• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: WILMINGTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals Are Welcome!

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
USS North Carolina Battleship
Distance From Hotel:6.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Well lit, complimentary parking for guests as well as bus parking for groups.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:124
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:69
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:124
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy Beautiful Historic Wilmington, NC from Our Hotel

Your arrival at our Holiday Inn® Wilmington - Market St hotel's location in Wilmington, NC places you in a unique area of antebellum charm and thriving 20th century buzz. We're just moments from the gorgeous shores of Wrightsville Beach.

History buffs at our Wilmington, NC hotel love the historic district, composed of some of the finest examples of antebellum architecture, and the battleship USS North Carolina, which
View More

Enjoy Beautiful Historic Wilmington, NC from Our Hotel

Your arrival at our Holiday Inn® Wilmington - Market St hotel's location in Wilmington, NC places you in a unique area of antebellum charm and thriving 20th century buzz. We're just moments from the gorgeous shores of Wrightsville Beach.

History buffs at our Wilmington, NC hotel love the historic district, composed of some of the finest examples of antebellum architecture, and the battleship USS North Carolina, which is right across the Cape Fear River. Stargazers are sure to enjoy visiting the EUE/Screen Gems Studio, the largest film and TV production facility in the United States outside of California. Families have plenty to do, too, since the Jungle Rapids Family Fun Park is just a few miles away.

In matters of business, our hotel's guests in Wilmington, NC are conveniently located close to a number of major offices. UNC-Wilmington, Corning, PPD and a division of General Electric can all be found within a five-mile radius of the hotel. A 24-hour Business Center gives our guests the ability to stay on top of last-minute developments and changes in their plans.

As a complement to Wilmington's charms, you can also enjoy complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access for sharing your experiences, and you can take time to relax in the indoor whirlpool. Make a reservation today at the Holiday Inn® Wilmington - Market St hotel, a genuine value to real people.

View Less
Features
You can find historic downtown, the riverwalk, a battleship, UNC-W and a fun park within five miles, and the gorgeous Cape Fear coast is just a little further off from our Wilmington, NC hotel.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 146 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to just relax Access to everything and in a nice quiet area of Wilmington. the staff was fantastic September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Service! I wanted to take a moment to express my appreciation to the management and staff at the Holiday Inn Express Wilmington-University Center. I have been staying at this location for most of the last 4 months as my employeer has a job in the Wilmington area and I have been temporarily relocated until the completion of the project. As you can understand, it is not easy to be away from your home for long periods of time. The Staff at this location has gone out of their way to make me feel welcomed and has taken care of me as though I were a family member. It is a safe bet that I will continue to stay at this location through the completion of my job duties and will also without question be booking here on family trips in or near the Wilmington area. Thanks. Vernon. September 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed, good parking and great service couldn't stay on the beach, this was the next best thing. also close to shopping. September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Daughter's 18th Birthday This is the third year that we have stayed with you on labor day weekend to celebrate my daughter's birthday & we always have the best experience! I always know what to expect & am never disappointed. The staff is very friendly & always say hello in passing. The food is consistently good (love your pancakes & my daughter always kids that she has to check to make sure I didn't pack the pancake machine to take home). I love how peaceful the location is. Thank you for a great celebration again! Hope to see you next year! September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Nice lodging facility. No problems. Friendly staff. Good central location for downtown Wilmington and Wrighsville Beach. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good stay as usual have stayed here in the past and always enjoy this hotel.thanks for a great stay August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home We first landed at HIE in Wilmington when our daughter was looking at UNCW. IT had been a long drive but once we crossed the front door EVERYONE there made us feel at home. The entire staff was friendly, offering to help at every turn. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices and the food area clean with a large screen tv to let you relax and get the days news. After our visit we went on to see several more colleges but not one of the other hotels - even the higher priced ones!- made us feel as welcome and as at home as HIE in Wilmington. We have since stayed there on every visit. We plan to continue to stay there. EVERYONE there has treated us with respect and kindness. You can not ask for anything more from a hotel! August 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by extreme dissatisfaction we were surprised to be SO unhappy with H.I.E. in wilmington. we had ants everywhere. first, on a chair i was sitting on, then i saw one in my bed ,crawling on my pillow next to me. i thought i had brought it in after i sat in the chair. i asked housekeeping to vacuum it, or change it out the chair . then i looked, and saw ants on our clean sheets. i asked for another room(thinking it was a fluke) but had ants in the second room also. we cut short our vacation in wilmington, since i felt ants everywhere. OH, and the towel rack fell off in my daughters hands, and the halls & elevators needed to be vacuumed better. can never go back there. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendliest Staff I have stayed in many hotels over the last 40+ years, and I can honestly say that the staff at this hotel was some of the most sincerely friendly I have ever encountered. They were so willing to do whatever they could to make our stay as comfortable as it could be. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast was delicious and the breakfast area very clean, and the location great. I will definitely stay here again. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent accommodations, but terrible coffee room was comfortable, quiet, and well air conditioned, but what has happened to the coffee available from HI Express... it has declined over the years and now, i must say, it's terrible! August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Value and location Clean, courteous, quiet, and conveniently located to the main strip in Wilmington. Outback is walking distance away. August 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Issue after check in After checking in - we go up the 5th floor to try to go into our room, the keys do not work. I go to front desk - get new keys - go back to the room, the keys don't work again - I called the front desk this time. They came within 5 minutes. The entire ordeal was irritating - they were very apologetic and resolved whatever the issue was. However, I was expecting some sort of a discount for the trouble and none was given. We talked to another couple who had the same problem. The elevator was slow. Not sure if I would stay at that hotel again for the price. Inconvenient when entering from Market street - where you have to go past the street and make a u-turn at the light at New Centre. August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT PLACE TO STAY We had our 8 year old grandson with us and he loved the pool. Staff was great. We went to the USS North Carolina Basttleship and it is in a great location to this and other vacation spots. Will definitlely like to come back and stay again. August 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not great Staff was not friendly on check in and at check out they could not understand why I did not have a bill left at my door, kept telling me I was staying another night Bathroom had hair in shower and on floor This is one of the worst hotels I think I've stayed in August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Overall We had a great stay at this HIG property. The beds are more than comfortable. Must stay when in the Wilmington area August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience This hotel staff at all levels was incredible. Friendly, courteous and helpful. Breakfast was very nice with many choices. Visiting friends in Wilmington, Wrightsville Beach and Carolina Beach, location was ideal. Beds comfortable and room was clean. I would recommend and certainly would stay again. August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Middle-Aged but Well Maintained Property This is middle-aged Holiday Inn Express that appears to have been well cared for and remodeled as necessary. I felt it adequately met all the high standards of the HIExpress chain. The bed was harder and not as comfortable as most HI Express I've stayed at. The front desk and housekeeping staff appeared to be above average with their hospitality and responsiveness as compared with other HIExpress locations. The parking lot was sufficiently large and well lit. The property was clean, well maintained, nicely landscaped, and very well lit. It is conveniently located behind a super walmart and walking distance from several large-chain sit down restaraunts. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, pleasant surroundings, courteous, helpful staff. The location is quiet but close to shopping and restaurants. The room was clean and the decor tasteful. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The breakfast selection was wonderful. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed - plenty of room Everything was perfect except the temperature in the room. It would get cold then hot, cold then hot. But overall, no complaints. We have stayed here several times before and always come back. The breakfast choices are good. July 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping service lowered the rating Nice hotel and 15 mins from beach and good restaurants. We booked a two-room suite and stayed there with two of our grandchildren This hotel would have received a higher rating except for the poor housekeeping service. After our first night, the room was not completely cleaned and we didn't have enough towels even though we told the desk on the day we arrived that we needed extras. After the second night it wasn't cleaned at all until we arrived back from the beach and I called housekeeping. The staff dispatched two very friendly maintenance men to perform the housekeeping. This happened even though on both days I left the chambermaid a tip. On the plus side, the rest of the staff is extremely friendly and service minded. They have a customer appreciation reception on Tuesday with complimentary beer, wine, and food that is quite enjoyable. Two staff members who gave exceptional service are Pierrette and Melvin. We will return and hope the housekeeping will improve. July 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Broken promises My review is on my last stay, my previous visits were good. They last time I stayed on June 25th it was a memorable experience but not in the right way. I was recognized as platinum and given an upgrade, however that is when the wheels fell off. When I go the the "upgraded room" , the bed had not been made, the room was not cleaned and even though it was a non smoking room, it reaked of smoke. I returned to the front desk and was put back into my original room type which was fine. When i returned from going out to get a bite to eat I had a card in my room from the general manager apologizing and stating she was going to award some extra priority club points to my account for the hassle. I thought that was good because she took the time to try to make up for it. Well now it is a month later and I never did receive the points, pretty unremarkable customer service when you try to make up for one mistake and fail with the attempt. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Great location, access to everything, good breakfast, comfortable rooms, very accommodating staff. Will be my choice when we return. Since we got the same everything on the weekday as we did on the weekend, Would have preferred to have paid the weekday rate for the whole stay since our stay started during the week...instead of being charged weekend rates too. July 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could've Been Better I stayed at this hotel in the past. It seems to have a lot of wear and tear in a short period of time. Near the elevator, there was a leak in the ceiling in the hallway going to our room. We also had to purchase some air freshener for our room. I wasn't recognize as a IHG member. I guess I've gotten a little spoil and miss my little surprise gifts. They ae appreciated. However, the breakfast was okay. Not a lot of choices but still okay. I don't think I will return. July 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good overall experience The hotel and stay we had were nice overall. The only issue we had was upon our check-in. We had reservations which were made two weeks before our arrival, we paid in full for the room ahead of time, and was told we could check-in at 3pm. We arrived to the hotel at 4:15 and literally had to sit in the lobby until 5:15 because our room was not ready yet. Other than that though, our stay was nice, the room was nice, and I would recommend the hotel. July 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful room It was a wonderful time. Great staff took good care of you. Only one thing they should have adult time for the pool July 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great! very clean, wonderful friendly staff and management. I really liked the manager asking if I was enjoying my stay. breakfast was really good. July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay A very clean and comfortable hotel. Rooms are big. Very close to several restaurants. Easy access to RT17 business (Market St). Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Wilmington. July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great!! Had a great stay..everything was clean and the staff was excellant! They even sent us a basket of goodies as we were celebrating our 42nd anniversary. The manger constantly asked if we needed anything and was just a delight to stay here....will stay again! July 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by will not return We have been staying at this hotel for the past 9 years and will probably be our last. We checked in with an upgrade and when we arrived at our room, the door was open and maintanence was inside repairing the AC unit. One of the housekeeping staff was kind enough to go back down to the front desk to see what was up. We did not see her again, but another person, (no clue who) told us to go back down to the front desk to get a different room. We did and all the five people at the front just looked at us like they had no idea what we were doing down there. The maintenance guys (Tim and his supervisor) were very kind and told us they would get the room finished up in a few minutes and we could go back up and get settled in. We did and they were most apologetic about us having to wait and be in the room while they did the repairs. Upon unpacking, we noticed 3 of the peices of furniture had legs that were broken and sitting at a very uneven position. Tim did screw on of them back in while they were there. We noticed the others ones were broken after they left. We got a chance to unpack our bathroom stuff and noticed caulking comming out and some missing around the Jacuzzi, and paint peeling off the overhead AC vent. The shower was awful. There was no place to place any items other than the bar of soap, except on the floor. There was never any hot water, only warm and that was after we let the water run for at least 3-4 minutes in both the shower and the faucet. (what a waste of water, especially when they have notices in the room to hang your towels back up if you wish to conserve resources!) When we got back from our visit with our family, we sat down on the couch and I noticed the fabric on the whole arm of the chair was ripped off. There was only one trash can in the bathroom, and none near the desk or the kitchen. We did ask our housekeeper for another one the following day and she was great about getting two of them for us. There was also no dish towel in the kitchen near the sink. On Sunday , we arrived back into our room after breakfast and the ceiling was leaking. We were going to our daughters for the day, and maintence came up to fix the leak while we were gone. We had towels down, it was leaking that bad. When we got back late Sunday night, the towels were still on the floor where we left them and the filter was not put back in the AC unit. It was sitting by the wall near the TV. We didn't bother to notify the front desk as it was late, we were not going to move rooms, and we didn't think maintence was around to come fix the problem, and we didn't want them in the room at 10pm anyway. When we got up Monday morning to leave, housekeeping had not stocked our bathroom ( I am guessing that maintence was still in there working and she could not get in to the bathroom) so we had only one bath towel between the 2 of us. You can guess that we were not happy campers. The elevator has to be the slowest one ever. We took the stairs when ever we needed to go up or down. Every time we did, water was standing on the floor in the stairwell with towels and rolls placed near the door to soak up all the water. It was raining the whole time we were there, so we can understand where the water came from. We did notice while eating breakfast (which was good, well run and stocked) the manager was around the breakfast area checking to make sure everything was running well. I was going to tell him about all the missteps while we were there, but never could catch him and didn't have time to wait as we had family obligations right after breakfast. The housekeeping staff was great as were the maintenace staff. We had no problems with them until the episode on the last night. I do not think the hotel has been refurbished at all in the 9 years we have been staying there, and the whole place looks tired and run down. I got the impression this is a new manager and they are trying to attend to things, but we will not stay there again. We never once got a call from any of the staff to make sure the items we reported were taken care of. There is a nice Staybridge Suites just down the road, so will try it next time we visit. July 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Service The Holiday Inn Express in Wilmington is a great place to stay. They could use an upgrade of mattresses on the beds. July 1, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Hotel Exterior
Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Hotel Entrance Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Hotel Front Desk Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Hotel Exterior Front Desk USS NC Battleship Packages available at Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Henrietta Riverboat Tour Packages available at Holiday Inn Horse Drawn Carriage Tour Packages available at Holiday Inn Trolley Tour Packages available at Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Fort Fisher Aquarium Packages available at Holiday Inn Wilmington 24 Hour Coffee Station in the Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Wilmington Market Street Hotel Lobby Guest Sitting Area in the Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Availability
Loading