Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 151 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not impressed arrived to be told I had been upgraded. it was exactly what I had booked. room was short of complimentary drinks, dressing gown and slippers. the drinks area had not been dusted at all. the bedding was clean but well worn. the pillows were old. the room itself was in need of redecorating and carpeting. breakfast was slow and shortfalls were quite noticeable as people had to wait quite a while for food to be replaced. I did report the room to the receptionist and was told I should receive contact from the manager the following day. I am still waiting. not good enough. do not know if I would use this place again. good point staff were very pleasant. December 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No Problems. We have stayed at the UK Washington Holiday Inn on several occasions and have never been disappointed. Our room was clean and tidy and very comfortable. December 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Value for money This s reasonable hotel with reasonable level of service - although during my stay hotel run out of Bonus Points Vouchers so did not get any. Staff was happy to change my room but were not able to setup complimentary Internet access in the room. Got the Lounge access but this was only for one device. All in all - good stay but nothing special to write home about. Dinner was good but I avoided breakfast. December 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Old & dated This hotel needs a full upgrade. It is worn & shabby with nothing going for it at all. Breakfast is £15 each which s ridiculous for the NE go to the toby Carvery 2 mins away & its only £3.99! We were greeted as Platinum members & told we could choose 500 point bonus or 2 free drinks we chose the bonus but didn't get the points! We ordered a morning paper which didn't arrive. Really shabby but clean rooms everything old & in desperate need of a face lift. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vending Machine! Try always to stay in Holiday Inn's when travelling, due to general good quality and price, also due to the Priority Club scheme which is great. This stay was a short overnight for work, hotel was of the standard you would expect but the stand out experience was with the guy on the front desk. I checked in at 0030, after a four hour drive and was starving. Obviously the bar was shut, but the guy on the front desk offered to get me some crisp from the staff vending machine. Just a small gesture but equally a really nice touch! December 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decidedly Mediocre We booked an internet package so we'd be able to do some work when there but on reaching the room we found no internet service available even after entering our name and room number to the hotel's system. We called reception and they sorted it our for 24 hours. The following evening we got back and had to ask the reception staff to activate our internet connection but was told they cannot do that and to simply choose one of the paid options on the hotel's system and take it up with the reception staff when checking out. Not very professional. On the friday when we arrived and we had the problems getting online we had equally as much difficulty in getting the reception staff to answer the phone so ended up walking back down to speak to them. The room was ok, the food was ok, the staff were ok but the Holiday Inn doesn't market themselves as being "an OK hotel chain" and they don't charge "OK" prices so not great value. November 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Room The first room I was offered was a non smoking room which smelled like an ash tray. I declined that room and was given a room which had no bed side cabinet on the wall side of the bed because the bed was within six inches of the wall, not very convenient for getting in or out of bed. It was the smallest and worst room I have ever had at any Holiday Inn. As a priority club member I expect to be treated better than this. November 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable experience From arrival to leaving we were served well by the staff. One member of housekeeping staff was about to go home but not only brought an extra duvet to our room but cheerfully insisted on remaking the bed for my wife. She even apologised for being out of uniform! Huge choice at the buffet breakfast. Would stay again if in that area. November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A bit dated but clean and great staff Hotel needs a facelift, but the facilities are fine for a night or 2 and the staff at reception, bar and at breakfast were very pleasant and efficient. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great as always This is not the best looking Hotel in the Group but i have stayed there many times. I always like staying at Washington as i find the staff great and the food is amaizing! Dont let the old look of the building put you off !!! Its always amaizing Value Keep up the good work November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I love this Holiday Inn Even if it's a bit far away from Newcastle, it's my favourite place to stay when I tour with my bands. The staff are great. The room are quite. I love it! November 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reception staff - don't disturb them! Arrived at 7.30pm last Friday having travelled down in a storm with thunder and lightning. Very glad to have arrived safely. Receptionist did not even greet us at all, we just had to say who we were and tell her about our booking. I made the big mistake in asking if there were any upgrades available! She suddenly came to life and in a loud and sarcastic voice said that we couldn't get upgrades as we were only Club members, only Platinum members could get upgrades. Her tone was so nasty that we never went back to reception until we checked out. The receptionist on Sunday morning was more efficient than friendly and actually answered the phone when we were checking out asking for our bill to be printed. We have been going to this hotel for years and the staff at reception used to be great. Sadly, some lessons on good manners and customer service would not go amiss. Thank you. October 31, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness - oh dear! Oh how disappointing - I have stayed in many Hotels world wide and can honestly say how disappointed I was with the condition of Holiday Inn - Washington, NE37 1LB. From check in to check out - everything seemed wrong. Lack of interest from staff, dirty stained pillows on the bed, what looked liked Blood stains on the net-curtains, dirty hand prints on the walls, dirty light switches and plug sockets, bent sofa bed, knocking pipes for the heating, main bed in my opinion was the most uncomfortable ever - apparently made by a company promising 'the most comfortable beds in the world' - I would disagree, I found it utterly awful - I'd rather sleep on a camping mattress! To say this place needs a makeover is an understatement. This combined with the unfortunately loud wedding party which were celebrating at the reception, and then stayed the night was not conducive to a good nights sleep and then of course we had the Fire alarm at 1am. Whilst I acknowledge this was not the staffs fault and could happen anywhere at anytime, the reaction of the staff to the situation and alleviating any fears for the guests was non-existant. Suffice to say I will not stay here again unless after there has been some significant investment! To be truthful, I have stayed in a considerable number of Holiday Inns and am becoming disappointed on the whole with the presentation of the brand and what I feel as extremely poor beds. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming hotel! We had a relaxing and very enjoyable stay at Washington. Staff - helpful and friendly Room - comfortable and clean Breakfast - fantastic! Thanks to all the staff for a lovely break away from home. October 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed staying here I have stayed here a number of times and the service in general has always been to a high standard - this stay was no exception. Room was good and the staff on the front desk were very good. A couple of minor points to mention however 1. The fish and chips ordered for evening meal was not as good as before - the chips were advertised as chunky but were not and for the price, I would have expected better 2. There was a lawnmower going outside my room from 07.45. I would have thought a later start would have been a better idea when most guests would have checked out 3. I had trouble getting internet access. As a Gold member I didn't have this option when signing in, although to be fair the staff found a way around the issue October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel I was upgraded to a suite room being for being an elite member which i really great. Staffs are lovely and friendly. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Cally in particular deserves a mention for her professional yet friendly approach. Please thank her. October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant hotel and pleasant staff Have stayed in the hotel several times and no doubt will return. The meals are good as is the service October 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by hotel Food was of a poor quality and had to be sent back on one occasion. Alternative meal offered. Hotel judged as average budget accommodation. Building is showing its age. October 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service Relaxation was easy in this clean and comfortable hotel. Top marks for very pleasant and helpful staff October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Two weddings, Three coaches .............” and we where treated like special guests. Yes it was mad busy, yes we had to have dinner in the function room, yes we got a upgrade, yes the staff where fab. Would go back again . Really enjoyed our stay, breakfast was a bit mad, but staff cleaned tables quickly, restocked breakfast item's when needed. The location is handy for Durham and Beamish. Clean rooms, and public areas. Couldn't ask for any more Special thanks to all the staff who made our stay special September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and great breakfast All staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to accommodate all requests - restaurant staff, reception, housekeeping and bar. Rooms very clean and very comfortable beds. Extra pillows of your choice. Buffet breakfast very, very good. Excellent variety and plenty of everything. Have stayed here three times in the past 8 weeks and will be staying again in the future. September 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn express review Stayed for great north run, other hotels in newcastle booked out, so had to stay a bit further out. Pretty standard hotel, just what you'd expect really. Nice clean largish room. But no free wi fi it's around £3 an hour, which seemed a tad expensive to me. Also we were asked at reception "would you be having breakfast"? I said " is it included" No - was the reply, so we declined Then we are sitting in our room about 2 hours later, and on the TV an ad appears . It shows 3 people, 2 adults and a child. Turns out its an advert for holiday inn express, and it ends with, " that's why at holiday inn express breakfast is included" eh ! September 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay We were only staying over for one night with an early morning start to the next day. Comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom. September 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable rooms We drove down from London with our 2 kids to spend a few days in the Newcastle area so after 6 hours of driving was tired and needed a rest. I have stayed in Holiday Inns before so was expecting good standards. Our de luxe rooms were next to each other and were very comfortable. The kids particularly liked the big screen and ability to buy films to watch. The housekeepers tidied the rooms up well and restocked the fridge. The beds were comfy and the complimentary slippers handy. The only issue we had (and other patrons too) was the re-stocking of items on the breakfast buffet, it was inefficient and caused delays as you had to wait for individual items to be restocked to complete your selection. The waitresses though pleasant and helpful did not have a sense of urgency around queues building up due to no sausages, eggs etc. Apart from this I would recommend this hotel and would happily return if I was in the area. Mrs U London September 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Handy for A1 Newcastle and Durham No problems with room or noise. Rooms are away from main reception and function rooms. Staff were very helpful, but under pressure due mainly to wedding reception and two or three coach trips at hotel on same evening. We stayed there to attend the international cricket at Durham, on a DBB deal. First night hotel had a couple of coach tours in but plenty of room in restaurant. Jack who waited our table was very good and made sure that everything was ok, couldn't fault the food or service. Breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable. Taxi to cricket ground arrived 5 mins after reception called. Only £7 one way fare. Returned to hotel about 7.30 Saturday evening to be informed that the restaurant was closed as they has a wedding reception and we would need to wait until 8:30pm as the Trader Bar was full with coach tours. Went to room to freshen up, came down at 8:45 to find trader bar still packed with coach tour. Waitress apologised said to order complimentary drinks at bar and she would let us know when table was available. We were informed 30 mins later still no tables but offered full menu service in our rooms, not ideal but again couldn't fault the food and effort from Mandy, we think, to sort out our meal. Mandy also told us to avoid breakfast between7 and 8 to let the coach trippers eat and be on their way. Sunday breakfast was again fine, and the checkout was quick and easy September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by You should stay here If you are looking for that 7 star stay the staff were just terrific. They deserve a better building but the service was 119% I have stayed twice in 10 days and it was the same on both occasions. Will be staying again August 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bedroom The room 620 was in the top floor of the block and the A1 road passes about 300 meters away. The road noise was excessive as there was no sound break barrier at that altitude. This road never seemed to sleep, and that gave me some disturbed sleep. Otherwise, a satisfactory visit. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff The staff make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. They are friendly and efficient. The hotel overall is excellent value for money and the food is spot on. Thanks to everyone. August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We had an over night stay, we found all the representatives of Holiday Inn to be very helpful and professional. The only complaint we had, was that we would have preferred to have been informed of the 30 minute wait for dessert whilst dinning and not just left to wonder and then cancel. But would definitely stay again and would recommend a stay to our friends. August 25, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>