• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: NORFOLK
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

This hotel does not allow pets other than service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
MacArthur Center Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Downtown Norfolk-Nauticus
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Norfolk Botanical Gardens
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Free Parking to all registered guests and event attendees.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:307
  • Total number of suites:11
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:129
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:178
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:307
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
  • FEMA Property Number:VA0467

Chose our Hotel's Central Location when you visit Virginia Beach

When planning a trip to the Virginia Beach - Norfolk area, the Holiday Inn® Virginia Beach Norfolk hotel offers an upscale experience and a central location. Our hotel's guests in Virginia Beach are 12 miles from the beaches of Virginia, five miles from Norfolk Airport and 10 miles from downtown Norfolk, VA.

Our hotel's guests can shop in Virginia Beach Town Center, see a free outdoor concert or catch a show at the
View More

Chose our Hotel's Central Location when you visit Virginia Beach

When planning a trip to the Virginia Beach - Norfolk area, the Holiday Inn® Virginia Beach Norfolk hotel offers an upscale experience and a central location. Our hotel's guests in Virginia Beach are 12 miles from the beaches of Virginia, five miles from Norfolk Airport and 10 miles from downtown Norfolk, VA.

Our hotel's guests can shop in Virginia Beach Town Center, see a free outdoor concert or catch a show at the Sandler Center. Princess Anne Athletic Complex, Hampton Roads Soccer Complex and USA Field Hockey Center are nearby.

Heading to the area for government travel? Norfolk Naval Station, Little Creek Naval Base, Fort Story and Oceana NAS are nearby. Corporate guests like being near Riverside Corporate Center, Sentara Leigh and the Norfolk, VA airport. Our hotel's complimentary airport and local shuttle makes travel easy. Free Wi-Fi access, a complimentary high-tech Business Center and 22,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space makes us the preferred choice.

From a 6-story atrium lobby with a stone fireplace and water features to the cool BLU Bar, our hotel's guests in Virginia Beach enjoy the latest in hospitality trends. Drop into the Xpresso Café for premium coffee drinks or Ashley's Bistro for upscale dining. Relax with the state-of-the-art Fitness Center and outdoor pool. Make your plans today to enjoy the deluxe features of our hotel!

View Less
Features
Soaring 6 story lobby with trickling waterfalls stone fireplace & the chic BLU lobby bar upscale guestrooms with contemporary style 37" flat screen & luxury pillow top beds. Our central location near I-64 and I-264 makes it easy to get to Downtown Norfolk, Chesapeake, Suffolk, Portsmouth & area attractions like Virginia Beach Oceanfront,Norfolk International Airport, Virginia Beach Towncenter.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 230 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great View Could not get a room closer to the beach parking was avalible but strange lol August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Suite My family and I stayed in one of the suites overlooking the ocean and it was such a relaxing and fabulous experience. The suite was very roomy and we were able to stretch out! I love the Holiday Inn Expresses because you get a lot of Bang for your Buck! August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Everything was good! Will return someday. Friendly staff. Only downside would be parking. August 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beach Front View I enjoyed having beach front view. The hotel had easy assess to the beach and board walk. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel and great service Have enjoyed staying here in the past and enjoyed the recent stay with a couple exceptions. Upon arriving, our room had a really bad odor, which housekeeping promptly corrected by masking the odor with a spray mixture around the room. Would be nice to think the Hotel occasional took time to thoroughly clean each room to disinfect and deodorize them, everything in them! Was also disturbed by the noise of the jets that passed by several times a day. Seems we were in the flight path and they were directly overhead. Aside from that, we enjoyed the beach, walking the boardwalk and local entertainment. August 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No( Priority Club) IHG reward club recognition Not even a thanks for being a rewards club member. No mention at all. August 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average First of all, if you are looking for onsite parking to be available, it most likely will not be. When we arrived on Saturday, the parking lot was full. We were told we had to park across the street. There is no security or very good lighting for the lot. We were able to park the next day in an open spot in the hotel lot but only left one time for fear of not finding a spot. People were parked everywhere in the lot which blocked the entrance walking into the hotel. It was very frustrating. Also, there is no freight elevator for the employees. You share an elevator with the employees who are working in the building such as housekeeping. It takes forever to get to your room. We used the stairs most of the time. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend! WOW, What a Great weekend. Hotel and room were clean, staff was very friendly, helpful and very quick to respond. Parking was the only issue. Will stay there again!! July 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Will not be returning We stayed here last week and we were suppose to stay for 5 nights but after the first night I looked for another hotel for us to stay at. I have to say first that the staff at this hotel is very friendly and I have no complaints about them and the breakfast was really good, but my complaints come from the room and the parking situation. When we arrived to our room it had been left unlocked and the carpet in the room had many stains on it and it was lifting up in a few spots. Rooms need to be updated. The dresser in the room had a broken drawer. Also, there weren't any towels in the room for me and my family to use and it took over 2 hours to get some. I didn't like that we had to walk a couple of blocks to park our car. This was really inconvenient. I have stayed at many Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express hotels over the years and I am sorry to say I won't be returning to this one unless the rooms get changed. The pool is very small and after 4 kids got in the pool it felt over -crowded. July 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation This hotel was dirty. When we arrived at our room there were crumbs on the sink. The bathroom was dirty. The air conditioning did not work to cool the room. The sliding glass door was corroded and they were extremely hard to open. Maintenance told us the air conditioning was inadequate for the room. The front desk personnel did not greet us and never referred to the fact that we were platinum club members. The housekeeping staff were the only bright spot to this vacation. They could not do enough for us. I was very disappointed in this Holiday Inn Express. There were only two elevators for a hotel with nine floors. This was another inconvenience. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! We are very pleased with our stay at Holiday Inn Express in Virginia Beach. The hotel is nice. Great location. Good price. What impressed me the most is exceptionally helpful, professional, friendly, nice staff. They really do care about their customers and try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. You feel welcomed there and any problem or inconvenience ( or request) that might appear is solved quickly and professionally. Excellent job! Thank you very much! I recommend this hotel to my friends and family. July 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loved Our Stay! We stayed in a suite and the views from both sides of our room were fantastic. We could view the beachfront/ocean off our balcony on one side and the boardwalk on the other. We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and would definitely stay at this property again! July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FIRST CLASS PLACE This was my third stay here and as always they take care of me! Great location, Great rates, Great staff, & if you are an IHG rewards member they give you added perks! July 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beach Vacation Great location right on the boardwalk and beach. The free breakfast need a lot of improvement. The room was clean and the furnishings were newer. All the rooms face the ocean with a balcony which is great. The down side is, the sun in the morning beats on the widows and glass door driving the temperature in the room way up. The air conditioner can not keep up making the room extremely hot and uncomfortable. Overall this is a nice place to stay and would recommend it to others. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and plenty of room! Our family had a wonderful time. The room was clean and the convenience to the beach was fabulous. Also, breakfast was a great start to our day! Great place at a great price. July 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff The HHI Express had a very friendly staff. The breakfast crew was efficient and friendly. I stayed in the hotel for 33 nights as I was working in Va. Beach for five weeks. I did have an issue with using a debit card for incidentals and having a large amount charged two times. The biggest complaint was housekeeping. I had issues on several occasions getting my sheets changed, and getting a broken coffee maker replaced. In the end they got the coffee maker and after having a few discussions with management sheets got changed after 10 days. July 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The staff was very friendly and helpful. Always kind and had a smile on their face. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Experience I usually stat at HIE. And this time, they didnt disappoint me. Another perfect stay. Nice staff and room. Only problem is parking after 6 pm. Make sure you dont leave your parking space after 6 pm. July 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by needs upgrade Booked this hotel cause of relation to being on beach. That was the only good part. Hotel needs up grade. No restaurant no bar. The first 3 days of vacation one of two elevators did not work and the one that did was SLOW. Had to walk up and down 4 flights, sorry for the people on the 10th floor. Stairway was dirty and grimy walking up and down, The staff was nice and the breakfast good, but I expected so much more from a Holiday Inn. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! A bit pricey but all beach locations are! Excellent location, clean rooms & public areas, cheerful welcoming decor, good beds, great hot breakfast with big window views of the beach, nice outdoor covered beach-view patio off the breakfast area, friendly staff. Dining table in suite was wobbly, & one of two elevators was out of order for a couple days, but so glad we came. Kids loved it, had a great time. Look forward to coming again! July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Virginia Beach HIE The hotel and location is great. The staff was very helpful. Again, there was no recognition of my IHG Reward Club membership. This is a problem at most of the hotels. The hotel was full and housekeeping seemed overwhelmed. Our room was not fully cleaned on two different days. July 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Oceanfront Balcony, Enough Said The design of this hotel is great, as everyone gets their ocean view. We were stopping over on our way back from NYC using some reward points. Even with using points, we were given top floor and were even able to get a suite. Highly recommend the suite, very spacious and fantastic views of the ocean and boardwalk. Staff was great with Reward Club Member recognition, which I go in expecting, but also recognized our military service, which we greatly respect their support. Not our first trip to Virginia Beach, but our first at this hotel, which will now be our favorite accommodation next time we are in town. July 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express is our new favorite hotel! Very conveniently located near many good restaurants in all price ranges. The hotel was clean, comfy bed, staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. All of the rooms have a small balcony on the beachfront. What a treat to watch the fireworks from our own balcony. Virginia Beach is a great vacay! July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No priority club service ! Holiday Inn was in a great location, and the food was good. My few complaints: hot tub is out of control. Too many kids playing in the hot tub, when it should be for relaxation , Its not a kiddy pool. Need more house rules. Not sure why there are no microwaves over the refrigerators in the rooms, and I did not receive a priority club welcome gift. This facility should offer dinner service too. They have the resources. July 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely lovely property and location. Superb people. Superb location. Superb room. Well done! So nice. I went one weekend for two days and went back the next week for 4 days. July 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location and hotel I love this hotel and will continue to stay here every time I come to Va Beach. July 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room 1015 carpeting really dirty and stained, deck had dead flies and spills Obviously the location is wonderful here. The parking gets to be problematic, especially when it is raining. The service was friendly enough. But, oh my, the carpeting in our room was just filthy! And I mean it looked dark, kind of blackened in the "walking path" areas/ On Day 2 I put clean white socks on my grandson but did not put his shoes on right away. He was walking around the room and then sat up on the bed. I looked over and the bottoms of both socks were black! How any carpeting in a hotel room could get this dirty, I do not know. But it was. And yes, we told them about it at the front desk. Housekeeping overall was just okay. They did not make the beds properly. Apparently the bottom fitted sheets do not fit the beds. So the bottoms of the sheets were not stretched over the mattress, just laying there. The sheets were all over the place by morning! Strange. We had to request a microwave for the room. Had to request coffee packets. Had to request that fingerprinted sliding door be cleaned, request that smeared up flat screen TV be cleaned. The patio was dirty, with stains and dead flies on it. I consider this to be part of the room and it should be clean. As a Priority Club Platinum member, I have stayed at many HIE in many cities. I am so sorry to have to say it, but this one was inferior in cleanliness standards. I hope this changes in the future. As it is now, despite the positives, I would not choose to stay here again. July 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Grst location, poor hotel It was our first visit to Virginia Beach and my wife and I booked ourselves a suite in the Oceanfront Holiday Inn and Suites. We were very impressed by the location as we drove in. It was bang in the middle of the fabulous boardwalk. We were early, but a friendly receptionist checked us in and allocated us a suite on the 10th floor. The bathroom was a bit miserable, but otherwise the accommodation was fine with great ocean views. We had been in the suite for 15 minutes when an emergency was declared and everybody had to evacuate the building. Suddenly the 10th floor did not seem so great when we had to get to ground level using the stairs. We never found out what the emergency was. We had problems with housekeeping. Initially we had only bath towels and facecloths, no hand towels. We thought that was hotel policy. The next day we returned to the hotel around 4 p.m. to find that the suite had not been made up. We were both very tired and wanted a nap. We telephoned housekeeping and got an answering machine. We left an appropriate message but got no return call. We called the front office who said that they would try to locate the housekeeping supervisor. We got tired of waiting and went to sleep on the bed. I was woken by a woman who said she understood that we wanted our room made up but, we had put a “do not disturb” notice on the door. I explained that my wife was asleep and I did not intend to wake her. The solution was a plastic bag left at the door with towels and toiletries. I was asked at what time we would like the suite made up the next day. I said 9 o'clock and this was agreed. Interestingly the plastic bag contained bath towels, facecloths and hand towels!! But no floor mat. The next day we waited for the suite to be made up at 9 o'clock as agreed. We waited until 10:30 before I called housekeeping again. I got the same answering machine which promised a call back at a “respectable time”. Of course there was no call back and we had to call the front desk again to get someone to eventually arrive. He also seemed confused about towel arrangements. Breakfast is quoted as “complimentary”. There is a reasonable selection of food, most of which is edible. But there is no service. One helps oneself to plastic dishes, paper cups and the most miserable plastic cutlery one can find outside of a child's picnic set. Of the two elevators serving the 10th floor one was out of action for much of our stay. The vending machine on floor 10 was out of action throughout our stay. One feature of Virginia Beach that we as foreigners had not appreciated was that it lies directly under the flight path out of the nearby Navy Air Base. So every day, at very regular intervals, military jets, taking off, scream very loudly overhead, not only drowning out any other sound, but at ear damaging noise levels. This can go on until midnight if they are in the right mood. June 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT HOTEL GREAT TIME. VISITING VA BEACH FROM NORTHERN VA. LOVE TO COME BACK. June 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HIE Virginia Beach Location of this resort is awesome...right on the beach front and all rooms are ocean view. We did have decent service although on two different occasions (we stayed four nights) we needed assistance and had to call the front desk to "remind them" about our dilemma before issue was resolved. We have stayed at many resorts in the past so, this being a hotel, was not located in an area for many activities within walking distance--again, besides the beach. The boardwalk is convenient, but only provides so much to do & see. If you want anything besides the beach, plan on driving. June 21, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Welcome to your home away from home in our Virginia Beach Hotel
Welcome to your home away from home in our Virginia Beach Hotel
Select to close.
Welcome to your home away from home in our Virginia Beach Hotel Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Virginia Beach Hotel Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn VA Beach Hotel The Blu Bar Lobby Lounge is the perfect spot to end the day Front Desk Hoilday Inn Virginia Beach Hotels Atrium Welcome to the Holiday Inn Virginia Beach Norfolk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Kids stay and eat free at Holiday Inn ® hotels.  Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading