Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 814 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location There is no other hotel that can provide this convient of a location to all the DC attractions. This is the 4th time we've stayed at this hotel and I have never been disappointed. You are 2 blocks from the National Mall. The Capitol is very close, and Union Station is only about a 10 minute walk. The L'Enfant Plaza metro stop is about 5 minutes away which can take you pretty much anywhere. The Air & Space Museum is about a 2 minute walk. You cannot find a better location...believe me I've looked! The hotel itself is very nice. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The price is high, but it is worth it. July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Stay My recent stay was one of the most enjoyable I've had in DC. I wish I had known years ago how close this was to the Metro and waterfront. I would have stayed here sooner. The staff was superb, the room comfortable and quiet, and the hotel restaurant was great. Highly recommended. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay My husband and I as well as our 11 year old grandson stayed at the Holiday Inn Capitol from 7/10/13 to 7/12/13 and had a fantastic time. The staff and service were excellent. The room was very nice and we slept well. There was a train running off and on just outside our window but it didn't wake us up at all. We had the buffet breakfast each morning and it's well worth the extra we had to pay. They had everything you can imagine. We also bought trolley tickets right at the hotel and the trolley stopped at the hotel for a quick and easy pickup. The trolley stops at all the major attractions every half hour so you can get on and off all day. No need to worry about driving your car and trying to find a parking place. I would definitely recommend this as a wonderful place to stay. The room was well decorated and very clean. July 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 ROOM NOT READY THE ROOM WAS NOT READY WHEN WE ARRIVED, THERE WAS NO OFFER TO HOLD OUR BAGS SO WE COULD EAT SOMETHING. WE HAD TO WAIT FOR AN HOUR TO GET IN OUR ROOM. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I was here for a one night stay and found the hotel to be just right, great service from a very friendly staff. I ate all my meals in the hotel restaurants and found the food to be very good, although a little pricey. I had the free breakfast with the room price, but would probably opt for the lower price next time and just eat at the take-out deli they have next to the Bistro instead, although the 2pm check-out worked great for me since I had a 2pm meeting and wanted to sight see in the morning so I could go back to my room at noon and shower and change before check-out. My only complaint was the room got stifling hot at night and I awoke every hour to turn the AC back on. I had read another review that someone posted saying that the AC was motion detected, hence the reason it kicked off while sleeping. I also stored my luggage in the bell hop's closet at checkout since my meeting was across the street and they were very helpful and accommodating when I returned to get something out if my bag. I would definitely stay here again if I was returning to DC. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and convenient Whilst I was in town for three days attending mandatory meetings, I found this property to be clean, the staff friendly, and awesome proximity to many of the tourist venues. Will most certainly stay again when we come to 'visit' the Capitol! July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to everything in DC Great hotel very close to the Mall and all the museums. Extremely reasonable price for the quality of service and rooms. We had two rooms adjoining and were there with the grandkids. We requested a rollaway bed and they were quick to respond. This hotel is literally one block from the Air and Space Museum so you are right in the center of the museums and monuments. It was so convenient. The staff was very cordial and helpful. Food at the hotel is a little pricey, but we were on a plan with a complimentary breakfast which was a delicious buffet and was excellent. For those folks with kids, McDonald's is on the same block and there was a great pizza restaurant two blocks away. Close to the metro and also convenient. You won't go wrong on this one for the price. We were very pleasantly surprised and happy and will go back next trip to DC. The only "con" is that the beds are just doubles so they are a little tight when you are used to a larger bed. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient, at the middle of the National Mall. 1.5 blocks from the Air and Space Museum. 2 blocks from Metro subway station. Free hot breakfast buffet every morning with a variety of fruits, meats, pancakes, juices, coffee; etc. Real china ware and cloth napkins with fresh carnation in a vase on all tables make us feel like home. We had dinner at the restaurant every night. Waiters are very friendly. Front desk people are helpful and friendly as well. Starbucks next door - downstairs. Bus tour tickets sold at the souvenir shop. We requested a quiet room and we got it. With the air conditioner running, we couldn't hear the underground train at all. The only negative experience we had was the pool. It was crowded and the water didn't feel clean. July 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The shaking 9th floor I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Capitol, and have to say; I was thoroughly disappointed. I tried to book online, and wanted to be sure I had adjoining rooms, so the family could all be together. So I called the phone number listed for that specific hotel. I was confirmed that I would have a suite with an adjoining room. When I arrived, not only did I not have an adjoining room, but the rooms were not even on the same floor. The next night, I was able to get the rooms on the same floor, but still not adjoining. Next came the shaking. I'm not sure what it was, but around midnight; every night, the 9th floor shook. I think it may have been the laundry, but I don't know. It scared my entire family. Will I stay there again? No. For the price I paid for the two rooms for 3 nights; there are a dozen other choices in Washington, DC. July 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Filthy When I checked in on Tuesday, there was trash outside the door to my room. When I checked out on Friday, the trash was still there. July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 4th of July We were there for the 4th celebration. I used reward points and list price was also very good. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and the rooms were clean. The place is one of the best HI that I have ever stayed in, Great location for all the Mall and other attractions July 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by July 4th stay Our stay at the Holiday Inn capitol was overall good. I had booked a "standard" room as I was booking the same week as July 4th. In the description it said you would be assigned a room at check-in. I reviewed the website and it said either 2 double beds or 1 king. I was okay with either one. I called on July 3 and we were assigned a king bed room. When I arrived, it turned out that they had put us into a 1 double bed room for our family of 4. The hotel was completely full (of course) and they said I had booked a standard room which meant I got last choice. The front desk person was very apologetic and said they would move us for the second night. My real issue is that they do not advertise the 1 double bed rooms at all on their website, nor did the front desk person tell me about this possibility on July 3 when I called. Apparently, there are only a few of them in the whole hotel and they do not put people in them except when they have to (like 4th of July). The room actually ended up working okay as there was a hallway in the room and we had brought 2 air mattresses. However, when my wife went to take a shower in the morning, brown water came out of the faucet (reference they never put anybody in these rooms) which did clear up after running it a bit. We complained about this and the manager gave us the 2 days of parking for free ($70 worth). The front desk person also had already reserved and moved us to a 2 double bed room for the second night which was much more comfortable. Overall, the hotel is nice enough and the location is great - easy walk to the Mall and metro station. The staff handled our situation as well as they could given the constraints on July 4th. One other note - the roof pool is closed during the fireworks if you had that idea. July 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Close to it all, average dated accommodations The location and price make up for the average accommodations at this hotel. Unfortunately, the flag hasn't done a pip report in a while otherwise the linens and towels would have been replaced. The service and staff and location to our capital was enough. But in the future we'd may upgrade for what should be a standard for this IHG brand. July 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by July 5-6 2013 Visit Came to DC to see the Nationals play for the weekend with friends and enjoyed the stay. Hotel was close enough to the park that we decided to walk to the ballgames. Ate breakfast at the buffet and had good food and good service. Will more than likely stay there again for another baseball game. July 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This hotel was nice and a great location for the 4th of July weekend. Only problem was that there were SO many kids there you couldn't even go in the pool. The weather was SO hot and humid but the pool was over run by kids at all times. They should have an hour or so a day during such busy times for adults only. I picked the hotel just for the roof top pool and never could use it. July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent value and great location My family and I stayed here over this past Fourth of July weekend and had a wonderful time. Thanks to reading the other reviews, we did get a room on the opposite side of the train tracks and had a very comfortable and relaxing time. We registered late and were on the 3rd floor and didn't have any problem with the live band playing from 6-9 pm. The hotel is 1.5 blocks away from the Smithsonian Air and Space museum and 2.5 blocks off the Mall. We were able to find great seats on the Mall for the fireworks (which were great but only lasted about 20 minutes) and were back in our room less than 10 minutes after the fireworks ended. We wanted to walk the Mall to see the different monuments and memorials and were able to do so. My daughter needed some extra breaks, which we took as well as going back the room for a shower and rest before finishing the tour. We got a lot of sightseeing in just a couple of days. I would recommend this hotel if you want a comfortable place to stay. There is a Starbucks right off the front lobby (but their own food service sells Starbucks coffee for $2 for Lrg). Mickey D's and Quiznos Subs is right down the street to the right as you exit the main lobby. The parking was steep at $35 per day/night but you can enter and exit as many times as desired. The pool on the rooftop was nice but rather small and crowded with all the families staying. There was a lifeguard on the day we went up. We took a tour of the Capital building and it was one of the highlights of our time there. Shalom. July 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, great location, horrible beds The staff was great and there were many perks being a hotel rewards member (discount on breakfast and free water for 4th). Amendment 21 bar is nice, some beer is crazy expensive, others reasonable, food not bad. The hotel is about 2 minutes from air and space museum and about 10 min walk from capitol (if you go to capital for tour you have to go to front (which is not the side that faces the mall). Metro is next building over (wish we would have known that it was in building or around building) we always saw different ways to get on. We got room facing courtyard and it was quiet. They need to update the beds though. A -doubles are too small for 2 adults and B-they were hard as a rock! Good size room and bathroom. Tv was on fritz. Someone came to look at it, it worked for another few minutes then got stuck on channel. thankfully we were so tired from walking all day, I didn't care too much. July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very close to National Mall, friendly and helpful staff We visited for the Fourth of July and had a wonderful time, It was extremely hot, but the AC was working just fine. July 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Staff and pleasant stay! The front desk check-in was impeccable! I believe the young lady's name was Milene (something along those lines) and she went beyond the call of duty to get us the best room possible which made our stay outstanding!!! ...It was over a crowded holiday so relaxing wasn't really in the cards - the pool was packed and such, but for our stay we were delighted.... ...Clarence had to make a repair on our a/c and he was super nice and very efficient. He was terrific! July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location We found the Washington- Capitol Hotel to be a great hotel with lots of amenities and the perfect location. The hotel was perfect for our family as it was only two blocks from the Mall. It was very quiet. The restaurant was great. Food for the kids was free. The buffet meals were great and worth the price. The kids loved the idea of a pool on the roof. We found our overall experience to be outstanding. I would have to say the staff was amazing. Everyone of them were so nice and helpful. The bell hop that retrieved our luggage on departure has been with Holiday Inn for 37 years. He was very nice and friendly. Took very good care of us. It was raining on the day of our check out. Instead of taking our luggage to the front, he took it all the way down to the parking garage and loaded it for us. July 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid like the plague! Stayed the week of July 4th. The only good thing to say is the hotel is close to everything. But I would rather drive 2 hours than ever stay at this prperty again. The air conditioner at one time had a motion sensor- it no longer works. The result is a very hot room unless you move your hand about 2 inches from the sensor every 3 minutes and 22 seconds (Yes, I timed it.) Repeated complaints ignored. Food in restaurant is lousy AND expensive. Sleep in your car and you will have a better experience. July 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Internet and TV The internet services were intermitant, constantly dropping and when connected, only connected from 5.5 mbps to 10.0 mbps. The CATV tiled, especially when changing the stations. July 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Facility Rooms were small. Hotel was in need of repair and is outlandishly out of style. Old, poor facility. No viable alternative for food. Not close to small grocery and nothing but expensive, poor food service on site. July 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall - Excellent The room was clean and comfortable. In the downtown humid atmosphere of DC, the AC worked well and kept us very comfortable. I cannot rate the meals because we did not eat in, nor did we visit the pool. The staff was extremely helpful and eager to help us on every occasion. We will be back. July 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Capitol. This hotel was within easy walking distance to many of the Washington DC attractions. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay again The Holiday Inn Capitol has an excellent location. It is convenient for everything. The staff was great and the food good. The elevator was often crowded at times not allowing people to get on. It has a nice rooftop pool which my daughter and grandaugther enjoyed We would stay there again. July 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Checking In Upon arriving at the hotel we were told we couldn't check in until 3 PM. No problem as it was 1 PM and check in time at 3 is listed. Returned at 3 PM as instructed and informed there were no clean rooms yet available. Keep in mind that we had started our day at 3:30 AM and had traveled from the Nashville airport. Told to return at 5 PM. Returned at 5 only to be told to return at 7 PM. When we returned at 7 there was a considerable delay in checking us in and it appeared there would be another delay but the body language exhibited by me indicated I was not pleased and we were checked in. During all of these delays I did not express my unhappiness. Perhaps I should have. This service is clearly unacceptable July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Room, Comfortable Bed Excellent location--close to the Mall and Subway and most importantly Excellent Service--the staff could not have been more helpful and courteous !!!! July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service We found the hotel staff was excellent. My wife & I had special food needs and they assisted promptly and courteously. They also went out of their way to escort us to our room as they need arose. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and family when staying in DC. July 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location.... booked straight through Holiday Inn, better rate actually, could really walk to a lot of places......the parking deck was odd and expensive but it worked out........would stay here again...... July 6, 2013
<<prev 18 19 20 21 22 ... 28 next>>