• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: WASHINGTON DC
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

we do not allow pets except for guide dogs or service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Dupont Circle METRO Station
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
McPherson Square METRO Station
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
The White House
Distance From Hotel:0.8MI
Attraction:
Washington Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:0.8MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Secure, underground. Limited exterior oversize vehicle parking also available ($26.69 + 18% DC tax = $31.50).
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 31.50  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:212
  • Total number of suites:16
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:79
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:117
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:197
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
  • FEMA Property Number:DC0042

The Best of Washington, DC Near Hotel's Location

Anchoring the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, the Holiday Inn® Washington - Central/White House hotel is the top choice for downtown accommodations in Washington, DC. The hotel's central location, superb customer service and outstanding amenities create an enjoyable trip to Washington, DC.

The hotel's downtown location appeals to corporate travelers searching for a full-service hotel with excellent meeting facilities.
View More

The Best of Washington, DC Near Hotel's Location

Anchoring the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, the Holiday Inn® Washington - Central/White House hotel is the top choice for downtown accommodations in Washington, DC. The hotel's central location, superb customer service and outstanding amenities create an enjoyable trip to Washington, DC.

The hotel's downtown location appeals to corporate travelers searching for a full-service hotel with excellent meeting facilities. Guests are six blocks from the White House and seven blocks from the Washington Convention Center. Free Wi-Fi access and business services help you work efficiently.

Leisure guests enjoy the hotel's location which is within walking distance of the McPherson and Dupont Circle Metro stations, making it easy to visit the Smithsonian museums, National Zoo, International Spy Museum and Verizon Center. Don't miss the Washington National Mall and monuments, the most popular destinations in DC.

The hotel's downtown address is in the midst of all the action while our room's elegant decor encourage relaxation. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from the hotel's seasonal, rooftop pool (Memorial Day-Labor Day) and a full-service restaurant and lounge, the Avenue Cafe, where kids eat free. You can plan an itinerary with our fast and free Wi-Fi access. Superior customer service is the standard of this hotel in the heart of DC. Plan your trip now!

View Less
Features
This hotel's perks in Washington, DC include free Wi-Fi access. A seasonal rooftop pool, Fitness Center, gift/sundry shop, 24-hour coffee & tea service and full-service dining make us the #1 choice. We offer secure underground self parking to our guests at a fee of $31.50 per night (inclusive of DC taxes).

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 913 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay There is an active railroad track next to the hotel, and trains make noise throughout the night. Hotels were very busy in DC that week, making the stay at this hotel inconvenient and very little value for the money if you value the quality of your sleep. October 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overall experience The last stay was better than this stay. From my experience, the corporate and local entities do not always reflect the and provides the correct information to the customers. In doing so, it basically leaves a customer with an unfavorable impression of their business practices. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay. Great location and very close to the National Mall. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The staff were very helpful upon check-in and in the restaurant and bar areas. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfectly located. The Capital Holiday Inn was located a short walking distances from the Mall. I was there on business but managed to take in the Air and Space Museum which is right there. The room was real nice, the bed very comfortable with nice pillows and most importantly clean. Given that the hotel appeared full, I was surprised by how quite it was at night. The staff was pleasant and helpful. There were a lot off tourists who seemed to always be in a good mood, making the elevator trips sometimes fun. Overall the property appeared well kept. I would recommend it to others looking for a place close to the attractions as well,as business. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, reasonable rates, good motel We had a suite for 3 adults which was arranged very good with some privacy for the third person. Unfortunately the third person's hide-a-bed had the usual discomfort typical of that type of bed for adults. Good for kids or someone short & light. October 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good tourist location Our score for value is lower than most other categories because although the rates around weekends were fine, those mid-week were less so (but then look where it is). Similarly, no complaints about the beds, but we can't argue with others commenting on noisy trains and air-cons, but then we find few city hotels are great in terms of noise and (atypically) the air-con was very effective. We felt that the staff were always pleasant and helpful. One restaurant was being refurbished at the time, putting more pressure on the other. Nonetheless we felt the restaurant menus were varied, interesting, well presented and reasonably priced for this type of hotel. The location could not be better for tourists like us - 5 minutes to get to the Mall, but more importantly, 5 minutes back at the end of each day spent walking round monuments and museums. It is important not to undervalue the time you spend getting to and from the sights. BTW If you are coming into D.C. via Dulles airport, the 5A metrobus is well worth investigating on the web. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Visit! We brought our 10 year old grandson to visit Washington D.C. The entire trip was a joy with good weather and low people traffic. However, the topper was our stay at Holiday Inn Capitol. Staff was helpful and friendly. Brunch each day was great. Our room was well-maintained. Loved the Keurig coffee each morning. And the location was wonderful--our grandson loved to visit the Air and Space Museum, even for a short amount of time, and we could just walk there is less than 5 minutes! Close to Metro too. Thank you so much! October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! Loved my stay here. Great staff. Excellent location. October 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location for National Mall & Musuem's The hotel is in a good location for visting the Museum's on the National Mall, being 1 block from the Air & Space Museum. It is also close to the subway and Bus stop (for IAD airport Bus). However, the hotel is also very close to a busy overground train line, on which you get a large amount of 'Horn blowing' as trains pass through, and noisey freight trains late at night and early in the morning. I was in the furthest block of the hotel from the train line, and they still disturbed my sleep. The hotel itself is nice and clean and well furnished, and the room was very comfortable. However, the 'bar; is not a place you can go for a simple drink as its more the 'Grill' resturant with a bar attached that you have to be seated by the staff. On the customer service, after staying at 4 other IHG hotels on this trip with excellent service, i was very disapointed with this hotel. It is difficult to really say what was wrong with the service, but in general, it didn't feel as welcoming as other hotels, in the resturants it felt chaotic/slow, and the servicing of my room was not always complete by the time i returned to the hotel in the afternoon. October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by More than "nice" We have been around Holiday Inns for many years and this is the nicest one we have ever stayed in. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large, comfortable room. Wonderful service. I highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Washington, DC. My room was large, comfortable, well appointed. Refrigerator, complimentary water, free business center...all things you would pay extra for in more expensive hotels. The Front Desk staff, especially Rose, make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. Only down side, near an Amtrak station and there is some occasional train noise. Near all Smithsonian museums. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Location We selected this hotel due to its location to the Metro and price. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was - staff very friendly and helpful, clean, and with a Starbucks next door - what more could you want? We will be back. We hope that the dining room reno will be done soon. Thanks for a great weekend. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient, clean, courteous enjoyed this stay-location is great, room was comfortable and clean. services provided were excellent. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Stay Pleasantly surprised with room upgrades. Loved the lighted mirror in bathroom and additional mirror on wall with magnifier. October 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but very noisy When we arrived into our room it was overlooking the railway tracks. I asked to be moved. They said they would change our room to overlook 6th Street - guess what - that was worse!! We did not bother ringing again as it was too hard to keep carting all our luggage. The location of the hotel is great and very close to all Museums. I don't understand why hotels build over or near a train track!! October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location Very convenient proximity to National Mall and museums for leisure time. Recently remodeled room was very attractive and efficient. Mini-fridge appreciated but missed not having a microwave oven as well. Guests should be aware that rooms on building exterior can be noisy due to nearby train and street noises; rooms near an exit door to stairs can be noisy due to doors slamming; and during tourist season (i.e., extended Smithsonian Museum hours) inconsiderate guests with families can generate considerable noise. October 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst accomodation on our USA trip This hotel was in a great location but that was about it. The air con in the room was loud and kept us awake; the bathroom tiny with no room to place any toiletries; we went to the bar and waited so long for service we left; we tried to get some milk for the room to make a tea and were charged for it; no tea bags in the room only coffee. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This hotel is conveniently close by to main attractions in DC. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location for tourist I loved the hotel it was close to the class I was taking and the metro for visiting friends in DC and walking to the mall. With such a great location this Holiday Inn should do better on the air conditioner. It was to loud to have on when trying to sleep!! October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Value and Location The Holiday Inn Washington Capitol has a great location for the museums, but there aren't a lot of food options except the in house restaurant which was just barely ok and a few fast food places. There is a CVS Store right next door which was handy. The rooms have fridges, at least ours did, and the hotel has a self service laundry which was really handy. The train runs right next to the hotel, so if you don't like train noise then sleeping is going to be a problem. Luckily our air conditioner was so noisy we couldn't hear the trains. I used ear plugs eventually. That said, I'd probably stay there again for price and location, it's off the beaten track of the hustle of DC by only a few blocks, it felt like a good neighborhood, we were out at night and felt perfectly safe. Parking was expensive, no special rate for hotel guests it seems. Rooms were clean and cleaning service was excellent. The people who did the cleaning were beyond helpful. I needed decaf Kcups and one woman went out of her way to make sure I had a 'stash' of them for my stay. There is a bar and grille we didn't eat at because they had some really bad really loud live music going on during the weekdays. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente ubicación Maravilloso el hotel, excelente atención del personal y Camas muy cómodas. Mi hijo se desilusiono por no estar disponible la alberca pero todo lo demás muy bien. Claro que regresaría. Gracias!! October 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Customer Service Experience Ever At check in hotel staff person said our 2 night reservation was for 1 night only. I handed her my printed confirmation from the Holiday Inn website showing clearly 2 nights reserved. After telling me she would "fix it" I was asked repeated questions about how I made the reservation, was it under a different name, etc. It was ludicrous - she had the reservation confirmation with details in her hand. We booked a weekend package that included parking, metro passes and a late check out. No record of this at hotel either - fortunately it was noted on the reservation confirmation I brought with me. Throughout the weekend whenever we had to interact with the front desk staff the incompetence, indifference and often outright rudeness continued. My husband's key stopped working after the first night. When he went to replace it he wasn't given one because his name wasn't on the reservation (although his credit card had been used to pay for incidentals and he was present at check in). My adult son stopped by for a suggestion as to where to watch a play off game (limited cable in hotel meant we couldn't watch the game there). Front desk clerk, who had no other customers at the time, simply said she didn't know and told him to ask the bartender across the hotel. The last straw was when I called the front desk to confirm our late check out.and was told there was no record of it. What! The front desk clerk called back to say we were "all set" but what would have happened if I hadn't called? I can only imagine the number of calls it would have taken to get another night's charge off of my bill. The staff of this hotel nearly ruined our stay in DC. I would never stay there again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone regardless of the location. The worst! October 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and awesome location I inititally chose this hotel because it was the closest option I had to get to my meetings. I had no idea it was so close to the National Mall. It made getting out and seeing some of the sights after I was done for the day very easy and convientent. Additionally, it is a very short walk to the L'Enfant Metro Stop, which has all the major lines running through it. This made traveling around very easy. The front desk staff were very helpful and quick in both checking me in and out. I witnessed a staff person going above and beyond her duties by purchasing an item for a customer while on her break. I found that level of customer service to be amazing! October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, good for families We traveled here to visit friends and to do sightseeing. It was great to be so close to the museums, especially Air October 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Attentive Staff I had a problem with my air conditioning unit. Without hesitation, the engineer was dispatched to my room and I was reassigned to another room. October 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Wish we were given a better room location to enjoy our stay I do agree that this hotel is in a convenient location relative to the Metro and National Mall. Although there are really no restaurants outside the hotel itself that are within reasonable walking distance. We had room number 449. This room is directly across a housekeeping service room. Needless to say our room was blocked by housekeeping service carts throughout the day and noise in the evening when I guess they prepare the carts for the next day. Train noise was not too bad for us, but there was some type of loud generator type noise throughout the day and night. Also the room AC was very loud. Good thing it was not summer or we would not be able to sleep. We could hear conversations from adjacent rooms through our walls. We ate in the hotel Capitol Bistro restaurant one evening and service was practically non-existent from our waiter who kept disappearing to the back. The hostess and cashier had to help patrons in our section who also were looking for the waiter. Took 40 minutes to receive our meals after ordering. waiter later told us they only had one cook? We would give this hotel another try if we were guaranteed our room location was on the other side of the hotel and away from the train, generator noise and housekeeping service room. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service Was there for a wedding and it went fanstastic I would highly recommend this property. September 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not usual quality expected I have stayed at this hotel previously without any major problems, but this stay was disappointing. The guest room on my first night was tiny compared to the rest of the guest rooms; the fans/air-conditioning did not work properly and were noisy; frequently disturbed throughout the night because the room was adjacent to an elevator and sounds from water/knocking were regular. In addition, several outlets did not work. I stuck it out the first night, but requested a new room for the remaining two nights of my stay. New room was much better, but it was not ready for me at the end day (5:30 pm) and never received an apology from the staff. September 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The hotel is practically on the Washington Mall. It was newly renovated with very nice furniture and bathroom. It made visiting the museums and various site seeing spots easy and convenient. It is also right next to the Metro station which made travel very easy. The hotel was a very good value. September 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by A Holiday Inn Express has better value I stayed here because of the location and because the price was cheaper than other hotels in the area. Had I known my couple of days at this hotel would be so terrible I would've paid double for better service at one of these other hotels. After checking in I went straight to the bar, the bartender looked more interested in watching a football game then the customers, I ended up waiting 30mins to place an order and a further 15mins for my drink. When I went for breakfast the following morning I found out I should've received breakfast vouchers the day before upon checking in. When I told the waitress I was just going to the front desk to sort it out I was told by her if I didn't have the vouchers then I would have to pay before leaving. When I said reception never gave me my vouchers and I had already paid for it in my room rate the reply was I wasn't going anywhere until I paid the bill. I asked to speak to the manager who after the same discussion gave me the same answer. I asked to speak with the hotel manager if I wasn't allowed to sort the problem with reception, which both were suddenly more than eager for me to do. The staff are only part of what make up a hotel but have a big impact on a customers stay. If the staff give the impression they don't want to be there then what does that say about the hotel? I found the staff to be very apathetic and rude to the point where I felt they viewed the customers as a nuisance. What is so difficult about smiling people? I've stayed at places better and worse than this one, but am suprised there are Holiday Inn Express hotels better quality than this one. Next time I'm in DC I'd rather pay the money to stay somewhere where I'm made to feel my business is even the slightest bit important. September 25, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 32 next>>
Downtown skyline view of the hotel.
Downtown skyline view of the hotel.
Select to close.
Downtown skyline view of the hotel. Holiday Inn Washington DC Central - View from Hotel Lobby lounge with complimentary coffee and tea for hotel guest. Hotel Lobby Day time full exterior picture. Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Exterior View from the ground of 15th street and Rhode Island Ave Corner view of 15th Street and Rhode Island Avenue NW. Holiday Inn Downtown in the evening Evening exterior view and main entrance. Hotel Lobby and front desk Main lobby view from the front desk. Lobby entrance way to the front desk or Rhode Island Ave. NW. Hotel Lobby Lobby lounge Holiday Inn Washington Central DC - Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading