• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: WASHINGTON DC
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.47MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:15
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are sorry but we do not accept pets. Only service animals allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
DuPont Circle and Adams Morgan
Distance From Hotel:3.5MI
Attraction:
Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
DOT, FEMA, HHS, HUD, USDA, USDE
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Union Station
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:1000
  • Car Parking Available
  • Secure, underground, self-parking up to 1000 spaces. Parking garage elevator will lead you right inside the hotel. Parking fee is $37.00 daily, inclusive of tax.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 37.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:536
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:536
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:15
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:9
  • FEMA Property Number:DC0040

Enjoy Our Washington, DC Hotel's Superb Location

The Holiday Inn® Washington - Capitol Hotel offers some of the best Washington, DC area accommodations. Guests love our amenities, which include free high-speed Internet access, Keurig Coffee Makers, in-room safes and a superior location that places you one block from the Smithsonian's National Air & Space Museum, five blocks from the US Capitol and just a few blocks from the National Mall which includes famous
View More

Enjoy Our Washington, DC Hotel's Superb Location

The Holiday Inn® Washington - Capitol Hotel offers some of the best Washington, DC area accommodations. Guests love our amenities, which include free high-speed Internet access, Keurig Coffee Makers, in-room safes and a superior location that places you one block from the Smithsonian's National Air & Space Museum, five blocks from the US Capitol and just a few blocks from the National Mall which includes famous monuments like the Washington Monument.

You can host any type of meeting or event in up to 7 function rooms while in Washington, DC. Our hotel's newly renovated, modern facility includes a 24-hour Business Center with free Internet access, copy and print services. Numerous governmental agencies and businesses, such as DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, and USDA, are near our location in the Washington, DC area.

Our accommodations put you just minutes from DC's most famous attractions, including the, Lincoln, Jefferson, World War II, and MLK Jr. Memorials, along with the Holocaust Museum. You can spend the day exploring the Smithsonian Museums or take an afternoon tour of the White House.

Enjoy a cup of coffee from the on-site Starbucks, or enjoy a meal from the Capital Bistro or 21st Amendment Bar & Grill before exploring the Washington, DC area. Our accommodations also include a fitness center and a seasonal, rooftop pool.

View Less
Features
Our Washington - Capitol hotel puts you near national monuments and museums, congressional offices and numerous federal agencies. Guests love our location with easy access to the Metro and airports.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 382 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by This could be a great Hotel, but... Front Desk staff was outstanding. Concierge was outstanding. Parking was a bit expensive but we could walk to all the Capital area tourist locations... Parking/bus boys were great. There is a lot of places to eat in the area. The room was excellent, very clean and nice. A bit tight, but it is an historic building so don't expect a studio apartment. Rooms were small back then. Exercise room had very nice equipment, could have used a TV. There are 4 very small elevators, so expect to wait to get to and from your room if it is busy. STAY AWAY FROM THE RESTURANT! The menu in the guide in the room DID NOT match what was in the restaurant when we got there. You have be seated in the proper area in the restaurant or you can only order certain items from a certain menu, which made no sense to us. We were there in the middle of the afternoon on a holiday, so there was very little crowd when we were seated, and the service was AWFUL. We had to hunt down our waitress, twice, and then finally had the person who was seating customers, handle our check, because it had gotten busy and we could not find her at all to pay. To bad, the food was actually pretty good. But this place could be great... July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location. Reasonable Price. This was the second time we stayed at the Hamilton. We chose it again because of its great location - truly walking distance to all the D.C. sites. Also, more than one Metro is close by. The hotel entry and lobby area are lovely. Four elevators move quests easily to and from their assigned floor(s). The rooms are well appointed if not a bit small, but the size is to be expected and is acceptable given the age of the building. We did not dine in the bar or restaurant as they were very busy due to several World Cup games being played during our stay. The free Wi-Fi was slow but functional. We have only two negative comments (areas for hotel improvement): 1. There was absolutely no recognition of our IHG membership. None. Not at check-in, during our stay, or at check-out. As a Platinum member for 9+ years that was a disappointment. 2. Valet parking is the only option the hotel offers, and at $40+ per night it is expensive, even for D.C. Being familiar with the area we parked in the garage (literally) around the corner for $27 per night. It was a 4 minute walk to the hotel and likely the same garage the hotel uses. All-in-all a very good hotel. We would stay at the Hamilton again. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff I was impressed with the friendliness and helpful staff who went out of their way to please. We liked everything about the hotel. If I had to state a negative it would be that the room had a strong aromatherapy smell. I almost felt it was piped into the room. Although some might have felt this was soothing it was too much and we had to open the window to dissipate the smell. It smelled like sandalwood which was not offensive, but not my favorite smell. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and comfortable bed. We stayed here during the 3rd and 4th of July and it was great. We were able to jump right on the Metro and go anywhere in the DC area within minutes. We had great room service and a comfortable bed. The only complaint we had was the view out the window, we were in a corner and looked out into other windows. July 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fourth of July Vacation For Being a Crowne Plaza, we were a bit disappointed. The staff was kind but did not go out of their way to make us feel vauled. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 4th of July Family trip Our experience at the Hamilton was excellent. This was the second year my family visited Washington DC for 4th of July fireworks, monuments and museums. Our experience exceeded our expectations. To begin we were allowed to check in several hours early to enjoy the city longer. The room was beautiful and very clean. We were on the 12th floor and facing the city, so our room overlooked Franklin Square Park and we could even see the Washington monument. We had appetizers in the lounge and breakfast in the outside dining area. The made to order omelets were fantastic. Overall great hotel, great staff and convenient location. July 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by dark room As a royal ambassador member of the IHG I was quite disappointed by the Hamilton. Our Junior suite was dark (small windows with blinds that do not fully rewind). No views, just a wall with windows facing our room. We could not even see the sky. The sun never shined through the windows. When we entered we found one long hair on the bed, 2 on the console and 2 in the bathroom. The A/C vents were badly placed. One blowing cold air on the bed and one blowing air toward the sofa. The bathroom was nice but small compared to other hotel of that standing. There was only one soap for the sink and the shower. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service Service by all staff was excellent. always willing to help and were pleasant July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect DC stay Chose this hotel for location and price and felt like I was very lucky to stay here. Just the right amount of luxury for the discerning but not necessarily wealthy traveler. It exceeded all my expectations. A park-view room on the 9th floor was a bonus. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Concierge Service Best Concierge I have experienced. Professional, courteous, and finding value to meet my needs. Made my stay most enjoyable. July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location/Excellent staff Location suitable for site seeing. Across street from park. Very courteous staff. Con: Lots of hair on floor of bathroom. Gross. Took care myself but am sure staff would have if I told them. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best night sleep All of the staff was friendly & helpful. Had a double bed room. Very comfortable for three people. Would stay there again. July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel My son and I were happy with our stay. Our trip was a high school graduation present for my son. This was our first trip to DC. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good experience. I stayed 4 nights at this hotel. All in all, a very pleasant experience. The only strange issue was that the TV is not opposite the bed, but off on the side, making viewing uncomfortable. I enjoyed the Keurig coffee maker! June 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by There are other hotels that exceed this one for quality and value I was staying at this hotel for a conference. Since I do a lot of business travel, I've stayed at many hotels. The room at this one was so small that I felt like I was staying in a shoebox. Also, I didn't receive any amenities in the room that other members of my party received. And I didn't get cleaning service in the room automatically- had to call and ask for it. Honestly with a plethora of hotels in the area and my choice of where to stay since it was being paid for by my employer, I would not choose this one again. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mrs. Average stay with the exception that my bed and room was not cleaned during my entire stay. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good accommodation and location Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent, staff friendly, courteous and helpful, ideal location for getting about the city. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and location Room was comfortable and clean, and provided everything we needed for our stay. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful, but on our arrival the hotel had been overbooked and we weren't able to access our room until 1800, which was irksome after an early start and travel. There was also a problem activating our keycards, so we were let into our room by a master key and had to wait for our key cards - which involved us ringing reception to remind them after 20 minutes. Small issues in an otherwise good stay in an ideal location for visiting the city. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I enjoyed my stay at the Hamilton-Washington DV I enjoyed my stay at the Hamilton. Great location, courteous service, nicely appointed room. Everything I needed. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Experiences!!! My father and I traveled to DC for a weeks vacation of seeing sights and touring places. The hotel staff is amazing. My father required the use of a microwave for a medical need and our room did not contain one. They promptly found one and didn't charge anything extra. After a day of sight seeing, we returned and wanted a coke to take to our room. We tried to pay but staff at the restaurant said no worries. The concierges were spectacular!!! Wonderful dining experiences and great help for finding just the right tours!! June 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Location Alone is Not Enough... Location was great. The good ended there for me. Worst hotel stay ever. Even before getting to the hotel I couldn't get a single front desk clerk to get my room right. My husband and I were bitten by bugs in the room and there were blood stained sheets on one of the beds. I requested a deep cleaning for the room and when we returned to what was supposed to be a cleaned room they hadn't even changed the sheets just. Just made the bed with the same blood stained sheets still on the bed. The bathtub was clogged up, the iron leaked water all over my blouse. After calling front desk, waited for over two hours and no one would respond to our room. Had to go to front desk before someone would do anything... only two out of four elevators were working. The smoke alarm started beeping every 45 seconds. Seriously, I read a lot of these reviews and rarely, if ever have i written one. Completely and totally disappointing especially for a Crowne Plaza. Quite frankly has me really thinking twice about IHG properties overall. In my experience as a traveler, these kind of problems happen from the top down. Would I stay here again? No Way... June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved this Hotel The entire staff was accommodating and courteous. The room was pleasing to be in and the hotel in general was quite. The hotel was clean in all areas. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very warm welcome in Washington DC We were visiting Family in DC and i have used IHG for business purposes in the UK and used points to stay in the Hamilton. It was a very warm, pleasant reception that continued throughout the stay. A credit to all at the Hamilton, what a wonderfully managed hotel!!!!!!!! June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by DC Crown Plaza Very nice hotel and attentive staff. I had concerns about the valet parking. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room Block for Wedding, Great Choice We stayed in a suite at the Hamilton for our wedding and also reserved a block of rooms for our guests to stay there as well. The room was clean and comfortable and very stylish with modern D.C. decor. Even the bathrooms were unexpectedly fresh looking. The lobby was absolutely gorgeous. So much so that we even had our "first look" photographs taken there. The staff was a pleasure to work with. The location and value for the cost is also unbeatable and one of the major reasons we chose it: so our guests could be close to all of the major sites that Washington has to offer. We live here in D.C. so I'm not sure we'll necessarily be back to stay, but I'd recommend it to anyone else traveling to the area. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Short walk to metro. Felt safe there late in evening. Close to attractions. Nice room with great view of park. June 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by A Four Week Stay Shortened to One Night I travel VERY extensively for the US Government and this is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. I am a Platinum Elite Ambassador and your staff wanted to charge me $45 per night for parking. I find this completely unacceptable and very overpriced. I also was not impressed with the size of the room I was offered, or with the amenities it had. Because I am a loyal IHG member, I checked out after the first night and transferred to the Staybridge Suites in McLean, VA. Although this hotel added an additional 30 minutes to my work commute, it offered: a swimming pool, a DVD player, free breakfast, free dinner three nights a week, and FREE PARKING!!! I am usually very pleased with Crowne Plaza hotels, but I will absolutely NEVER stay at this particular location again. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable and friendly stay in DC They made it easy to relax and accomplish what I was in DC to accomplish. I'll definitely be staying here again when in DC. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel Wonderful hotel! It is centrally located, making it easy to walk to many popular venues, We drove to the outskirts, and took the metro in. The station was just 1 block from the hotel. A great savings over the pricey valet parking charges! June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel, disappointing guest service experience. I stayed at this hotel overnight on June 16th for business. After a delayed flight from Los Angeles that included a bonus 1.5 hours on the tarmac at DCA, and a long line to get a rental car, I unfortunately arrived to the hotel to check in just a few moments prior to 11pm. I had an important meeting the following afternoon, and hoped to get a chance to sleep in and get some additional work completed in the hotel room. While checking in, I asked the front desk reception for a one hour extension on check out. The answer was no. Really? One hour? I am only going to stay 12 hours in your hotel, and would love to get even 75% of my money's worth. After another moment of unfortunate haggling, she agreed to 12:30pm. As a customer coming in late at night to a hotel with plenty of rooms that could be cleaned before mine, I hoped for a better outcome and a better customer service experience. Disappointed. June 23, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Union Station Hotel Hallway to Courtyard Washington Monument World War II Memorial Exterior Feature National Museum of the American Indian Courtyard WW II Memorial Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby in View of Courtyard National Air & Space Museum & US Capitol Jefferson Memorial Courtyard Entrance L'Enfant Plaza Metro - 1 Block Away National Air & Space Museum Korean War Memorial Thomas Jefferson Memorial
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading