• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: WASHINGTON DC
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

we do not allow pets except for guide dogs or service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Dupont Circle METRO Station
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
McPherson Square METRO Station
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
The White House
Distance From Hotel:0.8MI
Attraction:
Washington Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:0.8MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Secure, underground. Limited exterior oversize vehicle parking also available ($26.69 + 18% DC tax = $31.50).
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 31.50  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:212
  • Total number of suites:16
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:79
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:117
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:197
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
  • FEMA Property Number:DC0042

The Best of Washington, DC Near Hotel's Location

Anchoring the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, the Holiday Inn® Washington - Central/White House hotel is the top choice for downtown accommodations in Washington, DC. The hotel's central location, superb customer service and outstanding amenities create an enjoyable trip to Washington, DC.

The hotel's downtown location appeals to corporate travelers searching for a full-service hotel with excellent meeting facilities.
View More

The Best of Washington, DC Near Hotel's Location

Anchoring the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, the Holiday Inn® Washington - Central/White House hotel is the top choice for downtown accommodations in Washington, DC. The hotel's central location, superb customer service and outstanding amenities create an enjoyable trip to Washington, DC.

The hotel's downtown location appeals to corporate travelers searching for a full-service hotel with excellent meeting facilities. Guests are six blocks from the White House and seven blocks from the Washington Convention Center. Free Wi-Fi access and business services help you work efficiently.

Leisure guests enjoy the hotel's location which is within walking distance of the McPherson and Dupont Circle Metro stations, making it easy to visit the Smithsonian museums, National Zoo, International Spy Museum and Verizon Center. Don't miss the Washington National Mall and monuments, the most popular destinations in DC.

The hotel's downtown address is in the midst of all the action while our room's elegant decor encourage relaxation. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from the hotel's seasonal, rooftop pool (Memorial Day-Labor Day) and a full-service restaurant and lounge, the Avenue Cafe, where kids eat free. You can plan an itinerary with our fast and free Wi-Fi access. Superior customer service is the standard of this hotel in the heart of DC. Plan your trip now!

View Less
Features
This hotel's perks in Washington, DC include free Wi-Fi access. A seasonal rooftop pool, Fitness Center, gift/sundry shop, 24-hour coffee & tea service and full-service dining make us the #1 choice. We offer secure underground self parking to our guests at a fee of $31.50 per night (inclusive of DC taxes).

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 993 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Very clean room, modern decor. Comfortable bed. Dinner at The Bistro was very good. Very convenient location next to Air and Space Museum. Definitely would come back. May 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for tourist - 1/2 block to Metro We spent last weekend at Holiday Inn. The hotel was what you would expect with Holiday Inn Express, except no free breakfast; however, there is a Starbucks in the lobby. Evening dining options are extremely limited unless you hop on the Metro (1/2 block from hotel at L'Enfant Plaza) or cab it. Rooms have been recently renovated and are very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. You can park and have the front desk hold your luggage if you arrive prior to check-in time. I would park in the garage across the street from the hotel (not the hotel designated garage) and save more than 60% on the parking fees. Nice courtyard available. May 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quick overnight, very comfortable The rooms are very nice. Lots of space to get comfortable & relax after a long day of walking around DC. The staff was very nice & ready to help with anything we needed. The patio out back was also a great place to unwind with a drink before heading back to room. We look forward to visiting this hotel again. Great location, comfort, and price for DC. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st Time in DC The Holiday Inn Capitol is perfectly located within walking distance to all of the DC Monuments. It is all updated and the bathroom in our room was gorgeous. The staff are very pleasant. I will definitely stay there again on my return to DC May 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Remodel The Staff mentioned that they had just completed a remodel of the hotel. The new furniture is awesome and very modern. Food was great. Staff was good. Location is awesome. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great hotel great rooms great location Don't have a bad word to say !!! defiantly stay again May 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Thin walls, no air conditioning I arrived later in the evening so I didn't really notice there was no working air conditioning. I was so hot the first night! I called the first thing the next morning before leaving for my day of training (6:30 a.m.) to report the issue. When I returned at 4:30, the air still was not fixed so I called again. The receptionist said they would get to it soon, but I could tell she never looked anything up. I pushed a little and she told me she was really busy and hung up on me. I returned from dinner at 9:00 p.m. and it still was not fixed. They didn't fix it until 10:30 p.m.! The manager was supposed to call me, never did, and they told me they would adjust the bill and never did. Then the next night, someone moved in next door and I could hear everything. I could hear her reading the newspaper and turning the pages! The walls are so thin! She also had a cold because all I heard was the person coughing and blowing her nose! May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean & Comfortable I stayed in room 679. It was very clean and the beds were firm and comfortable. I liked having a Firm & Soft pillow selection right on the bed! I also liked having the small refrig and safe for my use. My room overlooked the CSX train tracks but the trains did not run from 10:30 pm - 6:00 am (that I'm aware of). I loved the large screen tv and the fact that there was a restaurant, bistro and starbucks in the building. Didn't get a chance to use the gym or business office but both looked nice. This hotel was a short distance to the Metro #1 block) and another block to L'Enfant Plaza. I'll definitely stay again. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Vacation We arrived at the hotel and the room was perfect, except for the air conditioner was not working. They had engineering up with in minutes to try to fix it. It was very disheartening when after half an hour of him working on it he could not get it fixed. I called down to the front desk to get moved and they had another room but it was not well positioned since it faced the rail road tracks and when the train went by you really heard it. I called back down and told them the problem and they told me there where no more rooms ready but there are a couple that needed to be cleaned and would be able to see them in an hour. I told them that really did not work for us. I was happy to see them dirty just to be sure that they would work for us. The next thing I knew the manager was at my door to take us to a couple of rooms that where on hold. He was wonderful. We moved to the new room and our stay was incredible from that point on. The double queen beds are great and worked well for us since we had five of us all together. We brought a blow up bed for my daughter and the rest of us shared beds. In the morning you could walk down stairs to get food and coffee at Starbucks which is in the hotel, or go to the restaurant that had a great buffet. IT was just minutes to the back of the air and Space museum or the hop on hop off buses right out front . Over all this was a perfect place to stay for us and will be staying again when we go back to DC. May 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clos Close to everything, decent value. Would stay again. May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great choice Our family of 5 stayed here for a week in mid-April and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent--just two blocks to the Air & Space Museum, 1 1/2 blocks to the L'Enfant Metro station. The newly-renovated rooms were very nice and the beds very comfortable. We enjoyed eating breakfast and some dinners in the hotel restaurant. Kids eat free off the kids' menu, and the portion sizes were generous, even for our 12 year old. Some restaurant staff shined more than others, but all were courteous. Hotel staff was also very courteous and professional, even when we needed to contact the front desk in the middle of the night due to a sick child. Parking garage under the hotel had direct elevator access to the hotel lobby. We asked for a room on the courtyard side and ran our ac/heater fan all night and had no issue with train noise from the tracks behind the hotel. The area does not have a lot of restaurants, but there are two fast food places, a local deli-type place, and a pharmacy on the same block. We will definitely recommend to friends and stay here again on our next visit. May 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Re-Model -- Great Location We stayed for a 5 day weekend. Was a great location to walk to Mall... Metro station is right around the corner also. Re-model of rooms looks great. No construction noise at all. April 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place The service was excellent, and the rooms were very clean. Location was also perfect. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. April 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recommended with reservations We booked this location because of its close proximity to all the sights. This worked out beautifully as we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go and were able to visit several of the area museums. The main downside to our stay was the hotel is located RIGHT next to the train which seemed to run all day AND NIGHT. As a result, we would be awakened by the voluminous train noise all night long. The only thing which seemed to help with this was to try to leave the AC fan running all night. However, that particular function didn't seem to be available/functioning as the AC ran by motion sensor and only worked if someone was moving around the room (as a staff person explained to me). I asked the front desk to send someone to change this so the fan could run constant. Supposedly they sent someone, however nothing changed. So for our 4 nights there, when I would wake up either by 1) the train noise or 2) because I was hot, I figured out I could just wave my leg in the air to activate the fan to 1) hide the train and 2) cool the room. In a nutshell, if I ever stayed at this location again (which is EXTREMELY conveniently located), I would make sure to bring earplugs. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location! Great place to stay, couldn't have asked for anything better. Room totally remodeled and bed was very comfortable. Hotel staff were great and very accommodating to our needs. Food in cafe was reasonably priced, great place to pick up bagels, sandwiches and they even have star.. coffee there! Dining buffet was good also for the price. The main thing about our stay was the Location, only several blocks from the National Mall. Definitely staying here again. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great vacation We had an excellent stay here with excellent customer service. When we arrived, we thought that the person in the room next to us may be smoking (not allowed in this all-non-smoking hotel) and we were able to move to another room without any problem. We specifically asked to be moved to a room on the train-view side of the hotel. It was so great for our train-loving kids and when we stay here in the future we will ask for this room again. We traveled to DC by Amtrak and used the Metro to get to and from the hotel. It was so convenient and easy. There were tons of student groups staying at the hotel for spring break while we were there, and I was worried that they might be noisy. I could hear them in the hallways coming home at night, but once inside their rooms, the walls kept everything quiet. We interacted with a woman who has always stayed at the hotel for the past 20 years on business trips, and she said that the majority of the staff have worked there for at least that long, sometimes longer, and it showed that the hotel was a good employer with such staff loyalty. April 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by POOR MANAGEMENT I checked in, I am a an IHG Rewards member. This was a business trip. Went to my room and around 9pm while in shower, someone tries to enter my room. Luckily I had the locked the latched. This occurred twice. Later, about 15 minutes I receive a call from the front desk / manager asking who I am (my name) and what I was doing in the room. I told them my name and I was in the room because that is the room given to me and I had the key. The manager on the phone told me that could not be correct, no one was registered in the room and that the room needed to be made up (it was clean). At this point I told him I have a key and that this is his problem at which point he began to get very "hostile" to me! Really, I am the frequent business traveler and this is how you treat guests. I hung up at this point telling him this was terrible service and I had to get to bed to catch an early plane. This manager was the worst I had come across for a long long time! I will NEVER stay at your hotel again!!!!!! April 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location My wife and I visited this hotel over the Easter weekend. It is very close to the Air and Space Museum and Capital Bldg. The room was very clean and comfortable. We ate two meals at the hotel and they were wonderful. Pricey, but well worth the money we spent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I will use this hotel on my next visit to DC, and recommend it to my friends. April 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent family location near National Mall and Smithsonian Museums We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day stay in Washington. The location near the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum was great! We were able to take bus tours to monuments and memorials, and walk to multiple Smithsonian museums and the Capitol right on the National Mall. Because it was so easy, we were able to take advantage of extended museum hours after resting in the room midday. Adults appreciated Starbucks downstairs, and the refrigerator in the room made it easy to stock up on veggie and fruit snacks and water bottles before setting off in the morning. Two queen size beds were comfortable for the five of us. April 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My 5th stay We've been staying at this property since last century when it was a Crowne Plaza. It was a fine hotel then and with its recent rehab it is still a fine hotel. They have a good breakfast buffet for $15.95 I believe. Best location near the Mall. On site STARBUCKS. April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and fully renovated rooms. This hotel is within walking distance to National Mall. Enjoyed the fact that the rooms have been completely renovated with a nice D.C touch. Full service hotel with garage is a great option while sightseeing D.C. Our family enjoyed our visit. Front Desk staff nice and Chris I believe, was very cordial. Bell staff was friendly. April 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great the whole stay was great the room was clean overall is recomendable April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LOVED IT!!!!! ALL GOOD!!!! WE LOVED THE LOCATION. ALL THE STAFF WAS NICE!!!!! LOOKING FORWARD TO GOING BACK NEXT YEAR!!! April 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable and good stay My family stayed in the hotel for two nights. Overall I have a good time in the hotel. The location is pretty good and close to all the attractions in the DC. I will recommend it to others if you want to stay in the city. The only side I'm not comfort is my room is close to the elevator, and every time when people use the elevator I can hear the Ding from the room. So next time I will book the room away from the elevator. The staff is helpful and nice. I don't have any other issue up to now. April 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location I arrived early and my room with two double beds was not available, but she could get me into a room with a queen. She failed to mention that the room was a studio, not sure I should have been charged the same rate. Ordered room service one evening. I was told that it would take 45 minutes, which is longer that I thought it should take, but acceptable; actual time turned out to be 75 minutes, too long. This Holiday Inn does not recognize IHG Rewards membership with a free breakfast, as many do. Hotel is a great location if you are going to the Graduate School USA or other venues in the area. April 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed here for the location- close to meeting center for work. The hotel was under construction while I was there so things were probably not operating at optimal level; however, in terms of value and customer service I still think this location is lacking compared to other holiday inns and IHG branded hotels. Nothing especially egregious, just not all that warm/welcoming. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A pleasant surprise! We only had three days in Washington so we needed to make it count. The main purpose of our stay was to show our son the Smithsonian museums (aeronautical and natural history) and the mall itself. We booked the Holiday Inn because of its closeness to these things and for the fact that it was half the price of other hotels in the area. It had one big draw back, according to reviews - the train running next to it. Other concerns dealt with the hotel being old and tired. We didn't care we just wanted clean and functional. We requested a room away from the train line and were given a room over looking the courtyard. Firstly, they are in the process of renovating the hotel. The lobby has been completed and our room (and most rooms on our floor) had been completed too. New everything - carpets, curtains, furnishings, bathroom etc. it was delightful and very unexpected. The beds were very comfortable and a choice of soft/firm pillows (and more choice available from housekeeping if desired). There were more lights in this room than I've ever seen before in any hotel room anywhere - a nice change. A brand new HD flat screen TV - good size and good quality graphics. A good sized small fridge and a easy to use safe also in the room at no charge. The rooms are not sound proof. You can hear people walking past and doors opening/closing etc. The train can still be heard from the courtyard rooms - I think you'd be hard pressed to find a room that is not affected by it as the train runs along the back of the hotel. It is what it is. It didn't bother me as I sleep well, but hubby is a light sleeper and needed his ear plugs. All the pluses of this hotel certainly make up for it. The shower is fabulous although the pressure isn't even. Temperature is fine but pressure eases off then goes harder in cycles. Doesn't alter the fact it's a very nice shower. There are no restaurants or shops nearby other than those in the hotel but you have a reasonable selection there. Two main restaurants (which seemed to have similar menus, the Capitol has a buffet as well as a la carte and the grill also had a bar), also a smaller breakfast eatery. Room service was good - food was hot and service was within half hour. Starbucks is also part of the hotel and there is a small gift/convenience store. The location is outstanding. A two minute walk to the aeronautic museum. Five minutes to the Mall. The hop on hop off bus that takes you to all major attractions leaves from outside the museum. The staff here are efficient and friendly. Couldn't find fault anywhere. My husband often comes to Washington on business and he said he'd be happy to stay here again, as would my son and I if we ever get a chance to come back to the USA. April 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a delightful stay We hadn't stayed at a Holiday Inn property in decades. I'd never stayed in a hotel south of the National Mall until last week. The Holiday Inn Capitol greatly exceeded out expectations. Large, comfortable, modern room with a super bathroom. Room service was spot on and the staff welcomed us and and were attentive, but not overly. Super-close to museums, Metro, and very walkable—we will stay at this hotel again. Our stay changed our view of the Holiday Inn brand. April 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel and Perfect Location We've stayed at several Holiday Inn's around the globe and in America, and this is probably in the top three hotels. We stayed on the 6th floor, and found the street noise minimal, as were the adjacent rooms. The rooms and bathroom were very clean, and the beds felt much larger than a Queen. The location of this hotel was perfect. We were a short 15-20 minute walk to the Tidal Basin, and were less than a two block walk to the National Mall. We also visited Chinatown while we stayed, and that was also a quick journey for our two school-aged children. We have stayed in DC before, usually near Union Station, but I would definitely stay here again due to the location and cleanliness of the area. We arrived during the end of the Cherry Blossom festival. DC was extremely clogged with cars and tourists, however, due to the location of the hotel, we were able to reach the hotel with no traffic side street traffic, and although we were close to the National Mall, we felt far enough away from the madness of it all. We did not eat at the hotel, but I am confident that it would have been great. We'll be here again! The only thing that would have made the trip more fantastic would be if the pool was open during our stay! April 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Good Changed rooms three times for a four day stay, twice related to no air conditioning, once due to inadequate size of accommodation. Three times the parking pass had to be redone. To pay to park at the hotel outrageous!!! Loading and unloading poor. Staff good, Latoshia, super! April 19, 2014
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 34 next>>
Downtown skyline view of the hotel.
Downtown skyline view of the hotel.
Select to close.
Downtown skyline view of the hotel. Holiday Inn Washington DC Central - View from Hotel Lobby lounge with complimentary coffee and tea for hotel guest. Hotel Lobby Day time full exterior picture. Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Exterior View from the ground of 15th street and Rhode Island Ave Corner view of 15th Street and Rhode Island Avenue NW. Holiday Inn Downtown in the evening Evening exterior view and main entrance. Hotel Lobby and front desk Main lobby view from the front desk. Lobby entrance way to the front desk or Rhode Island Ave. NW. Hotel Lobby Lobby lounge Holiday Inn Washington Central DC - Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading