• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights

When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.


Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 21 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 22 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We welcome guide dogs complimentary and a GBP15.00 supplement is chargable for pets in our Guests Rooms. Notice to be given to hotel prior to arrival.
Pet fee amount  15.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:8.6MI
Attraction:
Drayton Manor Theme Park
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
Black Country Living Museum
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel offers free secure parking for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:7
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of accessible rooms:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is located 2.5miles from the centre of the city. With easy access from the M6, M5 and M42 we are an ideal base for both Business Travellers and Leisure Guests.

The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is an easy 3 minute walk from Star City with offers a diverse range of Dining experiences, a Multiscreen Cinema, Ten Pin Bowling, Rock Climbing and a variety of other activities for all age groups.

Every December Birmingham hosts the Frankfurt German Market and also this year boasts an outdoor Ice Rink and Big Wheel bringing the festive season alive in a spectacular fashion. The Hotel’s location lends an Ideal base as there is Public Transport taking you into the city or a Taxi ride allowing our guests to leave there cars in our complimentary car park and removing the stresses of driving and parking in a busy city centre behind.

You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our all inclusive breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room., where you can c

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City is three miles from Birmingham city center, opposite Star City Entertainment Complex and 20 minutes from the NEC. The hotel is close to Spaghetti Junction and just off the M6 JCT6. Free parking onsite, complimentary Express Start Breakfast with hot options and free Wi-Fi Internet access in all areas.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 408 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel in excellent location I stayed 1 night as I had a course next door the following day. I was upgraded to a bigger room with a huge bed. The complimentary drinks and chocolate in the room were a nice touch and the free drink at the bar was a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and the room sufficiently dark and quiet for a good nights sleep. My only complaint is that the TV failed to work despite 2 attempts to fix it. I was told to bring it to the attention of the reception desk when checking out but they simply shrugged their shoulders. I emailed the manager personally as he had asked in his welcome letter if there was a problem but never received a reply - a poor show! Breakfast was good quality and great taste. I would stay here again if they could guarantee me a room with a working TV. 29 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre We stayed at the Holiday Inn on a Monday evening, the room was spacious, clean and had all the necessary facilities and a comfortable bed. One downside, we had a connecting door and we'd asked for no connecting door, however we didn't hear any noise from the next room. The breakfast was also excellent with attentive staff. First time at a Holiday Inn would certainly stay again. 25 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room We where very happy with everything about this hotel, and would stay again. 24 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff on reception Very welcoming. Made me feel like a priorityy club member - which I am! Professional but engaging/friendly. Smile helped too! 22 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Really liked this hotel! We had a lovely stay, the room was cosy and stylish and the bed was super comfy. Staff were nice and helpful and the breakfast was tasty. Would definitely stay here again. Location is excellent. 14 March 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by OK This hotel is ok ! avoid the rooms around the lift area i could hear other guest coming and going and always ask for higher floor room too. I stayed in 310 and could hear the noise from the air conditioning units has the windows were that sound resistance after 24 hours of traveling i stayed here to relax but i couldn't has we had a fire alarm activation and we all had to exit the building This is probable the worst Holiday Inn i have styed but the location is fantastic right next to new st station :) 09 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay i have stayed here a few times now & if i'm in Birmingham for a night or two its ideal, close to the theatre, close to china town, close to the railway station & the bull ring shopping center, its clean, friendly & breakfast is fab, i haven't had an evening meal but would like to try it out, never had any problems 09 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal for a group booking I was in a group of 18 ladies for a hen night and we found the hotel very comfortable, well situated with a discounted car park nearby. We were able to relax in a group in the bar and found the staff very helpful. Breakfast very good in a pleasant restaurant. 09 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room Ideal place to stay if going to see a show at the Hippodrome, and close to the Bull Ring & bars. 08 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Clean Modern Room Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights and appreciated the nice clean rooms, and good location, on the down side the buffet dinner was the worst i have had in an hotel, luke warm and cheap low quality product, and unfortunately the door man needs some customer service training, he was rude and unhelpful when i asked him about parking and for the rest of the stay he didnt even say hello or goodbye, huge attitude and somewhat spoiled my stay 04 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable and excellent value This is a regular hotel for us about 3 or 4 times a year. Te rooms are excellent and always clean. To be honest the food can be a little disappointing but this trip the food was excellent 02 March 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Ok Problems with internet kept on going down staff didnt really know what they were doing Noise from corridor could be heard from other geusts house keeping when moving there trolleys Rooms need to be sound proofed especially doors Location excellent ! 22 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great was big room, clean, warm. nice view. loved the bath polite staff 17 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very comfortable stay Only stayed one night but a very comfortable, clean and tidy hotel. All staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely. We had a meal in the Chinese quarter before going to the Theatre and all within walking distance of the hotel. Will defiinately stay again and happy to recommend to all. 17 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Another great stay.......... I like this hotel and have reviewed it at least once before. I have to declare an interest in the sense I am a Gold member of this hotel group so do get a few additional small benefits. Regardless of this I think the hotel is in a great location just a few minutes from New Street Station - so great if you are travelling by train. The Bullring, Chinatown and various pubs and clubs are all a short walking distance away so a fantastic base for visiting Birmingham. I also have to comment on the reception staff who are always friendly and efficient and the night doorman who is polite and courteous, My only 'gripe' is that I always book a 'Superior' room and I do find they vary in size and layout - so it is the luck of the draw which you are allocated. However, these are all well equipped, clean and modern. Be back soon............ 16 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by STAY AT THE HOLIDAY INN All our members of staff stayed here while we were at the spring fair for a whole week. And think for the value for money it was very poor. None of us had a good night sleep and you would think for a holiday inn it would be a great night stay. There for unless you are getting this hotel at a cheap rate would not recommend it. Not worth the money!!!! As we stay in alot of hotels for business we have stayed in far better at a cheper price. 11 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel for city centre convenience Really great hotel. Excellent breakfast and clean and comfortable rooms. I will stay there again. 09 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A comfortable hotel Visit this property on a regular basis and have always enjoyed my stay. Location is excellent if arriving in the city centre by rail as the station at New Street is 5 minutes easy walk. Right in the heart of the city opposite Chinatown and close to the Mailbox and the Bull Ring. With the odd exception the staff at reception are friendly and efficient. The rooms are equipped with all you need for both a leisure or business stay. Have always found them to be very clean which is such an important factor. As a Platinum Priority Club member I receive various benefits including when available an upgraded room which is always welcome. This hotel is excellent at recognising their loyalty club members. It can be a little noisy in the streets outside with traffic and the nightlife of the city centre but not excessively especially if you are on a higher floor and at the back of the building. The bar is welcoming, but I rarely eat in the restaurant simply because of the choice within a few minutes walk. There are just two lifts and these can get very busy if there is an event on in the function suites or around breakfast and check out time. Nevertheless its a very convenient hotel with all the amenities I need topped off with a very pleasant and efficient team. 07 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel and staff exceptional...... As soon as I walked out of the taxi (with pouring down rain) I was greeted by a doorman who opened the door, helped me inside to the dry and warm hotel with a smile. I was asked if I needed to check in or be directed to the bar for a warm beverage. Our room was away from the traffic, comfortable, quiet and we wanted to take away the power shower. Didn't want to leave felt that at home and great night's sleep. Booking again this hotel again. 05 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just one night but a very good one We decided to stay at this Hotel as we were visiting Birmingham to go to a Concert in the evening. We weren't dissapointed, as the room was excellent and very clean and staff couldn't have been more friendly which is very good to see in a "chain" hotel. The only minus I would have is the cost of parking which was £20 for one night - we actually parked in the car park next door for £15. I do resent paying for parking at a Hotel and beleive it is something you should expect to be free. However the excellent breakfast (included in our room rate) more than made up for this. The buffet was regularly refreshed while we had our leisurley Sunday morning breakfast and everything in all sections was fresh and tasty (there were even 2 choices of sausages!). 05 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room and excellent reception staff great service on check in and check out- treated professionally, friendly and with a genuine smile - none of the forced ' have a nice day' rubbish 04 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay again Stayed for one night for a show at the LG Arena. Chose this hotel for its closeness to New St Station, literally five minutes walk away. Also five minutes walk to the Bullring and just across the road from the Arcadian centre where we had a brilliant chinese dinner. Hotel was easy to find and check in quick. Had asked for a quiet room and they gave us a room which was at the back of the hotel away from the busy road. It was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was cooked well and was hot. Enjoyed it. We were able to leave our bags at the hotel while we spent the day shopping. Would stay here again. 31 January 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Errors1 I had booked this room as a special treat for my Grandson, who was visiting Aston Villa for a 'Meet the legends' lunch to celebrate his 18th birthday. In spite of my phoning the hotel reception, to say that they would be arriving unavoidable late #work commitments# on arrival there was no room available, as it had been given away. They did manage to find a room, but put them now amidst a group party goers, who returned very noisely in the early hours. Further to this the window in the room would not close and the room was freezing. The staff remained curteous throughout, but the damage was done. Poor reception management and coordination. 28 January 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Can't access room After arriving at the hotel late around 0130, due to a train delay, I checked in. Was given a room as far away from reception as possible, not through choice, but when I tried to access room the room key would not work. I then had to return to the reception to get the ket activated again. Then returned back to the 5th floor and had to carry my luggage all the way to the end of the corridor again to find that the key still would not open the door. Returned to reception again. 3rd time. This time no one was there, after shouting for 3/4 mins the receptionist appeared. I then asked him to come try the key as I was tired and wanted acces to my room. To my amazement he refused and said he could not leave the desk. He then gave me another room. This time on the 1st floor and not at the end of the corridor. I finally got into my room a full 30 minutes after arriving at the hotel. 27 January 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad shower Impossible to shower without flooding bathroom floor House keepers have reported ridiculous shower curtain arrangements with no response! 22 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Modern and bright Customer service desk - ok Room - quite comfortable but very cold. Restaurant staff - unfocussed and unprofessional. 21 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Roadside noise Just be careful not to get the rooms facing the road. Otherwise, good hotel, good location, good convenience to food & shopping. 20 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by New Year Disappointment We had visited this Holiday Inn before and had found the location and facilities to be very good so had booked again to go over new year as something a bit different however were disappointed on this occasion. We had booked over new year as something different to do, however the facilities really lt us down this time, bar shut early, couldn't get coffees on either of our nights, no room service, no 24 food service, and breakfast on New Years day wasn't available till 10am, too late for our train. Whilst we were given a refund for the breakfast part of the experience of being away over new year was about the "hotel" experience such as the 24 hour room service, breakfast at a reasonable time, bar open later for residences and so we were somewhat disappointed. These things were also not represented on the website so it was a surprise to find this out when we got there and really felt we didn't get what we booked. However, room great, location great, staff friendly. Disappointed this time but would still consider going again. 17 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Long time guest Not stayed in all the room types so unable to comment on all. The room I stayed in for 4 nights had a large bed, ample wardrobe space and a nice layout. The bed was comfortable. The showers, on the 4th floor at least, are amazing if you like a good power shower. Great base if you need to use New St station as it is just around the corner. The hotel is close to the Bullring and other city centre amenities so very well placed. On the downside, the heating is set at 25c. I lowered the temperature but every day I go back to the room it is back to 25c, even though I ask for it not to be changed by leaving a note. Some of the rooms can be noisy with being over the main road at the front or back of shops at the back (bin men, etc). The food in the restaurant/bar is average. Nothing to shout home about. However, there are lots of restaurants around the area. The Taj Mahal close to the hotel being a favourite. No gym in the hotel is a bit of a let down for me, but Virgin Active is just up the road if you're a member. 17 January 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not to normal standard I have stayed in the hotel many times before and always had a pleasant stay however not last week. Main points are that the room was very cold (I think it was 1005) and had awful shutters on but when I opened them I realised why they were there - to stop it being even colder. The heating came on but slowly and even then I was not warm. I accept I didn't ask for more heat as I was very tired after a long day and all I wanted was food and sleep. The food choice was very limited and it was ok - lasagne was good but the chips were luke warm. When I checked out I mentioned the temperature of the room (I didn't 'complain' as accept that I should have done so the previous night# but the response was - you should have phoned down for a plug in heater #I accept# and that it was colder outside so that is why my room was freezing - not exactly what I expect to hear. As I said all previous stays have been fine but last week's was not pleasant at all. 15 January 2013
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Front Desk Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 21 Aug 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 22 Aug 2014)
Check Availability
Loading