• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DES MOINES
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Weight limit of 50lbs. Pet must remain crated when unattended.
Pet deposit amount  20.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  20.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Living History Farms
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Camp Dodge - Iowa National Guard
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Saylorville Reservoir - US Army Corps of Engineers
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Adventureland Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:11.4MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:450
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free outdoor parking for 450 vehicles. Ample parking for coaches and trailers.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:198
  • Total number of suites:37
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:100
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:98
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:161
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Des Moines Hotel's Meeting Rooms Are Unrivaled

Conveniently located at the intersection of I-35 & I-80, guests love the Holiday Inn® Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest. This hotel's pet-friendly and 100% smoke-free property offers travelers unparalleled amenities that turn an average stay into a stress-free experience.

Our 15,000 sq ft of event space includes an entirely renovated lower level conference center with 15 meeting rooms and a main floor, 600-person ballroom.
View More

Des Moines Hotel's Meeting Rooms Are Unrivaled

Conveniently located at the intersection of I-35 & I-80, guests love the Holiday Inn® Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest. This hotel's pet-friendly and 100% smoke-free property offers travelers unparalleled amenities that turn an average stay into a stress-free experience.

Our 15,000 sq ft of event space includes an entirely renovated lower level conference center with 15 meeting rooms and a main floor, 600-person ballroom. Business destinations like Camp Dodge and the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy are a short drive away, while the hotel's free Des Moines, Iowa shuttle service can usher guests to Pioneer Hi-Bred and John Deere Financial.

The hotel's guests love Des Moines, Iowa attractions like the nearby Prairie Meadows Racetrack and Casino. Kids of all ages love Adventureland Park for a day full of thrilling rides, too. Plus, a strategic location at I-35, I-80 and Merle Hay Road makes getting to any site of interest a breeze.

Patrons enjoy amenities like free Wi-Fi access, an indoor pool and a Fitness Center. The complimentary shuttle service serves the airport and any destination within a two-mile radius, and Bennigan's Grill helps guests defeat hunger pangs with delicious cuisine. Full kitchens are also available in select suites for guests on an extended stay. The hotel's location in Des Moines, IA is the epitome of convenience and comfort. Call to book your visit today!

View Less
Features
Whether you seek comprehensive and flexible on-site meeting facilities or a comfortable extended stay, the hotel's Three-Diamond property in Des Moines, IA is the ideal hotel to accommodate you.
Announcements
The hotel will begin renovation of our guest rooms beginning November 1, 2014 and will continue until March 29, 2015. The hotel will place one floor out of order with restricted access at a time and
View More
Announcements
The hotel will begin renovation of our guest rooms beginning November 1, 2014 and will continue until March 29, 2015. The hotel will place one floor out of order with restricted access at a time and complete all renovations on that floor prior to its reopening. Renovation activity will occur between 8AM and 7PM only. Hotel will work to minimize inconvenience to hotel guests.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 153 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Smells and needs updating I stayed here because it was the conference hotel -- but never again. The worst parts were the horrible sewer smell in the lobby, which they try to mask with some sort of sickening sweet fragrance. The workout room is a dark, dingy, dirty feeling dungeon with only one working treadmill and a tv that had no remote or picture or sound -just odd pixels. The room was okay -- just average. Bathroom was small and old. Also, they are over the top energy conscious -- making travelers with full hands and rolling bags use side doors. They block off the automatic door entrances that are a huge convenience for busy, weary business travelers. The only saving grace for this hotel is a friendly and helpful staff. They just added a nice conference wing, but everything else is in desperate need of complete overhaul. With other Holiday Inn properties in Des Moines, I will stay at one of those and drive over for conferences in the future. Other properties are MUCH nicer for 441150173similar or lower cost. October 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing for a Holiday Inn With all of the hotels that DesMoines offers this is not the place to stay. I was disappointed from the start, as I discovered immediately how dirty the hotel lobby was. I have stayed in over 100 Holiday Inn's, as I travel for work and have never had a stay like this one. The rooms smelled of smoke and must and I still question the fact that the bed may have had bed bugs because I continuously itched all night and the following day. October 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Reservations This was done with labor. I was connected to speaker that was not primarily English speaking. I don't think he knew how to spell Des Moines, Iowa. I had to ask him to repeat information more than once. This is one of the first impressions for Holiday Inn and it is not positive. Also I signed up for the 'In to the Night' promotional. I was notified that I had satisfied the requirement. Points were deposited and then yesterday I was emailed information that the points were withdrawn because they were deposited too early. The indication was that they were going to be deposited in 3 weeks. I am distressed about this because next week I wanted to make a reservation to see my grandchildren using my points. I feel like I am a good customer having stayed in a Holiday Inn 4 nights in the last 2 weeks. I honestly feel disrespected. I also want to report that your automated phone system is not perfect. I will be staying less at Holiday Inns in the future. October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 my stay before i flyout the next day. nice place , been staying here for 14 years for business. no surprises, you know what to expect. all good things. October 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff comfortable room. I enjoyed my stay. The staff was very knowledgable about the local happenings and had good suggestions on entertainment and restaurants. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and nice hotel overall Spent one night for conference. Room was clean and nice. October 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly greeting I was greeted warmly and with a smile when I arrived. It took just minutes to get checked in. Quick and easy. I actually even got signed up for a future stay within those few minutes. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Unbelievable Food & Service The new addition (Conference Rooms / Restrooms) to the hotel were marvelous it really worked well and once again I don’t think anyone can beat the food. Lunch & Banquet were delicious with excellent service! October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and good food Thank you so much for working with our Kingsway Conference. I and my husband had a good time and were glad to be staying with you. Especially the front desk staff were friendly and the food in the Grill was great as well as our women's luncheon. October 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A little smelly The hotel was outdated in comparison to the two other Holiday Inns we stayed at on this trip. Not to mention it smelled pretty bad when entering the lobby on arrival. I slept fine, and the staff was fine. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent facility Was there for the Samoyed Club of America National Specialty dog show and had a GREAT time! The place was immaculate, the balcony/atrium room was fabulous, the food was good. I just wish the AC in the room and some of the hallways was better, but overall, this place was wonderful! October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable bed and quiet room. Excellent stay and the program was handled very professionally. October 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Excellent staff...pleasant and always smiling. Pillows were wonderful...I usually get a stiff neck when I use hotel pillows and didn't once here! My only "complaint" was a lack of a sit down restaurant, while the "grill/cafeteria" style as ok for breakfast (and they had great omelets) I was wanting something a little nicer with more than just a few dinner options. Luckily the shuttle drivers were great and we never had a problem getting out to dinner or picked back up quickly. October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, great pillows, and good service Had a very enjoyable stay all around, no complaints, staff was very accommodating they made my stay very enjoyable, they were always pleasant and the hotel was spotless October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Stayed here for a national dog show, not only was the staff beyond helpful, but very friendly. Despite having a large number of dogs, the hotel was kept extremely clean at all times. I would happily stay here again. October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average -Internet and Shuttle service was a plus. -oatmeal and coffee in morning was nice -lunch was horrible. stale bread with my salad that was salty and drenched in buffalo sauce. October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfotable will recomend this hotel to others very nice and clean place to stay October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service The hotel presented with a pleasant atmosphere and friendly employees. October 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by roaches in Des Moines While the shuttle staff was excellent during the several times during my stay i took advantage of the service and upon my registering upon arrival first day -- all went well 1 st full day- -discovered 1 roach in bathroom-- ok no big problem- reported it to front desk-they just took info with no response 2nd full day more roaches..i was told that the problem has been noted 3rd day-more roaches-i took a photo of it and showed it to my conference organizer September 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location and shuttle service The location of this hotel is great for travel and the shuttle service to and from the airport if very timely and friendly. September 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room and great service. On a recent stay for a business conference, I enjoyed my restful nights sleep, food and beverage service as well as a positive overall experience. September 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Passing Through This is a Good Hotel. Very easy to get shuttle service. Excellent September 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location by AIrport I am a regular traveler of IHG properties. This one will be much better once they have gone through a remodeling of the guest rooms. The desk staff isn't overly friendly either, but they could have just had a bad day. September 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service! What a convenience staying here with an early flight out the next morning! The staff was excellent and very accommodating. We were able to leave our vehicle at the hotel while we were away for a few days. Thank you! September 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solid! Check-in was quick and efficient, staff were very friendly and courteous . . . room was modern, bed linens were fresh, room amenities were great . . . it 's what I come to expect at a Holiday Inn. However, the towels were a little washed out and the ones in our room need to be replaced. August 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Bathroom fans/hot hallways Was disappointed with our stay-the halls and elevators were extremely hot. There were no fans in the bathrooms, and fan for air was auto controlled so kept turning on and off continuously. Had booked a block of rooms for my daughter's wedding guest was given a block discount, but at NO time was ever told that due to the room discount the guest them do not get a free continental breakfast, so when they went for breakfast was told they would have to pay!!! August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time & relaxation We were at a reunion for 716th MP BN that served in Vietnam. The hotel staff was very good and made us , my wife & I, feel at "home". Our room was comfortable & the beds were great. In all we had a great stay & would recommend your hotel for any reunions or conferences. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Clean renovated hotel I have stayed here before before the renovations it is much more appealing to the eye now. Great staff very friendly and helpful. August 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room Cleanliness I am not sure the towels in the room are white or brownish color. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome 1 night Stay Very nice place. Close to the Airport. Room was very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Wife and I ate dinner at the lounge which was very good. We were very happy that we did not have leave the hotel as we are not familiar with the Des Monies area. Staff was very friendly. If we are flying out of Des Monies again we will stay at this hotel. August 22, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Des Moines NW - Entrance Lobby Holiday Inn Des Moines Northwest
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading