nice to take a short break in Sydney. Not expecting to find much available we started our research. We could hardly believe it when we found the Holiday Inn Old Sydney has rooms available. We booked on line at the IHG website and arrived the following evening after a very long drive from Brisbane, for a three night break. Check in was a breeze with the friendly and efficient reception staff. After a short break in our more than comfortable hotel room we headed out to the surrounding area for an explore. The restaurant is bang in the middle of the historic rocks area close to numerous well known tourist hotspots such as The Harbour Bridge, The Opera House and Circular Quay. Additionally there are numerous pubs and quality restaurants nearby, We had three nights of very comfortable sleep and enjoyed breakfast in the hotel restaurant on one morning and ate from the bar menu on one evening. All the food was very good although the evening bar menu was a little limited. Ideal hotel if you are taking a cruise from the International Cruise terminal, which is just across George Street. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by THE STAFF HERE ARE GREAT!!! I stay at this hotel often and this time I found the staff great as usual. The hotel is starting to renew all it's furniture and it is starting to look less tired as per my other reviews. The location is great and close to everything. We will be staying here again. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Helpful staff. Great location. Room was always professionally cleaned. Good accommodations (you can see the Opera House from the rooftop pool). My wife left her phone by accident after checkout in the room. The staff kept the phone until we returned 3 days later. July 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and very welcoming entry Terrific location, great entrance and bar and fire place ambience. Dissapointed in room without a view....but booked online with so perhaps don't get preference with rooms with great view. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Old Sydney, New Experience Holiday Inn Old Sydney was located exactly where I needed to be for seeing the sites I came to see in the city. The hotel was modern, clean, and had a very friendly staff. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Old Sydney is Great This is a wonderful hotel with a great staff. The view from the upper floors of the Sydney Opera House is magnificent. July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific location and a real ambience on walking into foyer Great location and a real warmth, good service and very welcoming check in, was however disappointed not getting a room with a view. Bathroom looking old and in need of update, otherwise despite the expense a comfortable stay! July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location for sightseeing Building old but stylish/heritage Nice view of Opera house from top floors although small rooms and windows. Nice part of town to stay. July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff,central,great views,comfortable bed We enjoyed our short stay,for our 45th anniversary,the card left was nice,but no champagne or wine in fridge(we got wine&chocs for our 40th anniv at Paris). Bed was comfortable,decor needs updating(furniture stained&scrached). Staff were very friendly,even looked after our luggage on last day to let us do last minute shopping). Foyer area&cosy bar impressive,light music & fragrance.We had amazing views from room 608 (untill cruise ship came in). Nice family pool & spa on 8th floor,with great Sydney harbour views. Easy walk around old rocks area with many restaurants,pubs & shops.Near to transport. Signage could be better (but still in keeping with historical area). Climbing in bath for shower not good for senior citizens(need separate shower cubicle ). Never tried breakfast as we got better value groupon vouchers for local cafe(suggest offer of discount on food &drink if staying more than one night?). Very good(but could be great) but can recommend. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room. Good size clean room. Fantastic Linen. Helpful staff. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Second visit to Old Sydney. Once again I am more then happy to say that Old Sydney was an enjoyable experience. My first visit in May 2014 with my partner made the choice easy enough for me when returning in July 2014 with my two kids. I have already decided that we will return again next time we are in Sydney. July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Out of date hotel The A/C in the rooms need to replaced. Furnishing are old and average. No warm relaxing area. Bar and restaurant area is small and cold. Staff are very pleasant but that can only go so far. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The hotel is located in the old part df Sydney, just steps from the art museum circular quay, and the opera house. The sights I wanted to see we're nearby. A great place for breakfast was just out the side door, and the visitors information center was down the block. The hotel itself had a grand lobby. The rooms were comfortable though not stylish or luxurious. Americans may find the rooms small, but. They were fine for me. The staff were very helpful, and were quick to move me to a new room when mine was too noisy. I especially liked that club members got free wi-fi because hotels in Australia charge a fortune for it. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel. July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Though the hotel looks a little old but the rooms were upgraded and really nice. It is in a nice area of town not too far from the Sydney Opera House and from various shops. The staff was really helpful during my stay, would stay again in the future. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything good Great location, nice small room but still big enough, no worries mate. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service n location. Room was great but bathroom did need some updating.. Fantastic location July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value,Good staff We recently stayed for 1 night on business and as always found the staff and hotel to be excellent ,our room was upgraded due to our gold status.We are long term members of IHG. June 30, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 24 next>>
Hotel Exterior 2
Hotel Exterior 2
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior 2 Entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading