Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 932 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Location - Friendly Staff This was our second stay at the Holiday Inn Washington Capitol. It will not be our last! What a wonderful location for sightseeing. It is located directly behind the Air and Space Museum and steps away from the L'Enfant Metro stop. The room was comfortable, roomy and clean. The staff - including the front desk staff, the concierge/bellhop staff, the restaurant staff and the parking attendant - were all very friendly and accommodating. The price was extremely reasonable and a good value considering the excellent location. Thank you Holiday Inn for making our recent visit to DC so enjoyable! April 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service. We first were given a room in which the AC did not work during an unseasonably hot day in the mid 80's.The desk clerk upgraded our room to one in which the AC was working in a prompt manner. The only complaint was that the 2 restaurants also did not have any air on making it uncomfortable to dine or to stay and order drinks or dessert. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleased Had read some of the prior reviews and was a little leary about choosing this hotel. Upon check in the staff was very friendly. Parking in the garage was very tight but plenty of spaces. Got upstairs and the hallways are beautiful with the carpeting. Very clean and beautiful colors. Entering the room and it was very nice and clean. We faced the Metro, the noise was not loud. Some previous reviews had stated it was loud and hard to sleep. We have a two year old, and had no problems at all. We would recommend Holiday Inn Capitol to anybody looking for a place to stay in DC. Transportation was not an issue, walk down front of the hotel and there were cabs waiting out front to take you where you want to go. Upon check out, the front desk clerks were very friendly again. They also gave us directions to places we wanted to go as we were leaving town. Very pleased with the whole experience. April 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for sight seeing Elsa was very pleasant upon check in. Stayed in one of the recently updated rooms. The room itself was clean and comfortable. Good location. Staff was friendly. Enjoyed the updates to the room. Air-conditioner was not working the first evening, maintenance had it repaired in a couple of hours. Water pressure in the shower needs much improvement as it fluctuated from high to very low many times during a shower, and must have been a common problem. When we were checking in someone was reporting it to the staff at the front desk as they were checking out. Our second night stay, we were sound asleep at 10:30 pm after an extremely busy day, only to be awoken abruptly and frighteningly to people entering our room. They had mistakenly been given our room to check in. We called the front desk to report the incident. Looking back, this really could have turned out badly depending on the response if this were someone else. It was quite an unpleasant surprise! April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Very peaceful, clean, and the service was great. Will stay here again. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent service Great location. Excellent value. Staff very helpful. Excellent management response to our needs. April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location, location, location! The location could not be better. Easy walk to the National Mall & a block from the L'Enfant Metro stop which has direct access to four of the five Metro lines. The lack of nearby restaurants was disappointing, but for a shorter stay the hotel's eateries were fine. The remodeling caused us to not have access to the guest laundry & we were banking on using it since our stay was for one week. We did not want to drive during our time in DC so we did not travel to a self laundry. Our room had recently been remodeled and was very comfortable as well as super clean. The lack of an indoor pool & hot tub was disappointing. April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This property is excellently located if you're visiting DC to see museums and monuments. An easy walk to the mall and all the museums and very walkable to the tidal basin, monuments and memorials. Room was generously sized and modernly outfitted with plenty of electrical outlets for charging devices. Food in the restaurants was good to very good and the staff was friendly and helpful during our entire 4-day stay. Our only complaint was that the heating/cooling system fan was almost too powerful and only seemed to have one speed: high. To cope, we had to turn the entire system off when it got too cold. I'm chalking that up to the timing of our visit being between heating and cooling seasons, but it could just be user incompetence. In fairness, we never brought this problem to the staff's attention, so an easy solution might have been available. April 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 very clean room. Newly renovated We recently visited D.C. When I reserved my room over the phone. I was told one price per night for our room. Once we were ready to check out and I went to pay the bill the room was billed at a much higher rate per night. Make sure that it is writing or email before you stay, or they will over charge you. We called to get more coffee and tea for our Keurig machine.... we never did get it. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 A wonderful experience! Excellent staff and service! I arrived early and the bell staff were so accommodating when I left my luggage and then went back to retrieve them. Thank you, Cedric. He also gave me some tips about the area. I loved the room! The bed and pillows were very, very comfortable--like being at home. Loved the large bathroom shower! My room was cleaned thoroughly everyday and it was a great place to unwind after the training (and some shopping at night). Although the ice machine was inoperable, the 8th floor "houseman" graciously volunteered to go to another floor and brought me ice. Thank you for a wonderful stay, I am definitely recommending Holiday Inn-Capitol! April 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comedy of Errors Checked in to beautiful lobby and given a room. Room 217 - nicely remodeled but no closet!!! Who redesigns a room in the heart of DC for business and does not give a closet or anyplace to hang suits? So had to wait in a long line ....again. First time treated wonderfully the next not so much. So now given room on 9th floor - LITERALLY across the hall from where they were still remodeling and painting the room and door frame. Yes - my room smelled of paint and I could not open the windows. Came back 6 hours later and luckily it was mostly gone. But there was no TV service to watch March madness. REALLY Hotel is nice... most of staff really friendly - over priced for what you get but understand time of year/location. However, all of the troubles in the first 12 hours of a 36 hour stay really caused issues. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service, great stay overall. Front desk service was exceptional (especially Rose). Newly decorated room was comfortable and very well appointed. Location was terrific. We ate at the hotel for both breakfast and happy hour everyday, and the food and service were very good at both. This hotel was a major part of making our trip to DC a success. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Excellent stay, great service, best location, delicious breakfast. April 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Only a few minutes to walk to Smithsonian Intitution. Was really a great location for our trip , walked to Smithsonian to meet two other couples in a matter of a couple of minutes. Left car at hotel so no parking issues as we went to various locations. April 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service with great food at reasonable prices The room was outstanding clean. Was warned of train noise and was assigned room on street side away from trains. Slept like a baby! Bar and grill was delightful...excellent food at very reasonable prices! Will be back next year. April 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Too much noise Right next to a railroad track come on!! Not only where we next to a rail road with Trains passing all night long but right across the hall was the elevator with kids and noise all hours of the day and night. Also the walls are so thin I could hear the rooms next to us and all the noise or even the talking plus did I mention the construction going on not only outside but the room two doors down!! April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place The room was very clean and quiet. We love staying here because it's very reasonable, and it's close to the museums. April 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Great Room If You Don't Want to Sleep When walking into this Holiday Inn, my wife and I thought the room was great (very clean, accommodating for work and play, and the pivoting TV made it easy to watch TV from all angles of the room). If my stay at the Holiday Inn ended that moment, I would have given this review 5 stars. What killed this review? A sleepless night due to the incredibly thin walls. The walls were so incredibly thin that we heard the TV of our next door neighbor all night (as he/she did not turn off the TV all night). We also heard everyone walking through the halls, so clearly and loudly that it was as if the the people passing by the halls were in our room. Lastly, we woke up to a train blowing their obnoxiously loud horn passing by downtown Washington DC as a cherry on top of our sleepless night. All in all, it was a really nice room, just not a room that you would want to sleep in. April 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Update Staff & Policies The staff refused to treat my debit/credit card as a credit card, taking out $50 "for incidentals" which would stay in their possession for "3-5 days" for a one night stay (We never use up any of this hold on our credit card). This policy needs refinement; the money taken should be returned immediately on departure since it is an inconvenience and no service or goods are provided for it. I was not acknowledged as a priority club member on arrival. The hotel is undergoing renovation which will be nice when concluded. The train is still an issue for those who are light sleepers. April 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Away for a Saturday Night The room was nice; however, I did have a couple issues. 1) There drilling from construction a good portion of the day 2) They had no bottled water at the front desk 3) I asked for toothpaste the 1st night and waited forever. It never came. So, I had to call the next day and wait a long time until it finally came. I’d be much happier if it came the 1st night. 4) The concierge had trouble communicating the parking situation for me, so I had to wait in a long line to get information about parking options. The front desk guy was helpful, so that part was good. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Pierce's We so much enjoyed our stay with you in Washington Dc. This hotel is so handy to the mall area and all the museums. Had a wonderful time. April 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Total disappointment My husband and I and our daughter and grand daughter arrived about 2:00 a.m. in the morning and got to sleep about 2:30 a.m. on March 25th. We were awakened during the night by train whistles and noises. Our room was across from the L'Enfant Train stop. Construction work in the hotel began about 7:30 a.m. every day. Our daughter's room was next door to the construction and we were two doors down. Had we known about the construction we would have never booked the rooms. When we asked to be moved, we were told there wasn't anything any better available and that the construction was posted on the web page and we were informed when we checked in. Neither was true. We booked the rooms in November and there was nothing posted or mentioned at time of booking. We were not told of the construction when we checked in. On Wednesday afternoon there was a film of white powder over the desk and our laptop computer which we had left open. When we reported they sent someone to look at it and they called housekeeping. We had requested a vacumn to clean the laptop. Instead what we got was a well intended housekeeping attendent with a spray bottle and cloth. She cleaned the desk....and the computer. Fortunately it does not appear to be harmed. On Thursday, the white powder was back. We also pointed out a 1 onch gap in the metal window frame that you could feel the air coming in especially with the wind blowing. This probably didn't help matters with the nightly noise from the trains. This time they moved us to a nice room on the 8th floor overlooking the courtyard so it was quieter and they gave us coupons for breakfast. Sunday evening (our last night) the front desk called and said we would have to move due to a water leak that required them to shut down the water to that portion of the hotel. They moved us to a smaller room on the third floor. It was o.k. and they gave us vouchers for free dinners in the restaurant.that night. but we had noisy neighbors. So, of the 7 nights we stayed at the hotel, we had 3 nights of decent rest.. The days in all rooms were filled with construction noise. Our daugher and grand daughter opted to "tough it out" and stayed in their room next to the construction on the 5th floor. They were overlooking the courtyard and didn't have the train noise but their room was very dusty. Our grand daughter was ill the first three days of the stay and the noise from construction didn't make for a very pleasant recovery. We have stayed at Holiday Inns for many years. We spent our honeymoon in 1966 at the Holiday Inn on the Wharf in San Francisco. We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Capitol in D. C. a number of times and have appreciated the location. We have never had an experience this bad at any hotel anywhere and we have done a lot of traveling. The staff seemed overwhelmed with the situation and were more concerned about giving the company line and not rocking the boat than caring for customers. We understand that an update of the facility was needed and construction always has its issues. But we were not informed in advance, If we had been, we would have stayed elsewhere. We tried to find another room at another hotel after our first night but at that late notice we were not able to find one that we could afford. Unfortunately, we are so upset about this stay, we probably will never stay at a Holiday Inn property again. Nor will we be able to recommend Holiday Inn to anyone. April 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 No One Cares I was sent to my room 3 times with a key that did not work. The work out room was filthy. Construction noise started at 8:00. The bathroom was dirty. The HVAC system was noisy and kept me up most of the second night I was there. I have stayed in a lot of 2 star 3rd world hotels and they were luxurious compared to this Holliday Inn. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Definitely Stay Here The location of this hotel is perfect for the family visiting Washington. The staff aims to please and makes sure that your stay exceeds your expectations. The room was newly furnished and every surface was spotless. The bedding is very comfortable for a good night's sleep. The bar, 21st Amendment, has a nice menu and the food is well prepared. The service is swift and friendly. The buffet breakfast is varied with healthy items, fresh pineapple, melons and an omelette station with a gentleman who knows how to make a delicious one. The Starbucks off the lobby is also a nice feature. We have stayed here many times and will stay here again and again. April 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Under new management? I believe this was my fourth stay in about 10 years. Location is EXCELLENT !!! Housekeeping staff did a wonderful job of keeping towels and washrags stocked for five females daily. They politely checked to see if we were exiting for the day when we passed in the hallways -- never interrupted us in our room. Bistro breakfast waiter with great timing was superb down to shaking and unscrewing ketchup bottle for the kids. On the downside, finding out there was a $50 per day incidentals charge at check-in made a huge dent on the credit card we planned on using for meals and souvenirs. It was stressful getting the night manager to work out a delayed adjustment. April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable and excellent service Close to the Capital Hill, I had some interviews on the hill with some Senators and Congressmen and Woman. My wife loved it as it was so close to most of the museums and McDonalds while she waited for me . The front desk staff were very helpful with a nice smile on their face. The Taxi is always there at the front. What more can we ask for. I did recommended this to all my colleagues to use for next year visit. Thank you so much April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to National Mall Friendly staff. Clean room. So close to everything. Loved the Happy Hour when drinks were very reasonably priced. April 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Quality Room, Lack of useful Information my room was clean, fresh, comfortable and nice It took a very long time to check in. Once I was given a key to the fitness room, nobody remembered to tell me that although it is on the 2nd floor, the elevator doesn't go to that floor due to renovations and I had to go hunting for the way there (Which was very dusty/constructiony). There was no sign in the room, elevator, or anything. This would be helpful to any guest considering visiting the fitness room. March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Custumer Service and Unbeatable Location Alex at the front desk took care of our family's needs during our stay. Room was modern, updated, clean and had all the amenities. Food at restaurant was great. This location was close to all the sites, metro station and additional places to eat. Only con was because it is located so close to the metro station, you do hear the metro trains running late into the night and then again starting early in the morning. March 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Remodeling issues There is currently remodeling projects in progress within the Capital property. The hot water issue (lack of) with the showers was not well publicized to the guest. I typed notice was posted in the elevator, not easily seen when entering. No notice was given at the front desk at the time of check-in. Also experienced an issue with a elevator the could not reach my room floor. When this was addressed to the front desk the staff seemed aware of the issue but again did not advise me at the time of check-in. There was also a screw placed in the railing of the curtains that prevented them from being totally closed; 6 inch gap allowing a view of the room from outside. March 29, 2014
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 32 next>>