• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: WINCHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals are permitted

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Abrams Delight Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Shenadoah Summer Music Theater
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
87th Shenandoah Apple Blossom Festival
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Handley Regional Library Stewert Bell Archives
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary self parking for overnight and meeting guests. With secure entrances after hours.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:74
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. The award winning Holiday Inn Winchester Historic Gateway, located just off I-81 in the heart of Winchester, VA, close to the area's Civil War historic sites and major corporations; Home Depot, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid

Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting
View More

Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. The award winning Holiday Inn Winchester Historic Gateway, located just off I-81 in the heart of Winchester, VA, close to the area's Civil War historic sites and major corporations; Home Depot, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid

Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, BMX Race Track, Winchester Speedway, the Sportsplex, Mudder Tracks and Fredrick County Parks and Recreation hosting craft shows, vintage car shows and children’s events.

Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.

Our hotel amenities include an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Lounge. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Bowling Green. Our southern hospitality you can relax when you stay at Holiday Inn Historic Gateway.

View Less
Features
Built in late 2008, the newest full service Hotel in the area the location offers many extensive views from both sides of the Hotel. Looking out our North side windows you will be able to see the beautiful Winchester skyline with the mountains behind. Looking out the South side windows you will see the vista of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 189 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor security. unreliable staff Poor security. unreliable staff Poor security. unreliable staff Poor security. unreliable staff September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the visit The front desk had exceptional service any time we came to ask questions. August 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff,nice hotel exercise equipment in very sad shape needs attention Poor quality and upkeep of exercise equipment friendly staff August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Three Nights I have to say the Hotel is situated just, has plenty of juice restaurants around it for dining choices. The Hotel had friendly staff and the rooms were great. Now I know some people will complain about the pets that were there. But I for one will not, because when I am not traveling for business, I travel with my dogs. And it is hard at times to find a Hotel that will let us stay. Now one of my dogs is a service dog, so I am covered there, but the other is not, so I was very surprised to see, especially a Holiday Inn Express Hotell that excepts Pets. I say keep on. Accepting. Again a great experience. VR, A Very Pleased Guest August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Vacation Stop Over I was on vacation with my wife & 2 grandchildren .It was a stop over on the way to our final destination.Found it to be a very nice place. We here able to use the indoor pool which was great for the kids after a long drive as well as the hottub for us..The staff where great & very helpful to us . The rooms where comfortable & we all got a good nights rest. We liked it so much we stayed again on our way back home. As a Platinum Member I would recommend it Hotel. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, close to restaurants, shopping, etc nice Holiday Inn Express. Convenient to the interstate, excellent faculty, clean and welcoming. Nice staff. Good restaurants, mainl chains, close by. highly recommended. August 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean hotel - loud AC in rooms Overall a nice hotel. Staff was friendly and check-in was very efficient. Room was clean and large enough for the three of us, but the AC was so loud we couldn't sleep. Tried adjusting it several times, but nothing seemed to work. Also, the wireless Internet access was painfully slow. Ended up going across the street to the McDonald's to use theirs. Pool/hot tub are great! Fitness centre is ok, elliptical machine is horrible! Use the treadmill if no one else is on it. August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noise Loved this beautiful hotel my only complaint and when I checked out I told the front desk. . I was awakened at 10:00 pm with hearing 2 dogs fighting , again at 5 Am barking !! August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff. Staff was considerate and professional. We will stay here on our return. August 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to HIE standards This HIE was a disappointment. We've stayed in many HIEs across the country, even this one previously. i don't know what has happened, but it did not feel clean and it seems to need a renovation or at least a deep cleaning, including carpeting and tile. It has an "old" feel to it. We will not stay at this particular HIE again. August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place Clean and well run, in a nice area with restaurants and mall nearby and good value for the price. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Quiet Room This was our first stay at this Holiday Inn Express; we were greeted immediately by one of the staff and were even given a choice of 2nd or 3rd floor; and since the hotel was very busy chose the 3rd. Our room was quiet and clean. Bathroom was very clean, fully stocked and had a wonderful shower head. Breakfast was the usual fair for most hotels, but better than most; coffee was excellent. The hotel has several chain restaurants available as well as a nice mall. The Outlet Mall is just an exit away via interstate 70. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again when in the area. August 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Quiet, clean rooms. Other amenities exceeded my expectations: Pool, weight room, and breakfast. Would definitely return to this hotel in my business visits. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall nice, but room was an issue The hotel staff was nice, and the pool/whirlpool was great. Breakfast was good and the hotel overall was clean. Unfortunately, we asked for a non-smoking room and got busy unloading a lot of luggage into it (we were moving and had a lot of stuff we didn't want to leave in the car). After moving into our room, we realized it smelled terribly of smoke. Too lazy to ask for a room change, we figured we'd put up with it for a night. The housekeeper gave us a bottle of room refresher, which temporarily masked the smell. Bottom line: if you're going to say a room is non-smoking, don't give guests a room that smells like smoke. If you stay here, the hotel is nice but don't let the staff assign you room 106 if you have any issues regarding smoking. August 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and convenient We did notice a smell and that might be because your hotel is dog friendly and you have to spray. We were not told in advance that dogs had probably been in our room, on our bed and pillows and we found this very disconcerting the next day. There was a pitbull at the elevator and another dog in the breakfast area. What do you do if a dog comes in with fleas??? That is what the odor smelled like; flea spray. I think it would have been helpful if the person who took our reservation AT LEAST had put us on a no-dog floor. I am still not too sure how comfortable we would have been, but knowing ahead of time is much better. Otherwise, our stay was pleasant, breakfast was fine and we were on our way. Appreciated both a snack and water for being a club member. At some places, I have to ask for it. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved our Stay! Perfect. Location: Excellent. Staff - very friendly - and extremely helpful, down to the cleaning staff. Left my laptop cord, and they called me within an hour of leaving the hotel - and shipped it to me. I was able to bring my dog - and the room was very clean, the pet fee is extremely reasonable. Bathrooms better than most HIE's I've stayed in. Was greeted with a Goody Bag for me and my guests. Room was quiet, WI-FI was fast and easy to connect - TV was easy to use - Hot Free breakfast with lots of choices. Even provide pet pick up bags outside. I traveled alone with my 2 small kids and pet, and felt very secure, and will make this my permanent stop when I traveling to visit my Mom - which this is half way. Thanks for a great stay, and great value! You guys were awesome! July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great family hotel Our room had two queen beds, which came with both soft and firm pillows making our sleep very comfortable. The room was roomy and the bathroom was huge! The continental breakfast is included and had everything from yogurt to bacon to gluten-free bagels and muffins. The entire hotel was maintained very well and was extremely clean. I would definitely stay here again. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable room , great pool, friendly service Enjoyed our stay in Hagerstown Holiday inn express. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The service was excellent. Made use of the indoor pool and hot tub. A major plus being located within walking distance to 2 restaurants. Would definitely stay there again. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value, Pet Friendly. No issues at all. Friendly staff, clean room, no wait to get into room, reservation as requested. Pet friendly a big +. Lots of places to eat nearby, mostly chain with some local establishments if you look for them. Other stores nearby if you need to pick up a few things while on the road. One night stay while traveling. Met our requirements. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Hotel We stayed here with our softball team for a tournament in Hagerstown as part of a large group. Reservations were easy, check-in was quick and painless. The property itself is on the new side, so the facilities are great. Breakfast was good, although more healthy choices would be appreciated. Keep in mind, this is a pet friendly hotel. I have nothing against pets, but there was a dog on our floor (3rd) which was barking loudly at about 10PM. One of the guests from our group called the front desk to complain, and received the response - 'I don't know what room that's from, I didn't make the reservation.' An excellent teaching opportunity for the staff of what NOT to say to a guest. Although there was no problem other than that, if things like this bother you, I recommend that you request a room on the floors that they DON'T put dogs on. Obviously cats can't make that much noise. July 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by 7-10-2014 night experience The facility was excellent and normally would have reviewed sleep quality and able to relax as excellent. However, an alarm malfunction caused it to go off with a loud shrieking sound that got us up and out of the facilty at about 2am. We were out until the fire dept. that was on hand rather quickly determined the problem and gave the all clear to go back which was about 3am.. However, it was hard to get back to sleep after that. July 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room The hotel was a good place to stay except for the amount of pets. The rooms seemed to smell of air freshner to cover the smell of pets and not of cleanliness. I do not enjoy eating breakfast and having dogs walk past me 5 ft away. I would have preferred to have been told ahead of time, My first room was used mainly for pets and had to switch. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Personalable Staff We arrived a little early for check in. We were welcomed and got our room key cards. Went to our room and the maintenance man was finishing with ac maintenance. He was very apologetic for not being out of the room. He quickly finished. The room attendants were working in another room and saw us outside our room. They too were very apologetic. We understand that we were early and they had a job to do. We loved the room and staff. Have stayed here several times and always enjoy it. Thanks for everything, we will be back!! July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stopping place Convenient to restaurants, shopping, right off expressway. Courteous staff, clean rooms, good selection for breakfast. Pool July 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sleeplessness If the Air conditioning system worked smoothly and quietly, we would have enjoyed the stay. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly Surprised I havent stayed at an IHG hotel in years. This facility was chosen by us due to the location of the hotel in conjunction with our events. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived to the hotel and it had a beautiful private setting off of the highway. It is set back away from the hustle and bustle of traffic but within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The staff was great, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent. The only thing I would recommend to the hotel is that it look at upgrading the bathrooms within the room. I give this Hotel a 5 out of 5 for location, friendly staff and great rooms. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Vacation Interlude This is one of the most appealing Holiday Inn Express hotels in which we have ever stayed. The building is fairly new (10 years) and in excellent repair and appearance. The rooms are spacious, quiet and supplied with excellent toiletries and comfortable towels and linens. One first encounters beautiful gardens upon arrival -- an accurate first impression of the overall condition of the hotel and an appropriate reflection of the management's dedication to making this an excellent property without sparing expense on maintenance, gardening or guest comforts. The hotel is conveniently located to restaurants, some of which are in walking distance. After a 500 mile day journey, the Hagerstown hotel proved a most relaxing and delightful locale in which to recover! June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Normally great at HI Express Everything was great at our overnight accommadations, except that I could not connect to the WiFi. I asked for helpo at the front desk, but was not able to help me. He said, "Some times it doesn't work with android, which expiained my kindle, but I couldn't c onnect for mhy computer either. BUMMER! June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent hotel- service needs work Waited in our car for 2 1/2 hours to check in after we were promised a room in a 1/2 hour. Housekeeping should have been asked to get 1 room ready when we were originally told there would be a 30 minute wait. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay was very good Checking in to this hotel was fast and I really enjoyed my one night at this hotel. I would stay here again if I am back in this area. Free breakfast is a plus. June 26, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester
Select to close.
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester Covered Hotel Front Entrance Comfortable couches for relaxed conversation Lobby view into Kem's Restaurant Kem's Lounge for that relaxing cocktail
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading