Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 913 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Awful Hotel I usually do not take the time to complete surveys but I wanted to help anyone out there considering staying at this hotel. From the very start the experience was awful. The computer system was down, for hours, and the front desk did not care how long anyone was waiting. Just by chance I approached the desk and found out it was back up. I, not the staff, announced the computer was up and there was a mad rush to the desk. One lady said she had waited over 5 hours. The staff was very rude and did not care. The room was dirty. The restaurant charged me $11.00 for one of the worst cocktails I ever had and then made a mistake on the bill. The heat did not work, the toilet did not flush, the bathtub did not drain. Do not stay at this dump. Oh, by the way, my room rate was $189.00. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! Always wanted to stay here, glad we did. Close to everything - downtown and museums, Metro, and there are restaurants and a tour desk inside. Only thing more perfect would have been a casual restaurant nearby the hotel. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location It was nice spending our 5 days in Washington , and we ask you for a quite room and the court yard was the right choice thank you, plenty warm in the room, also the breakfast was pretty good . Construction was not a problem. February 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disaster Hello, I had a very bad experience. I got to the hotel after 9pm, got registered and went to my room, turns out the room was not ready (bed not made and very bad odor). I went back to the lobby and complained about it, they told me I had to wait 20 minutes. After 15 minutes they told me I was going to get another room. I went to the 2nd room and bed was made but the room was not cleaned properly, also had very bad odor. I definitively didn't have a good experience... February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Remodel Really like the remodel. Rooms look great. Staff, as always very friendly and helpful. February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 BEST LOCATION AND FRIENDLY SERVICE I visit Washington, DC every year and always stay at the Holiday Inn Capitol. The location enables me to walk to almost every site I wish to see. I now "know " most of the dining room staff who make me feel very welcome. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I will visit this hotel again. February 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room stay ON CHECKING staff was rude. some work is going on and so much disturbance and they did not inform me On Checking room amenities was not kept and I noticed next day morning but House Keeping Supervisor could resolve the issue. There were many issues but 2nd day House keeping supervisor was very good and she shorted out room amenities. February 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay, goofy furnishings The staff and complimentary wireless internet were excellent. The location was perfect for my work in DC and would also have been perfect for most tourists (near Smithsonian, Metro stop, etc.). I thought the trains on the nearby elevated track would be a problem, but they stopped running fairly early in the evening. Most furnishings were fine, but one piece left me wondering what they were thinking. This was a single large piece with a long surface about counter height that had the minibar and drawers for clothes on one end, and a roll-out table on the other. Since there was no desk, the table was apparently meant to function as a desk. This would have been OK, if decidedly suboptimal, except that the bed came to within about two feet of the table, so there was no room to roll it out! As a result, there was no decent surface on which to work. Even if it had been possible to roll out the table, it would have been a poor substitute for a desk with a lamp and plugs for laptop and phone. February 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay / Great Staff Hotel is just 3 walking minutes from the Air & Space museum. Several fast food outlets + a pharmacy within 100 meters. The entire staff was smiling and seemed genuinely happy - they set the tone for what was a very nice stay. February 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Looks nice, but not comfortable The ambiance of the hotel and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is fantastic, and I love that there's free WiFi. However, I cannot condone how uncomfortable the room was. The blanket on the bed was very thin, and in conjunction with the picture window, the room temperature in February in Washington DC was pretty unpleasant, even with the heat turned up. Alongside the rock-hard bed, the room itself didn't lend itself to a good night's sleep. February 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel This is a great hotel. Unfortunately we were here during construction and it didn't matter if you were on the 2nd floor or the 8th floor, it sounded like they were drilling next door to you. Because of the construction which runs Mon-Sat 9-5, cable service was disrupted. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would come back, preferably after the renovations are complete! January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Good Stay Comfortable beds, great location, nice hotel-had a great time visiting Smithsonian museums January 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place, good location, good value I was in town for a brief stay to work in the city. I showed up late on Saturday night and left the following evening. The room was good and the bed was comfortable. The hotel bar was pretty busy, I think there was some type of formal party there, I felt out of place and did not stay at the bar. There is not much open near the hotel on Saturday night (by near I mean within a block or two) so I opted to just get some sleep. One very nice thing the staff did was tell me to not bother paying the hotel $30+ for parking since there was plenty of meter parking right outside and meters are free on weekends. I'm not sure many hotels would give up that $30 that easily. I'd stay here again. January 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Waste of Money! Why waste your money staying at this hotel! Sure it has a good location near the Smithsonian Museums, underground parking, and a great buffet breakfast but that does not makeup for all of the problems. There is a reason that there is a $100 penalty for early checkout at this hotel...we where not in our room for 5 minutes before I went down to the front desk and requested another room because of the construction noise on the entire fourth floor...and you could still hear the construction noise (10 AM to 5 PM) on the ninth floor. I understand the renovation work because basically the decor of the rooms is 1970s or 1980s and really the rooms are not that clean or properly maintained. But what concerned me the most was the non-disclosure of the construction...for example it was not disclosed in any of the e-mail communications, not at check-in, and not even a sign on the check-in counter...basically when I went back to change my room I was told that it was posted on the hotel website. The reason I choose this hotel is because of the underground parking which is difficult because you have to park between all of the piers in the in the parking garage and the parking spaces near the elevators are the most difficult because you back out a 100 yards while turning corners trying not to back into any piers or parked cars. Also the elevator security where you insert your room card to access the guest rooms is not working so anyone can access all of the guest floors...and we received several takeout menus from local Chinese restaurants under our door at night and later a delivery of Chinese food to our room...and there is no room safe for your valuables. If that is not enough there is no WIFI reception on the ninth floor so you have to go down to the lobby and use the Business Office for your internet access which was also the playground for the children staying at the hotel. I almost forgot if you are interested in sleep quality request a room that is away from the side of the hotel that faces the regional train...and yes you can hear it all the way up to the ninth floor and it is louder than the construction noise. This is my first stay at a Holiday Inn in a long time and it will be my last stay at a Holiday Inn for a long time. January 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A very nice experience We stayed at this hotel for New Year's and it was a very positive experience in general. The hotel is conveniently located just walking distance from the Smithsonians, and the Mall; also there's a metro station just two blocks away. The staff was always very helpful for anything we needed: directions, maps, recommendations for New Year's, anything. The service at the restaurant was extraordinary too. There's a taxi stand right at the door that takes you anywhere in the city. The only things I didn't love were the pillows (too soft), that there aren't any restaurants nearby. The hotel itself has two restaurants but they aren't open till late, there's a MacDonald's just two doors away that closes at midnight, but if you want a healthier choice late at night, you can't find anything nearby. And that the internet connection in our room was terrible, you had to stand at the door to get it or even step outside of the room to get connected... Despite these "negative" things, I do recommend this hotel, it is a very good choice when visiting Washington. January 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location For sightseeing, everything is walkable. The hotel is undergoing renovations so some age related cosmetic issues are being addressed. The rooms were very well furnished and very comfortable. This is the 4th time we have stayed at this hotel and would recommend it to any one else. The hotel restaurant had excellent dinners and a good breakfast buffet. Children 12 and under eat free at both meals which is a great cost saving feature. January 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Need to advertise that they are under construction Holiday Inn is usually my first choice when travelling because you can depend on the comfort of the rooms and the friendliness of the staff. This hotel Is not comfortable. They are doing major renovations on multiple floors. The hallways are cold and the rooms are only slightly better. The only floor where the ice machine works is the 8th floor. The service people at the front desk provide the poorest service. All other service people meet the standard of a typical Holiday Inn. I stayed at the hotel twice in December because it was provided convenient proximity to work. I stayed on the ninth and second floors and realized my first experience was not a fluke. The service people at the front desk were indifferent to my report that the rooms and hallway were cold. I blasted my heat at 75. You do not get good value for the money at this location. January 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 The Staff not friendly I stayed there on December 26 to 28 2013. The room is not clean and there were construction near my room (which is i thought they're not supposed to give me the room next the construction).....it makes a noisy sound.....when i called the front desk asked abut this....she said yes there were construction and when i said i heard the noise since morning and i asked when it will be finish she said 5 pm....and i said so it's gonna be almost a day then....and she said it's not a day it's only 2 hours more because if u can see the time now it's 3PM and they gonna stop by 5PM. I said to her yes i know but like i said i heard the noise since morning that's why i said the whole day.....and she said with her arrogant tone....it's only 2 hours not the whole day........ I was so disappointed with the front desk......she supposed not respond me like that.......she's even not say sorry for the inconvenient ......they gave me a room next to construction which they know it's gonna noise ...... This is my 2nd experience stayed at Holiday Inn in Washington DC......The first time i stayed (but not at holiday inn capitol) on summer 2012...the hotel is nice and clean and the staff is so kind and friendly. Really not a friendly and helpful front desk....:( January 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the price, below-average service., location is the only positive. We are a family of 3 including a 6-yr old and stayed at this hotel for two nights during our trip to DC to visit the museums and attractions. 1) I had made a request for a microwave after making my hotel reservation online. I checked if there was any extra charges for the microwave by calling the hotel front desk, and the staff responded that there was no extra charge. However when I checked-in, the front desk told me that was not correct. At check-in, not only did the staff not have the courtesy or the diligence to let us know they did not have any available, when I let them know that I had requested in advance, they checked with their backend staff and told me that none was available. The first word that comes out of their mouth is always "apologize" like everything in the world will be set right by the use of that word. Further, if they were considerate enough to provide the best customer service they would have asked me if I would like to be put on a wait-list or something of that sort and be informed whenever one becomes available. But, they don't seem to care. 2) Our room was located on the side adjacent to the railway tracks. Even though it was on the 9th floor, the sound of the trains was loud enough to break the sleep, so it was difficult to get a good sleep.So I suggest making sure your room is on the side away from the tracks. 3) The room condition was quite good. The beds were comfortable and sheets looked very clean, no wear or stains. The carpet also looked clean and well maintained, did not see any spots or stains. I am kind of a clean freak, and wants things to be "spotless clean", so any spots or wear catches my eyes right away. However, the work-chair in the room was in bad state. One of the arm-rests was torn, cut and worn-out, and it looked like it was infected or a cat/dog had nibbled on it. We did not like to use that chair for that reason. In the bathroom, the wall directly across the door had a lot of stains (looked dirty) and there was a very clearly visible dark spot that looked yucky and made us a bit uncomfortable about the overall condition of the room. I have added both the pictures in my review so you know what exactly it is. 4) On the night we checked-in, we requested a wake-up call for 06:30AM the next day, but no wake-up call came to our room in the morning. When we asked the service staff and talked to manager, they blamed something had happened in their computer system. The first thing the manager asked us was "Do you have time for breakfast this morning?" Fortunately my wife had woken me up early and since I was within our planned schedule, so I answered yes. The manager immediately offered me to give me two breakfast coupons if I came down to the restaurant downstairs. This is nothing more than a cheap bait played by the hotel staff., and I rejected their courtesy offer as this in no way would get us what we were missing without the microwave. :( 5) When I asked this manager who was on duty that morning if they can get us a microwave if they were so considerate enough, the manager had one of the staff bring a microwave to our room in the next half hour. 6) We made our reservations at a package price that included parking. It was nice that it was paid for until 5pm on the day of checkout (so we could leave the car in the parking even though we had checked out of the hotel) which is good if you are visiting during a holiday time like we did during Christmas holiday week. 7) The business center that is accessible via the access card is a good plus. We could print our Capitol tour reservation at no charge though one of the printers did not seem to be working, and had to do it via another one. We did not use the restaurants inside the hotel or any other services, so no review on those. Overall, I think the hotel does not have the best service you would expect from a Holiday Inn, but it takes some effort and trouble to get what you need., and some of the staff is not dedicated. Unless you are a business traveller, I don't think it is worth the price for the service. In my view, the only advantage with this hotel for a tourist is its walkable distance from the Smithsonians, and the Capitol. I don't recommend this Holiday Inn unless your only criteria is a location that is nearest to the Air and Space museum. There is nothing about this Holiday Inn that makes it great or special compared to a cheaper hotel in the area. January 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best holiday ever! This is the best location one can get in Washington DC, due to the closeness to all major museums, shopping areas, historic sites and government buildings. All transportation methods are easily accessible. The hotel is suitable in any season of the year and is family-friendly. There is excellent room service and amenities within the hotel, as well as helpful and cheerful staff who look after the clients at all times. We had a lovely time. If you ever visit Washington DC, come to Holiday Inn Capitol! January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas in DC My wife invited my parents to visit DC with us. The four of us stayed in separate rooms. The staff was nice enough to let us check in early so we could begin our vacation as soon as we arrived in DC. The hotel is within walking distance to many of the attractions located on or near the mall. Taxis were always waiting out front when we needed to venture farther away. All the staff were great when we needed something. The only issue I had with the hotel were the beds. They were a little uncomfortable. The person who checked us in mentioned that they were renovating the hotel, so hopefully that means they will be buying new beds too. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location and Service Took the family to DC to visit the National Mall. This hotel is the most convenient of them all! We arrived before 8:00 AM after a red-eye flight from California, and they were kind enough to give us an early check-in at no extra charge. We re-charged our batteries (took a nap) and hit the museums and monuments at full speed. They also held our bags after we checked out the last day before our late night flight back to Cali. There are inexpensive diners, McDonalds and a CVS on the same block. The subway station is close by. We already plan to come back on our next trip to DC in a few years. The regular train tracks are close, and we heard VERY loud train horns a couple of times. It is a good bargain. January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location for the mall This was a solid hotel in a great location. The food, restaurant offerings in the area are limited, but the tradeoff to roll out of bed and be on the mall was well worth it. Highly recommended. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Number 9 and counting. Since 1995 I have stayed @ Holiday Inn Capitol 9 times and have NEVER been dissatisfied. I look forward to many more trips to D.C. and many more stays @Holiday Inn Capitol. December 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Sleep In the Middle of the Bed - What was that black stuff on the tub? Had to sleep in the middle of the bed, lest I roll our due to "mattress sag". There was a black spot of something in the corner of the tub -- didn't stick my finger in it to see what it was . . . . December 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love this hotel The only thing I dont like is the pillows. Everything else is excelent. December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Here! The location of this hotel is perfect for the family trip to DC. The staff is professional, courteous and looking to make your visit the best. It's not a HIGH end hotel but neither is the room rate. The room is clean, with comfortable beds, nice linens and free WiFi. They are updating the hotel for the fussies. The breakfast buffet was hot with a nice variety of home made items....real pineapple, not canned. The hot apples were delicious also. Again, the staff in the restaurant and the bar, are competent, pleasant but not hovering. We had dinner in both the restaurant and the bar. Both places served a good tasting meal by professional staff and unlike most hotels, the price of the meal is VERY reasonable. We stayed for five days and were sorry to leave. They have a beautiful Christmas tree in the lobby which greets you upon your return from a long day of sight seeing. I was thinking of staying across town at a HIGH end place as it was our anniversary. Glad we didn't...this hotel was very good at providing HIGH end service at a very reasonable price. December 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A place of well being Our recent stay at the Washington-Capitol Holiday Inn was quite pleasant--providing us quality accommodations that we are accustomed to at this hotel. The staff was excellent from the front desk greeting/check-in through the stay to the farewell. The dining room staff, maintenance staff, housekeeping staff--all hotel associates greeted us with positive words and desire to care for our well-being. The dining room and cafe staff provided outstanding care. We especially note the hospitality of "Desta" in the Bistro Dining Room. Also, others in the dining room, whose names we do not recall, were very efficient and personable. The cost for the room was a superb value. December 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by In-Room Internet Abysmal--Worst I've Had since Dial-up--Worse than Dial-up The internet was essentially unuseable. The mgr called my room on Monday of my Sun-Fri stay to see if things were OK. I told her everything was great but the internet was atrocious. She told me there was construction affecting it, but even so, you couldn't even use email after 6 in the evening. I would not stay here if you need the internet for anything until you can verify it has been brought into this century!!! December 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay until.... Intermittent COLD shower - Hot water faded in and out during my short 5 min morning shower. Not the way to start a GOOD Morning! My TV displayed fine the first few minutes then went into film negative mode. When service came to check it out the TV responded normally while it was being checked out so he left. In a matter for 10-15min the negative film mode kicked back in and stayed. December 9, 2013
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 32 next>>