Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-16-2014)
(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 100 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Welcome I find that the reception staff at Wakefield are the friendliest and most helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and they are quick and efficient. Well Done July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay Easily found, just of M1 motorway. I booked 2 rooms (2 adults + 2 children) to stay when attending May bank holiday cricket match at Headingley, Leeds. Wanting to eat out, we found Silkwood Farm pub/restaurant only 5 minutes away on foot - nice food and fabulous desserts! Returned to hotel and able to relax with few drinks in hotel bar. Staff were so helpful over our 2 night stay - any minor issue was quickly resolved. Clean, very well maintained rooms. Lots of car parking available on site. One of the more friendly places we have stayed!! July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value hotel! I have been staying at this hotelsince it waas the Post House, that was some years ago. The hotel is ideally situated near the M1 and there is plenty of parking. The rooms seem to have been updated, and the last time I was there I had a Plat card room upgrade to exec room. It was good. Food is ok overall, though the restaurant could benefit from an upgrade. Breakfast is fine, and what you would expect from a good Holiday Inn. The staff are friendly and always try to be of service. I would recommend this as a good place to stay and will certainly continue to do so myself June 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and homely feel Stayed at this location on business and was met with a warm welcome by very helpful staff. Clean rooms with all the normal extras to make you feel at home. Minor issues were rectified where possible and quickly. June 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Useful and reliable stop-over I stayed here one night, mid way between appointments in Barnsley and Wakefield (Pontefract). The hotel is well located for ease of access from the M1; near enough yet sufficiently distant that noise is not a problem. In fact it is a pretty quiet spot considering the edge of urban location. Parking is abundant. Mine was a standard room, but it was entirely acceptable; clean and comfortable with a workspace and room to relax, plus a good shower over the bath. Food was easily on a par with Holiday Inn standards, especially breakfast. The staff were great. Helpful and friendly. (Any American readers note, though, do not expect a corporate inspired 'have a nice day' - this is Yorkshire!) May 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed, clean, easy access to M1 The food was only average but the service was very good. Bed was very comfortable. No strong deodorisers used which was a very big plus for us as my husband cannot tolerate scented linen or smells of any kind. May 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Thankyou for a very enjoyable weekend.Myself and my family came for a wedding last weekend and the service was excellent.The staff were very friendly and helpful.Compared with other hotels I have stayed in recently I found the Holiday Inn excellent value for money.I would definitely recommend to family and friends. May 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Basic but comfortable.. good service Basic hotel but comfortable... Staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Will be staying again soon! May 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No response from customer services After staying here and making 2 complaints we are stiull waiting for a response from customer services to our problems. As a Priority club member we expect better service. we were not acknowledged as PC members and when finding no TV remote and reporting it to reception we never got one despite the receptionist saying we would have one delivered to the door. Also we were asked to pay for breakfast despite no-one mentioning that it was extra and our normal preferred stay at Holiday Inn Express providing it for free. Surely bad marketing ploy? We will not stay at a HI until we receive an apology from the hotel directly. May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wakefield Gem I am a frequent guest at this hotel . The team are polite ,efficient,and professional. Reception staff are very welcoming, bar and restaurant team make you feel comfortable and are sociable (very important when you are away from home), housekeeping always work hard to ensure your accomodation is spotless with sufficient toiletries and hospitality tray supplies. Externally unattractive, inside is a real gem, warm and friendly environment. Always a pleasure to stay here. May 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All as expected No surprises - that is the good and bad of staying in this type of hotel. It does exactly what it says on the tin. Room generally comfortable and a really good shower which is a real plus in my book. A little bit away from anywhere to eat and inconvenient of you haven't got a car. May 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable Room very clean , breakfast was very good. All staff very helpful and polite. April 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Not as good as Premier Inn Room was OK but nothing special. Receptionist on arrival was a little offhand. April 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed, great service and staff We love the Holiday Inn Jct40, the rooms are always clean, comfortable, lovely bathroom with good shower, lovely clean towels. We go for bed, breakfast and evening meal as a little get away and its marvellous, the food is excellent, as is the service, the staff cannot do enough for you. From the desk lady to the Managers, they are brilliant and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. April 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed and very noisy guests Room was clean but found beds to be small and uncomfortable Very rowdy and noisy guests screaming and shouting most of the night. Holiday Inn policy of functions ie weddings has a down side in this age of massive alcohol consumption. No telephones in the rooms to contact reception and morning receptionist indifferent to our comments. April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient, comfortable and good food....no free WIFI The hotel is convenient for where I work and comfortable, the food in the resturant is good and the menu changes often enough for the frequency of time I stay. The only thing that I'd change is the charge for WIFI. Other hotels that fall into my companies overnight allowance in the area don't charge and this has tempted me to book elsewhere. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best HI in the Country (and I've stayed in most of them!) People sometime say that chain hotels can be "faceless", but not this one. Staff were really friendly and helpful, even offering us a freshly cooked breakfast when we came in with only 5 mins before it finished. Hotel is well furnished, comfy and in an excellent location for visiting attractions. Also note that it is far away from the M1 that there is no noise from the traffic. Will be coming back soon! April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good helpfull staff would stay here again as its conveniant to my job on occasions March 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Good value for money - rooms a little small with windows that were even smaller. Bathroom floors need regrouting or a deep clean. Nice and friendly staff March 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel When we arrived we had a lovely warm welcome all staff were friendly and gave details of all that was available, rooms were spacious and very comfortable, nozzle on shower was a bit unpredictable had to wiggle it a few times to get it going but once going it was good, the room was great value for money. The only down full was the food prices, we had a meal when we arrived 2 mains and 2 deserts and 2 diet cokes which came to £45, we did not stay for breakfast as they were charging £15 per person which we thought was extremely expensive, apart from that overall a good place to stay easy to find and in a nice quiet location March 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and a friendly service Reception staff at Wakefield continue to outshine other Holiday Inn venues. This time was no exception. Warm friendly and efficient. Thank you March 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay & Fantastic Food Very clean hotel, staff very efficient and friendly. Food superb too. Only downside is size of room (good job I did not want to swing a cat !). Food can be pricey but quality better than any other hotel over last few years (over 200 of them). Staff great, efficient, friendly and everywhere very clean. February 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Average hotel as long as you don't want to check in! I arrived at this hotel at 20 past midnight on the Sunday as you would expect I tried to check in at Reception. However the desk was unmanned. I waited a couple of minutes thinking perhaps the staff were at the back of the desk but still nobody came to the desk. I had a little wonder into the lounge and bar area (leaving my luggage at the reception desk) and no staff were to be seen. I tried ringing the switchboard thinking perhaps it would direct to the night managers phone... after about 30 seconds of ringing I got a message saying "We are experiencing high call levels at the moment, please try later" based on the fact I could see the switchboard phone and could hear it ringing, I find it hard to believe there were high call volumes! Finally at 00:40 (20 minutes after I arrived) the night manager came walking down through the lounge, I explained I had been waiting 20 minutes and this was greeted with no response, he continued to walk behind the desk came up to check me in and said "You should have come and found us, we were only in the meeting rooms. We cant be at reception all of the time!" I pointed out to him that actually... yes there should be someone manning the desks at all times especially when they have guests who have not checked in yet, and more to the point, a guest should not be expected to walk around a hotel which they have never been to before in order to find a member of staff. To top my check in experience off, I was then referred to as "Young Man", now maybe this is a local term of endearment but it most certainly isn't a professional one. Guests should expect to be referred to by name or as sir/madam. I had to remind him to take a swipe of my credit card for extras, my room key was then handed to me without any offer of explanation where my room was. So again I had to ask for this information. The night managers final response was to offer me a drink from behind the bar for my inconvenience, which at 00:45 was not something that took my fancy. I finally arrived at my room at 00:50 tired and not amused. The rest of my stay was good, the restaurant and room service staff were very polite and accommodating and room service breakfast was delivered on the dot at 06:00 as requested. I actually enjoyed my stay but was again let down at check-out by the same night manager that checked me in. On approaching the desk I was once again greeted as "Young Man" check out was fine until the night manager whilst dealing with me decided it would be appropriate to lean around me and great a regular guest as "Mr _______" and explain that he wouldn't keep him long, maybe if he spent more time dealing with the guest he was already speaking with then "Mr _______" would have been dealt with quicker. A few recommendations: - If the Night manager needs to leave the desk unmanned, a notice explaining this, with a phone and a contact number for their DECT phone would be really useful. - I appreciate guests checking in after midnight can be somewhat of an inconvenience, especially when you only have 2 members of staff in the building and a lot of function rooms to turn around for the morning. But politeness and courtesy really should still apply, your staff do indeed work in customer service roles do they not? - Finally, I appreciate that it is great to generate good relationships with regular guests. But this should not be at the neglect of other guests. I will not be recommending this hotel to colleagues. February 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent hotel Good location - arrived very late - a bit limited on staff. Breakfast was good with sufficient choice. Second day the room wasn't cleaned very well - the bed wasn't made so had to ring down and also didnt have sufficient towels that day. Overall it was fine. February 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 A warm welcome & goodservice I stay here on a regular basis and the only complaint I have is that the bar prices are some what extortionate. Apart from that the service is always good, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Have always found the staff friendly and willing. A very popular venue for local weddings and parties. It is near the centre of Wakefield and easy access for the M1. January 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff This is not the first time we have stayed in Wakefield, nor will it be the last. We received a warm welcome from the friendly staff in all areas of the hotel and could not fault the high level of service. Both dinner and breakfast were of a consistently high standard with unobtrusive but attentive staff on hand to provide all that we required. The room was warm and comfortable even with a gale blowing outside. Thank you everyone for making our stay so enjoyable. January 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas break Great location near M1. Staff great except bit of a grumpy receptionist when we booked in on the 27th Dec. Lovely polite Asian girl made up for this when we left on the Saturday morning. Fabulous receptionist at breakfast buffet bar, she was a little more mature but had time for everyone, she completely looked after everyone and seemed to thoroughly enjoy her job. We have much praise for her, sorry we didn't catch her name, but she must have had other very positive reviews for you to know who we mean. She's a real gem amongst your staff. Thank you, great stay. January 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great to return home The room was very comfortable, and Very Clean, Service great, what more do you want...We will return for sure. January 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend stay Good location just off the M1 junction 40 but I experienced no traffic noise and the room was quiet and I slept well. Lovely friendly reception, easy check in and a clean room. Car park is also very good with lots of parking spaces and no extra charge as some Hotels will try to extract extra revenue from the guest. Hat's off to the staff and friendliness of this Holiday Inn which was a perfect location for Wakefield or Dewsbury. December 10, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Misguided booking Having stayed here in the past, & it being a pleasant experience, I was v. disappointed with my last visit. I arrived early, to be told i would need to wait til 2 o'clock (fine) but no offer of leaving my bags or noting my arrival so they could allocate my room. I had booked a deluxe SMOKING room & made a point - at booking - of possible late arrival. I returned, just before midnight, to be told that there weren't any smoking rooms available as there are v. few available at this hotel. The receptionist failed to tell me where the lift was located, i had reached the 1st floor before i found it! I purposely booked this hotel as it proclaims to have smoking rooms, the web site says 95:104 ie 9 smoking rooms. On check out i asked how many smoking rooms the hotel has to be told only 4. As a reward night i do not consider standing outside in freezing conditions much of a reward. December 6, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>