Ihre Sitzung läuft wegen Inaktivität in 5 Minuten und 0 Sekunden ab. Angemeldet bleiben
PIN erstellen
Alle Felder sind Pflichtfelder
Wenn Sie sich für IHG® Rewards Club in einem Hotel angemeldet haben, müssen Sie eine vierstellige PIN erstellen, um Zugriff auf Ihr IHG® Rewards Club Konto zu erhalten.
Unerwarteter Serverfehler
Ihre Sitzung ist abgelaufen. Bitte melden Sie sich in Ihrem Profil an.
Das System ist vorübergehend leider nicht erreichbar. Bitte versuchen Sie es später erneut oder wenden Sie sich an das IHG® Rewards Club Kundenservicecenter .
Die eingegebenen vierstelligen Zahlen müssen übereinstimmen.
PIN vergessen?
Alle Felder sind Pflichtfelder
Unerwarteter Serverfehler
Ihre Sitzung ist abgelaufen. Bitte melden Sie sich in Ihrem Profil an.
Das System ist vorübergehend leider nicht erreichbar. Bitte versuchen Sie es später erneut oder wenden Sie sich an das IHG® Rewards Club Kundenservicecenter .
Sie haben noch keine E-Mail-Adresse in Ihrem Profil hinterlegt?

Kontaktieren Sie den IHG® Rewards Club Kundenservice, um Ihre PIN zu erhalten und die E-Mail-Adresse in Ihrem Profil zu aktualisieren. Sobald Sie Ihre PIN erhalten haben, können Sie Ihre E-Mail-Adresse auf www.ihg.com/updateemail aktualisieren.

Jetzt buchen
MehrWeniger Optionen

* Pflichtfeld

** Die Suche nach dem besten verfügbaren Tarif schließt keine Affiliate-Tarife ein.

Reservierungen verwalten
Möchten Sie Ihre Reservierung ändern? Dann sind Sie hier genau richtig!
Sie sind bereits Mitglied bei IHG® Rewards Club? um kürzliche Reservierungen anzuzeigen.
Diese Reservierung anzeigen

* Pflichtfeld

Reservierungen verwalten
Möchten Sie Ihre Reservierung ändern? Dann sind Sie hier genau richtig!
Sie sind bereits Mitglied bei IHG® Rewards Club? um kürzliche Reservierungen anzuzeigen.
Diese Reservierung anzeigen

* Pflichtfeld

Gästeberichte
Jeder Bericht und alle Bewertungen, die wir erhalten, werden überprüft. So stellen wir sicher, dass nur Berichte von Gästen veröffentlicht werden, die tatsächlich im Hotel übernachtet haben.
88%
Dieses Hotel empfehlen

Gesamterlebnis

4,3

auf Basis von 347 Bewertungen
88%
Dieses Hotel empfehlen

Ratings Breakdown

347Bewertungen

  • 5 Sterne
    181
  • 4 Sterne
    112
  • 3 Sterne
    33
  • 2 Sterne
    12
  • 1 Sterne
    9

Adequate for a short stay

By

09. August 2016

club

As the title suggests, this hotel does the job and does it well enough if the stay is for 2 -3 nights max. For those staying longer there is simply not enough storage and hanging space in the room (particularly for the ladies). The beds are rather too bouncy for my liking and I probably would have ended up with backache had I stayed longer. The reception and lounge area is comfortable and fairly relaxing (better when they don't have the TV and music playing at the same time).
Breakfast is good enough. For me, all I could have was scrambled eggs on toast with some baked beans. For those who eat pork there are also sausages. Might be nice if they did a vegetarian version. The best thing about the reception / lounge area is that they have a tea and coffee machine which is available all day and is free. Overall, the hotel is good enough and that is the level they aim for. On the "disgraceful" side, they charge £3 a day for parking which is totally unnecessary and annoys people. Luckily for the Holiday Inn, the standard of hotels in the area of Burton upon Trent is not so great and so they "get away with it" because one would not walk away from staying there just for this reason.

Mehr anzeigen
Weniger anzeigen

The best hotel experience I have ever had

By

08. August 2016

We have never felt more relaxed thanks to staff attitudes and the informal way that everything outside the bedroom doors felt. The reception area actually felt more like a relaxed community place than the usual sterile, charmless experience one often expects.

We were given room one. We had a large dog with us. I don't know if this played a part in room selection, but we were on the quiet side of the hotel as opposed to the side nearest the busy A38. And we had no bedrooms to either side of us.

Being on the ground floor, and quite close to the easy going reception area and lounge, I actually toddled out to the milk urn a number of times in my socks, to get milk for the coffee I brought along to make in the room.

There is even an ice dispensing machine in the reception area, for guests to enjoy. And on this hot weekend, didn't we just. Walking the few feet from our room to it was a journey often made.

Speaking of hot weekends, what a blessed relief it was to find very efficient air conditioning, able to instantly cool the room. Our big golden doodle really appreciated it too. He spent most of the time smiling because the room was nice and cool.

The big, modern, walk-in shower is magnificent. Water-pressure-wise it was ideal. Holiday Inn have obviously put previous lessons learned into practice, to the benefit of their guests, because the water pressure was optimal, with the shower heads being detachable so that proper, uninhibited cleansing can be enjoyed.

Incidentally, the water felt super-soft on the skin.

Just a couple of pieces of minor, constructive feedback:

One: The choices for breakfast are very limited and what hot food was available was actually little more than cold on the second morning's breakfast. I should add, in fairness, the three hot items available (scrambled eggs, baked beans and sausages) were good quality, nicely cooked and nicely seasoned. Just a little more diligence is required in terms of ensuring it is kept hot.

As far as other options go, specifically where fruit is concerned, there was just grapefruit. Not ideal if one needs to fall back on fruit, and the acquired taste of grapefruit is not a feasible choice.

Two: the duvet on the king size bed we slept in was inadequate for the job; it was too small; barely covering the width of the bed when not occupied; when occupied it simply would not cover us both.

These two minor things were more than offset by the all-round superb experience we enjoyed here though.

Mehr anzeigen
Weniger anzeigen

Guest Experience

By

04. August 2016

The hotel has maintained its friendly ambience over the nine years we have been staying here, the staff has changed but still welcoming, breakfast although not full English is what one would expect, it is ample, hot, and tasty, and plentiful, visit the bar a few times. However one thing I noticed was that although the car parking charge has been in effect a couple of years or so, (money that would be we're told would be ploughed back into the car park), does not seem to have changed the parking area at all. could this extra charge be dropped I ask. Other than that a super site well placed for motorway and town alike, and most comfortable.

Mehr anzeigen
Weniger anzeigen

Nice room and friendly staff

By

03. August 2016

club

My son's and I stayed at this hotel because it was only 37 minutes drive from Alton Towers. The staff were very helpful, the room was a good size, and the breakfast was nice. It is also very well positioned with a Steakhouse pub next door and a Harvestor, a Beefeater and a Toby restaurant very nearby. There are also large supermarkets nearby.

Veröffentlicht vonHotelStaff
03. August 2016
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I was pleased to hear that you were happy with all aspects of your stay. We hope to see you back at the hotel the next time you visit Alton Towers! Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager
Mehr anzeigen
Weniger anzeigen

night with 2 kids

By

01. August 2016

club

all good besides the double parents bed was very small.

Veröffentlicht vonHotelStaff
02. August 2016
you for your review of the hotel. I was pleased to hear that generally speaking you were happy with the hotel. With regards to the bed size this is something that is being addressed as we are in a programme of bed replacement at the hotel. We hope to see you back at the hotel when you are next in the area. Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager
Mehr anzeigen
Weniger anzeigen

Comfortable rooms in a great location

By

28. Juli 2016

club

Hotel is within walking distance of several pubs/restaurants and a supermarket.

Rooms are a good size, very comfortable - however as appears to be the case in many of these 'budget chain hotels' nowadays, there aren't nearly enough power sockets - and the ones we can find are not very well located - please, please take this on board and put them next to both sides of the bed. I like to plug my phone in overnight, but also use it as an alarm!

Breakfast was ok - I realise it was free, but a few more hot options would have been appreciated - my wife is a vegetarian so would have appreciated a veggie sausage for breakfast!

No real negatives though, we'll definitely stay here again!

Veröffentlicht vonHotelStaff
01. August 2016
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I was pleased to hear that on the whole you were happy with your stay. With regards to the power sockets this will be addressed in the medium term as we look to refresh our bedrooms. The offering we put out for our breakfast is consistent with the Holiday Inn Express requirements, and as you say it is a complimentary breakfast, however your comments will be passed on. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards Alan Northern General Manager
Mehr anzeigen
Weniger anzeigen

Two night stay - Wish I had gone elsewhere :-(

By

27. Juli 2016

Everything about this hotel falls just short of adequate. The staff are correct without being helpful and they are too busy to take an interest in their customers.
The limited choice of food is boring (and does not justify the cost) and I couldn't finish my beer because of the poor taste. The car park is abused by the locals parking and walking away while guests are charged!
The shower controls did not adjust. Heating/ventilation was poor. Bad taste in the water.
Not a relaxing stay.

Veröffentlicht vonHotelStaff
29. Juli 2016
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I was sorry to read that you were not happy with your stay. The Holiday Inn Express brand does only offer a limited choice of food, a fuller range can be found with the Holiday Inn brand. We at the hotel are not aware of local people using and abusing the car park free of charge but I will look into this further. We do have a local agreement with a nearby business that does pay for parking facilities during the daytime. We will try and find out your room number to investigate the shower controls to see what the problem possibly is in this room. Thank you once again for bringing your comments to our attention, we do appreciate your feedback. Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager
Mehr anzeigen
Weniger anzeigen

Overall the hotel is dated, in need of refurb & sound proofing

By

25. Juli 2016

The hotel needs to ensure they have enough pillows for all the beds, there was a shortage due to high demand for sofa beds on the date we stayed.

The hotel backs onto a busy dual carridgeway which is loud if your on the wrong side of the hotel so we had only a couple of hours sleep.

The AC unit isnt fit for purpose the rooms are tired old and in need of a refurb

Sound proofing is needed for the exterior / corridors


However the staff were lovely and helpful where possible.

Veröffentlicht vonHotelStaff
28. Juli 2016
Thank you for your review of the hotel following your recent stay with us. I was sorry to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with your visit to the hotel. The experience that you describe is not indicative of what our guests usually receive, however we will take your comments on board to improve where we can. On a positive note I was pleased to hear that the staff made your stay as comfortable as possible. Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager
Mehr anzeigen
Weniger anzeigen

Quiet Please

By

20. Juli 2016

This is my second review as the first was rejected as I mentioned full names (sorry but it was in a positive way!). I use HI due to its usual consistent good standards and if things are wrong and bought to light that they are usually dealt with promptly and efficiently. In this case initially this was not done and only on the following day did a more senior member of staff address the situation and help resolve the matter whilst apologising for the other team members. Thank you even though I cannot praise you. The follow up call from the Area Manager was also appreciated and again I thank you even though I cannot name you. I would say the car parking is good (although paid for), the rooms clean and well-appointed and a typical HIE breakfast and yes I would consider staying here again.

Veröffentlicht vonHotelStaff
22. Juli 2016
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I was sorry to learn of the issues you encountered during your stay, and that they were not rectified in a timely manner as they should have been. However, I was pleased to hear that we did resolve things for you the following morning and that you would consider using the hotel again. Your experience is certainly not indicative of the usual level of guest experience at the hotel, and it has certainly been used for corrective coaching with the people concerned. We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel when you are next in the area. Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager
Mehr anzeigen
Weniger anzeigen

Modern hotel with friendly efficient staff

By

20. Juli 2016

The hotel is close to the A38 so handy if travelling.
It's a little way out of the town centre but walkable if you are fit

Veröffentlicht vonHotelStaff
22. Juli 2016
Thank you for your comments. I was pleased to hear that you were happy with the hotel. We hope to see you back soon when you are next in the area. Kind regards Alan Northern General Manager
Mehr anzeigen
Weniger anzeigen

pleasant but noisy

By

12. Juli 2016

The usual friendly welcome from IHG staff, room comfortable but carpet had questionable stain on it. As a regular user of IHG brand they are always my first choice when looking for a hotel. However on this occasion I was slightly disappointed - unable to sleep due to children running up and down corridors until the late hours. Breakfast the next morning felt cramped and rushed.
I hope that this was a one off.

Veröffentlicht vonHotelStaff
26. Juli 2016
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I was sorry to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at the hotel. The experience that you describe is certainly not indicative of what our guests usually have here. I do hope that this does not deter you from using the brand or hotel again in the future. Thank you once again for bringing these things to our attention, we do value your feedback. Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager
Mehr anzeigen
Weniger anzeigen

Burton

By

12. Juli 2016

club

Very pleasant staff, more than helpful.
Very very very disappointed that there was no chef working to provide dinner on a Friday evening, even though the hotel advertised the kids under 12 eat free deal, they obviously couldn't fufill it :( not ideal after a 3hr drive with young kids
This is not a staff issue as they were great but couldn't do anything but apologise, this does show poor management as we were also informed that there was no chef at the weekend ????????

Didn't like the fact that there was a dog in the restaurant at breakfast (my son is allergic)

Veröffentlicht vonHotelStaff
15. Juli 2016
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I was sorry to learn of your clear disappointment with regards to the dinner arrangements. You feedback will certainly be used to evaluate our overall guest experience, as will your comment about the dog in the restaurant, which has already been discussed. I do hope that your experience does not deter you from using the brand or indeed the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager
Mehr anzeigen
Weniger anzeigen