Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 142 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs renovation! No breakfast. Not the standards I expect from a Holiday Inn Express. Needs renovation. Elevators were not working reliably. #2 elevator was stuck on 2nd floor for a while. Sink faucet dripped unless you pushed it off to the right. One reason I stay at Holiday Inn Express is for the quick breakfast. The only breakfast available was at the attached Bennigan's. This was not clear when I made my reservation. I probably would have stayed somewhere else if I had known. July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy on/off Enjoyed our stay. A bit pricey compared to others, but food at breakfast better than other chains. July 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overnight stay things were fine except for your pet policy.......................................................... July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Des Moines business stay The front desk staff is always very courteous and always thank me for being a gold card member. I wouldn't ever consider staying anywhere else in Des Moines. My single only disappointment was that there was no hair dryer in the bathroom :) July 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed . the hotel and service was good the only problem was the ice machine.tryed to get ice and only one ice machine worked and not very well July 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Hotel Choice I have already stated my concerns with the hotel. No reason to restate issues. July 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing stay We were given the wrong room upon check-in. But the person at the front desk called us just as we entered our room. She recognized there had been a mistake. I appreciate her not waiting for us to call. That was about the only good part of our stay. When we went downstairs to get a new key, we stood in line for over 20 minutes! They had three large groups staying at the hotel, and only one person at the front desk. Not a good move. There was an insane level of noise out in the halls on our original floor, as well as the floor we were moved to. The noise continued until just after 3:30am. Nothing was done about the noise level. The alarm clock was broken - did not work, did not turn on. The television was also broken - would not even power up. There was a large orange light directly outside the window that could not be blocked out using the curtains. As for the pull-out couch that was meant to be a bed, it was awful. The springs poked through the shallow mattress. Our A/C ran all night and never cooled the room down by more than a few degrees. We were very disappointed. July 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just Okay I was on a family road trip and needed a hotel that accepted pets. I used the IHG app to find this hotel. When we arrived, the lobby and hotel staff were as I would expect. However, when I got to the "pet" room they gave me, things went down hill. The room was the furthest from the entryway door, which meant that I had to walk the entire hallway with my two dogs. Inside the room, the coverlet had hair all over it from what I assume was a previous occupant. The room also was filled with allergens. My entire family started sneezing within 15 min of checking in. We also didn't like that we had to use the back door to come and go with the pets. However, the upside is that there is plenty of grass to walk the dogs nearby and the people are all very friendly. This was an okay hotel because I was in a crunch but I probably wouldn't go there again if I had other options. July 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great property A wonderful staff, makes everything that much easier when I stay there. This hotel is always my first choice when in Des Moines on business July 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by food disappointed that there was no free breakfast at the hotel. I had to leave hotel and drive a few blocks away. I was there for a meeting and they did not serve any thing either. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room I really enjoyed this hotel. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and the hotel quiet. Very nice for a change July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend I was visiting family and just had an amazing time. This hotel is great and the staff are some of the best I have seen in terms of positive attitude and willing to help guests. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Staff was really helpful and friendly. Hotel was very pleasant and open. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice place We stayed for one night traveling through to see family with our dogs. Staff was v ery courteous and freindly and we liked the room alot. The only thing that we were not happy about is that we were on the ground floor due to having pets and the windows only had sheers to cover them. There were some other drapery hanging, but it was installed so they could not be closed over the window and it made us feel uncomfortable becuse people could have seen in the room at night when our lights were on and also the dogs can see out and possibly bark c ausing other guests to be disturbed. it also allowed a good amount of light in from the parking lot when trying to sleep. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Pillows and great service Staff was very friendly and room was always in order July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast The only negative to this site is that they don't have a complimentary breakfast. Otherwise it is a good hotel with probably the friendliest staff I have seen in a Holiday Inn. July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rainy Des Moines Staff was excellent and attentive. Could have done without being woken up by chainsaws cutting down a tree outside my room early in the morning. No fan in bathroom made for humid conditions Hotel needs updates. Overall comfortably though. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by review Staff was great. Room was clean and relaxing. The pool was amazing. The only 2 negatives I can even come up with were 1) the tv reception kept dropping out occasionally and 2) during the 3 day stay, I was able to get on the wi-fi only the first day. July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Many Shortcomings Comment List for Room 424 on Saturday, June 21, 2014: 1. Someone had taken the batteries out of the thermostat, so the room was either way too cold or way too hot. 2. The tub faucet gave rusty water right after the water was turned on. 3. The tub drain worked verrrrry slowly. 4. The newly remodeled bath was way too crowded; my left shoulder was dislocated trying to reach the toilet paper (joke). 5. Many other guests (seemed like a convention for the homeless) held their smoking and drinking parties at both the front and back hotel doors. June 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by OK I stayed here and had been traveling a lot over the past 6 weeks so I have lots to compare it with. This place is OK, nothing terrible but certainly nothing had me say...'that was nice or that was good' as I did in most places over the past 6 weeks. I received a survey from Holiday Inn and after me filling out a longer than necessary survey, they suggested I rated them a 4.5 out of 5. That wasn't even close so I had to go back in and change that rating... June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, but hotel could use some updates. Our room could use updates -- sagging wallpaper, A/C difficult to regulate, water issues in the bathroom. However due to the great staff, we will likely be back if the price is reasonable. Housekeeping staff showed us true hospitality, checked if we needed additional supplies, and kept our room in clean, tip top condition. June 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel needs an update The lobby of the hotel smells of the attached pool so if you like that make sure you stay on the first 3 floors. I would also recommend you check your room for cleanliness before you get settled in for the night. Call the desk and make sure any issue are corrected. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall. Amiable staff and pleasant stay for the week. Relaxation on the road becomes a reality at the Holiday Inn. June 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cold Shower I have been staying here for about 5 yrs, seems to be going downhill. My latest visit involved a cold shower, non-working wall thermostat and staff that couldn't seem to figure out my correct IHG Gold Elite Status. I will likely give them another chance as I have many other previous visits that were good, hopefully they will have picked up their game by then so I don't have to find another hotel for future visits to Des Moines. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by storm outlook had to pull over due to storm at home, company wanted us to wait out the storm in DM. A LOT OF MONEY FOR A SMALL SMELLY ROOM ,but the last room they had June 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not for people with disabilities This room was ok, but billed as a wheelchair accessible room. They had no other options. It was poorly accessible for my wife contributing to a significant amount of stress to my vacation. My sleep was interrupted for a work related issue that had nothing to do with the hotel and was essentially the only thing impacting my quality of sleep compared to other Holiday Inns. Breakfast buffet at the Bennigans was terrible. Bacon was about the only edible thing on the menu and was only fair. June 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Party on, dude ! Felt like I didn't quite "fit in" at the hotel the night I was there (not that it was my intention) but with the tailgate party and the baseball game going on in the back parking lot I guess it was more fun if you were in on it. For me, and I'm betting at least a few other guests, it was annoying, a little loud, using the pool (and even the elevator) was pretty much out of the question, and I didn't feel comfortable parking in the back until after dark when people finally quit playing ball back there. Not my best experience... June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Stay! Check-in was super easy and the staff was incredibly friendly. We got an upgrade room that a nice mini fridge and a microwave and they were able to grant us late check-out. The building hasn't seen an update in a while it seems, but the rooms were clean and the bed was really comfortable. My only beef is that the bedside lamps don't have extra power outlets in them and there wasn't one easy to access near the bed... but they did have free wifi. They have a very small fitness center, but it seemed clean and functional, as well as a pool. No problems with parking and this hotel is RIGHT off of 80/35, so easy to get to. We enjoyed our stay so much and it was so convenient that we have already rebooked for another say at the end of the month. June 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overall poor quality After we checked in and were in our room, we discovered that one can not get AT&T cell service there. The 'free' internet worked sporadically. The shower did not drain. The a/c blew directly toward the head of the bed - offering a constant flow of air directly to our faces. Even though every other Holiday Inn Express we stayed in this trip was lovely and clean and offered a free breakfast, this one does not, but still charges high prices. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed during state track meet I stayed for 2 nights during the high school state track meet and was very pleased with the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites in Des Moines-Northwest. Though there were a lot of highschoolers there, I did not hear them! Desk staff was very helpful in obtaining a room for me on the second night when I only had reservation for one night. Super comfy beds and pillows. Wish that they had continental breakfast available. June 2, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>