• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: WILMINGTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals Are Welcome!

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
USS North Carolina Battleship
Distance From Hotel:6.1MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:150
  • Car Parking Available
  • Well lit, complimentary parking for guests as well as bus parking for groups.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:127
  • Total number of suites:5
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:69
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:124
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive floors
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy Beautiful Historic Wilmington, NC from Our Hotel

Your arrival at our Holiday Inn® Wilmington - Market St hotel's location in Wilmington, NC places you in a unique area of antebellum charm and thriving 20th century buzz. We're just moments from the gorgeous shores of Wrightsville Beach.

History buffs at our Wilmington, NC hotel love the historic district, composed of some of the finest examples of antebellum architecture, and the battleship USS North Carolina, which
View More

Enjoy Beautiful Historic Wilmington, NC from Our Hotel

Your arrival at our Holiday Inn® Wilmington - Market St hotel's location in Wilmington, NC places you in a unique area of antebellum charm and thriving 20th century buzz. We're just moments from the gorgeous shores of Wrightsville Beach.

History buffs at our Wilmington, NC hotel love the historic district, composed of some of the finest examples of antebellum architecture, and the battleship USS North Carolina, which is right across the Cape Fear River. Stargazers are sure to enjoy visiting the EUE/Screen Gems Studio, the largest film and TV production facility in the United States outside of California. Families have plenty to do, too, since the Jungle Rapids Family Fun Park is just a few miles away.

In matters of business, our hotel's guests in Wilmington, NC are conveniently located close to a number of major offices. UNC-Wilmington, Corning, PPD and a division of General Electric can all be found within a five-mile radius of the hotel. A 24-hour Business Center gives our guests the ability to stay on top of last-minute developments and changes in their plans.

As a complement to Wilmington's charms, you can also enjoy complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access for sharing your experiences, and you can take time to relax in the indoor whirlpool. Make a reservation today at the Holiday Inn® Wilmington - Market St hotel, a genuine value to real people.

View Less
Features
You can find historic downtown, the riverwalk, a battleship, UNC-W and a fun park within five miles, and the gorgeous Cape Fear coast is just a little further off from our Wilmington, NC hotel.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 184 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good service; desperately need to change carpet Carpet is old, dirty, and affects the impression of quality negatively. Everything else was satisfactory. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend Very nice and clear, affordable,great breakfast, centrally located. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for families except no crib after online request We had the king room with sleeper sofa in the living room- comfy room, clean. Requested extra blankets and they were delivered within 2 minutes. Crib was requested online with reservation, but on arrival we were told they were all "reserved" (online listing says no guarantees). All other hotels we have used have the same policy of no crib guarantees, but theyve always had one for us- and for once I forgot to pack our backup. Had to go buy one. Now we have two. I'm guessing the software company that wrote their reservation code didnt think it particularly important where a child sleeps. This hotel has great reviews and lives up to them except in this area- how hard is it to include reservations for a crib when youre already doing room reservations? Unfortunate for a hotel that banks part of their business on families. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Trip Excellent service upon arrival. There was a Manager's reception going on when I arrived and the General manager came up and greeted me while checking in and thanked me for my business and invited me to enjoy what they had to offer. October 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Affordable Comfort and Nice Staff Lots of hotels in the immediate vicinity to choose from, and we found this a good value selection. Rooms were clean and reasonably spacious. The staff were friendly, and the breakfast was plentiful. The hotel was fully booked, and the staff seemed to accommodate all the guest's needs. A special shout out to the breakfast crew, who kept all the items freshly stocked during peak demand. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of our best motels We stayed in 6 different IHG properties over a 10 day period and this was my favorite, Did not have 1st floor but was close to elevator. Light bulb missing but a quick call resolved it. It had two TV sets which we liked. Lots of room. Staff was very attentive. I did have to remind clerk that I was a rewards member. September 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SEPT VISIT STAFF EXCELLENT, ROOM VERY CLEAN , ... HAVE STAYED HERE NUMEROUS TIMES AND ALL STAYS WERE VERY ENJOYABLE .............. September 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great cinnamon rolls! My husband and I both loved the breakfast. Both biscuits and gravy were warm and tasty. They are remodeling so had to look over decor. Staff was very accommodating. September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to just relax Access to everything and in a nice quiet area of Wilmington. the staff was fantastic September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Service! I wanted to take a moment to express my appreciation to the management and staff at the Holiday Inn Express Wilmington-University Center. I have been staying at this location for most of the last 4 months as my employeer has a job in the Wilmington area and I have been temporarily relocated until the completion of the project. As you can understand, it is not easy to be away from your home for long periods of time. The Staff at this location has gone out of their way to make me feel welcomed and has taken care of me as though I were a family member. It is a safe bet that I will continue to stay at this location through the completion of my job duties and will also without question be booking here on family trips in or near the Wilmington area. Thanks. Vernon. September 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed, good parking and great service couldn't stay on the beach, this was the next best thing. also close to shopping. September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Daughter's 18th Birthday This is the third year that we have stayed with you on labor day weekend to celebrate my daughter's birthday & we always have the best experience! I always know what to expect & am never disappointed. The staff is very friendly & always say hello in passing. The food is consistently good (love your pancakes & my daughter always kids that she has to check to make sure I didn't pack the pancake machine to take home). I love how peaceful the location is. Thank you for a great celebration again! Hope to see you next year! September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Nice lodging facility. No problems. Friendly staff. Good central location for downtown Wilmington and Wrighsville Beach. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good stay as usual have stayed here in the past and always enjoy this hotel.thanks for a great stay August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home We first landed at HIE in Wilmington when our daughter was looking at UNCW. IT had been a long drive but once we crossed the front door EVERYONE there made us feel at home. The entire staff was friendly, offering to help at every turn. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices and the food area clean with a large screen tv to let you relax and get the days news. After our visit we went on to see several more colleges but not one of the other hotels - even the higher priced ones!- made us feel as welcome and as at home as HIE in Wilmington. We have since stayed there on every visit. We plan to continue to stay there. EVERYONE there has treated us with respect and kindness. You can not ask for anything more from a hotel! August 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by extreme dissatisfaction we were surprised to be SO unhappy with H.I.E. in wilmington. we had ants everywhere. first, on a chair i was sitting on, then i saw one in my bed ,crawling on my pillow next to me. i thought i had brought it in after i sat in the chair. i asked housekeeping to vacuum it, or change it out the chair . then i looked, and saw ants on our clean sheets. i asked for another room(thinking it was a fluke) but had ants in the second room also. we cut short our vacation in wilmington, since i felt ants everywhere. OH, and the towel rack fell off in my daughters hands, and the halls & elevators needed to be vacuumed better. can never go back there. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendliest Staff I have stayed in many hotels over the last 40+ years, and I can honestly say that the staff at this hotel was some of the most sincerely friendly I have ever encountered. They were so willing to do whatever they could to make our stay as comfortable as it could be. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast was delicious and the breakfast area very clean, and the location great. I will definitely stay here again. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent accommodations, but terrible coffee room was comfortable, quiet, and well air conditioned, but what has happened to the coffee available from HI Express... it has declined over the years and now, i must say, it's terrible! August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Value and location Clean, courteous, quiet, and conveniently located to the main strip in Wilmington. Outback is walking distance away. August 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Issue after check in After checking in - we go up the 5th floor to try to go into our room, the keys do not work. I go to front desk - get new keys - go back to the room, the keys don't work again - I called the front desk this time. They came within 5 minutes. The entire ordeal was irritating - they were very apologetic and resolved whatever the issue was. However, I was expecting some sort of a discount for the trouble and none was given. We talked to another couple who had the same problem. The elevator was slow. Not sure if I would stay at that hotel again for the price. Inconvenient when entering from Market street - where you have to go past the street and make a u-turn at the light at New Centre. August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT PLACE TO STAY We had our 8 year old grandson with us and he loved the pool. Staff was great. We went to the USS North Carolina Basttleship and it is in a great location to this and other vacation spots. Will definitlely like to come back and stay again. August 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not great Staff was not friendly on check in and at check out they could not understand why I did not have a bill left at my door, kept telling me I was staying another night Bathroom had hair in shower and on floor This is one of the worst hotels I think I've stayed in August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Overall We had a great stay at this HIG property. The beds are more than comfortable. Must stay when in the Wilmington area August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience This hotel staff at all levels was incredible. Friendly, courteous and helpful. Breakfast was very nice with many choices. Visiting friends in Wilmington, Wrightsville Beach and Carolina Beach, location was ideal. Beds comfortable and room was clean. I would recommend and certainly would stay again. August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Middle-Aged but Well Maintained Property This is middle-aged Holiday Inn Express that appears to have been well cared for and remodeled as necessary. I felt it adequately met all the high standards of the HIExpress chain. The bed was harder and not as comfortable as most HI Express I've stayed at. The front desk and housekeeping staff appeared to be above average with their hospitality and responsiveness as compared with other HIExpress locations. The parking lot was sufficiently large and well lit. The property was clean, well maintained, nicely landscaped, and very well lit. It is conveniently located behind a super walmart and walking distance from several large-chain sit down restaraunts. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, pleasant surroundings, courteous, helpful staff. The location is quiet but close to shopping and restaurants. The room was clean and the decor tasteful. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The breakfast selection was wonderful. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed - plenty of room Everything was perfect except the temperature in the room. It would get cold then hot, cold then hot. But overall, no complaints. We have stayed here several times before and always come back. The breakfast choices are good. July 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping service lowered the rating Nice hotel and 15 mins from beach and good restaurants. We booked a two-room suite and stayed there with two of our grandchildren This hotel would have received a higher rating except for the poor housekeeping service. After our first night, the room was not completely cleaned and we didn't have enough towels even though we told the desk on the day we arrived that we needed extras. After the second night it wasn't cleaned at all until we arrived back from the beach and I called housekeeping. The staff dispatched two very friendly maintenance men to perform the housekeeping. This happened even though on both days I left the chambermaid a tip. On the plus side, the rest of the staff is extremely friendly and service minded. They have a customer appreciation reception on Tuesday with complimentary beer, wine, and food that is quite enjoyable. Two staff members who gave exceptional service are Pierrette and Melvin. We will return and hope the housekeeping will improve. July 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Broken promises My review is on my last stay, my previous visits were good. They last time I stayed on June 25th it was a memorable experience but not in the right way. I was recognized as platinum and given an upgrade, however that is when the wheels fell off. When I go the the "upgraded room" , the bed had not been made, the room was not cleaned and even though it was a non smoking room, it reaked of smoke. I returned to the front desk and was put back into my original room type which was fine. When i returned from going out to get a bite to eat I had a card in my room from the general manager apologizing and stating she was going to award some extra priority club points to my account for the hassle. I thought that was good because she took the time to try to make up for it. Well now it is a month later and I never did receive the points, pretty unremarkable customer service when you try to make up for one mistake and fail with the attempt. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Great location, access to everything, good breakfast, comfortable rooms, very accommodating staff. Will be my choice when we return. Since we got the same everything on the weekday as we did on the weekend, Would have preferred to have paid the weekday rate for the whole stay since our stay started during the week...instead of being charged weekend rates too. July 19, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Hotel Entrance
Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Hotel Entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Hotel Entrance USS NC Battleship Packages available at Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Fort Fisher Aquarium Packages available at Holiday Inn Wilmington Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Hotel Front Desk Trolley Tour Packages available at Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Guest Sitting Area in the Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Wilmington Market Street Hotel Lobby 24 Hour Coffee Station in the Hotel Lobby Henrietta Riverboat Tour Packages available at Holiday Inn Horse Drawn Carriage Tour Packages available at Holiday Inn Holiday Inn Wilmington NC Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading