• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: WINCHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals are permitted

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Abrams Delight Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Shenadoah Summer Music Theater
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
87th Shenandoah Apple Blossom Festival
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Handley Regional Library Stewert Bell Archives
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary self parking for overnight and meeting guests. With secure entrances after hours.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:74
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. The award winning Holiday Inn Winchester Historic Gateway, located just off I-81 in the heart of Winchester, VA, close to the area's Civil War historic sites and major corporations; Home Depot, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid

Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting
View More

Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. The award winning Holiday Inn Winchester Historic Gateway, located just off I-81 in the heart of Winchester, VA, close to the area's Civil War historic sites and major corporations; Home Depot, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid

Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, BMX Race Track, Winchester Speedway, the Sportsplex, Mudder Tracks and Fredrick County Parks and Recreation hosting craft shows, vintage car shows and children’s events.

Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.

Our hotel amenities include an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Lounge. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Bowling Green. Our southern hospitality you can relax when you stay at Holiday Inn Historic Gateway.

View Less
Features
Built in late 2008, the newest full service Hotel in the area the location offers many extensive views from both sides of the Hotel. Looking out our North side windows you will be able to see the beautiful Winchester skyline with the mountains behind. Looking out the South side windows you will see the vista of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 110 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay Room was ok, property needs some updating, staff was very attentive and very friendly August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stop for travel This hotel is directly off I-81 so it makes it a great stopping point if you are travelling north or south. I usually stop here every time I drive to NY from SC. Its a perfect distance being about halfway from where I live. I can always expect a clean room and very friendly staff to help me out when I arrive. There is a Dominosand a Burger King next door which make it very convenient for food,as well as a gas/convient mart. The last time I stayed I noticed a Walmart about a mile from the hotel that was recently built. The rooms are always clean and very comfortable especially after driving for long hours. The morning breakfast is about what you would expect with most places but is nice to have when you want to get a quick start in the morning. The swimming pool is in good condition always if you travel in the warmer months and makes it nice to cool off after a long drive. Overall I highly recommend this hotel and I will continue to use this as my halfway stop for my travel to NY. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Very easy to get to and helpful staff. I liked the lobby and it was great place to stay on my trip. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by owner change even though an ownership change was happening at the time of our stay,we really enjoyed it,the maintance person was pleasent in explaining why cable/internet was not up to par as other hotels August 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service Poor guest relations!! Staff was very inattentive to our needs. August 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Completely disappointed Price was higher than internet posted rate, no cable, no internet, nothing in the vending machines. August 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Should have kept the old management We've stayed here many times and has been great until this time. Management is certainly not their for the comfort of the guests. What manager doesn't have the common sense to take money from the petty cash and go buy sugar for the guests coffee? Really that should be 101. The air conditioners condensate line was backing up on the rug in the room. Looked down the hallway and there were wet bathing suits on the floor. There is no pancake or waffle machine, coffee pot was empty. No one at the front desk recognized our member status. Looks to me you should have kept the old staff instead of getting rid of all of them. At least they never ran out of the staples. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service The chains corporate booking system made an error in our accomodation. The staff at Martinsburg corrected the error before our arrival and made our stay a pleasant experience of excellent customer service. July 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed Not recognized as member at check in, Poor Internet speed, no network TV channels. Certainly not a typical HIE hotels experience July 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not sure what is going on with this Holiday Inn Express I have stayed at this HIE before an was always comfortable with my stay - however this last time July, 14, 2014 - I don't know what they were doing. The TV didn't work - called front desk they were going to look into it - as of the next morning it still didn't work. We were on the second floor - the second floor ice machine didn't work. On the floor above us was a group of kids - I called the front desk at 11 PM hoping to quiet them down - I was told "they" gave us trouble the other night - meanwhile their parents were on the second floor not the third floor with their kids - around midnight they finally settled down. The breakfast bar was nothing compared to the last time we stayed - no pancakes - coffee was full of grinds - juice was watered down - and even if the coffee was replaced there was no sugar. I feel bad writing such a bad review but it was crazy there this time, not sure if I would trust it enough to go back. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and quiet We really enjoyed how quiet it was for sleeping. We do not enjoy sleeping next to the freeway or under the airport flight path, as is often the case. We like going to casinos, and learned from reading another review that Hollywood has a full casino near here. We asked the front desk about it, and they printed out full Google map directions for us. We had a great time at the casino, and plan on staying here again. Staff was super friendly. July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Manager outstanding Even though there was a mix up in the reservations, the manager accommodated us. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay Clean comfortable rooms. Good breakfast, great value. July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good, could be better. I always look forward to HI Express, because no matter where I am, I know what to expect and I prefer these to regular Holiday Inns which can be wildly different in quality and value. This one was very clean and the gentleman and the front desk was courteous and quickly had me checked in. However, when we got off the elevator on the third floor, the smell of stale cigarette smoke was overwhelming. I didn't even think hotels offered smoking rooms any more, or if they do, I guess my profile always points out the non-smoking rooms. We did an about face because I am very allergic, and couldn't even walk through the length of the hallway without tearing up. The nice front desk man said that half of he third floor was smoking, but that none of the renters were smokers. That's all fine, but, had he not been able to switch me to another floor, I would have had to leave. I will have to check every future reservation to make sure I am nowhere near a smoking floor. I wish all hotels were smoke free honestly. It lingers. But no disparagement against this hotel, it's location, or anything else. I fully recommend it. First or second floor unless you don't mind smoke. June 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by passing thru I try to stay at IHG hotels to earn the awards. This one was good except for the staff/manager. The internet did not work, the cups in the room were not individually wrapped. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Busy Place The Holiday Inn Express at Martinsburg - North was Small and crowded. June 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by plus and negative clean room-plus advertisements about free breakfast featuring great pancakes on line and property machine not on no pancake batter no pancakes no small cartons of a variety of milks only a pitcher with almost no milk whole,skim? only yougart type activia and no selection no fruit world famous cinnamon buns tasted a little stale cheese omlette could be used for a door stop I could go on but why bother. This is a franchise location that is NOT up to your standards. I will not visit again and will mention to friends and family to pass this location up. I will also reconsider whether to spend my money with you or a competitors rewards program. CKIN-front desk person on phone doing his job booking a room but never made eye contact or common courtesy of saying I will be with you shortly as I waited for over 5 minutes to ckin June 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bed and pillows were awful. The breakfast was very skimpy, no fruit, no yogurts. The pillows were half the size of other hotels and the bed was not firm. Room was not comfortable even with ac on. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I had a pleasant stay and will stay there again. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Thank you! June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My stay This property was well maintained and quiet.The staff was helpful and pleasant.I am usually not impressed with the rooms or breakfast,,but this place was an exception.Would recommend to others. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice quiet place to stop for the night. We were traveling in two vehicles and trailering a boat. Plenty of room to park. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the TV and they were up to our room in minutes and fixed it. May 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stop-over Hotel Alles was man für einen kurz Stop braucht. Ausreichendes Frühstück. Zimmer erscheinen nicht mehr sehr frisch. Sind aber immer noch ausreichend für den IGH Standart. ideal da direkt am Highway May 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location and Good Service We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express - Martinsburg North many times. It has always been a pleasant experience. The staff is courteous, rooms are clean and comfortable and it's nice to have breakfast in the morning. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great bed! Made it into the top 3 sleeps of our holiday! More fruit at the breakfast buffet would be welcomed March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and friendly We love staying here. It is close to family and friends and shopping. The staff are very helpful and friendly March 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room and great service. Our visit to this Holiday Inn was a one night stay as we were passing through the area. The room was clean and comfortable & the woman at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. February 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dissapointed The service and treatment I received from the management of this hotel is way beyond comprehension. I am very dissatisfied with this hotel. Guest should pay very close attention to their bills on a daily basis. February 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Older Facility Rooms are dated and a little on the worn out side. Front desk clerk seemed like he was being bothered by having to check a guest in. February 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very clean, comfortable bed, quite Very clean, friendly staff, good breakfast, nice and quite. easy access off interstate, location very close to gas station/convenient mart good value would stay again. nice to have coffee machine in room, fridge and microwave blow dryer and iron/ironing board January 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay. Nice property. Would stay here again. Staff was helpful, breakfast was good, room clean and comfortable. January 17, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester
Select to close.
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester Covered Hotel Front Entrance Comfortable couches for relaxed conversation Lobby view into Kem's Restaurant Kem's Lounge for that relaxing cocktail
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading