• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: WASHINGTON DC
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.47MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:15
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are sorry but we do not accept pets. Only service animals allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Smithsonian's National Air & Space Museum, METRO
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Smithsonian's Natl Museum of the American Indian
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
DOT, FEMA, HHS, HUD, USDA, USDE
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
US Capitol and Visitor Center
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:1000
  • Car Parking Available
  • Secure, underground, self-parking up to 1000 spaces. Parking garage elevator will lead you right inside the hotel. Parking fee is $37.00 daily, inclusive of tax.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 37.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:536
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:536
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:15
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:9
  • FEMA Property Number:DC0040

Enjoy Our Washington, DC Hotel's Superb Location

The Holiday Inn® Washington - Capitol Hotel offers some of the best Washington, DC area accommodations. Guests love our amenities, which include free high-speed Internet access, Keurig Coffee Makers, in-room safes and a superior location that places you one block from the Smithsonian's National Air & Space Museum, five blocks from the US Capitol and just a few blocks from the National Mall which includes famous
View More

Enjoy Our Washington, DC Hotel's Superb Location

The Holiday Inn® Washington - Capitol Hotel offers some of the best Washington, DC area accommodations. Guests love our amenities, which include free high-speed Internet access, Keurig Coffee Makers, in-room safes and a superior location that places you one block from the Smithsonian's National Air & Space Museum, five blocks from the US Capitol and just a few blocks from the National Mall which includes famous monuments like the Washington Monument.

You can host any type of meeting or event in up to 7 function rooms while in Washington, DC. Our hotel's newly renovated, modern facility includes a 24-hour Business Center with free Internet access, copy and print services. Numerous governmental agencies and businesses, such as DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, and USDA, are near our location in the Washington, DC area.

Our accommodations put you just minutes from DC's most famous attractions, including the, Lincoln, Jefferson, World War II, and MLK Jr. Memorials, along with the Holocaust Museum. You can spend the day exploring the Smithsonian Museums or take an afternoon tour of the White House.

Enjoy a cup of coffee from the on-site Starbucks, or enjoy a meal from the Capital Bistro or 21st Amendment Bar & Grill before exploring the Washington, DC area. Our accommodations also include a fitness center and a seasonal, rooftop pool.

View Less
Features
Our Washington - Capitol hotel puts you near national monuments and museums, congressional offices and numerous federal agencies. Guests love our location with easy access to the Metro and airports.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 286 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay Enjoyed our stay in our nation's capital. Nice quiet hotel and was able to sleep well. Staff at desk were friendly and helpful. Staff in restaurant were polite. Bell hops were very helpful by getting our cabs and helping with luggage. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and good value This was a very pleasant stay made especially so by the friendly, helpful staff. The room was comfortable and clean. A nice touch was having coffee and ice water (with lemons and limes!) available in the lobby. Nice fitness center and lovely view from the roof-top pool area. Even though there were many tour groups staying at the hotel at the time, the floor where I stayed was quiet after around 11pm. June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by ice machine wasn't working on our floor the only complaint that I have is that our ice machine wasn't working on the 2nd floor so I had to go up a floor to get ice. Our room was right by the vending room but was unable to get ice. other than that we enjoyed our stay. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good General Manger The General Manager Jeff understands this industry and made for a great stay . June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, helpful service made the difference From the moment we arrived we were treated as welcome guests. Maurice (lobby/baggage service) was especially helpful. Restaurant had quality food, pleasantly served. Rooms were clean June 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disapointing Front desk not helpful at check in restaurant is below average in service and food quality. Electric outlets did not work and was given a refrig that did not operate. Definitely not worth the price would not stay at this Holiday Inn. June 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice accommodations, poor staff interactions This hotel is in a great location for D.C., within walking distance of many destinations and 1/2 mile from two different Metro Stations. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. The cleaning staff always did a good job and our room was always done when we came back, no matter how early. I almost never even passed one of them in the hall. The front desk staff, however, left something to be desired. After a 10 hour drive from Ohio and then battling the rush hour traffic through D.C.'s unfamiliar one-way streets and traffic circles, I encountered the front desk lady who was anything but friendly. She mumbled and was grumpy (to me, as well as to the Asian people in front of me who appeared to not speak English very well. She was downright rude to them.). I asked about parking and she snarled vague directions at me. Between her directions and the minimal signage put up by the hotel, we shot right past the "alley" where you turn for parking, then spent 15 minutes in traffic trying to wind our way back to the hotel. Really got our stay off on the wrong foot and didn't give me a good first impression. We went to the hotel dining room that night around 7 p.m. and despite there only being two other tables of people, we waited 5-10 minutes to even have a hostess seat us, despite the fact that several employees passed us (and couldn't even say "Someone will be with you in a moment.") The waitress was very nice, but she (or the kitchen) messed up my son's order (which we didn't bother to correct). She told us it would be awhile because there was a large party ahead of us. That "large party" was maybe 6-8 people. Our dinner took forever, was expensive, and mediocre at best. Luckily the rest of the stay there was pleasant, mostly because we had no reason to visit the front desk or restaurant again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Staff After a 9-day road trip staying at all Holiday Inns, this hotel had the best service of all. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for sightseeing Location is good for sightseeing walking distance for most places. staff is really helpful. rooms are clean. good neighborhood for walking June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk and lobby staff Front desk and lobby staff were very polite, professional and efficient. great group! June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Graduation visit My daughter and I arrived via train from NYC after a week of sightseeing there. We were overjoyed when we checked into our lovely room on the 7th floor. It was so quiet; the beds were so comfortable. Although the hotel was 8 blocks from the nearest metro station, it wasn't that bad (we had become accustomed to the subway in NYC where stations are much more abundant). We enjoyed nearby P street, too. June 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location, poor otherwise The location of the hotel is good, close to many attractions in Washington D.C. however that is the only good thing I can say about the hotel. The staff were friendly but recognition of Priority status was almost non existent. The food in room service and in the coffee shop tasted like it came out of a can, room service was slow, luckily there was a microwave in the room to reheat the food. The room was extremely noisy, I was on the 3rd floor and when ambulances or police cars passed in the street it sounded as if they were driving through the room. I wouldn't stay there again, and wouldn't recommend it. June 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, but a few questions Overall this stay was very good. The hotel accessible to the metro and plenty of activities. I also feel this property offered a very good value for the location. I had a couple of specific issues with the service we received however. We ate and had drinks at the hotel bar once, and did not make that mistake again. The bartender/waitress was the worst I have ever interacted with in a IHG brand hotel. She was rude the entire meal, and acted as if everything we asked for inconvenienced her. My daughters macaroni was cold when received it so she took it back to the kitchen and microwaved it. When she brought it out again it looked disgusting and old, but was smoking hot. The cleaning service was also not what I have come to expect at IHG brand hotels. We had dirty (empty) dishes left in our room along with other common cleaning items bypassed. Not to mention our last night during this stay we returned after a long day of sightseeing just before 4PM and our room was not serviced. I had to call the front desk and asked for it to be cleaned, and they told be the staff had already went home but I could have a different room. A few minutes later I received a call from another person stating that someone would be up to clean my room. So we had to leave after being gone all day so it could be cleaned. June 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best I was not real impressed with the staff. The gentleman at the front desk was not very welcoming. He was not rude, but definitely acted like we were an interruption to what he was doing. The room was clean but smelled like burnt food! The location was good. The desk help the next day was very helpful and had great suggestions for dinner. Would not recommend eating breakfast there. Again, rude staff and not so good food. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. Very hot and cold staff. Bar staff VERY rude! June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HOLIDAY INN WASHINGTON CENTRAL I hand stayed in holiday inn washington central for three nights it is in conviniet location June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by new jersey staff was extremely friendly and helpful, hotel and rooms were clean ...rooms should have refridgerator and they didnt.....only big downside was we had kids that ate free, the portion of the kids chicken breast meal wasnt enough to feed a 2 year old let alone 9 & 10 year olds...kids eat free is an incentive to eat there, so they lost our business eating there again for other meals ..but the food was very good June 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Average for a Holiday Inn. I have stayed in nicer Holiday Inn Express with free parking and breakfast. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Close to my meeting building; one block from Whole Foods, very friendly bartender, front desk went out of their way to help me, good secure feeling, very comfortable. June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Proximity to everything Very wonderful reception and food. The rooms looked a bit old but in all, it was a fantastic stay June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good value for the Washington Area I stayed at the other Holiday Inn property near the Smithsonian and Department of Transportation. This hotel is by far the better of the two. This hotel is also a little older property; however, it has a better room configuration. The location close to DuPont Circle is a great plus, with close access to many great restaurants and Whole Food within walking distance. There is a secure parking garage which is convenience for us with the rental car. The drive to the Capitol Mall area is relatively simple and easy. The staff members really try hard to work with you. Overall, my wife and I like this property a great deal. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Central - DC Great Hotel and easy access to all your needs in DC June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location. Great location. Close to P Street where there are other cafes and shops. I felt safe and comfortable walking in the area. The streets are tree lined, flowered, and have charming brownstone apartments. Lots of people out walking. Bikes and joggers. Lots of dog walkers. The doorman watched over the entrance. You have to have a hotel key to access the elevators. I liked that. The underground parking is a little crowded and costly, but to me it was worth not having to worry about not only finding a parking spot, but making sure my car was safe. The subway is close by and was no problem to use. Taxis are easy to find. The people in this city are very friendly. Everyone I asked information from or directions from would stop and help me ... with a smile. I would stay here again. June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great service Excellent service and a great hotel to stay, Front Desk was very warm and hospitable, the hotel is centrally loacated June 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by so so hotel, not the best holiday inn -ii've stayed at this holiday inn many times, but this was most disappointing stay -elevators did not work properly, resulting in 10 minute wait to go up and had to take stairs down 9 flights - a/c system did not work properly: temp was either 65 degrees with full blast fan or else turned off entirely May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and location We love the location to the metro and sights. Two blocks from Whole Food, Starbucks, and hip restaurants just off "P" Street. The staff try hard to please. The hotel is busy and the lobby area is narrow and tight. The restaurant at breakfast time can be crowded the buffet has a good variate menu. Overall, the service is good. This is an old building so maintenance is on going; one of the 3 elevators was out of service during our two day stay. I recommend the Washington-Central/White House to anyone visiting the city. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and convenience I was extremely satisfied with the comfort and cleanliness of the room. We were pleasantly surprised to find out at checkin that we were upgraded to a suite. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. There was a huge breakfast buffet as well as a menu to order from which we really appreciated. The location of the hotel was perfect. Located just a block from Whole Foods, CVS, and many restaurants and pubs. Also just a few blocks from the Metro. I would love to visit DC again and I would definitely stay here if and when I do. May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service the most gracious lady and she knows who she is went out of her way to make everything special thanks May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Upgraded Suite was great and excellent service from front desk staff The front desk staff were very respectful, knowledgeable, accommodating, & sympathetic to our needs when the airline lost our luggage for 2 days. This hotel is only a short walk to Whole Foods and great restaurants. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Friendly Awesome location for playing and touring in DC as well as being near meetings of all kinds. Staff were super nice. Wished we had had time to check out the roof top pool. Furniture in the room was definitely worn, though the mattress was fine and while the room overall was perfectly clean, it was ready for a deep clean of the corners, if you care about those things. May 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pros/Cons Maintenance staff seemed to be more concerned about my stay and comfort than anyone else. Room was clean and nice, The bed was very comfortable. This facility seems to be in a pretty good area of down. Didn't see much police presence or activity. This was a plus. Parking isn't the best and rather expensive for what you receive. Restaurant had good food, but the value of the food was a little much. The room description said there was a refrigerator in the room, however if it was I have yet to find it. Overall a good place and I would stay there again. April 30, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Union Station Hotel Hallway to Courtyard Washington Monument World War II Memorial Exterior Feature National Museum of the American Indian Courtyard WW II Memorial Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby in View of Courtyard National Air & Space Museum & US Capitol Jefferson Memorial Courtyard Entrance L'Enfant Plaza Metro - 1 Block Away National Air & Space Museum Korean War Memorial Thomas Jefferson Memorial
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Availability
Loading