Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 867 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Wonderful staff Let me start by saying a good Hotel is made up of many combinations of things that come together to create a good experience. I am. Platinum Ambassador in the IHG loyalty program, and as an Ambassador I am loathed to say anything negative about an IHG property and will tend to take a Diplomatic approach. So if you read the reviews below you will see some negative points that are certainly true, but to start with the staff were all very friendly, efficient, and dealt with all my enquiries fast and to their very best ability, you got a real sense that it mattered, that I was listened to and they reacted politely and positively. Scott handle our check in and as a Ambassador I was upgraded to a suite, and the staff on the front desk sent up a lovely fruit plate, with a card which they all signed, a very nice touch. Yes the Hotel was built 60 years ago and the furniture looks like its straight from a TV show set Mad Men, but I love this show and the nostalgia is a wonderful experience, and most importantly the rooms are very clean and whilst may look tired they are lovingly looked after, by a very efficient housekeeping staff, who are very helpful and always saying good morning with a smile. In November this the Hotel is going through a major refurbishment and modernization program, so next year these rooms will be history just like the current decor is. Yes the rooms at the back of the hotel are on a train line, with goods trains through the night, but ear plugs or noise canceling headsets will resolve this. If this is not an option then be sure to request a front facing room, when you book. The wifi is an issue, I blame Verison more than the hotel for that, but they have a great business centre. If you drag a chair out into the hall way you will get great reception and meet a few people whilst there, which was in hind sight a good way to get a feel of the place. The hotel is in walking distance to most of the the museums such as the Smithsonian museums and the monuments which is great. It was 5 minutes from the metro which can be used for Reagan airport. Overall very convenient. There's a Starbucks in the hotel, two very well located and convenient restaurants and a McDonalds on the other block with a CVS which has a large range of grocery items as well as the usual pharmacy stuff, plenty of items if you wanted to make something to eat in your room. All in all this is a good hotel, with very courteous staff, with very clean but only somewhat rundown rooms and excellent location to attractions make it good. This year in June 2013 the Priority Rewards club gets a revamp, a new name and new benefits, with some better reward opportunities and will be called the IHG Rewards Club. So look out for those exciting changes. As an IHG Platinum Ambassador, I can recommend this Hotel Highly and the rewards program. April 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Bath room upgrade to be done Some improvement in old bath room should be done and work on the sound coming from the corridor into the room. Service from staff was excellent, open to help us. April 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! Second time here. If you want a great location to museums, memorials, and trolleys, this is the place. April 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by review The hotel room was large. The food was good. We had breakfast. It was a GREAT location. It was close to the monuments and museums. April 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by central location The hotel was clean and much nicer then most 3 star hotels. The location was GREAT! April 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping help Left behind some belongings and the housekeeping staff was friendly, courteous and timely on the return package. THANK YOU !! April 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room was very comfortable. Staff was very helpful. I like having wi-fi availability. My stay was very comfortable. Love the location. April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location in DC Excellent location two blocks behind the Air & Space Museum. Easy access to Mall monuments, museums, etc. and metro from either L'Enfant (closest Metro station) or Smithsonian (which can get very crowded and is further from the hotel). Located adjacent to Amtrack and freight rail line; noise can be an issue depending on the location of your room. Comfortable hotel with well maintained furniture and electronics. Nothing shabby about the furnishings in the room, lobby, or dining areas. Friendly staff and very helpful with directions. We've stayed here several times and always are happy to return. April 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Rooms and location The rooms were quiet, very comfortable and cleaan. The hotel staff went out of their way to make you feel at tome. Hotel is also in a great DC location. April 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average sums it up The location of this hotel near the National Mall is fantastic, which is the primary reason we stayed here. But the hotel itself is pretty average. You can tell they did try to update a few things (bathroom countertops). The room did not feel that clean or inviting. The ceiling light over the door was so dim it was laughable. The coffee packet was opened from the previous guest, which is what made me question the rest of the room's cleanliness. Then I found a sticky spot on the floor of the bathroom. When we awoke Saturday to shower up, I discovered our shower had pulsing hot water -- warm for 5 seconds, ice-cold for 90. We had somewhere to be, so I suffered through it and then called the front desk. They were friendly, apologized, and offered temporary use of another room to freshen up in (which didn't help at this point) but didn't offer anything like breakfast or a discount to apologize. It's not the worst hotel I've ever stayed in or anything, but I wouldn't necessarily look forward to returning. It was a great location for the mall and we enjoyed exploring DC -- but the room itself didn't really add to the experience. Recognition for Priority Club members was nothing to write home about -- a free bottle of water or coffee, and $2 off breakfast for one person (not even for each person in your party). There might have been a dinner discount too but we didn't eat there. April 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for tourists/familys Good location for tourists/familys, however I booked hotel 3 rooms as double rooms, called a couple days before to confirm and when I got there, they told me no double rooms available. When I complained that needed at least 1 double as one of our party had an older child, front staff made me get my paperwork to prove what I ordered. (quess she thought lying to her) when i brought back to her paperwork all she said was "will arrange for rollaway bed" which after a time was brought up and I can safely say one of the worst beds I have seen in a while, all springs. Food was ok (Buffet) but beware of kids eat free, this is only off the very limited and poor kids menu, everything like buffet $6 or more dollars. Parking not good deal either $30 per day and for a 2 night stay I had to pay for parking 3 days, thats also kind of nonsense. Also as per holiday they asked for assistance in not cleaning rooms, complied and just asked for towels/coffee, no one showed up. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, fabulous location Fabulous location, especially for travelers coming from Reagan National Airport. Great service: made a request for a rollaway bed and the next day for an additional blanket; both requests handled within minutes. Good breakfast. Reasonable price for the market. April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, Too close to train The staff is very friendly and professional. The facilities were average, seemed like the lobby was updated, but not the rooms. The train is just too close. We requested a room relocation, which they handled very professionally. However, the train still can be heard, don't think any location in this hotel will really deal with this issue. Hotel was built on the wrong spot. We did like that it was close to the Mall and Museums. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Stay! The Capitol Holiday Inn was an excellent choice for our quick trip to DC. The room was clean and comfortable, and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. I was overly impressed when my husband got sick on the last day of our trip, and the staff arranged for a (very) late check out, so that he could stay in bed while the kids and I enjoyed the zoo. It's customer service like that--it makes all the difference in the world! April 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the high cost I booked this room because it was so close to the Air & Space Museum, but there were no restaurants in the vicinity except the hotel restaurant. It was busy and under-staffed, but some of the staff is lazy. Several women stood around doing nothing while one man ran himself into the ground trying to get everyone's orders. The food was good, but it took almost an hour to get our food. We ordered from the room service menu the next night, and there were more selections than the menu in the restaurant, probably an attempt to persuade customers to eat the buffet rather than order from the menu. The noise from the railroad tracks made it impossible to sleep through the night, and the club downstairs is as loud and ghetto as any you can imagine. The beds were hard as a rock and the walls are paper-thin. When I pay double the price that I usually would for a hotel, I just expect more. Also, we parked our own car in their garage and had to pay $30 per day to let it sit there, although we never used it. The cost of parking a vehicle should be included unless you have an off-site parking area and/or you have a valet park it. I will not stay here again nor recommend that anyone else stay here. April 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Great Service and Lobby area, dissapointing room The exterior of the Hotel and Lobby are very impressive, unfortunatelly the room was a dissapointment. The room was tired to say the least. Beds were worn out an not comfortable. Carpet and furniture were old, worn and scratched. The bathroom was shocking, from the shower curtain that did not fit to the leaking toilet and general lack of sanitary appearance. I generally stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels not Holiday Inn's, this hotel served as a reminder as to why I make that choice. The staff were friendly, curteous and helpfull. The condition of the rooms is a poor reflection on their hard work and dedication. April 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Going Downhill Lobby is nice and great location but hotel is steady going downhill. Rooms are dated, furniture old, bathrooms are awful. Dirty grout and repaired many times, not clean looking. The rooms are noisey, you can hear everything. Ate at buffet a couple of times and for $24, nothing special. Food bland and boring. Regular Priority club members get a free drink, wow! I have been staying there for many years because of location, but it is really not worth the money! April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to the mall We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn. The room was comfortable and quiet and it was an easy walk to the mall and the Air and Space and Native American Smithsonian museums. There is a busy Starbucks in the lobby, and a CVS, McDonalds, and Quiznos right outside. There is no close by nice restaurants other than those right in the hotel, but for less than $10 a cab will take you anywhere. We found this to be cheaper than 4 people getting on the metro. We would definitely stay here again. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by holiday inn capitol Hotel was better than i hoped.It was within walking distance of the museums, only 2 blocks from space museum.room was clean and comfortable.loved the new white bed spreads.the hotel staff were especially caring and helpful( especially the bellmen. i liked the late checkout time and the courtesy of leaving our bags and car even later.. thanks,june a. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service Details and my comfort were considered from the moment I checked in at the front desk, housekeeping during my 5-day stay; and the restaurant staff that delivered my dinner one evening when I requested room service. April 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location We had a great time in DC. The location is great. 1 block to the air & space museum. The restaurant is over priced for the quality you get but there is not much close by. Rooms and hotel were clean and up to date. April 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service, but watch your room choice! I was so impressed by the staff, friendly helpful accommodating, they went out of their way to be helpful.I suggest that if you are a light sleeper, be sure to make sure that your room is not adjacent to the railroad tracks. However, once I discussed this with management they resolved the issue at once. I have to reiterate that the staff there, was just amazing, everyone said hello, everyone tried to get us whatever we needed. I chose to review the hotel because of the outstanding staff . The children's menu made eating in D.C. affordable. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Deb and Bob and the grandkids visit DC and this hotel cinches the deal! We chose this hotel because it was so close and convenient to the National Mall. From the first moment we entered until we departed 4 days later we were delighted with our choice of hotels....and there is a Starbuck's right off the lobby! We loved being here because we were so close to everything. Underground parking was perfect and included in my rate. The staff we encountered were very courteous and most helpful. I would not even consider another hotel on my next trip to DC. Perfect for my wife and me and my grandkids were equally enthusiastic. April 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyed our stay Great location, close to everything. We walked to all the monuments and museums no problem. Clean and comfortable room. Friendly staff and service. Staff came to our room to troubleshoot a wi-fi connection problem. April 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location Wished it had continental breakfast included but there is a Starbucks off of lobby. April 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Trains I think the quests should be told about the trains. We got a room on the side where the trains went by right under our window. Very disturbing for a good nights sleep. April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My DC visit My family and I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Capital and really enjoyed it. The rooms and beds were very comfortable and the hotel is in a great location for site seeing. I cannot comment on the food because we did not try any of the restaurants. We went to Washington more for the site seeing. For those on a budget like we were there is a McDonalds and Quixnos Subs and a CVS Drugstore within a short walking distance. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to go to DC to see the sites. April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Food service Room service was very prompt Food was always hot and very tasty . April 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy bar Overall I enjoyed my 5 day stay. The only downside in my view is the excessively loud music, i.e. noise, several nights in the bar. It is so loud one cannot converse easily and so raucous that it is totally unenjoyable. Who can like a quick meal and drink in such an environment? April 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Parking garage very difficult First, let me say that I'm grateful that garage parking was available. Second, I have never been in a garage that was as difficult to deal with as this one. The signage is sparse and poorly placed, none of the support columns are marked with letters or numbers to assist in locating your self or your car, and the multiple elevators lead to long unmarked hallways that seem unrelated to the hotel. There a many dead-ends rather than a continuous flow of direction. Many of the spots are small; because they are not marked as such, vans and small pick-ups block the lanes. There are very loud exhaust fans in the walls. The whole place could be a movie set for a parking lot scare scene, or, perhaps a set-up for Candid Camera, depending on how tired you are when you deal with it. April 5, 2013
<<prev 24 25 26 27 28 ... 30 next>>