• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: WASHINGTON DC
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

we do not allow pets except for guide dogs or service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Dupont Circle METRO Station
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
McPherson Square METRO Station
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
The White House
Distance From Hotel:0.8MI
Attraction:
Washington Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:0.8MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Secure, underground. Limited exterior oversize vehicle parking also available ($26.69 + 18% DC tax = $31.50).
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 31.50  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:212
  • Total number of suites:16
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:79
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:117
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:197
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
  • FEMA Property Number:DC0042

The Best of Washington, DC Near Hotel's Location

Anchoring the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, the Holiday Inn® Washington - Central/White House hotel is the top choice for downtown accommodations in Washington, DC. The hotel's central location, superb customer service and outstanding amenities create an enjoyable trip to Washington, DC.

The hotel's downtown location appeals to corporate travelers searching for a full-service hotel with excellent meeting facilities.
View More

The Best of Washington, DC Near Hotel's Location

Anchoring the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, the Holiday Inn® Washington - Central/White House hotel is the top choice for downtown accommodations in Washington, DC. The hotel's central location, superb customer service and outstanding amenities create an enjoyable trip to Washington, DC.

The hotel's downtown location appeals to corporate travelers searching for a full-service hotel with excellent meeting facilities. Guests are six blocks from the White House and seven blocks from the Washington Convention Center. Free Wi-Fi access and business services help you work efficiently.

Leisure guests enjoy the hotel's location which is within walking distance of the McPherson and Dupont Circle Metro stations, making it easy to visit the Smithsonian museums, National Zoo, International Spy Museum and Verizon Center. Don't miss the Washington National Mall and monuments, the most popular destinations in DC.

The hotel's downtown address is in the midst of all the action while our room's elegant decor encourage relaxation. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from the hotel's seasonal, rooftop pool (Memorial Day-Labor Day) and a full-service restaurant and lounge, the Avenue Cafe, where kids eat free. You can plan an itinerary with our fast and free Wi-Fi access. Superior customer service is the standard of this hotel in the heart of DC. Plan your trip now!

View Less
Features
This hotel's perks in Washington, DC include free Wi-Fi access. A seasonal rooftop pool, Fitness Center, gift/sundry shop, 24-hour coffee & tea service and full-service dining make us the #1 choice. We offer secure underground self parking to our guests at a fee of $31.50 per night (inclusive of DC taxes).

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 930 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by DC close to what I needed in the middle of the areas that were of interest to me October 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean & the perfect size We had a great time in Washington D.C.! This hotel was in the perfect location for us and we would come back in the future. It was a quick, convenient cab ride from Union Station ($10 for the 5 of us), where we arrived by train. We walked everywhere-the nearby Air & Space Museum, Washington Monument, Natural History, American History, Holocaust, National Geographic & the Spy Museums. We were slightly disappointed that there wasn't a pool, but we didn't really have time anyways. Apparently, there is a seasonal rooftop pool. The room was nice & newly renovated...we had a King suite with a pull-out sofa bed (we added a rollaway bed for our 3rd child). The bathroom had a nice large shower with a glass door. We had a mini fridge, a microwave & a Keurig coffee maker. The room was great. I was worried about the train after reading other reviews, so I asked for the quiet side of the hotel. We could still see & hear the train, but it wasn't as bad as I expected. It didn't wake us up. We had white noise playing on our phones. The hotel restaurant was kind of expensive, but the benefit of "kids eat free" for breakfast, lunch & dinner made it quite reasonable-especially when you have three kids. We realized on our last night there that Carmine's Restaurant is quite good (& similar in cost) & would have been a good alternative to the hotel restaurant. It was also fairly close-probably less than a mile. Breakfast was included with our room (the room package that we chose). There is a breakfast buffet every morning, with fresh fruit & a cook to order omelette station, with all of the other breakfast basics you would want. This is a great perk to have included with your stay. I would definitely choose the breakfast option, since there aren't any restaurants in the immediate vicinity. One of the breakfast meals was accidentally added to our hotel bill, but the front desk took care of this, without any issues. They were happy to accommodate my request to settle my bill the night before checkout. Another little perk-if you'd like something sweet, there is a Starbucks coffee shop in the hotel & a small gift shop with homemade chocolates. Overall, a great experience! October 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location, room and convenience Location to all of museums and monuments were good. Stations to the subway and bike close by. Hotel restaurant and starbucks, great options for food/drinks. The rooms look like you see them online (updated and clean). I would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay. Only small complaint would be the price for hotel parking. October 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by didn't follow through on promise I origionally booked this room in Oct. 2013 but the government shut down closed everything. I rebooked the room for may 2014 was told I would have to pay more because May was in season so rooms cost more. so I paid the difference, in the beginning of May my wife twisted her ankle and had problems walking. So I called an had the booking changed to Oct 2014, at that time I was told since the room would be in the off season I would get a refund on the extra money I spent. upon checkout I was told a refund could not be given and that I was not entitled to it. the hotel ripped me off October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location We loved staying here. It is close to the Air and Space Museum and convenient to everything on the Mall. Good beds and a well kept property. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed dining in the hotel., good food for a good price. Mac Donalds is less than a block as well as a deli and a CVS drug store. There are also food trucks with good food on the Mall. I don't think you can find a better location. October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by capital stay Overall stay was comfortable.Bed was comfy, rooms were spacious. Location of hotel was important when booking, near sites we wanted to visit. Booking tours was easy from the hotel. Dining in the hotel was enjoyable at breakfast and lunch, dinner was too noisy after a long day.Would stay there again. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean room and comfortable bed I loved my stay! Service was excellent, room was very comfortable October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 2nd Review I forgot to include the following in the review I submitted yesterday. My son & granddaughters were in DC for the Army 10 Miler. The girls, ages 5 & 7 were registered in the kid run following the adult run. They were given PINK t-shirts at the kid run. Unfortunately, we discovered that one of the shirts was left in room #917. I called the hotel yesterday as soon as we discovered the missing shirt. I was transferred to a voice mail for housekeeping and lost & found. I left a detailed message about the missing shirt with my call back number. To date/time no one has bothered to call me back about the shirt. You'd think that considering this is something very special to a young child someone could have called me back, one way or the other, but called me back. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FANTASTIC Location for Touring the National Mall This hotel was recommended by one of our grown sons. It's location within walking distance to the Air & Space Museum, as well as the National Mall, made this an excellent location for sightseeing with family from out of town. The front desk staff was friendly and professional, and very helpful. We'd read reviews to ask for upper level floor due to ground/road/train noise. We were on the top floor, 9th, and we head nothing all night. The room was spacious, fresh & new. The bathroom was large and VERY CLEAN - I tend to be a germafob, so that's extremely to me. The children in our group ate free in the hotel restaurant. We ate breakfast in the restaurant, and the service was a little slow, but the buffet food was hot and plenty of it. We look forward to returning to this wonderful hotel! October 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Zentrale Lage Zentrale Lage nahe der Mall und der Museen. Üblicher Holiday-Inn-Standard. Zimmer ausreichend groß. Bett komfortabel. Keurig Kaffeemaschine mit Kapseln. Leider keine Mikrowelle. Frühstück im Restaurant etwas teuer. Teures aber großes Parkhaus. Züge sind sehr laut, deshalb besser ein Zimmer zum Innenhof nehmen. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay in DC The location of this Holiday Inn is main draw for me. It is 1.5 blocks South of Air and Space Museum and a couple of blocks to L'Enfant Plaza Metro Station. Hotel recently refurbished/undated interiors. Hotel clean; feels safe (key card for elevators). The staff is friendly, accommodating. I am repeat guest and have always been pleased with this hotel. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location-Good Value Love the location. Near the Mall and convenient to walking to the Metro. Rooms are nice, clean, and modern. Staff are efficient and friendly. The buffets and regular menu are very reasonable and good value. We've stayed here before and would definitely return here again. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This is the hotel if you want to be near everything. Many of the D.C. sights were within walking distance and the airport is only a short cab ride away. Very comfortable room with everything you could want. The breakfast buffet was excellent. My only complaint was the lack of gluten free options. I have Celiac Disease and when I inquired about anything gluten free, they offered me a hamburger without a bun. They really need to up their game for folks with food allergies. Other than that, we would use this hotel again when we return next year. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super kind staff I was traveling alone and in the middle of the night I got a creepy phone call. I called the front desk and spoke to Cheryl, who reassured me and calmed me down in such a kind and helpful manner. I was so grateful! She made sure I was okay and not to worry. This meant a lot to me, especially traveling alone so far from home. Thank you Cheryl! All staff were especially nice and helpful to me. It was a great stay all week. You can't beat the proximity to all the Smithsonian museums. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well located, clean with upgraded furnishings Very pleased with my stay and plan on staying at this hotel on my next visit to DC October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best stay ever. I had the best experience at this hotel this past weekend. I will truly recommend it to anyone staying in DC for any purpose. I'll give it 5 stars hands down. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Stayed there 4 nights for work. Breakfast was good, did not really use the other amenities. Overall no complaints whatsoever!! October 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay There is an active railroad track next to the hotel, and trains make noise throughout the night. Hotels were very busy in DC that week, making the stay at this hotel inconvenient and very little value for the money if you value the quality of your sleep. October 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overall experience The last stay was better than this stay. From my experience, the corporate and local entities do not always reflect the and provides the correct information to the customers. In doing so, it basically leaves a customer with an unfavorable impression of their business practices. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay. Great location and very close to the National Mall. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The staff were very helpful upon check-in and in the restaurant and bar areas. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfectly located. The Capital Holiday Inn was located a short walking distances from the Mall. I was there on business but managed to take in the Air and Space Museum which is right there. The room was real nice, the bed very comfortable with nice pillows and most importantly clean. Given that the hotel appeared full, I was surprised by how quite it was at night. The staff was pleasant and helpful. There were a lot off tourists who seemed to always be in a good mood, making the elevator trips sometimes fun. Overall the property appeared well kept. I would recommend it to others looking for a place close to the attractions as well,as business. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, reasonable rates, good motel We had a suite for 3 adults which was arranged very good with some privacy for the third person. Unfortunately the third person's hide-a-bed had the usual discomfort typical of that type of bed for adults. Good for kids or someone short & light. October 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good tourist location Our score for value is lower than most other categories because although the rates around weekends were fine, those mid-week were less so (but then look where it is). Similarly, no complaints about the beds, but we can't argue with others commenting on noisy trains and air-cons, but then we find few city hotels are great in terms of noise and (atypically) the air-con was very effective. We felt that the staff were always pleasant and helpful. One restaurant was being refurbished at the time, putting more pressure on the other. Nonetheless we felt the restaurant menus were varied, interesting, well presented and reasonably priced for this type of hotel. The location could not be better for tourists like us - 5 minutes to get to the Mall, but more importantly, 5 minutes back at the end of each day spent walking round monuments and museums. It is important not to undervalue the time you spend getting to and from the sights. BTW If you are coming into D.C. via Dulles airport, the 5A metrobus is well worth investigating on the web. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Visit! We brought our 10 year old grandson to visit Washington D.C. The entire trip was a joy with good weather and low people traffic. However, the topper was our stay at Holiday Inn Capitol. Staff was helpful and friendly. Brunch each day was great. Our room was well-maintained. Loved the Keurig coffee each morning. And the location was wonderful--our grandson loved to visit the Air and Space Museum, even for a short amount of time, and we could just walk there is less than 5 minutes! Close to Metro too. Thank you so much! October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! Loved my stay here. Great staff. Excellent location. October 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location for National Mall & Musuem's The hotel is in a good location for visting the Museum's on the National Mall, being 1 block from the Air & Space Museum. It is also close to the subway and Bus stop (for IAD airport Bus). However, the hotel is also very close to a busy overground train line, on which you get a large amount of 'Horn blowing' as trains pass through, and noisey freight trains late at night and early in the morning. I was in the furthest block of the hotel from the train line, and they still disturbed my sleep. The hotel itself is nice and clean and well furnished, and the room was very comfortable. However, the 'bar; is not a place you can go for a simple drink as its more the 'Grill' resturant with a bar attached that you have to be seated by the staff. On the customer service, after staying at 4 other IHG hotels on this trip with excellent service, i was very disapointed with this hotel. It is difficult to really say what was wrong with the service, but in general, it didn't feel as welcoming as other hotels, in the resturants it felt chaotic/slow, and the servicing of my room was not always complete by the time i returned to the hotel in the afternoon. October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by More than "nice" We have been around Holiday Inns for many years and this is the nicest one we have ever stayed in. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large, comfortable room. Wonderful service. I highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Washington, DC. My room was large, comfortable, well appointed. Refrigerator, complimentary water, free business center...all things you would pay extra for in more expensive hotels. The Front Desk staff, especially Rose, make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. Only down side, near an Amtrak station and there is some occasional train noise. Near all Smithsonian museums. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Location We selected this hotel due to its location to the Metro and price. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was - staff very friendly and helpful, clean, and with a Starbucks next door - what more could you want? We will be back. We hope that the dining room reno will be done soon. Thanks for a great weekend. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient, clean, courteous enjoyed this stay-location is great, room was comfortable and clean. services provided were excellent. October 8, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 32 next>>
Downtown skyline view of the hotel.
Downtown skyline view of the hotel.
Select to close.
Downtown skyline view of the hotel. Holiday Inn Washington DC Central - View from Hotel Lobby lounge with complimentary coffee and tea for hotel guest. Hotel Lobby Day time full exterior picture. Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Exterior View from the ground of 15th street and Rhode Island Ave Corner view of 15th Street and Rhode Island Avenue NW. Holiday Inn Downtown in the evening Evening exterior view and main entrance. Hotel Lobby and front desk Main lobby view from the front desk. Lobby entrance way to the front desk or Rhode Island Ave. NW. Hotel Lobby Lobby lounge Holiday Inn Washington Central DC - Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading