Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 719 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and location Very convenient location for work and vacation. Outstanding staff and amenities to stay engaged and fit. July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Air conditioning in oom We had a great trip and really enjoyed our stay. The only issue was the air conditioning unit in the room was so noisy when it came on that it would wake me up during the night. July 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Capitol Holiday Inn While I am a frequent Holiday Inn patron, I was disappointed with the quality of this hotel. It did not smell fresh. The room was not well maintained. It appeared that the floor had not been vacuumed as there was debris. Also, I saw several small ants crawling on the wall at multiple locations. In the gym, 3 of the 7 aerobic machines were not functional. As a frequent guest, I was not offered any amenities. After inquiring, I was given a coupon for a free bottle of water or small coffee. This is subpar compared to other chains. The best feature of this hotel is the location. Beyond that, it's a disappointment. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location and excellent buffet breakfast We were a family of 4 visiting DC from Australia, and stayed in 2 separate rooms. The location of the hotel is excellent, as we could walk to the places we were most interested to see: Smithsonian Institutions, the Mall, White House, Lincoln Memorial, etc. Breakfast is excellent and our rooms where clean and quiet. July 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected The lobby is very nice. The restaurants are nice but the rooms are not upgraded. The furniture is old the tubs are old and have spots in them. There was not many plugs to plug in Cell Phones and Laptop. I was surprise that this hotel was not upgraded with it being located in the heart of downtown DC. I was very disappointed. July 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bar and Grill in hotel Poor food quality and taste. Also, did not offer variety of choices in domestic beers (NO Miller Genuine Graft). Best quality of the hotel is the proximity to the National Mall. Thank you. July 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Convenient location, close to the Mall & Smithsonian. EXTREMELY friendly staff. Food in the restaurant was good but over priced. Rooms were clean and quiet. Would stay here again. July 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location the deli wasn't open in the afternoon but food was great at the other two resturant and open quite late. Housekeeping was at or close to the same time daily which was great for planning. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice comfortable room. My daughter and I stayed for two nights at the Holiday Inn Capitol. We checked in quickly with no problems. The room was clean and comfortable. The Holiday Inn was extremely convinient to all the Smithsonians and the Capitol as well as a number of other attractions. We ate at the buffet one morning and it was good. We ate at 21 one evening. We both had the steak salad. Service was a bit poor. Our waiter was slow and not observant. We had to ask for silverware when our food came and I went without a refill on my drink for quite a while as he passed our table a number of times and I was unable to attract his attention. The steak on my salad was very grissly.....my daughter said hers was ok. Overall it was a good stay. You cant have absolute perfection. I would reccomend this to anyone who wanted to be close to the Smithsonians. July 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by pillows I thought the pillows were lumpy. I couldn't tell the differance between soft and hard and couldn't seem to lay my head without a hard spot. Everything else was good and we had a nice vacation. July 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the most impressive Holiday Inn I as not very satisfied during my last Holiday Inn stay in the Capital. I was told at check-in....."sorry we didn't realize you were Gold member until after we assigned rooms, so we can't move you up to a higher floor (away from the train/metro - outside my window#, however we will let you know if we can move you during the week stay. Never received a call or option to move and didn't rest well. Also wanted to let you know your staff in the restaurant/bar was very unfriendly, rude and provided terrible service. Was also harassed by the garage attendant #about a pass I never had - but was charged $35 a day to park my car). I was never asked at checkout how the stay was, so hope you care about my feedback now. July 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs upgrades for the price. Great location for the Grad School Upon my arrival I initially had an issue with my government travel card. I was told they couldn't hold the room until the following business day (until my card could be reactivated#, and I was charged for the first night on my debit card. I was not given the option to do credit or debit. I was told after the fact that the card is automatically ran as a debit and thus the monies would be extracted immediately while the credit card is just a 'hold' until you check out. Once a different card is rendered, the amount would be credited in 3-4 business days. My biggest issue was with the staff in the 21st Amendment. The front desk of the hotel tells you to go to one of the restaurants to have your food warmed #because there are not microwaves in non executive rooms, you have to pay an additional 10.00 per night#. While the servers are pleasant if you are ordering from them, if in the event you want to warm food purchased elsewhere, you get an attitude from them! When I was finally acknowledged #after 7 minutes of waiting#, she warmed my food on 1:45, but forgot about it and I didn't get the food for another 6 minutes #which had cooled by that time#. I only advise that the hotel gives out complimentary microwaves, especially if the stay is over a week. Or, if at the very least, put a microwave on each floor in the general vicininty of the vending machines, where its not an inconvenience to the patrons. Most patrons do not want to slip back into proper attire just to warm food, and have to go 'downstairs' in a restaurant to do it. When I mentioned it to the staff, not once were they accomodating about it. It was basically, 'oh, our microwaves are 10.00 a night.' So, it was just like suck it up. I did love my cleaning lady!!! She was awesome! I had fresh sheets everyday! For the price of the hotel, there should be better internet service and more upgrades! July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good place to stay in DC Enjoyed my 9 days; room was always clean; Staff was always friendly; if I ever return to DC I will be staying at the Washington-Capitol Holiday Inn July 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff & Location, but Ready for a Renovation I always stay at the Washington-Capitol for its convenient location and welcoming staff. However, the property is really beginning to show its age. The carpeting in the hallways has serious stains, bathroom plumbing is old and the bathtub/shower tile grouting is grubby and shows signs of many past imperfect patch jobs. Hope there is a plan to invest in an upgrade in the near future. July 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by DON'T STAY IN THIS HOTEL!! I had a great experience in the HI Key West while on business. They convinced me to join the Priority Club so I decided to try the Capital when in DC for pleasure over a four day weekend. I purchased multiple rooms for our party. In short, the Capital has turned me (and most of the adults in our party)off HI's in general. Some of the issues; not in order: Vending machines on several floors didn't work the entire time we were there, leaving us to wander the halls in hopes of finding one that worked in the middle of the night. Conflicting instructions from the front guest regarding dinning followed by similar issues in the dining room. One day a pleasant smile and no problem with an OJ refill at breakfast; the next different employee, told us in no uncertain terms, "we don't give refills and left." Finally, got late checkout. Packed some things in the vehicle and left some in the rooms. Came back several hours later to find the one room had been gone through by housekeeping, stripped the beds and thrown out the items left in the room. The only consistency was the on-going issues. Took away from the experience of DC. The inoperable equipment and staff conflicts seem to demonstrate a management issue as opposed to a individual employee. The employees were polite in general but seemed to have differing instructions.; if they were given instructions. July 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by good view on parking lot and busy railway line for 350 bugs Nerver again! Couldn't sleep, room Basement Level Fasching Packung ans busy railway line July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! Helpful staff! The location, staff and dining made up for the somewhat dated rooms. It is a good spot for accessing the major sites in D.C. as transportation comes to the hotel and other means are within a block. It is a quick walk to the National Mall, Capitol, and Smithsonian. A good stay! July 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but costly If you are visiting on vacation, there is no better location. The hotel is located 2 blocks south of the Air and Space Museum. All the Smithsonium Museums and the U.S. Capital are within a comfortable walking distance. There is a Starbucks in the lobby. There is a Mcdonalds, Quiznos, and a CVS Phanacy nearby. There are few decent restaurants nearby, you will have to use a taxi and expect to spend $50 per person at even a modest place. The hotel offers a nightly buffet the isn't bad at about $25. The rooms are pricey but if you have AAA or are a Government Employee you can cut the price substantially. Parking a vehicle will cost you $30 per day ... Do not take a large or lifted vehicle, the parking is poorly designed. The staff is very pleasant and helpfull. July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Happy Customer Very nice hotel with comfy beds. Very convenient to downtown area and close to metrorail. Will stay here again. Excellent service! July 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to sights but poor service Our room was not ready when we checked in at 3 and wasn't ready for 3 more hours. On one day we were gone from 10am until 7pm and the room was never cleaned. We had to call to get it cleaned. The staff at the restaurants were pushy and grumpy. If the location were not so convenient to the monuments ther would be no reason to return. July 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location at a reasonable price!! Great location, close to Capitol Hill, museums and other points of interest. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Independence Day Vacation From the time we arrived until the time we left, the staff was very helpful. Latosha at the front desk made everything easy for us. Most importantly...with a SMILE! July 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just Fine Great central location for everything but restaurants, typical Holiday Inn decor etc, friendly staff, beds too hard but very clean... recommend staying away from the restaurant... July 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Will Come Back! This Hotel is situated in the middle of everything. Walking distance to what ever you want to see! Subway right around the corner, could have a few nice restaurant closer but they have good food at the bar. Hotel is a little worn but very clean and the staff is excellent. Will definitely stay there the next visit to DC. We came from NC to see Paul McCartney at the Nationals Stadium which by subway was a % minute trip and drops you out right by the stadium. Concert was FANTASTIC! July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would definetly stay at again Was extremely pleased with our stay. Location cannot be beat!! Staff and service was excellent....very helpful in giving directions to sites off the beaten path. Room was very comfortable and clean. Was pleasantly surprised at how clean the room was. Had read a review that stated room next to train and metro tracks was loud....our room was on this side and we didn't notice either the train or metro. Loved that this hotel offers room service....very nice after a LONG day of museum visiting and very easy for breakfast in the morning. Only complaint that I do have is the AC is set to operate on motion so when we left the room for the day the AC didn't run until we returned. Room was not overly hot but was a little stuffy. July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location There is no other hotel that can provide this convient of a location to all the DC attractions. This is the 4th time we've stayed at this hotel and I have never been disappointed. You are 2 blocks from the National Mall. The Capitol is very close, and Union Station is only about a 10 minute walk. The L'Enfant Plaza metro stop is about 5 minutes away which can take you pretty much anywhere. The Air & Space Museum is about a 2 minute walk. You cannot find a better location...believe me I've looked! The hotel itself is very nice. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The price is high, but it is worth it. July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Stay My recent stay was one of the most enjoyable I've had in DC. I wish I had known years ago how close this was to the Metro and waterfront. I would have stayed here sooner. The staff was superb, the room comfortable and quiet, and the hotel restaurant was great. Highly recommended. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay My husband and I as well as our 11 year old grandson stayed at the Holiday Inn Capitol from 7/10/13 to 7/12/13 and had a fantastic time. The staff and service were excellent. The room was very nice and we slept well. There was a train running off and on just outside our window but it didn't wake us up at all. We had the buffet breakfast each morning and it's well worth the extra we had to pay. They had everything you can imagine. We also bought trolley tickets right at the hotel and the trolley stopped at the hotel for a quick and easy pickup. The trolley stops at all the major attractions every half hour so you can get on and off all day. No need to worry about driving your car and trying to find a parking place. I would definitely recommend this as a wonderful place to stay. The room was well decorated and very clean. July 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 ROOM NOT READY THE ROOM WAS NOT READY WHEN WE ARRIVED, THERE WAS NO OFFER TO HOLD OUR BAGS SO WE COULD EAT SOMETHING. WE HAD TO WAIT FOR AN HOUR TO GET IN OUR ROOM. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I was here for a one night stay and found the hotel to be just right, great service from a very friendly staff. I ate all my meals in the hotel restaurants and found the food to be very good, although a little pricey. I had the free breakfast with the room price, but would probably opt for the lower price next time and just eat at the take-out deli they have next to the Bistro instead, although the 2pm check-out worked great for me since I had a 2pm meeting and wanted to sight see in the morning so I could go back to my room at noon and shower and change before check-out. My only complaint was the room got stifling hot at night and I awoke every hour to turn the AC back on. I had read another review that someone posted saying that the AC was motion detected, hence the reason it kicked off while sleeping. I also stored my luggage in the bell hop's closet at checkout since my meeting was across the street and they were very helpful and accommodating when I returned to get something out if my bag. I would definitely stay here again if I was returning to DC. July 17, 2013
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 25 next>>