• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 21 Oct 2014)
(e.g. 22 Oct 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 459 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Good Hotel and near to new street station I had a nice stay at the hotel. There was no bottle of water once I arrived although there was a heater, coffee and tea. I bought one from nearby supermarket. 03 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room excellent facilities I booked a family room for a myself friend and her teenage daughter, was expecting a pull out sofa bed and got 2 large single beds and a double bed 2 bathrooms very spacious, clean and comfortable with 2 TV's etc the list goes on. The breakfast choice was excellent, well presented and tasty. If I were to come to Birmingham again I would certainly re-book and have already bragged about how good it was, value too. 02 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, great location, great price, great service Very impressed. Thanks. Staff were helpful and location was brilliant for shopping! 02 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb city centre hotel I really cannot fault this city centre hotel - and I have stayed at some of the finest 5 star hotels in the world. From its superb location (right by Birmingham New Street station and the Bull Ring shopping centre), to the friendly, helpful staff, it is the perfect place to stay if you are visiting the centre of Birmingham. The room, although basic category, was excellent and very good value for money. And I have very high standards! Spotlessly clean, cosy, very modern and very comfortable, with all the amenities you would expect from a far more expensive establishment. Staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. What more could you ask? If I ever find myself staying in Birmingham again, I would not hesitate to return to the Holiday Inn, and would highly recommend it to anyone. 01 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable accommodation I stayed here for two nights Thurs-Sat of last week as I was attending a conference at the ICC which is close by. I was given a Executive room which was comfortable and spacious and the bathroom was spotless. I did feel that breakfast should have been included in my IHG rate but in any event I only had it one morning as it was quite average. Would I stay here again? Yes because of central location. 01 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good base to explore Birmingham City Centre We were very pleased with our quiet and comfortable room. room . Staying the night enabled us to visit the wonderful new Library, only 10 minutes walk away. A fantastic view of the City from the roof-garden. 01 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service. Great Service. Enjoyed our stay. Will definitely come back. 27 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Central Location The hotel is only 2 minutes walk from New Street Station, the Bull Ring shopping centre, China Town and the Hippodrome Theatre. We have used it twice for theatre visits and the location is ideal. The rooms have recently been refurbished and are very modern. Only two gripes - 1. on both ocassions when we have stayed the bar has been understaffed resulting in a long wait to be served. 2. On arrival, as an IHG Rewards member, I had a nice welcome letter from the manager telling me that I could have a complimentary Times and/or Independant newspaper delivered to my room if I order it at reception; so I ordered my Times for Sunday morning, which duly arrived, but then I was charged for it. I was then told that the complimentary paper only applied to weekdays. If that's the case PUT IT IN THE LETTER!!! 27 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All Good Room clean, spacious and comfortable. Inside of hotel was good. Appearance of hotel from outside did not do the inside justice. In a great position, very close to Birmingham New Street Station and short walk to Bullring Shopping Centre. We enjoyed our stay 26 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An Okay Weekend Here Good things noted were - The Hotel location. The room service was ok and some of the staff friendly and polite. Negatives: The old feel of the room - seemed quite dated and could do with a deep clean of curtains and floors. Top of the headboard had a thick layer of dust as did the lampshades by the beds. There were also water marks on the tiles by the sink and the bathroom door. The floor was dusty too and it could have done with a good mopping over. Room Service was not easy to get hold of and I had to go down to speak to Reception before getting through to them later than needed!The cost of Room Service at £3.50 per time trays of food were delivered (we ordered 3 meals in total) is too much. You have to ask the waiter for a receipt or you have no clue what the charges are. The walls and ceilings are not well insulated from noise and we could hear next door having a bath/showers. The frst thing we were greeted with as we entered our room on the 8th floor was someone rolling what sounded like a vacum cleaner or some kind of round object on the floor above; even though Reception had told me that there was nothing on the 9th floor! The men on the housekeeping/laundry team (Floor 8) were very disappointing in their response to polite requests made and appreciation shown. raining much required there so staff are friendly and helpful to clients across the board. 26 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Food The buffet running at 2 people for £15 was excellent value and enjoyable Bed comfortable but couldn't sleep because of the noise of the traffic. (I thought it was illegal to sound your car horn whilst stationary) 25 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good standards Good, helpful welcome, clean and comfortable room. All good! 23 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fully recommendable I have booked a room way in advance and asked for a quiet one off the elevators. And that's exactly what I got. The price for the room did not include breakfast and the extra fee for it was quite a lot of money in my opion but I was free to chose and deciding against it was alright. The room was spacious and clean and the staff was very helpful answering every question and helping with every little problem I had. I have very much enjoyed staying and fully recommend the hotel to others. 21 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean comfortable. Hotel was clean bed was comfortable, bathroom immaculate, did not eat there but the bar was fine very helpful barman on the night in question. Minor issue with a twin room in our party set up as a double, was rectified with no fuss at all. Slight faff if you want a drink late at night but not a massive issue and good fun watching drunk people try to work it out. Next stay in Brum I will go here first 19 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A* Fab Hotel Great Service Only Down Fall Is Parking! 10 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday treat for my daughter. We stayed at the holiday inn for one night .The room was spacious spotless and the beds were really comfortable.there was a huge tv and tea and coffee making facilities.we had tickets to see the lion king which was amazing we chose the holiday inn for its position close to the theatre.Also during the day we got to visit the new library very impressive also so close to the train station.We had the breakfast on the morning we left everything you could want from the full monty to fresh fruit yoghurt and delicious pastries only complaint we couldn't have stayed longer 09 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Great Stay!! I was happy to be back in the Birmingham City Center. I miss the train to Liverpool Holiday Inn. They welcome to back. Was happy to help with the problem that happen. I have a great room. Wish it was a longer stay. Here you are treated each day with with treat. And water and spring water and orange juice. on the table by the the Telly. The Bathroom have the good beauty products you car used. If you happen to forget things. Other hotel have perfume items in the bathroom. You wouldn't want to used. That why I enjoy my stay here more!!! The staff from housekeeping to the front desk. Could great care to help. With what happen. I wish only Holiday Inn could be like this.. 09 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms provided are below the standard advertised BEWARE of this hotel. There is a massive variance in the size and quality of their rooms. 06 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room & great location I stay at this hotel several times per year and always have an enjoyable and pleasant stay. Check-in is always efficient and recognition is always given to PC members. The rooms are furnished to a high standard and are clean and comfortable. Despite being a busy city centre hotel, I have generally found breakfast service to be efficient with an excellent selection of hot and cold foods. The hotel is well located within a few minutes walk of New St station and in close proximity to main shopping areas, theatres and chinatown. 04 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean room, but the bed let it down. Lovely décor in the room and very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff, who accommodated my dietary requirements. Facilities were generally very good, with a flat screen TV, mini fridge and a safe in the room. The only exceptions were the uncomfortable bed which sank in the middle and caused 'rolling' and the cold hairdryer. 03 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AUGUST IN BIRMINGHAM As always this hotel provides great value, comfort and high standards of cleanliness. Close to the station yet quiet. I have not encountered any member of staff not giving 100% This is my preferred hotel in Birmingham 02 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for money We stayed for one night and had an excellent room very clean and well equipped, complementary toiletries, even had an iron and ironing board. AND it was cheaper than the Travelodge we stayed in at Gloucester the following night, which did not have half the facilities! Very good location and the staff were helpful, parking good value and convenient. We did not eat in the restaurant as we were visiting family but they had an offer on 2 for 1 breakfast if you booked the previous night. Would definately recommend it to others and would stay again. Rate Holiday Inn over Travelodge anytime 02 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Birmingham Break Really nice hotel in a good location by the Chinese quarter and close to the Alexandra and hippodrome theatres. room was really nice and nice large bed, good air conditioning and easy to get lifts, nice choice at breakfast 30 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Excellent Stay Massive bed but a little bit disappointed 2 beds were pushed together and was a little uncomfortable. We should have really called reception but we were already settled and the room was huge and lovely décor. Executive suite was certainly worth the money finishing touches were brilliant the bath robes, slippers and toiletries. Bathroom was good size. Nice clean room. Overall it was a great stay. Always love staying at holiday inn the value for money is brilliant. Good variety for breakfast and 2 for 1 was even better. Staff were very friendly and helpful excellent customer service. Thanks for making the stay so great! Another bonus 1 minute away from the bullring. 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty good Really clean, comfortable with a great customer focused team. 28 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location near railway station A nice and quiet room despite the construction work on the railway station 27 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay in Birmingham Great room, great price, great staff, only disappointment if I'm being really picky was breakfast with cheap sausages and bland scrambled egg, but I quickly got over that ! I must mention a member of staff who deserves a particular mention Kate on reception I had a big problem trying to find the hotel as my sat nav was sending down bus lanes etc, I called the hotel and Kate stayed on the phone with me for 20 mins and guided me safely to the hotel. Wonderful service ! Thank you again Kate 27 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great city centre location Stay often on business. Central and less than 5 mins from station. Staff are always friendly and welcoming at all levels. The food is always excellent in the restaurant with a good selection. Depending on the room, there can be some traffic noise but this is only a slight negative given that the rooms are done to a high standard, very clean and tidy. Overall I enjoy staying here, it's good value and centrally located. 25 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected The staff could have been more helpful and polite. The room we stayed in is on the S floor. The corridor and the carpet has funny smell. The window could not be closed and you can see a lot of cigaret butts outside the window. 24 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Great Stay. Stayed 9-10 August. Note to self: Must try to get these reviews done quicker but just not enough hours in a day..! Had yet another great weekend at the HI Birmingham City Centre. We stay here mainly for the location as it's only minutes to the main theatres, bars & restaurants but more importantly the shops. It's only a few minutes walk from New Street rail station. Always a warm welcome from Adrian and the rest of the crew on reception. They do a 2-4-1 breakfast deal at weekends which is a bargain. Remember to ask & purchase the 2-4-1 voucher when checking in. The staff in the restaurant and the bar are also always pleasant and helpful. Never fail to recognise Reward Club status and I always get an upgrade to an Executive Room (when available). The rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter than the one's on the front which overlooks Smallbrook Queensway. Looking forward to our next stay. 24 August 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 17 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 21 Oct 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 22 Oct 2014)
Check Availability
Loading