• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-25-2014)
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SYDNEY
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+11:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • JCB
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Hindi
  5. Korean
  6. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. Only exception are guide dogs.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Rocks Market (Sat & Sun Only)
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Multi-venue Performing Arts Centre
Distance From Hotel:0.0KM
Attraction:
Museum of Contemporary Art
Distance From Hotel:0.1KM
Attraction:
Circular Quay
Distance From Hotel:0.2KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:40
  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking is offered at $45 per night, per car in our secure underground car park. During special events and Fri & Sat nights parking spaces are limited. Due to this we can also offer a discounted self parking alternative offsite for $30 per night
  • Valet parking fee  ( 45.0 AUD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 18.95 18.95  AUD
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:$ 18.95 18.95  AUD

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:176
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:131
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:38
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:176
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8
Holiday Inn Old Sydney occupies both historical and modern buildings, and successfully blends international elegance and old world charm with an unbeatable location in the historic Rocks district. The Rocks is a uniquely historical Australian quarter, where you can eat in restaurants located in some the oldest surviving buildings in Sydney. Set only a street back from Sydney Harbour, Holiday Inn Old Sydney is just a short stroll from the famous Harbour Bridge and Opera House, and hence
View More
Holiday Inn Old Sydney occupies both historical and modern buildings, and successfully blends international elegance and old world charm with an unbeatable location in the historic Rocks district. The Rocks is a uniquely historical Australian quarter, where you can eat in restaurants located in some the oldest surviving buildings in Sydney. Set only a street back from Sydney Harbour, Holiday Inn Old Sydney is just a short stroll from the famous Harbour Bridge and Opera House, and hence ideally located for an unforgettable Sydney experience. Circular Quay is only just a few minutes' walk from the hotel, you can catch a ferry across Sydney Harbour to view local and exotic wildlife at Taronga Zoo or over to Manly beach. Native plants are on show at the 30-hectare Royal Botanic Gardens, located 300 metres away and stylish boutiques in the surrounding cosmopolitan Rocks precinct. Climb the outer arch of Sydney Harbour Bridge, metres away, for stunning views across Sydney. Arrive at Holiday Inn Old Sydney from Sydney Airport, only 15km away, and take a short 10 minute stroll to the city’s central business district, or the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre, just 20 minutes away. Wireless Internet is available from your guest room, our Lobby Lounge Bar and the rooftop terrace. They say a picture paints a thousand words and, by day or night, there a magnificent views of the world’s most stunning harbor from the attractive rooftop pool and spa.
View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Old Sydney is located the heart of the historic Rocks area of Sydney. The hotel offers one of the best roof top pools in Sydney overlooking one of the world’s most beautiful harbour - Sydney Harbour.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 477 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great spot Had a lovely trip - great local facilities and many bars & restaurants to visit- close to city centre as well- breakfast was a bit of a bun fight as the hotel was so busy but the fireworks were fab on the harbour January 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by This hotel is too old and needs URGENT renovation A bit disappointed by this hotel: rooms are old and need urgent renovation. Room prices were too much expensive for the service provided in the hotel... This hotel, in my opinion, does not respect the standards of Holiday Inn brand. Moreover, I don t understand why IHG POINTS won t be credited in my account since I spent more than 2000 euros for 6 nights in an old fashioned room. January 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disappointed not the usual Holiday Inn standard This was one of the most disappointing stays I have ever had at a Holiday Inn property anywhere in the world - the standard of everything was well below what is the norm for an IHG brand. I raised the concerns in the in-room feedback booklet & also with the duty manager, who I had to eventually call back to follow up on the issues - but he did respond in the end & advised they would review the feedback and look into. The room which was a suite on the 3rd floor looking directly into the side of the Sydney Entertainment Centre ( certainly not Suite standard) - there were still dirty socks lying in the room from previous guests, there are no duvet covers provided on the bed/s which to me is not at all acceptable, you get 2 seats that are made up with the duvet in between - for health reasons we found this un-acceptable. The lighting is so bad in the bathroom, yellow colour you can hardly see anything, in fact the lighting throughout the room is poor in standard. The decor is so very bland and dull, the couch is old and has marks on it and also it is in a sad state. I can not begin to think what a tourist must think of the hotel if this is their 1st stay on Australian soil - The reception service when we arrived was also well below standard, in fact the check in lady was quite rude to us - again not the usual Holiday Inn/IHG standard. We left knowing that we could not stay here again when in Sydney nor recommend the hotel unless all the issues are addressed rather quickly. January 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very expensive and poor breakfast and poor room facilities We have just stayed for 3 nights over New Year's Eve. We had a family room with 2 standard sized double beds which was uncomfortable for my husband and I with our 16 and 12 year old sons. A double and twin beds would have been better. We did stay over the NY but felt that the rates being charged were ridiculous for 3 nights bed and breakfast, we did not even have a nice view. The minibar was empty although we were given a bottle of sparkling wine for NYE which was thoughtful. Each day we had to ask for additional towels, flannels and toiletries as only sufficient for 2 people were supplied. On our second morning, our son had been ill and so we were late back from breakfast to be told by the cleaner who was cleaning the room opposite that, as the Supervisor had slipped a card under our door saying we would have to ring for fresh toiletries, she was unable to clean our room. I had to phone housekeeping to get this rectified, another annoyance. The biggest issue we had was with the small space where the breakfast items were set out. Each day the guests had to jostle with each other and be extremely careful not to crash into another guest because the aisle was so narrow. In addition, we had to queue each morning to get into the dining room despite the space in the JB bar which was not used. Furthermore the food, drink and cups were continually running out. When we are aware that we are paying very peak rates, to have to wait constantly for new water, glasses, plates, bread etc was just not on. It would appear that no extra staff were employed at this busy time. Some of the staff were sullen and unfriendly especially the male supervisor who did not like being asked for fresh supplies. I am a vegetarian and the choices were extremely limited, even the pots of yoghurt had gelatine in them. We have stayed in many Holiday Inn and Crown Plaza hotels but this was definitely the worst in terms of food quality and availability. On the bright side, the 2 gentlemen working on the Concierge Desk could not have been more helpful and provided us with helpful suggestions regarding excursions. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Staff The staff at this property has one of the best customer attitudes that I have found worldwide at IHG hotels. The were professional, very patient, courteous and delivered every time. A superb location and great atmosphere. December 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Food needing attention Recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Darling Harbor. Have stayed there many times however recently tried the food. I chose a risotto in the cafe which was closer to rice porridge and not appealing at all. I also tried breakfast for the first time which I found disorganised and of very poor quality. I even went back a second day as I thought It was just a one off issue however it was again quite poor in quality and product. Pastries stale, bacon burnt, mushrooms steamed in a combi oven, runny uncooked scrambled eggs, warm yoghurt poor quality sausages. Day two I asked for poached eggs and heard the chef telling off the waitress because he had to make them. The quality of chef in hotels is very poor and needs to be addressed if your going to have a quality hotel. Over all nothing good to say about the food and I'm a Chef! Regards Michael December 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and cosy room Nice, cosy and clean room, with good sized bathroom that was both clean and had a tiled vintage theme. Although the room was a little undersized, it was great for a overnight stay where all that was needed for a bed and surface area to dress and get ready for a night in the city. With IHG I had extended check out, which was easy to organise with the staff; I was awoken by an outdoor concert near the entertainment centre: I guess i just slept in too long! Was a little annoyed with receptionist telling me i had to use certain payment types or can't use certain cards, only to find out I could use any payment type upon checkout (this may have been news to her which is understandable-dont know until you try each method!) December 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by If you are looking for location, reasonable price and only a place to sleep Darling Harbour Holiday in will probably do: I am a priority privilege member and use IHG hotels around the world mainly for work, but occasionally for city stop overs when on holiday. The Darling Harbour Holiday inn is situated in a convenient location for business and also for tourists exploring the city. The surrounding area is safe and there are loads of restaurants and transport options. The service on arrival was average but ok. I would recommend using the valet parking service which is moderately expensive but minimises the difficulty in finding and negotiating ones way around the offsite parking within walking distance of the hotel... The room was average but comfortable and there were no problems with anything in the room. We decided to eat in the in house Shipleys restaurant as we were tired and didn't have the energy to go exploring-this was a mistake. The restaurant is drab, the service is poor and the food poor and unexciting. We had an incredibly disappointing meal and were the only customers in the restaurant at 915pm. We were virtually "forced" to leave by the staff starting to "clean up", wrattling and putting away cutlery and crockery etc. By this stage we wanted to leave soon anyway and escaped to bed. So overall, our experience was negatively tainted by Shipleys restaurant. I think if someone wanted a reasonable place to sleep, in a convenient location-and they were not planning to eat in or use any hotel facilities, the holiday in would be ok. However, if you want a memorable experience or a romantic get away I would definitely stay away from this hotel. December 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great service, great room I am here in Sydney for work for a 3 month project that started in early December, 2013. I had been to Sydney before, but only for a week. As an IHG member, I wanted to try several properties during my stay and this was my first of 3 (so far). The Darling Harbour Holiday Inn was excellent for the price. Here are the things I thought were great: 1) Since I was an IHG member (a new one at that), they were able to get me a room by 10:30am, when check-in is normally 2:00pm. 2) They gave me a very large room (not sure if they're all like this# that had nice sized drawers and closet which is essential for me considering I am here for so long. 3# The location is great. I was able to walk to the office in the CBD in 15 minutes, hop on the Light Rail #right across the street# to go to the casino or Fish Market, walk 5 minutes and be in the beginning of Darling Harbour, walk across the street to Paddy's Market #I think that's what it's called# where there are all kinds of vendors selling well priced souveniers #nothing fancy, but little stuff to take back to the nieces and nephews#. The best thing #for me# about this hotel is its proximity to Chinatown. I just loved trying all different types of Asian food near this area, and everything was well priced. The Central station is a 5-10 minute walk, and you can get to the airport and Bondi Junction from there. 4# The concierge was knowledgeable about the surrounding areas, and the one I dealt with most was an Aussie with a very nice accent. 5) The gym was great. I'm not a huge workout person, but I thought I'd start here in Sydney. This gym had a very nice, multi-purpose weight machine for doing leg presses, bench presses, rowing and curls. It also had a sauna, a steam room AND a jacuzzi tub. The steam room was out of order, but the sauna was not and it was great. In addition, it had a few bikes and treadmills. 6) Internet was free, it seemed, however it may have been due to the corporate rate package I chose when I booked #not sure). I have now stayed at 3 IHG locations #Holiday Inn Potts Point, Holiday Inn Darling Harbor, and Intercontinental). For the price, so far, it's my favorite. I mean, this one is 3 times better than Potts Point, which has dirty carpets, dingy bathrooms, out-dated furniture, is in a loud location #ok, fine, I'm 37 and probably too old for this location), very small drawers, and $9.00 per 2 HOURS internet charges. December 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, reliable hotel My stay here was fine and the services were acceptable but I wouldn't say that this hotel was outstanding. Overall, my room was nice - spacious, clean and well appointed. However, the housekeeping staff seem to want to keep it dim, so they always part closed the curtains. My bathroom was a good size, good shower and really nice towels - but the shelf space is minimal, not really enough room to unpack my toiletries (and I don't have many#. The mini bar is basic and the overnight room service menu is not great - it is particularly sparse on healthy food options - there is no fresh fruit to be seen in the entire hotel, except for the breakfast buffet #which is good). Shipley's Restaurant for breakfast is nice with view outside, but the air conditioning makes it cold, so take a layer with you to put on when you eat. The gym is great - good, well maintained machines and well supported by staff. Good coffee from JB's bar, but I didn't eat there so I cannot comment. The location is fantastic, walking distance to Darling Harbour and the city, witih Chinatown literally around the corner. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good friendly service We stayed for a total of 3 nights and found the hotel was comfortable and the bed especially so.with lovely soft pillows. The room was clean and well stocked with teas and coffee. The location was excellent.We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast the array of fruit was lovely and my husband enjoyed the cooked . The staff were very friendly in the dining room and made us feel welcome.I eould recommend this hotel. December 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great Location, Convenient. We booked 2 rooms, 4 adults with 3 kids (8yo, 3yo and a 10months baby) for 7nights. The rooms are not cleaned properly. Dusts on table light and television. The cleaning for 1 of the room was very late. We went out at 8 or 9am and when we came back at 5pm, the room was just being cleaned. On one of the day, we came back at 3pm, the room was not cleaned. The cleaning staff came at 3.30pm and we had to rush to feed the baby and gave milk to the kids before we can go out of the room, so that the cleaning can be done. She also called the room to rush us, and threaten not to clean the room if we don't go out soon. We also found dirty tea cup and glass on one of the day after the cleaning has been done. Cleaning staffs also loud and talking about their property investment while cleaning the room, I can hear them from the corridor and have to endure the whole story while I was waiting for the lift. Other than the above, the room itself is comfortable & we will recommend the hotel due to its location. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by location great place to stay within easy walking distance to all places .Light rail to star casino I minute walk and easy walking to harbour restaraunts and sightseeing November 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Stayed for 5 days post-cruise and was very happy with the room. Needed a triple, which I only found at this hotel. Location was great - walking distance to Chinatown, business district and Darling Harbour attractions, including new IMAX. November 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable Bed and Excellent Staff I stayed with my sister and her two girls, as she had surprised them with tickets to see the One Direction wax exhibit at Madame Tussauds. From the moment we arrived, I was greeted by a very friendly, helpful girl, recognised as a IHG Member and also very lucky enough to get an upgrade. The staff from front desk, to everywhere were so friendly and lovely. Even my nieces (who this was their first interstate trip, but not first time in hotel) kept saying everyone here is so friendly here, we don't want to leave!. Our package included breakfast and it was yummy. We all found the beds very comfortable. Location was perfect for what we wanted to do. A very quick walk to darling harbour. I would definitely recommend and would also come stay here next time I visit Sydney. November 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Meeting / conference suitability Limited. Attending a conference and using the same extremely limited breakfeast area with several tourist groups renders a stay rather inconvenient and reduces the "memorable experience" considerably. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Receptionist service great Had a terrific time in your hotel. Have been there twice before and still the same good service. Breakfast fantastic. Thank you to the Receptionist for giving us our upgrade free of charge. Would stay there again and recommend to other people. Very central to light railway, markets and darling harbour. FANTASTIC VISIT November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This Hotel is in really good location for Darling Harbour, City Centre and China Town and a real nice walk to The Rocks. Will definitely stay here again. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding As always, Shandee is a star!! Dining room very noisy. November 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Accommodation Even though we only stayed one night, it was perfect. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean and our bed was heaven. Check in and out was speedy and friendly and valet parking was extremely efficient. We will definitely stay here again for a great hotel in a perfect location to the Entertainment Centre and Darling Harbour. November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and quiet Having read previous guest reviews we asked to be placed on the 7th floor level, we were fortunate also with an upgrade room, clean and tidy but was basic, could have done with a suitcase stand to put our cases on. Bathroom was small but clean and we managed. Didn't think much of choice of menu in restaurants and mostly ate elsewhere. Did not think much of the desk staff, not very friendly and forgot how to smile, but the concierge was helpful. We thought it was over priced for value but was conveniently placed to Darling Harbour which was our main reason to choose this Holiday Inn. So it was acceptable but have used much better Holiday Inns elsewhere. November 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by PP service I stayed at the Holiday Inn from the November 1st to November 5th 2013. As always I found my stay at this hotel enjoyable and relaxing. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly, helpful and courteous (as always). I used 2 stay for two, pay for one vouchers. I was happy with being able to stay in the same room for the entire stay and couldn't fault anything regarding my stay. One insignificant issue was the last two days, the newspaper didn't arrive. But apart from that I had no problems with my stay. I happily recommend this hotel to anyone choosing to visit Sydney and who want accommodation in a handy and central location. PS. I miss the monorail. November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by floor 11 hi we only stayed for one night and we were on the top floor the room was so cosy and comfortable, slept so well and I am a light sleeper which is always a concern for me when I am away from home.. the breakfast was the best I have had in a very long time so much choice all in all a wonderful stay thank you November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, friendly staff. We arrived early in the morning, so we were hoping for an early checkin. The reception staff were very friendly and very accommodating. We had to wait a little but our request was full filled by 11 am. We even got an upgrade. What more could you ask for? Thank you to all the staff. October 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and comfortable Stayed in a Family Room Deluxe. Very clean and comfortable and great view. But a bit pricey! October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lives up to its superb location This Holiday Inn supports its superb location with good quality in all departments. The only negative was the excessive price for the buffet breakfast and internet access charges for non-Priority Club members. This hotel is a refurbished heritage building on the edge of Chinatown. Step out and around the corner and you have your choice of innumerable Chinese, Japanese, Malay, and Korean restaurants at all price levels. Across the street is the Sydney Entertainment Centre, and a 5 minute walk further on takes you to the Exhibition Centre. It is here that I worked during my 6-day stay, and I was able to return to my room at lunch. A 10 minute walk takes you to Darling Harbour and its vast array of eateries, museums, and attractions. Even the train station is close by. Everything about the room was right and the quality inside was excellent. The ventilation system (a problem in most hotels I visit) was noticeably quiet and efficient. The staff appeared to be on the young and eager side. I liked that their uniforms were casual slacks and the company shirt, and that everyone pitched in with all tasks, doing what was necessary -- checking in, storing bags, taking laundry -- for each customer. The hostess of the breakfast room was notable for her attentiveness and uplifting manner. I suspect there is a good and forceful manager behind all this. My only objection was the high cost ($30) of the breakfast buffet. The food was excellent, but that is pretty steep for a buffet that is usually included. Also, the space in which the buffet sits is too narrow and crowded to handle the number of diners during a typical breakfast rush. The restaurant's design needs to be revisited. Finally, the exercise room is idiosyncratic. It is separated into two small rooms, with a hot tub in between. There is no floor space for mat-based activity and the ventilation is poor. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Situated close to the most popular attractions The Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is in close proximity to everything we wanted to see in Sydney. We were usually able to walk where we wanted to go. If we needed public transportation, it was readily available. We would unreservedly recommend this hotel. October 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and value, close to the city I live in the Sydney area, but having two events back to back in the city over two days meant four trips - unnecessary! My husband organized this hotel for me as being suitably positioned and with a good record of comfort and service. I was very happy with my stay and had no problem feeling at home for the evening. The only problem I experienced during my stay was a predatory taxi driver who chose to drive me the long way back to the hotel to increase his fare, twofold! I would recommend this hotel for a stay. Cheers, Kathleen October 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Locality to Central Business District Altho' the room was average .... but the bar and restaurant was reasonably priced and in a very short walk, you are in the heart of China Town Sydney, and the CBD of Sydney ...... Holiday Inn is ideally located for the Chinese Tourist. October 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location This hotel is in an excellent location. The staff are friendly and welcoming. It was clean and modern. The rooms are spacious, beds are comfy and bathrooms clean. Darling Harbour, Chinatown and the Entertainment Centre all in very close proximity. Bus, train and light rail all close-by. Will definitely stay here again. October 17, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 17 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Bar and Lounge Hotel Exterior View from Hotel Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Entrance View from Hotel Reception The Rocks Atrium Atrium & Reception
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading