• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 30 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 31 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - South A45

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.2MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish
  3. Russian

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
The NIA Birmingham
Distance From Hotel:5.7MI
Attraction:
The NEC Birmingham
Distance From Hotel:6.4MI
Attraction:
The LG Arena
Distance From Hotel:6.4MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Park
Distance From Hotel:17.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces61
  • Car Parking Available
  • Our hotel has a two-level car park. There is a parking charge of £5.00 for non-IHG Rewards Club members and £3.00 for IHG Rewards Club members. Please note that there is a maximum vehicle hight restriction of 1.8 metres.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 5.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:83
  • Total number of accessible rooms:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
Enjoy a relaxing stay at this Birmingham hotel, if you are looking for somewhere comfortable and well located to stay during your trip to Birmingham. Expect a warm and friendly welcome from the guest services team at Holiday Inn Express A45 . The staff go out of their way to make sure visitors enjoy their stay in Birmingham with maximum comfort, making it stand out from other hotels in Birmingham – Don’t take it from us, check out our trip advisor reviews. This modern new generation Holiday Inn Express
View More
Enjoy a relaxing stay at this Birmingham hotel, if you are looking for somewhere comfortable and well located to stay during your trip to Birmingham. Expect a warm and friendly welcome from the guest services team at Holiday Inn Express A45 . The staff go out of their way to make sure visitors enjoy their stay in Birmingham with maximum comfort, making it stand out from other hotels in Birmingham – Don’t take it from us, check out our trip advisor reviews. This modern new generation Holiday Inn Express offers many ammenites such as our bar and restaurantserving food every evening (apart from Fri & Sunday, ) a state-of-the-art meeting room with all of the business facilities that you need and complimentary WIFI in all guest areas & bedrooms. All rates include a hearty breakfast to get your day off to a good start with a continental choice and three hot items. Secure onsite parking is also available to hotel guests at £5 for 24 hours. The hotels modern bedrooms are of high quality, and with a variety of different styles to for you to choose from whether it be standard double rooms, twin bedded or spacious family rooms - Take a look around the hotel yourself via our virtual tour. The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham–South, is situated on the Coventry Road, one of Birmingham's major arterial roads connecting the affluent city centre to Birmingham International Airport and the NEC. Conveniently placed just off the M6, makes it easily accessible for all our guests, whether visiting
View Less
Features
Ideally located on the A45, half way between Birmingham City Centre and Birmingham Airport, National Exhibition Centre and Birmingham International Station. Whether you're working in the centre, waiting for a connecting flight or attending an exhibition, this hotel is the perfect place to stay. Breakfast included, free Wi-Fi, 83 rooms, evening meals served Mon-Thu & Sat and an on-site meeting room

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 172 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, simple stay. Easy check in and check out, convenient for the station and good stuff nearby with the Touchwood centre literally across the road. 01 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic staff The hotel was excellent in every respect except breakfast which was just average. In particular staff excelled with one even carrying our cases to the rail station when we could not get a taxi. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. Would definitely use again. 31 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and location (staff are fabulous) Love this hotel, in a great location with the friendliest of staff. Can't wait to stay again soon. 30 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Allways a nice stay Have stayed at Solihull Holiday Inn many times. Unfortunately room 112 seemed a little tired and felt could do with a makeover. This would however not stop me staying again. I was offered a free newspaper but not free wi fi.Service otherwise very good 22 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Services Not great as to compare to other holiday Inn facilities 21 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and friendly staff We had a great experience. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. 17 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solihull We had an excellent stay at Solihull Holiday Inn and highly recommend it to others. The staff really do care at this hotel. 17 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight Stay Excellent hotel. On approach, it looks a little tired but in fact the interior is better . I only stayed overnight so I only used the bar, the room and breakfast. The standout feature of my stay was the quality of staff interaction. Exactly the right level of formality/informality and in this regard, responded to my attitude to them at the same level. I think this indicates not just good training but good local management. Everything was very clean (the bar staff were out clearing up at every lull in customers so hardly ever any empty glasses or rubbish on unattended tables) Breakfast is well worth the upgrade; it set me up for the day. The only thing I would say is that the hotel was starting to need upgrade ie room doors scuffed and windows single glazed wooden frames ( my room window did not fit well but that did not matter as it was summer) However everything throughout spotless. 15 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nights stay Nice hotel, good location. The downside is that the bar staff need training on how to pour a pint of Guinness. The hotel needs a chocolate machine for guests 11 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great stay Hotel staff were brilliant, especially Isabel on reception. Close to shopping centre directly over the road and everything was just spot on. Have stayed before and will stay again. 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by service and enviroment the professional, friendly and helpful staff made it for me. nice to see a traditional customer focus making a come back. 09 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business stay I am a regular user of the Holiday Inn Solihull. The reception staff always welcome you with a smile and provide a very efficient check in / check out service. The fitness facilities are a little dated but the overall ambience of the hotel is good 07 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Feedback Mattresses are too soft for comfort. Still suffering from a niggling backache which I got from sleeping in the hotel bed am sure. Should have asked for a change in mattress. Maybe you could have someone asking/checking for any kind of discomfort on an individual basis. Some people hesitate to speak out. 02 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service It was great time I spent here. Good tea, pear cidre and dinners in the restaurant. 01 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, good food, OK room Excellent service, friendly staff, good food, OK room, bed too soft and too small, windows don't open wide enough, rubbish collection men came in middle of night (this seems to happen in every country in the world outside every hotel in the world every night of week. How does that work?) Slightly tired decor but overall excellent experience 01 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All you need! Everything I require from a hotel stay was provided so well by this Hotel...everything you could name. Thank you Solihull Holiday Inn. 30 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay I was there for a gardening convention, but there was a huge wedding there at that evening. I think the staff were a little overwhelmed with the amount of people there, but it was really nice all the same. I wanted to initially eat in the hotel, but the bar-staff were very overwhelmed with the private party, and eating there was practically impossible. However, just across the street, there was a shopping center with a great food court, and I was able to eat at TGI-Fridays - something I hadn't done in years and was pleasurable to me. There was also an itialian place and some other "new-age" restaurants and pubs in the complex, so food was not an issue. When we came back to the hotel, we wanted to go swim, but was quite abruptly told that the pool was closing in 10 minutes time, but were told to come back the next morning. We were two adults (40 and 55) who just wanted a relaxing swim after a meal, and it was quite annoying that the pool completely shut down after reception had closed. But I'm also just telling the bad stuff here: there was plenty of good as well: The accomodations were fantastic, the parking was plentiful (however we had to pay for it! how rude!) and the staff was incredibly friendly. The girl at the desk was bright-eyed and so very attentive and remembered me even after a long, probably horrible night of a wedding party and all their antics. The grounds - for me - were spectacular. Looking out of my window, I saw a beautiful lake with a fountain, surrounded by trees. Almost no cars, no traffic - a very restful night indeed. I would definitely stay here again, and I would definitely recommend this place, however, it's probably better during the week or when there are no wedding venues booked. 26 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay Always great staff which make this slightly dated hotel a pleasurable experience 22 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A pleasant stay This hotel is ideally situated for anyone who wishes to indulge in some retail therapy as it is just across the road from the Touchwood shopping centre, which leads into the centre of Solihull. The staff were very friendly and the food of good quality. The Gym and pool were never busy and the area was clean and appeared to be popular with locals. 22 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The room was really nice, clean and modern. The staff were professional and very helpful. Breakfast was great, lots to eat. We really enjoyed our stay and will come again. 05 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really nice hotel Stayed recently for the second time in two years. Everything was exactly the same as before. Friendly, attentive staff, high level of cleanliness throughout. The room was a standard one, but was of adequate size for two people. Great breakfast too. Will definitely go back! 04 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed with reasonable Service I arrived late at the hotel, therefore unable to assess any of the amenities, but my initial impressions were not good and I will avoid staying at this hotel in the future. 02 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay 24/5 Food is expensive for what you get and breakfast quality is poor. Staff always very good. 31 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel in Convenient Location We stayed here whilst attending a friends wedding. We have tried a number of hotels in this area which are quite tired and poor. This one was just what we required at a competitive rate. Handy for visiting Solihull, Birmingham and surrounding areas, and just opposite a very handy shopping complex with coffee shops etc etc. The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is a tad expensive for the quality and choice available, but with the shopping complex just opposite with all it has to offer, a quality breakfast and coffee can be obtained for a fraction of the cost of what you would pay at the Holiday Inn. Will stay again due top its excellent location. 07 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short Break We have been staying at the Holiday Inn Solihull for about 7 years. Always greeted with a smile when checking in. The fitness area and pool are excellent and well kept. 01 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average hotel Stayed here 1 night wouldnt liked to have been more room was average have stayed in much nicer holiday inns elswhere hotel very busy lots of confrences on ,waited ages for room service and also waited an age to check out the next morning ,have had tocall them also to query my bill ,wouldnt stay here again ,feel its a bit of a cheek charging to park when your staying in hotel 27 April 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience This has probably been the worst experience I have had with regard to Holiday Inn Hotels. My shower did not work very well - hot water was intermittent: plus the airconditioning broken. When I called reception they indicated they would get someone to look at it - that person never arrived. In the evening there was a lot of people in the bar but they only had one person serving drinks. Most people had to wait 10/15 minutes to be served: the bar person tried her best and, on numerous occasions phoned for help. But it took about 40 minutes for help to arrive - by then too late. Most people either left or could not be bothered. The breakfast, at 7am, was chaotic as it seemed they were not ready as some items were only just for selection and some items missing for a good 10 minutes. Newspapers were missing & I had not received my selected paper. However, when I asked I was told it was not ordered and that was that - no apology - just a terse response. Unfortunately, it looks good from the outside but fails once you are inside. On the plus side it is a fantastic location for restuarants on Solihul. 23 April 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid at weekends if you want to relax I was working over the bank holiday weekend in the Solihull area and thought an out of town local hotel near to my work would be relaxing. I used some of my points last minute and booked. I stay in IHG hotels every week and I like to think that I am a relaxed customer . This is my worst experience so far. The lady that checked me in was rather cold to me but was chatty and nice to her friend who popped in previously. Whilst they chatted, I waited patiently to check in at 5.30 pm. I specifically requested a quiet room, if possible as working the Easter Sunday at 8 am but was given 125 which is right next to the lifts and near the stairwell. I thought a quiet room would be out of the way so found this a little odd. Perhaps the lady of reception thought this would be funny. I would like to warn people to avoid this room particularly at weekends. The room was lovely inside and very well maintained but it was just the level of noise associated with this room. When I finally got to sleep (lift noise) I was again rudely awoken by a party above at 4.30 am ( I contacted the reception) then getting back to sleep was trouble some as the noise from the lifts was more apparent . Its the little things that makes a huge difference. I was up at 7 am not feeling very refreshed and subsequently went to work tired. Funnily enough the same lady who checked me in, checked me out. The lady assured me a member of management would call me that day, but she gave the duty manager an incorrect phone number on a piece of paper. After contacting the hotel myself , 24 hours later the duty manager can only apologise but its the little things that count to me. Customer service has been shocking in this case and has left me tired and frustrated. I thought this hotel, in the area its in would be nice and relaxing but instead it was full of drunken groups with little care to the other customers. Funnily enough the central Birmingham hotels tend to be quieter and the staff are so much more friendlier. Avoid at weekends. 21 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by more than pleased!! We have stayed at this particular hotel a number of times as our family live nearby. We have always found the staff very accommodating and helpful as we are a family of 5 and they always put us in one room which is very clean and spacious. This company, Holiday Inn, is the best we have stayed in for value for money and overall comfort, they are our first port of call when we try to book hotels and 9/10 they manged to sort us out with accommodation. Extremely helpful staff, would always recommend this hotel group to anyone but particularly this hotel as it over the road from a brilliant shopping center. 20 April 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Generally is was ok Generally things were good, however some of the reception staff were a little moody. There was a lot of noise coming from a bar opposite. I know this was not the hotel's fault, however on booking my reservation I was asked what was the nature of my booking. We were coming for a conference so perhaps being allocated a room not at the front would have been better? The wall between our room and next door was quite thin as we could hear all of their conversation. Ok, granted they were a little merry however this still interrupted our 'sleep'. Like I said, generally it was ok. The room was clean, beds were comfortable, the rate for the night was good but the above points just didn't make for the best stay. 14 April 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Ideally located between Birmingham Airport and the city centre
Ideally located between Birmingham Airport and the city centre
Select to close.
Ideally located between Birmingham Airport and the city centre A bright, modern hotel entrance. Kick back, relax and watch Sky Sports in the Great Room A friendly welcome every time from our 24 hour reception A warm welcome awaits you at the Holiday Inn Express B'ham-South
Select to close.
Park, Stay and Go
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 30 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 31 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading