• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: WINCHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals are permitted

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Abrams Delight Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Shenadoah Summer Music Theater
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
87th Shenandoah Apple Blossom Festival
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Handley Regional Library Stewert Bell Archives
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary self parking for overnight and meeting guests. With secure entrances after hours.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:74
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. The award winning Holiday Inn Winchester Historic Gateway, located just off I-81 in the heart of Winchester, VA, close to the area's Civil War historic sites and major corporations; Home Depot, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid

Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting
View More

Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. The award winning Holiday Inn Winchester Historic Gateway, located just off I-81 in the heart of Winchester, VA, close to the area's Civil War historic sites and major corporations; Home Depot, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid

Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, BMX Race Track, Winchester Speedway, the Sportsplex, Mudder Tracks and Fredrick County Parks and Recreation hosting craft shows, vintage car shows and children’s events.

Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.

Our hotel amenities include an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Lounge. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Bowling Green. Our southern hospitality you can relax when you stay at Holiday Inn Historic Gateway.

View Less
Features
Built in late 2008, the newest full service Hotel in the area the location offers many extensive views from both sides of the Hotel. Looking out our North side windows you will be able to see the beautiful Winchester skyline with the mountains behind. Looking out the South side windows you will see the vista of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 218 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay for 4 Booking this stay was so simple, a last minute decision but great value none the less. Room was spacious, clean and quiet, beds were comfortable and A/C was quiet and effective. Wifi worked well despite 4 consecutive users in my room alone. Complimentary breakfast was pretty good and helped make the stay such good value. Only negative was the swimming pool - looked great as we approached it but the water was covered in thousands of small insects; a real shame as it meant it was effectively unusable. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay - clean - breakfast was great Pool was open until 11:00 - Room was large and comfortable August 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by workout room blues The staff at this holiday was very nice. the room was below average. My main problem was the workout room. It had four machines in it. The elliptical didnt work. The bike had broken foot straps on its pedals. One of the treadmills had an out of order sign on it. The other treadmill worked for approximately 20 minutes and then stopped and flashed a code. I reported this to the staff and they were nice about it. I stay at holiday inn and holiday in express everytime I travel and would have to say this facility ( not the staff) needs work. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friday travel stop We stopped here in our recent travels, I had visited the Racetrack about 20 years ago and saw they had a Casino. The hotel is within visual site of the Casino, there is a shuttle bus that comes about every 20 minutes. The hotel is relatively new, very clean and has a lot in the area in addition to the Casino/Racetrack. I will be back just to visit this location. Our stay at this hotel left nothing to be desired. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and pillows We had a truly relaxing night's sleep. Thought about having a pillow fight with all the pillows... August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Up to date hotel with clean comfortable rooms. Breakfast had a nice variety. Friendly staff. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend I truly enjoyed my stay and would like to thank the entire staff for making my stay pleasant. I would most definetely stay here again. I appreciated the shuttle to the casino and back. The breakfast was enjoyable and the staff friendly. It appeared the breakfast hours were longer than I have experienced in the past. Cudos. The front desk personel were very helpful. Overall it was a very good experience, which i appreciated. Keep up the good work. August 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable Stay but unfriendly front desk staff I am a frequent traveler and my husband and I decided to stay at this Holiday Inn so we could be close to the casino. Upon arrival I was not greeted. I had to give my name to the gal at the desk. She proceeded to do some typing on her keyboard and handed me a piece of paper highlighted as to where I needed to initial. Gave me my keys and told me where my rooms was located. Never offered a welcome to the Holiday Inn. Never told us about the breakfast or the complimentary cookies. I gave her my IHG credit card and never was acknowledged as a member. Upon check out on Sunday, I had to wait quite a while for the one person at check out time who was on the phone for so long. I just handed her the keys and gave her a smile. Very unfriendly front desk staff. I think the front desk need some training as to how to greet a guest. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Value Overall experience was excellent. The inside and outside of the hotel were well kept. The room was spacious and beds comfortable. A full hot breakfast was provided. Easy access to and from the hotel off the major roads. Casino and racetrack were nearby with easy access. We were well pleased with the price of the stay and value received. I would recommend this hotel. July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good Stay Check In was very smooth. Our room was ready and the staff was pleasant. However, staff could not answer some basis questions about the area, such as how do we get to the casino? They did say the casino will provide a shuttle. The mattress in the room was very firm. Not really to our liking. It caused backaches for the both of us. Overall, very clean rooms. Great location. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Shuttle to Race Track Great that this service is offered. Easy access to get to the hotel. Did not eat breakfast at the hotel. Just came to go to the horse racing track and play some slots at the Casino. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice size room and very good service We really enjoyed our stay. We came to go to the casino and horse races. There was a shuttle that took us there that ran every 20 min. 24 hours a day. The room was a great size. There was a refrigerator, microwave and a safe in the room. Everything was very clean and neat. I would highly recommend this hotel and go back there again. July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Please fix the outside access doors !!! My room was right next to an exit door that was out-of-order from the outside. I had a lot of extra steps around the perimeter of the hotel just to get into my room, as I chose to park close to the egress door. July 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Review For The Price, Wish I Had Stayed At Home - I Felt Like I Was Being Gouged Because Of The Location. I Did Not Come To Go Gambling But Feel I Was Charged A Higher Rate Than Normal Because Of That - Kids Were Running Up July 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service Need Some Work! When I reported money was stolen from my room, I don't feel the Hotel Management made every effort to investigate the incident. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home Away From Home This was a great place to stay for our weekend getaway. The room were very large. The staff members were very helpful and friendly . I would recommend this hotel to family and friends. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Very Clean and Great Rooms Very clean hotel. Nice carpeting and clean. One of the nicest that I have stayed at in a while. Breakfast is the normal for hotels would like to see a change in items all seem to have same things. But food was good the coffee is great only problem I had was a night no fresh coffee or snacks. Guess you can't ask for everything! Rate this one 9 out of 10. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large rooms and comfortable pillows and mattress Great place to stay while visiting casino/racetrack. Good shuttle service, nice, large breakfast area, and friendly staff. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location with shuttle service to casino We were pleased with the price as well as the cleanliness and comfort of the room. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Excellent location, Room was large,clean and quiet. Bedding was superior. It was convent to the race track. Will definitely stay here again July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Relaxing Very nice outdoor pool, great rooms, clean, very nice breakfast area. We would stay here again for sure. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay We will be back. Great place to stay. Employees friendly and always spoke. Breakfast was great. Very clean. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Entire Visit As always, this is a Wonderful Hotel with Super Helpful and Friendly Staff. Very accommodating. l always stay here when I am in the area. Love it!!!! Keep up the good work. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome room and service personnel Everything about our stay was outstanding...bed and linens were oh so soft and comfortable! July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable Bed and quiet Very nice hotel and staff. No noise at night when you sleep. Great pool area and breakfast. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel At the last minute we booked 3 rooms over the Fourth of July weekend. We knew it would be busy, but we were impressed with how quiet it was. The rooms were spotless, the pool clean, and the breakfast was kept stocked and very tasty. The cold items were cold and the hot items hot. The only complaint I have was the staff was not as friendly as we would have liked. I just was trying to chat with them as I checked in but they acted rather annoyed to talk with me. We usually stay at the competitors hotel and they are so nice and greet you like your family. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unbelievable beds and pillows want to know what brand the mattress is. Holiday Express you are the best. Everything was great, love the 4 pm warm cookies!! Breakfast was very good, just need bacon instead of 2 kinds of sausage. Overall my experience was the best I have had at any motel. The staff from housekeeping on up were super. Thanks for the smoking area for us smoking people it is appreciated. Keep up the fantastic quality. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location and clean room i liked the room it had a lot of space . it was clean and the food was good. the location of a motel was just what we were looking for.we injoyed our stay at your motel. i had an app. at the fort and after that it was nice to have a nice place to go. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value; responsive, helpful staff. Good breakfast Comfortable and clean. Exercise room was minimal. Good breakfast. Overall excellent value. Very friendly and helpful staff. July 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Non-Smoking Room? This is a very new and nice hotel expect for the room we were given. The room reeked of cigarette smoke. The front desk tried to help by providing some Lysol spray, but by the next morning, we were gagging again. This is suppose to be a non-smoking hotel. The maid should have told the management that the person before us did not bother to go outside to light up. The rom should have been professionally cleaned before the next person used it and the person before us should have been charged for the cleaning. I have not had an issue with a non-smoking room smelling like an ashtray in over 10 years. The reason is that hotels enforce their non-smoking policies. This hotel needs to take non-smoking policies more seriously. Too bad - Except for this issue, the hotel was wonderful - Clean, friendly staff, reasonable price, good location with good restaurant options very close by. July 4, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester
Select to close.
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester Covered Hotel Front Entrance Comfortable couches for relaxed conversation Lobby view into Kem's Restaurant Kem's Lounge for that relaxing cocktail
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading