• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: WINCHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals are permitted

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Abrams Delight Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Belle Grove Plantation
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Rock Harbor Golf Course
Distance From Hotel:4.3MI
Attraction:
Old Court House Civil War Museum
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary self parking for overnight and meeting guests. With secure entrances after hours.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:74
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. The award winning Holiday Inn Winchester Historic Gateway, located just off I-81 in the heart of Winchester, VA, close to the area's Civil War historic sites and major corporations; Home Depot, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid

Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting
View More

Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. The award winning Holiday Inn Winchester Historic Gateway, located just off I-81 in the heart of Winchester, VA, close to the area's Civil War historic sites and major corporations; Home Depot, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid

Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, BMX Race Track, Winchester Speedway, the Sportsplex, Mudder Tracks and Fredrick County Parks and Recreation hosting craft shows, vintage car shows and children’s events.

Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.

Our hotel amenities include an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Lounge. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Bowling Green. Our southern hospitality you can relax when you stay at Holiday Inn Historic Gateway.

View Less
Features
Built in late 2008, the newest full service Hotel in the area the location offers many extensive views from both sides of the Hotel. Looking out our North side windows you will be able to see the beautiful Winchester skyline with the mountains behind. Looking out the South side windows you will see the vista of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 163 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Almost excellent Room 203 Air Cond. very noisey bottom of the bat slippery April 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Room, BUT.... We had a nice clean room, but the room was missing more seating, looked like there was room for a small love seat or couch. Other than that, no complaints... March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay If I must write a review about this HI, It will be excellent. March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Overall great experience At the holiday inn express the staff was very friendly and polite. The second night I had a question about the bill and without question it was resolved!!!!! March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Expected service delivered We selected HI Express because of previous fine experiences elsewhere. What we received was what we expected--a comfortable room, friendly staff, a decent night's sleep, and a hearty and tasty breakfast. For better or for worse, the last HI Express in which we stayed was Clinton, TN which was first rate in every respect. The hotel in Hagerstown was a bit below their standard in quality and charged a higher price, while still being a good experience. Would we stay there again? Of course! March 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Typical Holiday Inn This is a great location and what you are paying for to stay here. It seemed to be an older hotel but was clean. Staff was friendly and attentive to my special needs. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Got the room for my daughter My daughter was coming to Hagerstown from Ashevile, NC for a clinical preceptorship interview. So I got the room with some of my points, and took my wife down, as a surprise for her birthday. I explained this to the front desk folks, and they understood, said it was no problem. Great room, well appointed and clean. We pulled the surprise off, the interview was successful, and I thank you all for making my daughter's trip comfortable. Her only complaint, I guess you could call it that, was that the cleaning staff carts were very noisy by the elevators, next to the room. But the late checkout made up for that, and then some. By the way, she did get accepted for the preceptorship, and who, knows, there may be a job associated with it down the road. Thanks to all March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Very good hotel, clean and close to many restaurants and shops. March 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, clean and comfortable room. Stayed one night. Location is near restuarants and main roadways 70 and 81. Room was clean and comfortable. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy stay. No problems. Great stay. I will definitely stay again if I'm in the area. February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice Very nice hotel, very clean, nice pool area, friendly and easy check-in and out February 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room but needed improvements Room had nice amenities, very clean, & co-worker said fitness room was nice, but tv screen went out (black every 10 minutes) - no on site maintenace to fix & didn't want hastle of changing rooms. Poor circulation of heat in room. Bathroom floor was freezing in moring, took an hour to heat room. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, location location! The location of the hotel is perfect! You can't ask for immediate proximity to shopping, entertainment, attractions and restaurants. This is my second and soon to be third visit to Hagerstown while staying at the Holiday Inn. My only problem with the hotel is its breakfast service. My rating is not directed at the lack of variety but for some reason after eating certain foods from the bar, I have experienced frequent trips to the bathroom after having my breakfast. I haven't raised any concerns to the staff but will in my next soon to be visit. The staff is very friendly and prompt to addressing my needs. Thanks! January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service... reception person didn't bother to say hello or welcome - didn't get charged for dog although the dog was at the reception with us when we came in, and on the reservation. You might want to charge us the $25. No bill under the door for express check out in the morning - January 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the friendliest hotels ever! We always enjoy our stay at this hotel. Rooms are comfortable, pool is clean and enjoyable, and the staff is ALWAYS friendly and helpful. We recommend this location to all friends and family. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best Holiday Inn Express Hotels we have ever stayed in! One of the best Holiday Inn Express Hotels we have ever stayed in! January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One Night Stay All was good except the workout area. Several of the machines were broken. Had to change rooms but the front desk was very accommodating. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Execellent staff Very good breakfast. Room comfortable. Very helpful staff. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Value This was one of the cleanest hotels that I have ever stayed at and I have stayed at a wide range of price points. The staff was very friendly as well. The continental breakfast was fully stocked until 10am which surprised me as many hotels have the last half hour of continental breakfast as leftovers. I would definitely recommend. This hotel givens the Holiday Inn Express a good name. January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great location Free parking and close to the mall and many shops and restaurants. Just off Route 81. Can't beat it December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great rooms,very good service we had a great stay every one was just great. We will stay here on our return trip. December 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It was just ok. We have been traveling a lot this month and stayed in IHG hotels all across the eastern US. We choose IGH hotels because they are pretty consistent in their standards. Walking in, the lobby was gorgeous, especially with the Christmas decorations. However, the elevator floor was dirty and our room needed a good cleaning too. Since we were traveling and we checked in late we chose not to say anything. (I realize it's my fault for not saying anything, but they asked how our stay was# , when we left the next morning we found a dirty sock and underwear # belonging to a young child) under the end of one of the beds. We left them in the middle of the floor for housekeeping, but my teenage son brought up the point that if we found stuff like that just in our "leaving sweep" of the room he wondered how well the rest of the room was cleaned. The heater/ air conditioner ran all night and wasn't on a thermostat making it difficult to maintain a good room temperature. Breakfast was ok but the omelets, bacon, and biscuits were all overcooked so we just opted for the pancake maker. My extended family lives in this area so we stay in area hotels about 4 times a year. We will be going somewhere else next time. This hotel may be better than some, but it's not worth us going back to. After all our travels the past month this was my least favorite hotel. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good I would stay here anytime nice clean hotel. Excellent stay December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel. HIE is consistently clean & comfy Holiday Inn Express has done an amazing job of keeping all of the hotels operating the same way. I travel very frequently and have had the opportunity to stay at many well-known brand hotels. I have never been as satisfied with any hotel as I have Holiday Inn Express. I have stayed at Holiday Inn Express hotels from California to North Carolina and New York to Florida. They are almost exactly identical no matter where you go. They have created high expectations within our family and met them every time. This place like all the other HIE I stay at was extremely clean, quiet, smelled good, up kept, easy parking, nice appearance, and comfortable. I'm willing to pay a little more to avoid the guesswork of trying to find a good hotel. My kids and wife are also very pleased with Holiday Inn Express as well. Very happy to have found it. Also the breakfast is actually delicious with a very wide variety of options unlike a lot of other hotels. Most hotels that provide free breakfasts have a poor definition of breakfast. When you're traveling, the last thing you want is to wake up to a crummy breakfast. December 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Kind and helpful staff. We left an item, a little yellow stuffed dog, on accident. The staff was very kind and helpful in looking for it. The room was perfect. Just the right size with a good sized bathroom. Big pillows! December 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks again Repeat visit and they maintained their excellence. Love the choices for breakfast. December 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Job They know how to serve a breakfast. Pool was great and family was happy. Great recognition for IHG platinum members too. December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Facility is a wonderful experience Staff is accommodating. I have stayed here a number of times, often booking a few months ahead. I have never been disappointed. There are many fine restaurants nearby and the breakfast provided in the morning at the motel is excellent. I travel often down south and always stay here . You will not be disappointed in the staff, cleanliness, or comfort. December 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room was clean and quiet. After a long day on the road, we were glad to have such a nice place to stay. It was cold outside, but warm and cozy in the lobby/lounge with the fireplace. Breakfast was great, just what we needed before heading out on the road again. December 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect holiday stopping point We were traveling over the holiday with our dogs & chose this location as a midway point as respite from the traffic & the weather. I'm so glad we did! The front desk staff was really gracious when we checked in, helped get us & our dogs situated (pointed out where to walk them & convenient entrances for our room). There were many nearby options for dinner as well as a mall nearby to pick up forgotten amenities. Our room was clean & comfortable, and even though we saw other dogs on the property, we didn't hear barking or other doggie noises thru the walls. The breakfast (continental with pre made omelets) was a great way to start the next leg of our trip. Definitely making this part of our traveling routine! November 30, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester
Select to close.
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Front Entrance Comfortable couches for relaxed conversation Lobby view into Kem's Restaurant Kem's Lounge for that relaxing cocktail
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Have pizza and soda delivered to your room with our in-room pizza package.  Book Now!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading