• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: WASHINGTON DC
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.47MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:15
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are sorry but we do not accept pets. Only service animals allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Smithsonian's National Air & Space Museum, METRO
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Smithsonian's Natl Museum of the American Indian
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
DOT, FEMA, HHS, HUD, USDA, USDE
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
US Capitol and Visitor Center
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:1000
  • Car Parking Available
  • Secure, underground, self-parking up to 1000 spaces. Parking garage elevator will lead you right inside the hotel. Parking fee is $37.00 daily, inclusive of tax.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 37.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:536
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:536
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:15
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:9
  • FEMA Property Number:DC0040

Enjoy Our Washington, DC Hotel's Superb Location

The Holiday Inn® Washington - Capitol Hotel offers some of the best Washington, DC area accommodations. Guests love our amenities, which include free high-speed Internet access, Keurig Coffee Makers, in-room safes and a superior location that places you one block from the Smithsonian's National Air & Space Museum, five blocks from the US Capitol and just a few blocks from the National Mall which includes famous
View More

Enjoy Our Washington, DC Hotel's Superb Location

The Holiday Inn® Washington - Capitol Hotel offers some of the best Washington, DC area accommodations. Guests love our amenities, which include free high-speed Internet access, Keurig Coffee Makers, in-room safes and a superior location that places you one block from the Smithsonian's National Air & Space Museum, five blocks from the US Capitol and just a few blocks from the National Mall which includes famous monuments like the Washington Monument.

You can host any type of meeting or event in up to 7 function rooms while in Washington, DC. Our hotel's newly renovated, modern facility includes a 24-hour Business Center with free Internet access, copy and print services. Numerous governmental agencies and businesses, such as DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, and USDA, are near our location in the Washington, DC area.

Our accommodations put you just minutes from DC's most famous attractions, including the, Lincoln, Jefferson, World War II, and MLK Jr. Memorials, along with the Holocaust Museum. You can spend the day exploring the Smithsonian Museums or take an afternoon tour of the White House.

Enjoy a cup of coffee from the on-site Starbucks, or enjoy a meal from the Capital Bistro or 21st Amendment Bar & Grill before exploring the Washington, DC area. Our accommodations also include a fitness center and a seasonal, rooftop pool.

View Less
Features
Our Washington - Capitol hotel puts you near national monuments and museums, congressional offices and numerous federal agencies. Guests love our location with easy access to the Metro and airports.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 427 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Heart of the city Crowne Plaza Hamilton is right in the middle of the action. The historic building gives the charming feeling of warmth. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying on their own...the rooms are small. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent accomodations For an older hotel, the rooms have been very nicely updated and maintained. Excellent location. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Internet sign in The only annoyance - and it was minor - was that I needed to sign in to the internet each time I started my computer; it would be more convenient if it were able to remember my computer so I didn't have to do that. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Safe, secure & courteous Sleep Quality always the best when away from home but @ the Crowne Plaza - it was better. The staff could not be more accommodating, valet service extraordinary and location perfect. Thank you. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I had a wonderful stay at the Crowne PLaza Washington DC. Thank you for the wonderful experience. I had a suite and it was perfect. I felt very safe with the secure elevators. It is also a great location. The only negative was the rubber shower mat, It was covered in long hair. I flipped it over and that side was covered in long hair as well. I opted not to use the mat. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business in DC Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Nice facility, attentive and friendly staff. Rooms comfortable and quiet. Within walking distance to all the sites so was able to enjoy my down time when not working. Would definitely stay there again. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent accomodations Far exceeded our expectations! Great bed, wonderful location and great service! August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice! I highly recoemmend the Crowne Plaza in Washington DC. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet and I loved the complimentary spa accessories. The lobby was clean and safe. There was even a Starbucks on the first floor. Great place to stay and great location in DC. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Buena ubicación Excelente para turismo, muy bien ubicado. Recomendado August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience in DC Stayed at The Hamilton for two nights and was exceptionally pleased with my room and hotel staff.... Concierge was very helpful in choosing the perfect place for myself and daughter to dine. Enjoyed the location and proximity to all the attractions and events we attended.... Very quaint but full service. First time staying at a hotel in DC Love the city! August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort Stay in DC I never write reviews , but this is my first , I can say that my family and I enjoyed the stay, our room was well cleaned and comfortable. From the front desk staff to the housekeepers were very friendly and attentive to our stay and needs. If your planning on staying near DC you may want to consider staying at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza on the corner of 14 St and K St in front of the Franklin Square Park, near by restaurants, train station, FedEx Kinkos and US post office for any errands, couple of blocks from the White House and Treasury Department , all museums and parks are with in 3-7 minutes by taxi. I would return to the Hamilton if I d stay in DC again. August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Proximity to Metro and Sites While the "park location" is less than appealing, (lots of homeless live in the park) the general proximity to food and the Metro are excellent. There is also some parking in the area if you don't mind a short walk and want to save on the ridiculous cost of Valet parking. Room rates were average to a little high for the small size of them, although I haven't stayed in DC rooms much so don't know what to expect for size, price was definitely up there. We had two rooms, one w/ two doubles and another with a King and "couch seat" (not bed). The King was CRAMPED with barely any room to stand, we had more room in the two doubles room when all was said and done. The front desk staff were AWESOME for their service. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central located We were in town for a wedding and the location of this hotel enabled us to be able to spend our down time sight seeing. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very good experience I was pleasantly surprised with my recent stay at this hotel when attending a professional conference. It is very close to the convention center, more affordable than other hotels in the area, and has nice accommodations and very attentive and friendly staff. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by hamilton washington dc good place to stay as the concierge is very helpful August 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty floors Overall nice hotel. Great exercise facility. Small rooms. My biggest complaint is housekeeping staff. Bathroom floor was filthy upon arrival. Room was not cleaned adequately daily. Sad because nice hotel and good location for my business trip. But housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and acknowledgement of my status Really like all the Management and staff I interacted, they are very courteous August 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Really bad room cleanliness but nice people at the réception For the price paid i am not happy at all. The location is very good The breakfast is Nice The biggest problem was they are not cleaning The room properly, and due to that i got cough August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and place I would stay here again this is my second time staying At this hotel and my family and I love it and would keep coming back August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room Overall, this was a great stay. The staff was very courteous and helpful. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Our Stay was Great up until... Our Family decided to take a trip to DC to see the sites and attend a Nationals Baseball game. As a Platinum member who asks for very little, this property was very nice, in a great location, had good atmosphere with the exception of all the people living in the park across the street (out of the hotel's control) but overall met our expectations. On another note, if you are there to get some rest during the week, don't count on it. There were (4) traffic officers in the intersection outside the window (14th & K) blowing whistles at the first site of light (for us, it wasn't a problem as we wanted an early start). Rooms were a bit small but this is DC and we weren't there to hang out in the room in the first place. The hotel is close to everything. There are restaurants galore, a metro station 1 block away and basically anything you need is within a few blocks. We walked everywhere. Note - Hotel's Restaurant/Bar makes paying the prices at the ballpark seem like a bargain. Parking is unreasonably high at the hotel. $45 per night!!! For IHG Gold, Platinum and members of higher levelsthere should be a discounted rate or no rate at all. Other chains offer this to their top tier customers... Our entire trip and stay were great up until... our departing date. We were in DC trying to take advantage of every minute. At 12:00 noon as we were packed up and preparing to walk out the door the House-Keeping Manager (I assume) on our floor (7th floor) knocked on the door to herd us out like cattle. I understand that it was checkout time (12:00) but give me a break, it was NOON!!! We were standing at the door leaving but that wasn't good enough. He reached down, took off with our luggage and left it at the elevator. While doing this, my wife was reaching for her luggage to take it herself and he in the process of taking her luggage rips off her fingernail. I've been an IHG member for 25 years and have never felt so unwelcome in all my life. Our departing his space was much more important than the impression left behind (which was get the heII out). It ruined our entire stay!!! I mentioned it to the front desk in which they did apologize and said they would let his manager know but I don't expect anything to change. We just politely got in our vehicle that we just paid $135 to park and left, never to return. I'll just add to or use my 600,000 IHG points at another hotel the next time we visit DC. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Very clean. Very friendly staff. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. Overall great stay! August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and wonderful staff. The bell men were exceptional and Tony the concierge was extremely helpful!! Only complaint was floors in bathroom were dirty when we got there. And they weren't mopped once in the 5 days we were there. The location was perfect to walk to all sites on the mall. Tnx August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Near it all in downtown DC Fantastic location and an excellent hotel near everything from the White House to Capitol Hill - great restaurants, attractions and such will not disappoint. The cuisine and service excellent, with very accommodating personnel. I am quite picky and discerning when it comes to business travel - this hotel will not disappoint. I will certainly return and recommend the same for others. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location I really enjoyed my stay at the Hamilton, staff were very friendly and the room was very clean. The location was perfect close to my conference and other attractions , August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Sevice and easy access to DC proper. Every member of this staff displays a positive and warm attitude. Towanda and Ravi should be Ambassadors for hotel as their customer service skills set is second to none. With respect to getting around DC, taxi cabs are readily available in front of the hotel. Before the Bellman call for a taxi they will tell you if your destination is within walking distance or if you can easily take public transportation. Great place to stay on business. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sehr schönes Hotel an bester Lager Sehr schönes Hotel an bester Lage für alle möglichen Ausflüge. Sauber, gehobener Standard, Top-Personal - sehr zuvorkommend und hilfsbereit. Tolles Frühstück, schöne Zimmer, moderne Einrichtung. Alles war einwandfrei. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel This hotel is beautiful, in a great location, and well appointed. My room was fantastic and very well set up. I found the front desk people a bit less than helpful and seemed uneasy in their jobs, but the valets and people who worked at the front door went beyond the call of duty and were extremely helpful, very knowledgeable and very friendly. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean Hotel was exactly as presented on line. Got the room that I wanted and was contacted before arrival to confirm my choice of room. I was not identified as a member on arrival, but when I inquired about internet was told that it was free to members and was given the pass code. Nice clean hotel close to everything. August 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst room ever in my travel experience I've been IHG Platinum for the last 2 years, and decided to use my Reward Points to take my wife for a quick trip to DC. We had late arrival, and were assigned Rm 1444. Absolutely the worst room I've ever had, wrapping around the elevator bank. It was like living in the mechanical room. The next day I get a call from guest services asking how my stay was and described the noise, a hesitation, then an apology that they were completely book. I fully expected at least an apology note from the manager, but nothing. I would have provided a much higher rating for Staff and Service if it weren't for the major failure in addressing this issue. The loyalty I show on each of my paid nights every year, doesn't matter when you're on Reward Points. DO NOT STAY IN ANY ROOM ENDING IN "44" as they wrap around the entire elevator bank. August 1, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Union Station Hotel Hallway to Courtyard Washington Monument World War II Memorial Exterior Feature National Museum of the American Indian Courtyard WW II Memorial Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby in View of Courtyard National Air & Space Museum & US Capitol Jefferson Memorial Courtyard Entrance L'Enfant Plaza Metro - 1 Block Away National Air & Space Museum Korean War Memorial Thomas Jefferson Memorial
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading