• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: WINCHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals are permitted

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Abrams Delight Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Belle Grove Plantation
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Rock Harbor Golf Course
Distance From Hotel:4.3MI
Attraction:
Old Court House Civil War Museum
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary self parking for overnight and meeting guests. With secure entrances after hours.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:74
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. The award winning Holiday Inn Winchester Historic Gateway, located just off I-81 in the heart of Winchester, VA, close to the area's Civil War historic sites and major corporations; Home Depot, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid

Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting
View More

Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. The award winning Holiday Inn Winchester Historic Gateway, located just off I-81 in the heart of Winchester, VA, close to the area's Civil War historic sites and major corporations; Home Depot, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid

Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, BMX Race Track, Winchester Speedway, the Sportsplex, Mudder Tracks and Fredrick County Parks and Recreation hosting craft shows, vintage car shows and children’s events.

Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.

Our hotel amenities include an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Lounge. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Bowling Green. Our southern hospitality you can relax when you stay at Holiday Inn Historic Gateway.

View Less
Features
Built in late 2008, the newest full service Hotel in the area the location offers many extensive views from both sides of the Hotel. Looking out our North side windows you will be able to see the beautiful Winchester skyline with the mountains behind. Looking out the South side windows you will see the vista of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 136 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visit to Harper's Ferry and Antietam Stayed with the family to visit Harper's Ferry and Antietam. Great location to visit both, plus other points of interest in the area. Room was clean and well keep but had a musty odor to it that we noticed as soon as we entered. Door was very hard to open the first time that we entered, and hard to close whenever we left the room. In fact, I had to help some other guests up the hall actually get in their room as the couldn't get the door open. We didn't say anything to the front desk about these problems because they were minor issues. The first night we stayed housekeeping did not even make up our room the next morning. Again, not a major problem except that I had to empty our trash that was overflowing. Beds were comfortable and the room included a desk, coffee pot, refrigerator, and a microwave (thus all the trash after the first night - we were tired and ate in the room). The "free wifi" included access for one device per room which was a problem with two adults and two children staying in the room, all with their own device. Breakfast was good, with different items each day. The staff was very helpful, directing us to our destinations and even suggesting can't miss local eateries. The pool was very nice but also cold - it was an unusually cool stretch in July with overnight temperatures in the low 50s. Overall, it was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay with a big thank you to the staff. 5 out of 5. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 NICE STAY Great service, very friendly, helpful employees, close to the casino, very clean room and breakfast was good. The only two complaints I have and they are small are ones: the business office internet connection was EXTREMELY slow. Secondly, our room had a musty smell. Still, these are not minor things and would not keep me from staying there again, and again. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy Check in The experience was very enjoyable. I bed was a little hard (king-size room). However it was comfortable. I especially enjoy the breakfast and meeting people from all over the world. The next time I am in Charlestown I will be sure to stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly. The location of the Hotel was convenient. I also had locks of luck at the nearby casino. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Experience Al and Ann Richmond, Virginia Stayed at Holiday Inn Express in Charles Town, West Virginia in June. The room was clean and comfortable. The choices at the free breakfast were excellent, and the staff was friendly. The Inn is in site of the race track and very close to restaurants and grocery store. There is a free shuttle to the track; however, we did not use it, because it's a short drive and free parking at the track. I would stay their again. Very convenient to everything. August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, great service Room was very clean. Check in and out was very quick. Staff were friendly. Breakfast had a nice variety of items. Coffee was available 24 hours a day in the common room by the lobby. July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Place Ever We make it a point to always stay at the Holiday Inn Express Charles Town whenever we go to visit the casino. The hotel is clean, super clean, with a great staff, and terrific food at breakfast. The coffee is always fresh and the rolls at breakfast are to die for. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone interested in staying in Charles Town. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! This is by far one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff was extremely polite, helpful and friendly. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best ever with good selection and very fresh. The pancake maker is the only one I have ever seen -- fun and delicious. Highly recommended and close and convenient if going to the races. Can't even think of a negative comment to make. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and chairs Quiet and peaceful with a great breakfast buffet. Will definitely stay here in the future. June 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by returning visitor I was very pleased with my last stay at the inn at Charles town the staff at the front desk and in the dining area were very nice and accommodating. I will look forward to another visit. thanks again. jb June 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great bed great service great place hope to stay there again the area is wonderful plenty of places to shop June 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice and convenient This hotel has been upgraded and is so nice and clean! We had 5 people and there was plenty of room. It's close to the casino and family so it makes a nice weekend getaway! The buffet breakfast is such a bonus for us and they have extended the hours for Sunday morning. June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overall very nice My husband and I checked in together when I was handed a "goodie" bag, I asked for one for my husband and was told it was policy of one per room. Well thank goodness he wasn't too thirsty. I thought that was pretty cheap. June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff and variety of pillows We always enjoy staying at Holiday Inns, because they are available at almost any location. Prices are reasonable, accommodations are comfortable, and we always enjoy our stays. May 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mrs Have stayed at your hotel many, many times and find our room to be always clean and neat. Also the staff at the desk is most accomodating and friendly. Highly recommend the Holiday Inn to those in the Charles Town area. March 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, super service, awesome experience EVERYONE from the front counter staff to the breakfast staff appeared to be happy to work for Holiday Inn Express and it showed. I never saw a frown on any staff member. Everyone likes to be recognized. It had been 6 months since my last visit. The lady that checked me in called me by name and remembered I was from Texas. Comfortable room in all respects. Convenient location to highways, restaurants, the casino and horse track and the city of Charles Town. I highly recommend this hotel for business and/or pleasure. March 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great getaway Clean and comfortable, we love the shuttle to the racetrack, decent breakfast and a wonderful staff. March 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel My husband and I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on several occasions. We have always enjoyed our visit with them. The rooms are spacious, clean and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel staff is very friendly and willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to the free breakfast which is always hot and delicious. It’s a great start to our day rather than having to go out and find something to eat. The front desk staff is pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is conveniently located close by restaurants, grocery stores, and Hollywood Casino. The casino shuttle picks up patrons at several hotels in the area. This is a plus because you don’t have to search for a parking space and regardless of the time, the shuttle is there to transport. We look forward to staying at Holiday Inn Express whenever we are in the Charles Town area and would definitely recommend it to others. We would give the Holiday Inn Express a 4.5 star rating! March 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I like it Hotel is clean and the staff are nice and attentive. Nicest place to stay when going to the Charles Town Races and Slots. January 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fulfill request I had requested two rooms close to each other and close to the main exit. We did have two rooms close to each other but . .. We were almost as far from the main entrance as we could possible get. Considering that the hotel seemed less than half empty, I would think that they could have gotten us closer to the main entrance. January 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by it was a rewards night but we were treated as the "paying"guest we normally are. I would have expected nothig else. We rarely have a problem at the HIE. The young man who was at the front desk is working his way thru school and listens...I have fouond this to be true with HIE where other marques are not consistent in that regard. Hes the type of person I would have wanted to keep in my corporation when I had one. January 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My stay Hotel was spotless. Room was spacious, quiet and comfortable. 5 minutes to downtown Charles Town. Good breakfast. Fast checkout. January 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff were very nice Room was nice and quiet, clean. Staff at breakfast were helpful, (I had trouble with pancake machine) check in and out was fast and staff were friendly.We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and would stay there again. January 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Room very nice and very clean. We will use this hotel again when visiting Charles Town. January 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast staff exceptional and friendly. Great location, parking, convenience. Breakfast and staff exceptional. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, too firm.. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent alternative place to stay in Charles Town Have stayed here several times and always an enjoyable experience. Usually use it as an alternative to the hotel at Hollywood which has a tendency to fill up fast. The bed is a bit uncomfortable for my taste, but the rooms are nicely decorated, large flat screen television, easy access to WIFI, refrigerator, and a great perk are the rooms with a Jacuzzi. Great way to unwind and relax after a hard day or early in the morning. Really nice outdoor pool for use during the Summer months. The breakfast that comes with the room is always stocked well with a variety of fresh selections. Plan on going back again for sure and would recommend a stay. It can be a bit pricey during a weekend evening if you get the Jacuzzi option, especially for a Holiday Inn Express. December 19, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room type reserved not avail We reserved online a king rm with jacuzzi. We checked in and when we got to our room it was a king with sofa NOT jacuzzi. We called the desk who told us that room was not avail so she "upgraded" us to this room. Not sure how a sofa is an upgrade from a jacuzzi! Very disappointed that we did not get the room we had reserved AND were not informed at check in. It was a rude suprise when we opened the door. I contacted Priority Club via email about it but did not get any response. That was disappointing too. That said, the hotel and rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. The soft pillows are worthless but that is just personal preference. Breakfast was very good. December 7, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT! My 1st time in a Holiday Inn Express or any Holiday Inn. I loved it. It was skeptical, but figured I would try it for the price and just for one night. I was truly surprised. Beds are not quite as comfy as in the more expensive hotels, but the hotel and the service more than made up for it. Breakfast was neat, organized and delish. Will definitely be back and will also try more of Hi Express. December 1, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room The reason I entered fair at staff and service is we did not receive a wake up call on Friday morning which was scheduled and we missed our first race. The staff when question stated it we should have been called and they were sorry. Just saying you are sorry does not negate that we drive on Thanksgiving day and stayed an extra night at the hotel so we could participate in the first race. So saying your sorry is not good enough. November 30, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location from Hollywood Casino. Enjoyed our stay. Thank you Celebrated our 34'th Anniversary. Clean and comfortable rooms. November 29, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very congenial place to stay staff and facilities are excellent Staff has always been accommodating Will continue to come back as we pursue our interests in the area November 24, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester
Select to close.
Evening Exterior of the Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Front Entrance Comfortable couches for relaxed conversation Lobby view into Kem's Restaurant Kem's Lounge for that relaxing cocktail
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading